BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 22/06/1995

Insurance Corporation of British Columbia

Phone: (604) 982-6210Fax: (604) 661-2896118 151 W Esplanade, North VancouverBC V7M 3H9 Send email to Insurance Corporation of British Columbia

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 22/06/1995

BBB has determined that Insurance Corporation of British Columbia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Insurance Corporation of British Columbia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Insurance Corporation of British Columbia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My driver's licence # is *******.

About 4 years ago I got a ticket I didn't feel was just but I lost the ticket. When I went to dispute the ticket it was about 29 days from the date of issue and this can be verified through my account, the *** had not posted the ticket to ICBC making a dispute nearly impossible. Not having the ticket I was given a form to fill out where I had to put the exact time and date. Having submitted the form I was under the impression a dispute had been filed. I never received any calls or letters regarding my dispute.

I recently checked my credit report with transunion and I noticed 2 delinquent payments both from *** Financial for ICBC. I have a print out and can provide documentation. As soon as I saw the record on my account I went in to ICBC where I was told I had additional fines due to the fact my disputed ticket was not processed as such and I had a previous ticket within 5 years (this ticket paid and not disputed).

At this point I wanted the account to be cleared so I paid the amount owing in full. After doing so I called *** to inform them the balance had been paid and asked for my record to be cleared. **************************************************************************************************

I was never contacted to be made aware there were any problems with my account and to add insult to injury, *** posted the fine as 2 separate items to maximize the impact to my credit. I was eventually able to have the situation rectified or so I thought until I went back to check my credit report and saw they left a balance of $** even though I had paid the amount in full. I felt I was treated like a criminal by ********************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like ICBC to investigate why the ticket was not submitted by the *** within 30 days, ***************************************************** I would like the 2 incidents from *** to be removed from my record completely.

Business Response
***********************************************************************************************************************

Mr. ********* had two outstanding invoices which were referred to an outside collection agency as two separate items. One was for a *************************************** billing and the other for motor vehicle ticket **********, issued on ************. I believe this is the ticket Mr. ********* is referring to in his complaint.

Once a motor vehicle fine is issued it is sent to ICBC to set up on our system. While there is no legislative time for Enforcement Officers to forward provincial tickets to us, we always request that they forward them to us as soon as possible. If a client wants to dispute a ticket and have lost the original, we ask them to provide as much information to us as possible (date, charge, their name and driver's license number, etc). The notice of dispute is held in our pending file which is reviewed weekly. We let the customer know that the original ticket has not been received, but once it has the dispute will be reviewed and either processed or denied. Once the ticket comes in from the officer, we review the dispute date and if within the 30 days we add the dispute and notify the customer.

Mr. ********* wrote to ICBC that he wanted to dispute a motor vehicle fine. He had lost the original and the only information he supplied was that it was a speeding ticket and the date, which was difficult to read but appeared to be *************. On *************** he submitted his dispute letter to the ***************** Licensing office. On *************** ICBC sent him a letter to the address on the dispute letter, advising we had not received the ticket yet and when we did, we would advise him by letter. We received our *************** letter back advising he didn't live there anymore. In ************* we received the original ticket from the Enforcement Officer and it was added onto our system on *****************. We reviewed the pending file however the date on the ticket did not match the date Mr. ********* had in his dispute letter so a "no dispute" status was added on in *************.

ICBC's role is to administer the collection of outstanding violation ticket fines and remit the proceeds owed to the government of British Columbia. ICBC considers the original ticket issued to be an invoice. Any address existing on our database for a ticket issued by law enforcement personnel is considered to be the address of record. Thus, past due or reminder notices are sent to the last known address, which in Mr. *********'s case was shown as to be one on ********************. We have sent overdue notices since ************* to advise him of the outstanding motor vehicle ticket and the ***. If required, copies can be reproduced.

On ****************, ICBC mailed Mr. ********* a copy of ticket **********, as he wanted to file a late dispute. There was no dispute filed. On ****************** he paid the *** and the motor vehicle fine.

Regarding the outside collection agency ***, as ICBC does not have the manpower to trace parties with outstanding accounts, it is standard practice to refer the account to an outside collection agency whose resources can be used to actively pursue the party on our behalf. Referrals to the ************* originate from the agency. When ICBC receives payment for an outstanding debt that has been reported to the credit bureau, our database automatically notifies the credit bureau that payment was received. I have confirmed that this has been done. The entry on the credit bureau is not removed. Instead, it shows there was a debt that has been paid. Please note motor vehicle fines should not be reported to the credit bureau and we have asked *** to remove the entry as soon as possible. ************************************************************* we are no longer using them as a collection agency. Mr. ********* could call them and speak to a manager regarding his experience with their employee. They can be reached by telephone at: **************.


07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle had been stolen, police caught guy who broke my vehicle. ICBC sent my repairs *************. Process took 1mos, $20 day vehicle rental to get to work, vehicle does not work, has extra parts left from *************. ICBC decided what should and should not be fixed, vehicle ran before stolen barely runs now. ********************** Deductible plus the portion ICBC decided I pay plus vehicle rental has taken my rent money. Barley make by and now broke and may not be able to get to work. **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
Fix my vehicle another facility and pay rental amount, already paid amount and any new amount. *******************************************************

Business Response
The day after receiving the BBB enquiry on Mr. ****** behalf, an ICBC Material Damage manager left Mr. **** a message to contact him directly to discuss this matter. To date, the ICBC manager has not yet had a response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not been contacted and have left messages and did not get a response

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do accept what has been discussed, but have not completed so do not want to close this file. I have spoken to Mr. ******** and we are working together, in a process right now. Thank you

Final Business Response
An ICBC Material Damage (MD) manager was eventually able to engage in a lengthy discussion with Mr. ****, who described the difficulties he'd encountered after taking his vehicle to a repair facility. In light of this, the MD manager made an appropriate business decision due to the circumstances described and both parties agreed on an equitable resolution that the vehicle be written off as a "total loss".

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues
12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Automobile Insurance, Insurance Agency, Insurance Companies-Other Than Life

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 30/07/1973Business started: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Insurance Council Of British Columbia
PO Box 7 300 1040 W Georgia St
Vancouver, BC V6E 4H1
(604) 688-0321
http://www.insurancecouncilofbc.com

Business Management
Principal: Casey Riddle (Manager Customer Relations)
Business Category

Automobile Insurance, Insurance Agency, Insurance Companies-Other Than Life

Products & Services

Customer relations and review services is responsible for coordinating the resolution of complaints and inquiries from customers directly and through intermediaries such as:

a) B.C.'s Office of the Ombudsperson,
b) MLA constituency offices and
c) Stakeholder and consumer advocacy.

Customer Relations Advisors can:
1) Explain our products and services
2) Help you understand reasons for specific decisions and actions
3) Refer you to available remedies you may not know about or have not tried
4)Investigate concerns that a decision or procedure was unfair and, if warranted, help resolve them

Alternate Business Names
Icbc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Insurance Corporation of British Columbia

118 151 W Esplanade

North Vancouver, BC V7M 3H9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 118 151 W Esplanade 

    North Vancouver, BC V7M 3H9(604) 982-6210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Insurance Corporation of British Columbia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Automobile Insurance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.