BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/23/1992

Burnside Windows & Doors Limited

Phone: (902) 468-7114Fax: (902) 468-710875 Akerley Blvd., Unit G, DartmouthNS B3B 1R7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/23/1992

BBB has determined that Burnside Windows & Doors Limited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Burnside Windows & Doors Limited's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burnside Windows & Doors Limited

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I spoke with ********** (************, e-mail:********************) and Burnside Windows and Doors about a shotty installation performed by one of his subcontractors ****************** (************, e-mail: **************************). It is a ******* product they sell and they actually sell the window to the subcontractor and then the subcontractor sells it to you through the contract you make with him/her. My problem is I have an e-mail for the work and purchase of two windows through e-mail from **************, but it changed because he did not have the information correct. So there was no other e-mail which I could actually call my contract. ************** came to my home with two other employees and installed two ******* windows supplied by Burnside Windows and Doors,**************. I had problems with them the first winter I went through and contacted them about it. They turned me to ******* in ****** (e-mails: ***********************, **********************, *******************, ***********************) and this year they finally sent a subcontracted representative (**************) to assess my windows. He found defects in the two windows. Moved around some seals and installed a few more to prevent my initial complaint of freezing condensation on my windows. He was at my home to address my complaint of a bow in my window. ************** prepared an assessment report for ******* and Burnside Windows and Doors, and when it spelled out a shotty installation. They all started passing the problem to ******************. I have been copying ************** through the whole ordeal and no response from him on it. My last conversation with ********** was, you are going to have to contact ****.
Product_Or_Service: ******** Vertical Slider Window

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for the installation, so I can have someone else remove my window and install it properly. I have no faith in ****************** at this point and would rather find someone else to fix his mess.

Business Response
Attn. Complaints Dept. First of all concerning the complaint against my company. Burnside Windows& Doors Limited did not directly do business with ************. He called here and we gave his name to ************************************ to check on an install. He hired **** and we supplied a couple windows to ****. BWD never subcontracted anything. He complained of moisture on window and we contacted the manufacturer as per normal course. He was not happy with ****'s install. He made it clear to us he would not let ************* back in his house. If anyone is going to refund it would have to be the one he did business with not the company that referred him.Burnside did not subcontract anyone. If anyone from the bbb wishes to contact myself I can be reached anytime at my office. Hope this is what you are looking for. Thanks ***********************.

Consumer Response
Burnside Windows President *********** is only making the whole situation much worse by trying to deceive the BBB about my dealings with his company. His brother ********** was the employee at BWD who set up the initial appointment for ************** to come to my home to take measurements, so he could prepare a quote for the job.

************** did this prior to ************, as other companies I had been calling to get quotes did around that time. I chose **** because he and *** convinced me I would get a top of the line product and a professional installation from ****.

I actually phoned BWD and spoke with ********** one more time before I made my final decision to make sure ************** was a reputable person they have been using to perform installs for their company. After he told me ************** had been doing this type of work for years for them and the product was top notch, I give them the go ahead to place the order to have the windows bought and the installation done.

************** then called me and said I would get a call when the windows were in from BWD and a date for installation would be booked. This did not happen, ************** phoned me on a Friday **************** and said he was going to come to my home on Monday **************** and perform the install. I was waiting a while for any kind of call and agreed, the weather was starting to get bad and I wanted the work done A.S.A.P.

I should have known it wasn't going to go right when they forced the biggest window up two ladders by pushing it while one guy moved up one ladder and the other guy pushed and moved up the other ladder (Picture Attached). Occupational Health and Safety for any two storey window installations requires the contractor to erect staging to perform work with window at this height. It's too late for that type of thing to be added, but I am just trying to give you an idea of what I went through as a customer of BWD.

Regardless, of them saying they did not subcontract **** to me. All I have is an e-mail from **** which represents the first quote we discussed through e-mail. Below is the e-mail in question, which states "For Burnside Windows". So I do not understand *********** saying to you, what he has said when I have an e-mail stating he performed the work for Burnside Windows. Please advise on what I should do next, and if there is more information you require please do not hesitate to ask. Thanks in advance for your time and consideration with this matter.



*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Hi *****,

Here is the quote for your windows

Supply and install 2 ******** solid vinyl windows.
1 ******* horizontal slider
1******** single hung vertical slider.3 section with 2 operators on ends
All complete with low e argon glass.

Price includes,
- Removal and disposal of old windows.
- Install seal and insulate around new windows.
- Install clear pine jamb extensions.No casing.
- Clean up site and remove all debris.

Total price $2175.00 All taxes included.

**************
Ph. ********
For Burnside Windows
Ph. ********

Final Business Response
Attn: **** First of all Burnside Windows is not try to get out of anything. When you look at *************s invoice it says for Burnside Windows phone ********. That is for info on the product. Enough said. I spoke with ************** . ************************************************* The labour portion to install said window is 350.00 +hst. That he is willing to pay to satisfy the request for him to adjust. If that will satisfy this case I will make it happen. ***********

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/05/1991Business started: 05/01/1991
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Conrad (President)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Windows & Doors, Windows - Installation & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burnside Windows & Doors Limited

75 Akerley Blvd.

Dartmouth, NS B3B 1R7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 75 Akerley Blvd.
    Unit G 

    Dartmouth, NS B3B 1R7

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burnside Windows & Doors Limited is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Windows & Doors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.