BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2010

Enviro Masters Lawn Care

Find a Location

Phone: (902) 865-6156Fax: (902) 865-0895Box 91, Lower SackvilleNS B4C 2S8 Send email to Enviro Masters Lawn Care

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/26/2010

BBB has determined that Enviro Masters Lawn Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Enviro Masters Lawn Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Enviro Masters Lawn Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is with regards to the lawn work done on my lawn by Enviro Masters contracted to do this summer. The company was paid 374.84$ in full.
Hello,

I feel compelled to write something to communicate our extreme dissatisfaction with the service we received this summer from Enviro Masters. We recently moved to a new neighborhood, and are both busy so decided we would hire a company to look after our lawn this summer. After speaking with a few, we decided on your company, and were especially sold on the fact that all work is satisfaction guaranteed.

Our lawn this past summer looked worse than ever. It's much worse than it was last year when we had no one looking after it. I called multiple times to ask for someone to come back and was given the runaround every time and told it was all part of the schedule and someone would be there, etc etc. Someone would eventually show up, but you could never tell anything was done.

For example, the weed management service we received on Sept 25th- We have outdoor surveillance cameras throughout the entire proprety and this was the sequence of events:

12:26- truck pulls up

12:28- person got out of truck, took about 30 seconds to get the hose. Did a less than 60 second walk and spray, and the hose you could see got stuck/tangled at one point at the front of the house, but he never went back to fix it, so we know that part of the back did not even get done as the hose could not reach presumably and as per video because it was tangled.

By 12:29:40 he was back in his truck and drove away at 12:31pm

So less than 5 minutes spent on a service?

We have neighbors who were interested as well and were waiting to see how ours turned out before deciding if they should get Enviromasters next year (obviously they won't as they can't believe we paid money for what was done either). We had someone from ********** come to quote us on an irrigation system and he asked if we would be interested in lawn care. ***************************************************************************************************** It was actually quite embarrassing and we ended up spending more time out there than when we weren't paying someone, to try to get it looking half-decent. We even had to pay another company for weed management (*********************) so we could move forward with work we were doing.

This "service" was a complete waste of money, and we could not be less satisfied with the service we received this year. I'm sure that we aren't the only ones who were on the receiving end of this type of service, and likely not the only ones who are unsatisfied and won't be repeat customers.

Regards,

Desired Settlement
The company Enviro Masters claim they have a satisfaction guarantee on there web site and paper advertisements.We contacted Enviro Masters numerous times by phone and VIA E-mail to let them know that we where not happy with the quality of work produced to are lawn.

We believe it would be fair to meet us half way and refund us 187.42$ for the half done/service quality displayed towards are lawn.
We paid 374.84$ in full.

Thank you

Business Response
We have operated Enviro Masters Lawn Care in *** for 12 years.

This is the very first complaint we have ever received through the BBB from a customer.

We responded to the customer directly concerning this complaint, please see the emails below. We contracted with the customer to provide lawn care services on the front and sides; there was no lawn in the back.

We have no records of multiple phone calls from the customer during the season. Aside from the calls made to arrange to do a free lawn analysis and estimate in April, the only phone call we received from the customer was on Sept 15. At that time the customer phoned to ask about the timing of the next applications. The customer made no mention of their dissatisfaction with the condition of their lawn or of our service.

Our satisfaction guarantee states that, "If for any reason you are not satisfied with the results of any treatment, please notify us and we will retreat your lawn at no extra charge."

The customer is asking for a refund representing half of their payment, $187.42; indicating, "for the half done/service quality displayed towards are lawn." This is the first we have heard of the customer asking for a refund.

Once the customer contracted us for lawn care service in 2014 we made 8 separate visits to the customer's property starting on May 7; in addition to 2 fertilizers, a soil conditioner, and 3 weed controls we applied lime and did a core aeration. The first indication from the customer that they were not satisfied was by email on Friday, Oct 24; after all services were complete. This equates to eating an entire steak at a restaurant, then complaining it wasn't satisfactory and wanting half off the price.

At no time throughout the season did we hear from this customer that they were dissatisfied with their lawn or our service. We were also unaware that the customer contracted another company to do weed control service on their lawn.

We strive for the satisfaction of each and every customer. We care for our customer's lawns and take great pride in our work in anticipation that our customers will be with us for many years to come.

Based on the facts, we do not feel returning half the payment is in any way fair.*************************************************************************************************** we do not believe returning half the payment would do anything to mitigate these circumstances.

________________________________________________
From: Enviro Masters
Sent: November 3, 2014 7:59 AM
To: Customer
Subject: RE: Lawncare services

Hi,

Further to my email below, we went back through our log book. 2 calls from you in April around meeting at your property to do the lawn analysis and free estimate.

Phone call from customer on Sept 18 asking about the timing of next applications. As you recorded, we were on your property to do weed management on Sept 25.

We followed up with the summer student as well and she doesn't recall any calls from you guys complaining about the service or otherwise.

Sorry, that's all we could find.

Enviro Masters Lawn Care

From: Enviro Masters
Sent: November 1, 2014 3:46 PM
To: Customer
Subject: RE: Lawncare services

Hi,

I don't have any emails from you except for the 2 you wrote recently. Would they be under a different email address/name or would they have been sent to a different email address.

Also, we log incoming calls and try to respond immediately to any messages. We will go back through the log book to take a look and contact the student who was helping with phone calls this summer. Believe me, we try our very best to get back to our customers and respond to their concerns.

Enviro Masters Lawn Care


From: Customer
Sent: November 1, 2014 2:38 PM
To: Enviro Masters
Subject: RE: Lawncare services

We called and wrote to you all summer complaining about the service we have received from Enviro Masters and only after we filed a complaint with the BBB and posted reviews ( More to follow) you have decided to write back.

Please do not have anyone ells or yourself trespass on are property again unannounced otherwise that person will be charged with trespassing under the trespass act as well as any other legislation that applies to the full extend of the law. We have already saved pics and videos of cul-de-sac and property of you guys trespassing. Please take this e mail as your first and final warning. The law on this is very clear.

Have a nice day,


Customer

________________________________________
From: Enviro Masters
To: Customer
Subject: RE: Lawncare services
Date: Thu, 30 Oct 2014 22:24:30 -0300
Hi,

Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner.

I was waiting for our senior technician to take a look at your property. He wasn't able to get there until Tuesday this week and took a number of photos.

We can't really speak to the survelliance cameras. Our commercial equipment does spray wide and far and we spray the entire lawn. Because of the equipment, we are able to service properties efficiently. Our technicians are not paid by the property, we pay them by the hour.

The photographs show some weeds, especially along the fence, as they are coming through from the pathway.

The photos do show that you have installed an irrigation system which will help greatly especially during the hot/humid months.

The area in front of your heat pump does look a little thin and could use some grass seed in the spring.

Do you have a specific complaint about the current condition of your lawn? I would be more than happy to meet with you.

Enviro Masters Lawn Care


From: Customer
Sent: October 30, 2014 4:03 PM
To: Enviro Masters
Subject: Lawncare services

Hi,
As per below e mail from my wife sent to you exactly one week ago, I would like to start by saying how sad it is that my wife takes the time to explain to you how dissatisfied she was with your service all a long keeping it very professional and with exact detail as well as providing examples from our outdoor surveillance systems of your company at work. In return you make no attempt to even try to get in touch with us and explain nor try to remedy the situation witch speaks volumes for the level of service you bring forth.

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Well today and for as long as I can I will be sharing with everyone my experience! I will start with BBB then I will add a copy of the below e mail or something close to it to every single social media site and reviews I can find as well as tell as many people as I can in ******* (my back yard) the situation that I went thru so that others can make an educated decision based on our experience we had with Enviro Masters.

Have a good day,



Customer


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The first indication that we were not satisfied was not on October 24th, it was back in mid-July. Just because you have no record, doesn't mean calls weren't made. We spoke with someone on at least three occasions about not being satisfied with our lawn and was assured it would be better as someone was scheduled out the very next day or week. Each time, the reason we were calling was because the lawn looked horrible. We told the person on the phone this and when asked if they could come back to repeat the service, that's when told that someone would be there soon anyway. Obviously the person answering the phone didn't record all the calls. Either way, someone eventually came to do the next service on our property, but it never looked any better. In fact, it just got progressively worse throughout the summer.
We sent an email on October 24th, just to express our dissatisfaction with the overall service we received throughout the course of the summer, and were at least expecting an email response in a timely manner to feel that someone cared and to discuss potential solutions. No response. ***************************************************************************************************************************************** When we emailed a second time, October 30th, we finally received a response, but felt that was only because we stated in the email that we would be going to the BBB. By the time the response came, the BBB process had already been started. This is why, as a business, it only makes sense to deal with unhappy customers on your own, and in a timely manner. If we had received a response to the first email, we could have dealt with it privately.
We had no choice but to contact another company to do weed control, as we needed the weeds gone since the service being provided to us was not effective in removing the weeds!
It doesn't seem appropriate for a company vouch a "satisfaction guarantee" if there is no meaning behind it. It sounds more like it's used solely as a marketing tactic.
The original email that was not responded to, sent on October 24th expressed our dissatisfaction with the services we received, but was not rude or threatening in any way, it was simply the truth. The fact that a week passed without even acknowledging receipt of the email is what caused the situation to escalate. For those reasons we feel that there should be an adjustment made to our account for the service or lack of that we received from Enviromasters.
Regards,

Hello,

I feel compelled to write something to communicate our extreme dissatisfaction with the service we received this summer from Enviromasters. We recently moved to a new neighborhood, and are both busy so decided we would hire a company to look after our lawn this summer. After speaking with a few, we decided on your company, and were especially sold on the fact that all work is satisfaction guaranteed.


Our lawn this past summer looked worse than ever. It's much worse than it was last year when we had no one looking after it. I called multiple times to ask for someone to come back and was given the runaround every time and told it was all part of the schedule and someone would be there, etc etc. Someone would eventually show up, but you could never tell anything was done.

For example, the weed management service we received on Sept 25th- We have outdoor surveillance cameras and this was the sequence of events:

12:26- truck pulls up

12:28- person got out of truck, took about 30 seconds to get the hose. Did a less than 60 second walk and spray, and the hose you could see got stuck at one point, but he never went back to fix it, so we know that part of the back did not even get done.

By 12:29:40 he was back in his truck and drove away at 12:31pm

So less than 5 minutes spent on a service?

We have neighbors who were interested as well and were waiting to see how ours turned out before deciding if they should get Enviromasters next year (obviously they won't as they can't believe we paid money for what we have either). We had someone come to quote us on an irrigation system and he asked if we would be interested in lawn care. ************************************************************************************ It was actually quite embarrassing and we ended up spending more time out there than when we weren't paying someone, to try to get it looking half-decent. We even had to pay another company for weed management so we could move forward with work we were doing.

This "service" was a complete waste of money, and we could not be less satisfied with the service we received this year. I'm sure that we aren't the only ones who were on the receiving end of this type of service and likely not the only ones who are unsatisfied and won't be repeat customers.

Regards,



Final Business Response
We apologized on Oct 30 for not getting back to the customer sooner. Our intention was to have our senior technician take a look at the lawn prior to getting back to the customer, in order to make our response more meaningful.

The original complaint was emailed on Friday Oct 24, we read the email on Monday, Oct 27. Our technician was able to review the property on Tuesday the 28th. He was able to transfer the photos and update me on his analysis on Wednesday the 29th. The customer sent a follow up email on the 30th and we were able to reply, including our technician's analysis, on the 30th. The customer installed an irrigation system during the 2014 season which will have a significant impact on the lawn during the hot summer months, especially with the thinner layer of sandy topsoil originally installed.

We would like the opportunity to implement our stated guarantee. Unfortunately the end of October was too late in the season.

We propose to provide our 7-step program, which includes 3 weed control applications, for the 2015 season. We would also include our compost and over seeding to thicken up the thin areas in the lawn identified by our technician. The regular price of the 7-step program, the compost, and the over seeding is $573.85 (including HST). In the spring, prior to the 1st application, I would provide my direct cell number and encourage the customer to phone me directly with any issues/questions.

We do care for our customer's lawns and we hope that this resolution is acceptable.

Note: The ** ********** only allows 1 product to be used for weed control. All companies, and home owners, can only use the same product.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/20/2006Business started: 09/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn MacDougall (President)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Pest Control Services

Products & Services

This company offers Full service lawn care company specializing in high quality organic products that are pesticide-free.

Alternate Business Names
3074498 Nova Scotia Limited

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Enviro Masters Lawn Care

Box 91

Lower Sackville, NS B4C 2S8

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 360 Sackville Drive, suite 91 

    Lower Sackville, NS B4C 2S8

  • Box 91 

    Lower Sackville, NS B4C 2S8(902) 865-6156

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Enviro Masters Lawn Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.