BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bubba's Tubs

(709) 579-7727View Additional Phone Numbers1207 Topsail Road, Mount PearlNL A1N 5E5 Send email to Bubba's Tubshttp://www.bubbastubs.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Bubba's Tubs is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bubba's Tubs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bubba's Tubs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Several scheduled appointments for warranty work were cancelled day before appointment, even though booked 2 weeks prior. Our tub continued to leak.
Our 5 year old hot tub from Bubba's is still under warranty. We had a leak in our shell. At the end of ***,we booked a service call for ******* for repair work to be completed. Day before appt., it was cancelled because owner needed to look at the tub before any work done. We were frustrated by waiting so long to find out work was not getting done. **** agreed to come on the **** to take a look to approve the warranty work, but he did not show up. Called the next day, & were told he would be by before the end of the day. He showed up at 6:30 that evening with no tools to work with, and expected tub to have been taken apart for him to look at. We supplied tools. He said he would be back first thing Monday morning (*******) to have the tub repaired. No one arrived on Monday. Spoke with ***** at Bubba's on Tuesday morning, and told me **** should not have promised to be there on Monday, but scheduled an appointment for *******. Called on the **** to confirm appointment, but got no answer all day. ***** called that evening at 6 pm to cancel appointment as **** & **** were out of town & wouldn't be back on Thursday so appointment had to be cancelled. She then guaranteed they would be there on Wednesday, ****** to do repair. They did show on *** and completed repair work. They were supposed to return the next day to confirm the leak was fixed, and to refill the tub and add start up chemicals. They did not show up. Tried calling their office several times, and could not get any answer until I hit prompt for new tub sales, and **** answered right away. I asked why nobody came by to check on the tub & refill it, and got verbally abused on the phone and told to go elsewhere for my warranty work. **** hung up on me and I then called *********, who made the hot tub. ********* called me back on ********. He couldn't believe the poor service I was given and assured me they would take care of it. ********* spoke with Bubba's, and assured us Bubba's would come on *************** to fix the tub once and for all as it was still leaking. I got home Friday lunch time to find the tub turned off and the outside electrical panel left open. I spoke with **** & asked why the power was off and the panel open. **** told him I didn't want to pay for electricity, & to keep it off, even though the tub was full and heated when he arrived. I asked if the repair was complete and the tub fixed. He said no, that the appointment was only to confirm that the tub was still leaking, & that they had ordered a cone to be flown in which would repair the leak. I called ********* back on ********* as I hadn't heard anything back from Bubba's at this point. ********* advised that no parts were ordered as it would be too expensive. Instead, a chemical called ********** was being shipped to **** & he would be out on ********* to apply the chemical. The **** came & went and no one showed up. On the ****, I went to the store, picked up the chemical & applied it myself. This is not the first issue we've had with Bubba's. In ****, a pipe let go, and the technician came in to repair, but the following day, the pipe still leaked. He returned with a heat gun & blue glue, and almost caught the pipe on fire & got blue glue all over our deck. That entire section of our tub now has blue glue everywhere & burn marks on the pipes. **** showed up after that irate with us for complaining, until he saw the damage his technician did, and then he calmed down. down.

Desired Settlement
We request the repair work be done by another hot tub company in regards to the burns that were never fixed, with Bubba's paying the bill.

We were promised replacement chemicals for the several times the tub was drained and refilled during this process, but not receive those. We still expect to receive those replacement chemicals.

I had to do all the warranty work myself with the help of *********. I expect compensation for my time.

As well, I would like a letter of apology for ****** behavior throughout this most recent issue with our leak.

Business Response
With respect to the aforementioned complaint, we are willing to work with this customer to facilitate an amicable resolution. According the details of the file, there are several issues brought forth by *********: 1. A repair that was completed 2 years ago that is not currently presenting a problem. 2. A recent leak which we understand is resolved and a 3. Chemical loss due to water loss, 4. Work the customer completed by himself, 5. Issues with the owner of this business.
1. The two year old repair was a repair we warrantied for life. It was completed almost 2 years ago by a previous employee is not something that came up in recent conversations with the complainant, but is a reflection of his ability or desire to accept the lifetime warranty on the repair. We are willing to redo the repair at no cost to the customer despite the fact that it is not causing any issue with the proper function of the hot tub at this point. We have acknowledged that that particular repair looks unsightly, (if you remove the panels of the hot tub and inspect the plumbing within), but is not visible from the normal use of the hot tub and does not affect the proper functioning of the hot tub. Under no circumstances will we pay for the labour of a 3rd party for a warranty item.
2. The most recent leak which precipitated this situation. It was a small and sinister leak for all involved. It was not an obvious fix but rather, one that required time and consultation to solve. It should be noted, that the leak in question was that of "allowing bits of tissue paper to become wet" inside the hot tub. (The customer was removing panels of his hot tub and placing tissue paper inside to find moisture). It was not that we would not or could not do the repair, it was that we could not do it fast enough and that the customer was not cooperative in allowing us to investigate and solve the issue as it should have been. Sometimes contact with manufacturing and the technical department is required for uncommon issues, and this was the case in this situation. This was not a big leak and throughout our process of finding the proper resolution, the customer simply expected an immediate fix. Most customers who present with a leak, simply call. They do not investigate and then tell us how to do things. They allow us to fix it as it should be fixed. There are a specific set of sequences for diagnosing, locating and resolving different leaks from different areas of the hot tub, and the customer was not cooperative in allowing us to do this. (One can not find a leak if there is no water in the hot tub). We were well engaged in finding a solution when the customer's impatience simply dictated the situation. It is not practical for one to believe nor assume that the moment a *** package shows up that we will cease all other business activities in favour of one. Parts and products are received and the next available appointment is scheduled. Throughout these delays, we were simply harassed with phone calls. Irrespective of any and all details surrounding this situation, it is our understanding that the issue is resolved. Like point #1, there does not seem to be an issue anymore save for the customer's fixation on something that does not affect the daily enjoyment of his hot tub.
3. At no point did we promise replacement chemicals. Chemicals are not warrantied, and no business in ****** will warranty chemicals for a hot tub that leaked out. However, in the spirit of resolution, we will offer a $100 store credit to address this issue.
4. We will not be compensating the customer for his time. The repair was covered under warranty and we were engaged in the process of fixing the issue. What he embarked on was of his own accord and was unnecessary. Following receipt of this file, we have contacted all those involved at ********* to find out what they did to accomadate *********. I have received and reviewed any and all email communcation that transpired between ********* and *********, and I have discuss the same with those involved. All is indicating that the customer has indeed resolved the issue by pouring a solution into his hot tub. Further exemplifying this customer's impatience, the initial bottle of product received free of charge from us, was used improperly in that the customer would not wait for it to do what it is supposed to do but rather drained his hot tub prematurely. This resulted in ********* sending a second bottle, and again exemplifying the customer's impatience that it needed to be explained that the product in question was not allowed to be shipped via *** transportation. Consultation with ********* indicates no other parts were required nor expensed to the customer.
5. The breakdown in communication with this customer came at a point where we simply would not accept to hear his long-winded story of frustration anymore. It was clearly explained that we could fix his hot tub as we do, or he could have someone else fix it. (I ended the conversation suggesting the latter after many, many, many failed attempts to find a different path). However, we were not interested in hearing about his frustrations anymore. This breakdown in communication preceded the customer contacting our manufacturer directly to "let them deal with me". Their subsequent communication and experience with this customer was equal to our own - the communication from the customer bordered on harassment. A quick explanation followed by *********'s persistent calls to ********* quickly put us all on the same page with this customer. We both wanted the situation to go away. Our position is clear and it should be noted, that we require only a notice of a need for service. Unfortunately in this situation, the customer, on multiple occasions wanted to "vent" about their issue. The repetition to both myself and ********* was unprecedented. While we support our customers and back our products and honour our warranties, we do not, under any circumstances, accept people speaking to us, or harassing us as was the case in this situation. A request for "please leave it with us", "the product has been ordered", "we will be there as soon as we receive the products" was never enough. And as such, there will be no written apology to *********. We no longer wish to do business with him. We feel that an offer to fix an issue that is not currently posing a problem (nor has been for 2 years now), and we are offering a $100 store credit for his chemicals - which is never included in any repair situation is an indication of our desire to resolve this issue.

**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will follow the numbering **** used in his response.

1. The old repair work was mentioned because while the pipe no longer leaks, we were told that a technician would be coming back after the winter to clean up the mess that was made. Nobody ever came. While the pipes are inside the tub, their mistake should have been corrected. If **** says there is a lifetime warranty on this repair, I would like that in writing.

2. The current leak in question was enough that the tub needed to be topped up with an inch or so of water every week to 10 days, or about 50 liters. This required constant addition chemical balancing, & therefore extra expenses. The leak was enough that our deck was constantly wet below and all around the tub. We were not able to finish staining the deck in that area due to the excess moisture. While **** says that most people will just call & advise of a leak & let Bubba's do the rest, their technician***** advised me that it would be best if I could find where the leak was because he would just be wasting more time if he had to try to locate it himself. I am unsure why **** states "one cannot find a leak if there is no water in the hot tub" as our tub was full all along except when***** drained it.

3. I was told by ***** that once the leak was fixed that a technician would come back to fill the tub and rebalance the chemicals.

4. Instructions were provided by Bubba's & ********* when using the ********** product initially. When the leak was not stopping, I contacted the ********** company directly who advised that for this leak, a concentrated amount of the product needed to sit in the bottom of the tub, not get circulated through the water. Therefore, a second bottle of chemical was required.

5. The frustration occurred because of the poor customer service received from Bubba's, and especially from the owner ****. Appointments were cancelled from the end of *** to the end of **** (because they were too busy with new tubs & pools to install). This should have been enough time to resolve the issue. ****'s offer of a $100 store credit(while also stating that he no longer wishes to do business with me) suggests that he knows he's at fault. A written apology from him is still requested. I don't think this is too much to ask. We will accept the $100 credit to purchase chemicals to compensate for extra spent rebalancing our tub during this ordeal.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Business Response
1. The matter of the acknowledged unsightly repair within the cabinetry and behind the insulation of this spa, we have provided in writing that we have warrantied it for the life of the spa. Documentation through the BBB should be sufficient.

2,3 and 4. Just reading. No action required.

5. A $100 credit was offered in the spirit of resolving the customers request for us to pay for chemicals. We do not EVER warranty nor replace chemicals that are used in hot tub, so special consideration has been made to assist in resolving this matter.

After this credit has been used, we remain firm that we no longer wish to do business with this individual.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/25/2006Business started: 10/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2003, NL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Greg Butler (Manager)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Sauna Equipment & Supplies, Holistic Practitioners, Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Home Improvements, Gazebos

Alternate Business Names
Camery Ventures Inc., Bubba's Tubs & Pools Holdings Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bubba's Tubs

1207 Topsail Road

Mount Pearl, NL A1N 5E5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1207 Topsail Road 

    Mount Pearl, NL A1N 5E5(709) 579-7727

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bubba's Tubs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 689-7727
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://www.facebook.com/pages/Bubbas-Tubs-Pools/405605912857213
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.