BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/1999

Gold Key Langley Volkswagen

Find a Location

Phone: (604) 534-7431Fax: (604) 534-691019545 No 10 Hwy, SurreyBC V3S 6K1 Send email to Gold Key Langley Volkswagen

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/07/1999

BBB has determined that Gold Key Langley Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gold Key Langley Volkswagen's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
. I dropped off my car for a free 30 pt inspection that I got an email for, along with an inspection regarding the loss of power uphill.
2. I was told when I dropped it off, I have to authorize 2 hours up front
Right after this is when I ran into issues.

I got the 30 pt inspection, and on the 30 pt it stated if I never got my timing belt replaced I should get it done. I only have 13670 kms on the Timing belt that I got from that same dealer..... I am concerned as it states that on my inspection when in fact I had it done in Aug 2013. Now my concern is whether the timing belt is timing correctly.
the dealer response was that if the car was not starting at all the timing belt is not working.
My response was I am SURE there are symptoms when a timing is about to go. I wanted that checked, was that checked? they had no response.

I got the diagnosis on the loss of power. I was told they found nothing wrong at all. they drove up the hills out near their dealer.
***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
I was also told and explained believe it or not for 15 minutes that there is a particular part that may be needed to be replaced. I realized after I left their dealer that that part is NON EXISTENT in this model of car. They actually told me a senior tech looked at the car.
And then I specifically asked about the timing and the vacuums . I didn't get the exact answer on the timing belt. other than obviously the timing was not checked and also the tech only LOOKED at the vacuums... no tests done!!!!

I tested the car that exact same night after getting the car from the dealer, the symptom was still there. *************************************

This is really perplexing as a whole. My concern now is my timing belt, and of course my loss of power!!! **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

I actually called the dealer and left three messages. two for the general manager and one for the service manager with no callbacks for almost a week now

Desired Settlement
1. A REFUND IN FULL.

2. WANT A FULL THOROUGH CHECK FROM A DIFFERENT DEALER FOR WHICH THEY WOULD HAVE TO CHECK THE TIMING OF MY BELT. IF FOUND THAT IT'S NOT IN GOOD SHAPE THE VW LANGLEY NEEDS TO REPLACE IT CORRECTLY . I BELIEVE ONLY 13670 KMS ON A BELT SHOULD STILL BE UNDER SOME FORM OF WORKMANSHIP WARRANTY. I am surprised they said it may need replacing I don't want my engine to seize.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******, G.M.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@goldkey.ca
Gold Key apologises to ***** that she was not completely satisfied with her last service done at Gold Key Langley Volkswagen.
With respect to her free 30 point Vehicle Health Report, the suggestion that her timing belt be replaced is actually based on the mileage and age of the vehicle, not any physical check done to the timing belt itself. Unfortunately the Free 30 point Vehicle Health Report does not correlate itself with our previous work records, and as such would not pick up that the Timing Belt had already been replaced. We apologise that we suggested a service that she had already paid to be performed at Gold Key. If ***** had visited any other VW service facility, they would have made the exact same suggestion for a vehicle of her age and mileage. We would like to put *****'s mind at ease, that there was no physical diagnosis of her vehicle to actually recommend a timing belt replacement. Furthermore, we stand by our original timing belt replacement on her vehicle and should any engine malperformance be related to any timing belt replacement being performed incorrectly we would warranty such work for 1 year/20,000 km.
With respect to testing the vehicle's performance on a hill, we can only use the geography available to us within a reasonable distance from the dealership. If malperformance cannot be duplicated, we cannot diagnose. *****'s vehicle is of an age where it did not have the technology to record malperformance and display such faults at a dealer.
With respect to *****'s desired resolution, we would like to ask ***** to bring the vehicle back so we can perform an actual physical inspection on the timing belt this time (for which we **** offer a 1 year/20,000 km warranty on the timing belt from said inspection date). That being said, timing belt replacement is based on age and mileage and there is very little you can physically diagnosis by looking at a timing belt. We would also like to offer ***** 2 free hours of diagnosis with respect to her performance issues on steep hills. This should rectify her request for a refund of her original 2 hours.
Should ***** wish to speak with the Service Manager, ***** ******* or the General Manager, **** ******, both can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I actually had to go get my car re diagnosed at a different VW and also another place not that far from you therefore had to pay an additional 3 hours.

The disconcerting part is what is stated about what your location found. *********************************************************************************************************************************** Showing your location never even truly checked my car.

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************


**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I believe in good faith your location should mail me my refund to the above noted address .*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************



Thank you

Final Business Response
Gold Key again apologizes that your last experience with us was not better than you expected. We have issued a cheque for $207.40 to refund you for your last service with us. It is being mailed out to **** ********* ** *** XXXXX, ******** *** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Volkswagen knowingly used a wiring harness in their 2005/2006 ******, that was too short, to save money. This resulted in most ****** losing electricity in the drivers doors and some passenger doors. This happened to mine. For 2 years I have gone without power, I can't put the window down, lock it electronically, open any other windows or locks, or open the gas latch. I have to open the gas latch by opening the trunk, pulling away siding and reaching in through wiring and manually opening it from the inside. I was quoted $1100 from a local garage to fix it. So I didn't get it done, couldn't afford it. ******************************************************************************************************************** they will not honour their 'extended warranty' because they set a kilometerage limit of 165,000, or August 2014 as a date. Mine is at 177,000. However it broke long ago, well within the limit and I just didn't know about it!! Also I am within the date portion of the extended warranty. I also offered to pay half of the repair which I don't think I should have to do. They declined. Please help!

Desired Settlement
I want the faulty wiring harness fixed! ******************************** The kilometres driven didn't make the wires too short, your installation did!******************

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:*********************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *********************
On 6/25/2014 at 3:15pm, *********** the GM of Gold Key Langley wrote to ******:

******,

As discussed over the phone this morning, we are very concerned about your *** claim and the comments on our facebook page with respect to Gold Key not willing to fix your faulty wiring harness. We are happy to do the work but we need guarantee of payment; and as you have never been a customer of ours we can't pay it for you.

Unfortunately since you first reported your wiring harness problem to a VW dealer after 177,000 km, VW Canada will not provide for your wiring harness to be replaced under their warranty or their special offer to replace wiring harnesses, with a $65 deductible, for customers owning 2006 Jettas with less than 165,000 kms. These are VW Canada programs and Gold Key has no authority to grant exceptions to their programs. Further, Gold Key Langley VW has never sold or provided any services to you or your vehicle prior to an email asking if you can take advantage of VW Canada's wiring harness replacement program. As such, Gold Key has no history of your vehicle complaints prior to the 165,000 km threshold.

Here are the alternatives I see available to you:
Seek recompense for the repairs from *************, where you purchased the vehicle. There is legislation that protects you as a consumer when purchasing a vehicle from a licensed motor dealer.
Continue to discuss the matter with VW Canada, **************, and express your dissatisfaction with them not making an exception to honor your request.
If you would like to trade the vehicle in at Gold Key for another new/used vehicle, and you are willing to dismiss your *** claim and remove your comments from our ******** page, we would appraise your vehicle as if the wiring harness repairs were already done and pay for the repairs ourselves after the trade-in.
If you would like to trade in the vehicle at another dealer, you can always negotiate that they can repair the wiring harness for cheaper than you could have it done.
Alternatively, if you would like to have the wiring harness replaced at Gold Key, and you are willing to dismiss your *** claim and remove your comments from our ******** page, we would price the repair at an ICBC rate of 20% off retail: $424.55 +taxes.

We are very sorry we can't repair your vehicle at VW Canada's expense and I do hope you understand that as you have never been a customer of ours, we cannot pay for your repairs. I trust you will assist us in removing your comments from our ******** page as we take our reputation very seriously ************************************************************************************************* Please do let me know your decision as soon as possible so we can continue to meet our deadlines with the Better Business Bureau.

If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me at ************.

Kind regards,


On 6/25/2014 at 4:49pm, ****** replied:

Hi ****,
I will take the discounted repair, as it is one of the solutions I offered to VW Canada. I would like to book the repair asap and will accept your terms once the appointment is booked. I am on holiday as of July 3rd and would like it to be done before then.
Is that acceptable?
******

****** booked an appointment for before his holidays but called in to say he would have to delay. He has not yet contacted us to reschedule.



01/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
12/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/20/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
12/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Automobile Dealers-New Cars, Automobile Repairing & Service, Automobile Renting, Automobile Parts & Supplies-Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/08/1991Business started: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Vehicle Sales Authority
208 5455 152 St
Surrey, BCV3S 5A5
(877) 294-9889
http://www.vehiclesalesauthority.com

Contact Information
Principal: John Fuller (General Manager)
Business Category

Automobile Dealers-New Cars, Automobile Repairing & Service, Automobile Renting, Automobile Parts & Supplies-Retail

Alternate Business Names
Gold Key Sales and Lease Ltd.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gold Key Langley Volkswagen

19545 No 10 Hwy

Surrey, BC V3S 6K1

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 19545 No 10 Hwy 

    Surrey, BC V3S 6K1(604) 534-7431

  • Gold Key Isuzu Trucks

    19575 No 10 Hwy 

    Surrey, BC V3S 6K1

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gold Key Langley Volkswagen is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Automobile Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.