BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1976

Bell Aliant

Find a Location

(866) 425-4268Fort William Building, Box 2110, St. John'sNL A1C 5A6 Send email to Bell Aliant

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1976

BBB has determined that Bell Aliant meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bell Aliant's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 205 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

99 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 29 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues129
Billing / Collection Issues19
Delivery Issues19
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service33
Total Closed Complaints 99

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bell Aliant

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (99)
05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was about to change companies. I was called by **** with a better offer to stay, I accepted. **** did not implement agreed offer.
************** I was approached by ******** with a very good bundle offer to switch companies, to them. I agreed and called BellAliant to have my services cancelled the following week. The next week, few days before my service with **** was to be cancelled, I received a call from **** with a 2 year offer for my existing bundle for $154/month (including taxes). I accepted and **** advised that they would cancel my transfer to ********. The next day I received a call from ******** to confirm that I had cancelled the transfer of bundle to ********, I advised that I agreed.
******** When I received my BellAliant **** it was way too high as they were charging me for long distance calls. I called and they fixed it. In April I again received a **** from **** Aliant that was far too large. They again fixed it but stated that I owed over $***?
When I got home from work *********** I called **** again as I din not have time to wait indefinitely at work. I was passed ****** to several different people, some of whom tried to make me unacceptable offers, then the final person said that they would investigate and get back to me on *************************. No one called.
*********** I called **** again. The worker on the phone was well mannered, advised that they could not explain why I was not called. They tried to find a supervisor but one was not available? They advised that I would receive a call by a supervisor tomorrow.
It is now 2 months since the offer was made, and I accepted it. As they appear to take notes on each call, I do not understand why I have to re-explain the situation completely each time to people who are unable to help me?

Desired Settlement
I want the two year bundle that I was promised, as well as some form of compensation for the aggravation that I have suffered trying to get this issue resolved, potentially one month free bundle. I did not call Bell looking for an offer, they called me?

Business Response
I spoke with **** and explained there was an error on **** Aliant's part and billing has since been adjusted to reflect the following *****************************************. Retention credit $**, all four set tops boxes free ($***** credit per month), unlimited Canada/US calling $***** per month. Customer was satified with outcome. I gave him my number if any further issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overpaid my final bill by $***** and Bell will not refund it to me.
Bell Aliant ************* office at PO Box **************************** was my provider of home phone, internet and cable TV.*************************************************************************************************************************** I switched my services to *******
I turned my cable equipment in to the Bell Agent store in *********************** but continue to get bills stating I owed for the equipment. I phone Bell twice to discuss this issue to be told I did not owe for the equipment and as a matter of fact had overpaid my account by $*****. I received my final bill from Bell******************** and expected it to be accompanied by a cheque for my overpayment. To my surprise my account balance showed zero and they had charged me the $*****.
When I phoned their customer service line I was told that Bell does not refund any amount below $20.00 as it cost them too much to process the refund.*************************************** ******* *******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I want my $******

Business Response
**** Aliant has made several attempts to reach **. ******* concerning his compliant. Although unable to reach him messages have been left and we have resolved his complaint. A cheque has been issued for the over payment on his account and was sent out to him. **** Aliant now considers this matter resolved.

Consumer Response
Greetings,

The complaint was resolved to my satisfaction as the company refunded my overpayment.

Thank you BBB for your attention regarding this matter.

Respectfully,

***** *******

04/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing you regarding problems we are having with bell aliant.Over the past12-18 months we have been plagued with over billing on a monthly basis. The range of overbilling is from $250.00 down.We have four phones plus the internet.The problem seems to be something customer services fails or do not want to solve all they do is credit the overbilling only to have the same thing happen the next month.Supposedly we spoke to sollutions many times and finally we spoke to a supervisor who called us and informed us that this problem would not happen again.However the next month we were overbilled $54.95.It seems that bell aliant is like Teflon and we cannot talk to anyone at bell who knows anything.Please help us get someone from bell to correct this mess.***************************************************************************************
****************************

Desired Settlement
Please correct problem

Business Response
In reviewing the account and speaking to both ********************* we have resolved the issue. Customer had there cottage put on temporary suspension and an incorrect date was inputted for suspension to be done. Customer was adjusted $54.94, which I advised. I also reviewed full account with customer and monthly recurring charges for a go forward basis.

04/06/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In late December 2013, I subscribed to a Bundle offer from Bell Aliant and Bell Canada for my home phone, Internet and Satellite TV. A sales person dropped a brochure to my door and I felt it would be a good saving to what I was paying for these services. When the salesman visited he told me that my Long Distance Rate would stay the same (.05 cents/minute). At first, I did not notice I was being charged twenty cents (.20/min.) On February 2014 invoice, I noticed I was being charged the higher amount so I deducted it from my invoice. I called Bell Aliant and they changed it but started charging two dollars and ninety-five cents ($2.95) for a Plan. For Mays' (2014) invoice, I deducted the Plan Charge as I was told my charges would stay at .05 cents a minute. From there, it has escalated as Bell Aliant keeps charging .20 cents per minute because I called and asked the Plan charge to be taken off - I had not ordered it. Presently, the company has me in arrears for almost two hundred dollars, however, I pay my invoice each month upon receipt, but, I deduct the charges I feel I should not be paying. I have always received two (2) invoices - one from Bell and one from Bell Aliant. I have the original brochure and all my invoices and payments on hand.*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Product_Or_Service: December 2013
Account_Number: XXXXXXX X

Desired Settlement
I want Bell Aliant to adjust my invoice to what charges were specified in the brochure and by the salesman when I signed up for the Bundle - $48.00/mth. for the phone service; $5.00/mth. for ******** ********* ******* **** (which we have been paying for years); .05 cents/min. for my long distance calls and the HST.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** - CSR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@bellaliant.ca
Spoke with ******** *****, adv we have ajdusted her account to reflect the 5 cents per minute plan that was offered to her. Customer is pleased with resolution. Bell Aliant and the customer consider this matter closed

04/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a $150.00 deposit with Bell Aliant when I opened my account with them in August of 2014. Since then I paid my bills on time, every month. Early December I received a notice in the mail from Bell Aliant telling me my previous balance was zero and that my deposit of 150.00 plus.20 interest would be applied to my account and that the payment due for December would be zero. So I didn't make a payment. since then I have contacted the company at least five times and they refuse to update my account to reflect the deposit amount. I was told by two of their Customer Service Reps that I had to take the paper notice I had received to one of their physical locations which I did and was told by the rep there that he could do nothing to help me. He actually put me on the phone with them again and I was told that it was against company policy to apply the deposit before six months of on time payments. I first spoke with a male, who transferred me to another male, who transferred me to a female, who transferred me to Accounts Receivable and after sitting on hold for ten minutes I hung up the phone and left the store. They are the ones who sent me the statement, I didn't request it? Shouldn't they be required to honor it? When I asked to speak with a person who could correct this I was told, "Listen, It ain't gonna happen."*********************************************************************** *************************************************************************************************
Product_Or_Service: Cable, Phone, Internet bundle
Account_Number: XXXXXXX X

Desired Settlement
I would like Bell Aliant to update my account to reflect the deposit applied and to show my true balance.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** - CSR
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@bellaliant.ca
The customer has been notified that we have released the $150.00 to their account today March 30th

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do somewhat accept their response, but...when I spoke with **** she told me that I would be "given something" for all of my trouble. she said that it appeared that I had been getting the run around for months. when I checked my account with them yesterday, after my final conversation with her, the amount hadn't been updated and so I subtracted the 150.00 plus the .20 interest and the late payment charge from my account and submitted a payment from my online banking for March in the amount of 116.54. this is my balance and I hope that is what they come up with as well. I would like to know what it was or is that she was planning on giving me...a free month on my cable bill would be nice. thank you.

Final Business Response
I have spoken with the customer again and advise that $150.00 deposit was definitely credited to her account on that day.. It can take up to 48 hours to reflect her bill.. I also gave $50.00 for customer satisfaction. The customer and bell aliant consider this matter resolved and closed

Page 1 of 20
04/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were billed for long distance charges after being advised that we would not be paying long-distance from our home phone.
in late ****, after being advised by a bell rep that our home phone # could be "ported" to a new cell phone, ************* finally each got a new cell (***************************************), however, the cellular agent informed us that our home # (************)could NOT be "ported" because of our *** exchange. So my wife, after looking at a few options chose the # ************, the only problem with this # is because it's a ********************, it's Long distance from our home phone...

So, after a few months of trying to figure out what to do with our situation, i called to Bell and asked them about my home phone service, I talked to a **** agent and i explained to him that i wanted to call-forward all of our home calls to my wife's cellular, and what would be the best way to go about it.

At the time, we had on our home phone a LD plan that costs $****/minute...as we did minimal LD calls, our cell phones however, have unlimited canadian LD...So the rep told me that setting this up would not be a problem, but i had to pay a monthly fee for the call-forwarding feature...then i inquired about the community calling feature, since, from my understanding, my home phone would be billed for the LD charges...the rep put me on hold for about 10-15 minutes, when he came back, he informed me that my cellular phone plan (with bell)would cover the LD charges and since i had unlimited LD in my cell plan, i didn't need any other features...
I was a bit concerned about this, as i thought the LD charges would affect my home phone, so he put me on hold AGAIN...after about another 10 minutes, he came back and said that his technical dept was telling him all LD charges would be absorbed by the cell plan, so i cancelled my $****/minute plan and i didn't subscribe to community calling feature based on the reps recommendation.
I also confirmed with the rep that my monthly recurring bill would be, i believe, around $** before tax.

*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Fast-forward to 4 months later, i pick up the mail and open up the bell one, it's $****..***************************. when i examine it, every single call that was forwarded to my wife's cell from our home # has generated a LD bill of about $500/month (every LD $ charged in this 4 month period was from the call-forwarding),so of course, i call Bell.

Because it took me 4 months to pick up on their error, they feel that they don't have to honor/acknowledge the conversation that took place 4 months prior, they want ************* to pay it off...I've offered to pay the cost of my home service and the cost of the community calling feature for those 4 months instead of the LD charges, that is after all what i was calling for initially. they have refused this offer and have credited the account $200 out of "customer satisfaction".

Desired Settlement
I am still willing to pay them for the service i requested on my original call...
basic home phone service
Call-forwarding
Community calling service

For that 4 month period.

remove my account from collections
save our home # *************** for when it can be ported to our cell phone as this was the original plan.

Business Response
**** Aliant continues to attempt to reach this customer to assist in resolving his billing issues. We do request an extension of 2 weeks on this customer in hopes he will contact us back.

Final Business Response
**** Aliant has not heard back from the customer. We are prepared to adjust the customer's account for $****** plus tax ($** X 5 months for Unlimited Calling Plan) from the balance $******* which leaves $****** for the customer to pay and I will issue a credit after that for $*******. We will request that the customer pay the balance first before the remaining portion of the account is adjusted. Unfortunately the customer has not contacted us back so this arrangement can be made. **** Aliant has already extended this complaint and we now consider the issue closed.

04/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My landline service was suspended. I called to speak with someone regarding this matter *********************************************************
I have been a Customer with Bell Aliant for **************. I have had problems in the past. This incident is on-going. It began *****************. I got home from work ***************************** and was suprised to see that my phone service was not working. The next day I called because I needed information. I thought it may have needed repair. I spoke with a man ************************ and informed me that my phone was disconnected bc I owed a bill of ***. He told me no supervisors were working ********************* ?************************************I asked to speak to a supervisor **********************************************************************************************************? ************************************************ I decided I was getting nowhere with him and decided to call back the following day. *********************************************************************************. The following day, I called again ***********. I********************************************************************************. ******************************************************** Again, I was informed that no supervisors were working because it was ********* ************************************************************ I asked for his name and employee number ********************! ***************************************************************************************************. Understandably, I was NOT willing to give out my credit card information. I called today, ******* at***************** ********************************************************************************************************************************* I asked for a supervisor and AGAIN I was told they were unavailable. This is unacceptable. This man gave me his name ****************************** ***************************************. ******************************************************. He informed me, after I became extremely assertive, that a supervisor would call me within 24- 48 hours. All this just because I want to pay a bill? ********************************************************************************************************************. Now I have no service - phone, internet nor cable and I would like this restored. I will pay te bill, but before I do so, I wanted my voice to be heard.***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like to speak to a supervisor asap. I would like to be compensated for my experience ****************** I want my service back immediately until I am able to make a payment *********************

Business Response
I spoke with **. ****** on ************* and reconnected all services due to service being temporary disconnected for non-payment. After reviewing her **** Aliant account, a disconnection notice was sent with amount owing but **** Aliant only received a partial payment. I have since made payment arrangements with the customer. I apologized for the customer service and have provided feedback for coaching purposes and to address the situation as to why a supervisor did not contact the customer. **** Aliant bills are due in full each month. I have left my contact information with the customer should she have any further concerns.

04/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 31st, 2014, I returned two cable boxes and two remotes to Bell Aliant, after moving from my previous residence at *** ****** ***** ****** *** ******. I got a receipt and was informed I would still likely get a bill. I was out of town from mid-November until December 16th. When I got home there was a bill from Bell Aliant charging me for cable boxes and telephones. On December 19th I called Bell and spoke with one of their representatives. I gave him the reference number regarding the returned equipment, and I specifically asked him if there was a remaining balance on the account. He said yes, and then he told me there was not, that I was owed $247. He put me on hold and calculated the amounts to be sure, and perhaps spoke with a supervisor and then came back to me. He informed me it would be credited to my next cable bill, but I told him that we no longer had services with them, which was the original nature of my call. He then told me that a cheque in the amount of $247 would be sent out to me and I should expect it sometime in January. I have attached supporting documents showing that Bell Aliant claimed there was no phone call from that day, the phone records showing that there were actually two, as the first was cut off. The emails between Bell and I, a picture of a text message between ******* ******* (the other name on the account) and I, informing him of the $247 credit. As well as the bill from Bell Aliant showing the outrageous charges, and the receipt I got from the Bell Aliant store in the ****** *****
Product_Or_Service: Cable/Internet
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like Bell Aliant to remove the charges that their employee told me I did not owe. And I would like the $247 credit they also told me I was owed because of misplaced charges.

Business Response
I tried reaching customer by phone with no response. I sent an email on Feb 17, 2015 along with bill statements showing proof of amount owing of $459.16. I attempted to retrieve phone call dated Dec 19, 2014 with no data applicable. There is no adjustment being issued and no notes indicating a credit was to be issued. The credits for the charges were applied. The billing does not justify any credit. Bell Aliant considers this closed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bell continues to make excuses for why they can't find any evidence of the phone call in question. First they said there were no records of the call, then when I proved that there were, they claim the recording of such phone calls are only available for 30 days. Then she tells me that unless I have his name (which was possibly *****), there's nothing she could do. I told her she might want to look at who was answering the phone that day, since we know the day, time, and the number I called. Bell does not want to take responsibility for its employees giving out false information. I'd also like to point out that when I returned the cable boxes and remotes to the Bell store in the ****** ***** the employee who processed the transaction ******************************************************************************************************** didn't say a word about the a lance on the account.
************************************************************ If an employee didn't tell me there was a credit on the account, why would I tell my partner only minutes after the phone call took place what the employee said?
I'm not even asking for the credit the employee told me I was owed in the first place, I simply want the "balance" removed and the account finally closed. The point is that I called Bell to give them the reference number for the returned cable boxes which they charged me for after I returned them so they would reverse the charge, at which point after their employee corrected their ERROR, I asked if there was a balance on the account. He said NO, and I took his word for fact. When he said there was a $247 credit that would be taken off my next bill, I had to point out the whole reason for my call was that I cancelled the account because I moved and therefore I would not be receiving anymore bills.****************************************************************************

Business Rebuttal:
After review of the Bell Aliant account, there are no adjustments being issued. Bell Aliant stands with decision that the balance owing is $459.16. Bell Aliant considers this closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
********************************************************************************** In the documents I provided there was a screen shot of a text message sent December 19th to my fiancé, in which I told him the employee said we were being issued a credit of $247. Clearly it was not a doctored photo by any means. Bell Aliant needs to take responsibility over what their employees tell customers.********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************* The very LEAST Bell could do is subtract the $247 off the balance they are so adamant that I owe. It is beyond ridiculous that their employees can have an entire 18 minute conversation with a customer and mysteriously have no record of it.

Final Business Response
After further review of the Bell Aliant account, I apologize to Ms. ***** that unfortunately we are unable to retrieve information as to who the customer spoke with on Dec. 19, 2014. The bill statements that were provided to the customer justify the billing and does not indicate the customer was to receive any credit of $247. Bell Aliant stands with decision that the balance owing is $459.16. Bell Aliant considers this closed.

03/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging me for service I cancelled, for receiver I returned and late fees.
My tv service kept failing so I cancelled it and returned 2 receivers. Bell billed me the next month and has added late charges and interest for a service I canceled. I try to rectify with them and they gave me a retainment discount yet keep charging me for a bill they told me was sorted out. I have fired them.

Desired Settlement
Stop trying to charge me for service and equipment I didn't have.

Business Response
Bell Aliant has attempted to contact the customer numerous times to request he contact us to discuss his concerns. The customer sent an email back using foul language stating that he will not be contacting us to discuss his account and has disconnected his Bell Aliant services. Bell Aliant has closed the complaint due to no customer contact.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I repeatedly tried to answer their email and it always bounced back to me when I said they stole money from me. No matter what I said, profane not, my email was returned to me. Bell Aliant has the worst customer service I have ever seen. Failure at all levels to rectify a Simple problem and that is why I fired them.

Final Business Response
the customer contacted an alternate provider and that provider submitted a request to transfer the customer's service to them. The request was submitted to Bell Aliant on October 16 with a request date of October 20. This caused the customer to be billed for Early Cancellation Billing for his bundle and long distance service as the 30-day notification was not provided. There was a late payment charge applied to the customer's September bill statement. This was because the August bill was not paid in full on or before the due date of September 27 as per Bell Aliants Terms of Service. There was no billing for unreturned equipment on this account. I checked the history on the account but there are no reported troubles regarding the customer's TV service. The customer cancelled the TV service in July but the order did not process correctly so the Rep provided him with a monthly credit of $14.00 for 12-months which the customer accepted. 30-day notification would have been given which would take the customer's billing to August so the billing was correct. The customer has paid this account in full, the account is closed, and at a zero balance. I am not sure what other confirmations the customer is looking for. Please provide this information and let me know if the customer has any questions.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bell Aliant was my phone company. Every phone company has records of calls, yet my 8 or so calls that I made complaining about my service cannot be found. I find it pathetic, and an indication of how brutal Bell's service is. They also state that calls are recorded for training or record purposes, yet they can't find those either. I cancelled service after multiple arguments with this company, and they can't find any record of it. Pretty convenient. I returned equipment and had receipts from those returns, and they said they couldn't find a record of those either. I also did not want to cancel my internet service, and wanted the problems rectified and they never were. I had no cable for 4 days, internet kept cutting out, and phone was intermittent and if I called to complain, they told me it would be $160 service charge to send someone out to rectify the problem. They also installed home security devices without telling me, and badgered me some 35 times or so to convert to their service. I discovered the devices when I was returning their equipment, but I bet they don't have a record of that either. I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN. I don't have cable or internet at my house any more and have told everyone who would listen not to use Bell. I suggest they go online to see their reviews and see that I am not the only person like this. I also suggest they look for work because Bell laid off 180 workers in Nova Scotia around the time of this incident, and I doubt that is the last of their cuts. This has been a colossal waste of everyone's time, and I will not respond to anything else on this matter.

03/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Le 24 mars 2015

Bureau d'éthique commerciale
1888, rue Brunswick, bureau 303
Halifax, N
B3J 3J8

Objet: Plainte concernant une facturation injustifiée de la part de Bell Aliant

Madame, Monsieur,

Je désire vous faire part d'une plainte en ce qui concerne une facturation injustifiée de la part de Bell Aliant.

Le 16 mai 2013, M. ********* ******** de Bell Aliant m'a proposé l'offre promotionnelle suivante: l'accès à l'Internet à haute vitesse en plus du téléphone résidentiel et un certain nombre de postes gratuits, au cot de 129,95 $ par mois pour 24 mois.

Le 6 juillet 2014, Bell Aliant a ajouté à ma facture, sans ma permission, des frais pour télévision numérique de 14,49 $ par mois, plus taxes. J'ai alors fait des démarches pour faire supprimer ces frais. J'ai écrit au directeur régional du Nord, M. ****** ******** le 19 juillet 2014, lui faisant part de mon opposition face à la politique de Bell Aliant selon laquelle le client doit appeler et refuser le service, s'il ne le veut pas, autrement le service lui est imposé automatiquement (à des frais qui s'élèvent dans mon cas à 200 $ par an). Le 6 février 2015, puis le 6 mars 2015, des frais de 2,91 $ plus taxes et de 15 $ plus taxes ont encore été ajoutés, sans mon consentement, à la ligne «Télévision numérique» de ma facture téléphonique.

Je porte plainte contre Bell Aliant pour les raisons suivantes:

1. D'abord, le contrat que j'ai signé le 16 mai 2013 était pour une durée de 2 ans (donc jusqu'au 16 mai 2015). Bell Aliant ne devait pas m'imposer de frais supplémentaires le 6 juillet 2014, le 6 février 2015 et le 6 mars 2015, en vertu du contrat. En d'autres mots, il ne devait pas y avoir de nouveaux frais qui devaient s'ajouter à la ligne «Télévision numérique» avant cette date. Or, les montants suivants ont bel et bien été inscrits à la ligne «Télévision numérique» sur ma facture:
6 juillet 2014: 14,49 $ plus taxes
6 février 2015: 2,91 $ plus taxes
6 mars 2015: 15,00 $ plus taxes
pour un total de 32,40 $ plus taxes, ce qui fait en tout 36,61 $.

2. Bell Aliant me dit que je devais faire une demande expresse pour supprimer le service qui, autrement, me serait imposé automatiquement, sans me prévenir. Le contrat que j'ai signé ne mentionnait aucunement que la compagnie allait procéder ainsi après 24 mois.

3. Je m'oppose au principe même de présupposer que le client voudra le service, une fois l'offre promotionnelle échue, et de mettre la charge sur ses épaules de réclamer une suppression du service s'il ne le désire pas. Une telle pratique est contraire à l'éthique commerciale. La seule façon acceptable de procéder serait pour Bell Aliant de faire une offre active à ses clients si elle veut leur vendre ses services à la fin du forfait gratuit.

4. Bell Aliant soutient que la compagnie avise VERBALEMENT le client qu'à la fin de l'offre promotionnelle, il devra l'aviser s'il ne désire plus recevoir le produit. À ma connaissance, il n'a jamais été question de cela, lors de la signature du contrat, et de toutes façons, le cas échéant, cette clause aurait d être CRITE et non stipulée VERBALEMENT. Or, rien à cet effet n'est indiqué sur le contrat que j'ai signé.

5. Je soutiens que la pratique d'imposer au client la charge de refuser un produit à la fin d'une offre promotionnelle, sinon on lui impose le produit et on le facture, est douteuse, voire illicite, et manque d'intégrité commerciale.

****** ****
********* **
No XXXXXXX X

Desired Settlement
Je réclame de Bell Aliant ce qui suit:
1. Le remboursement des frais de 36,61 $ qui figurent sur mes factures du 6 juillet 2014, du 6 février 2015 et du 6 mars 2015.
2. L'abolition de sa politique actuelle en ce qui concerne la facturation automatique à la fin d'une offre promotionnelle et l'adoption d'une nouvelle politique selon laquelle la responsabilité lui incomberait de contacter ses clients et leur demander s'ils veulent ou non continuer à recevoir le service, une fois le forfait terminé, et à quel cot, plutôt que de prendre pour acquis qu'ils le veulent, tel qu'elle le fait actuellement.
3. Je réclame également que Bell Aliant me fasse parvenir une copie de sa nouvelle politique, une fois adoptée.

Business Response
Bell Aliant addressed the same issues with Mr. **** in July 2014 through a complaint sent to our Executive Office. We have also received the same complaint through the CCTS and advised of the same result. The customer was provided an adjustment back in July 2014 in good faith and advised that the cost of his service was rated at the regular price. He was also provided with other features at no charge for a set period of time and clearly advised of the expiry date. Bell Aliant has explained that all promotions have end dates at which time the cost of the feature and service will revert back to the regular price at the end of that promotion. The customer is asking Bell Aliant to change their policy regarding our offered promotions. Customer are clearly advised of the length of their promotions at the time of the sale. As this customer has been advised numerous times of the outcome of his issues, Bell Aliant will not be making any further contact to yet repeat our previous decisions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

La réponse que Bell Aliant a fait parvenir au Bureau d'éthique commerciale à la suite de ma plainte ne me satisfait pas.

Bell Aliant se défend en disant qu'elle m'a offert de me donner accès gratuitement à certains postes de télévision pour une certaine période, en guise de compensation, mais là n'est pas le problème. D'autres frais se sont ajoutés à mon compte après avoir conclu ce marché, ce qui m'a amené à déposer ma plainte.

Le fait demeure que j'ai en main un contrat qui a été signé le 16 mai 2013 pour une période de deux ans et les termes du contrat n'ont pas été respectés. Il ne prendra échéance que le 16 mai 2015.

Je m'oppose aussi à la politique de Bell Aliant qui force le client à refuser explicitement les produits offerts à la fin de l'offre promotionnelle, sinon ces produits lui sont imposés et facturés automatiquement.
****** ****

Page 1 of 22

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/15/1988Business started: 04/22/1910
Contact Information
Principal: Escalations Department (Customer Resolution Specialist)
Number of Employees

1000

Business Category

Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers, Data Communications Equipment & Systems, Telephone Communications, Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Aliant Telecom

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bell Aliant

Fort William Building, Box 2110

St. John's, NL A1C 5A6

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • Fort William Building, Box 2110 

    St. John's, NL A1C 5A6

  • 5201 Duke Street 

    Halifax, NS B3J 1N9

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bell Aliant is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.