BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/05/2006

Applewood Surrey KIA

Phone: (604) 635-3010Fax: (604) 635-3011View Additional Phone Numbers16299 Fraser Hwy, SurreyBC V4N 0G1 Send email to Applewood Surrey KIAView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Applewood Motors Inc is comprised of 5 Automobile Dealership Locations in the Surrey, Langley and Richmond areas. Aside from new and used cars we offer full parts and service departments at our dealerships.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/05/2006

BBB has determined that Applewood Surrey KIA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Applewood Surrey KIA's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Applewood Surrey KIA

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called ****, at Applewood Kia Surrey, and advised him that I would be heading into the Langley branch (as langley had the new car I wanted on their Lot). **** then said that they have 2 (one satin color and one blue) and that he would beat langleys price.
I agreed to come to their site.
On arrival **** said that the manager was using the car, to get lunch, and he would be back in 5 min. **** also said that they dont have either of the cars he told me they had.
The manager arrived back in a white vehicle that was licenced and had 9000km on the clock. **** claimed that this was a "new vehicle" or at worst a "demo".
Anyway - we test drove the managers "new car" and then sat down to purchase a new 2014 that he could get from another dealer. After 30min of haggling I agreed to the price ($34488 on the road plus a $500 fuel card) and asked **** to do the paperwork.
He asked me to pay the $1000 deposit- which I did.
**** then presented me with the prelim purchase agreement. Upon review I discovered that **** had written up a completely different vehicle (that we had never discussed) at a much higher price ($40,000). I brought this to his attention and he claimed "my mistake". Yet we had spent the last 60 minutes talking about the one specific vehicle that I wanted to buy.
I asked him for the correct document and he reluctantley wrote it up. By his body language it was clear that he did not intend to complete the deal. **** promised to call me in 10 minutes once they had confirmed a dealer swap. And that we could leave the dealership.
1 hour passed and no call. So I called **** and he said they were still confirming the dealer swap. The manger asked me to wait till tomorrow.
The next day I receive no call, so I phone them at 1pm - Speak to the manager, as **** is away, and he says that they still havnt done anything.
I ask for my deposit of $1000 back onto my credit card and the manager tell me "that the internet is down and the visa machine is not working" but that he would "refund the money once it is back up". He also said that he would call me once done. (this was sunday. It is now Tuesday and no call)

I have never - in my entire life - been lied to, and deceived, so many times in one afternoon.

To make matters worse - I then called Kia Richmond and told them the above and they said they have two of the cars in stock that I want - so I drive to their lot and guess what - nada! They lied so that I would turn up and they tried to then sell me a used 2015.
Needless to say I was enraged when I found that out.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $1000 deposit back (if this has not be processed yet)
I would also like a $50 fuel card for the travel time to and from the dealership.

Business Response
Below is a short paragraph as to how the event transpired with the unhappy customer that was dealing with **** on a new Optima.

On Saturday November 15th 2014 Mr. ******** was contacted by **** ******* our sales rep, in the morning through "unhaggle.com" which is a web site that people go to for best prices on new vehicles. Once contacted, customer stated that he had already been to Applewood Kia Langley and West Coast Kia. Mr. ******** had stated that if we were to beat the quotes from the other 2 dealers he would do business with us. **** had assured him that we would and booked an appointment for that day. When the customer came in, the vehicle he requested was sold from our inventory but we had mentioned that there is one available in the lower mainland that we could possibly secure for him if the dealer did not have it sold.

To make sure that the 2014 or 2015 Optima was the right vehicle for the customer, we had contacted ***** (loyal customer) to ask if he could bring his 2015 Optima SX-T in so we can show it to Mr. ********. Mr. ******** then viewed and test drove *****'s Optima and decided that he was ready to proceed with a deal subject to numbers being agreed upon and locating a vehicle.

We priced a 2014 and 2015 Optima SX-T at which point he decided that the 2014 was the best value, which he was aware there was only one of in the lower mainland in the color he wanted. He was informed that it would take at least 1 hour to 1 day to find out if the vehicle is available to us and we recommended that to secure the price with a partial payment of $1000. Mr. ******** then decided to leave $1000 deposit and go home after spending nearly 2 hours at the store.

**** ******* called Mr. ******** back about an hour later to let him know that we needed more time to secure the vehicle since we had a hard time getting it from another Kia dealer.

It was at this time that ***** (General Sales Manager) got involved to see if he could secure the vehicle from the other Kia dealer. At this point Mr. ******** was irritated and started calling us liars and was being very rude on the phone. **** had come to me and ******** for help and we said we would call the customer as soon as we hear back from the other Kia dealer. Being that it was a busy Saturday, I told **** that I would contact the customer directly by no later than Sunday November 16th 2014 12:00pm to discuss options that were available for different colors, as the 2014 Optima in Satin Metal was not available to us as per *****. Mr. ******** contacted me on Sunday at 11:30am to express his feelings towards the Applewood Kia and how he was lied to and just wanted his F**ING (his words) deposit back and that he was going back to Applewood Kia Langley to deal with *********** directly since **** had promised him that there would be something that he could get done. Customer continued to be very verbally abusive on the phone to me (which I didn't respond to) and insisted that his deposit was refunded right away. Unfortunately that day our machines were down and there was no way deposits could be taken or refunded. I informed Mr. ******** of the issues we were having and assured him that his deposit will be refunded on the next business day. I had ***** do the refund for $1000 on Tuesday November 18th 2014 shortly before receiving a call from Kia Canada for a complaint that was made about the turn of events with this transaction from that weekend.

I believe that my sales guy **** and the management team did everything right, but unfortunately we couldn't get the right color for Mr. ******** to complete the transaction.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Wow.

I guess it was silly of me to expect this company to start being honest In the process.

Almost every single point in that response is a half truth (at best).

I repeat, for applewood kia surrey, EVERY statement in my initial complaint is FACT. **** did not call me. I called **** to say I was on my way to the langley branch (as he had misled me, during the week, to think that he worked at langley) he then told me that he has two colors of the sx turbo 2014 to choose from. I arrived 20 minutes after this phone call and if am now being told that the dealership sold two cars in twenty minutes????***************************************************
Is this how applewood deal with every complaint, by calling the customer a lier?

I did not swear at *****. In fact I made a point to make it clear that the actions/lies of **** were not *****'s fault and ***** didn't need to apologise to me.
I see that this has been "forgotten" since the conversation.

The money was not refunded until AFTER kia canada spoke to applewood surrey.... Or is kia canada lying too??
Kia canada were very helpful and did actually keep in constant contact with me to try and resolve the issue.

My request stands. Refer to my first statement for the actual events.

Still no apology.

I have the phone records that show that **** NEVER called me on the weekend..... Why keep lying?


10/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I bought my car from Kia my sales person **** promised me a black weather mat for my car and after I got my car I asked him about it and he told me that because they "discounted" the car a bit that he could not get it for me. Sales people should not be making false promises to make a sale.

Also I found out that there is a service program that you can get that I would of fit into my budget. ********************************************************************************* I ****** not ** offered the same opportunity. I would not buy another car from this kia location.

Desired Settlement
I would like the weather mat that I was promised and I would like the service program that was never offered to me, everyone should have a opportunity at that program.

Business Response

**********************************
************************

to ******
Thank you for this information, we are contacting the customer and dealing with her issues, the mats are being provided and the maintenance package is being explained to her for her to make a decision on.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They called me to settle the problem

10/31/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
04/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Automobile Dealers-New Cars, Truck Painting & Lettering, Automobile Leasing, Automobile Inspection Service, Automobile Repairing & Service, Automobile Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 17/05/2006Business started: 01/06/1998Business started locally: 01/05/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Vehicle Sales Authority
208 5455 152 St
Surrey, BC V3S 5A5
(604) 575-7255
http://www.vehiclesalesauthority.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1998, BC

Business Management
Sandy Duarte (Office Manager)Darren Graham (President)Steve Jensen (GM, Pacific Auto Group)

Darren Graham is also the President/Director of the following businesses:

- Applewood Motors Langley Inc., DBA The Original Applewood Motors and Applewood Langley Kia. You may find the BBB business review for this business here: http://www.bbb.org/mbc/business-reviews/automobile-dealers-used-cars/applewood-langley-kia-in-langley-bc-1245336?isbureau=Y&language=1

- Applewood Nissan Richmond. You may find the BBB business review for this business here: http://www.bbb.org/mbc/business-reviews/automobile-dealers-used-cars/applewood-nissan-richmond-in-richmond-bc-1243479?isbureau=Y&language=1

- Applewood Nissan Surrey. You may find the BBB business review for this business here: http://www.bbb.org/mbc/business-reviews/automobile-dealers-new-cars/applewood-nissan-in-surrey-bc-1251702?isbureau=Y&language=1

- The Pacific Auto Source Ltd. You may find the BBB business review for this business here: http://www.bbb.org/mbc/business-reviews/automobile-dealers-used-cars/pacific-auto-source-in-surrey-bc-1226532?isbureau=Y&language=1

Contact Information
Principal: Jacqui Micka (Marketing)
Business Category

Automobile Dealers-New Cars, Truck Painting & Lettering, Automobile Leasing, Automobile Inspection Service, Automobile Repairing & Service, Automobile Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

KIA Dealer Surrey
KIA Dealer Langley
Used Cars Surrey
Used Cars Langley
Used Trucks Surrey
Used Trucks Langley
Auto Service Surrey
Auto Service Langley

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSun: 11:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

Lower Mainland BC and Alberta

Alternate Business Names
Applewood Motors Group, Applewood Motors Inc

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Applewood Surrey KIA

16299 Fraser Hwy

Surrey, BC V4N 0G1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 16299 Fraser Hwy 

    Surrey, BC V4N 0G1(604) 635-3010
    Fax: (604) 635-3011

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Applewood Surrey KIA is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 533-7881 - Applewood Kia Langley

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (604) 533-7801
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Automobile Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.