BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Scotian Homes/Enfield Hardware Ltd.

Phone: (902) 883-2266Fax: (902) 883-2155

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted to build home. Moved into home mid November 2013, have since experienced many issues with home construction.
Current issues with new home build - several stones (8 in total to date) have fallen off the front of the house, mice have chewed their way through the stryofoam under the siding and are now in the house (no one from Scotian Homes will confirm whether "rodent guard" was ever installed or if any other measures were installed to prevent this) in addition to other complaints. We have repeatedly contacted Scotian Homes electronically to address these issues. They have addressed some of the minor issues (providing the missing cranks to open our windows, for example) which we have been identifying over the last 6 months approximately. These new issues are of a greater concern to us and they had sent a representative out 3 weeks ago to do a walk through to note the issues but we have not been able to get a definitive date as to when they will address these issues. Nothing has happened yet to date and again no one will provide a firm date or even a time frame as to when the fixes will occur when I have requested an approximate date.

Desired Settlement
We have requested that our issues be addressed in a timely fashion and that the fixes to done well (to justify the dollar amount we paid for a quality built home). We just want the deficiencies repaired and done well (in some current instances the work done was poorly done -*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
June 13th 2014 -
Scotian Homes visited on site May 16th to review a list of 15 items - scotian has just received today a letter from the BBB concerning ******* ********/*********** items to be addressed - we had established with them that we would go there this Friday June 13th 2014, which was set up a week ago with **************** - today, we did go to address the items of concern and had sign off on 11 items by ******* ********, as to the completion to their satisfaction - there still are a four items that they have requested or that need to be done -

What remains outstanding is the flooring warranty items, lifting laminate -******** the flooring company for supply and install are contacting the customers directly to address this issue and we contacted them 2 weeks ago. The stone on an area of the home has faltered and needs to be repaired/ replaced, we are waiting for a date that the installer can return to replace the faulty stone. there are questions pertaining to the ditching and culvert area that need to be obtained, and ************ our salesperson is to be in touch. There is also the question of trying to have the heat pump raised now as the customer would like more fill around the heat pump - *************************** needs to make this determination as it has to do with their warranty on the unit and refrigeration lines. We will provide contact information to the client to arrange this change should they wish to pursue it.

Please let me know if there is any other update you will need.

******* **** - Scotian Homes

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Has taken nearly 9 months to complete move in issues.
Starting emailing with issues from the pre-close inspection and 9 months later, still dealing with it. Many emails were sent, and it was me who had to keep hounding them to find the status of the outstanding work. I emailed the owner and the owner was to call me the next day and here we are three days later and not a word from them. The customer service is less then professional and I'm totally appalled at the way this has been dealt with.

Desired Settlement
They are supposed to come and fix the items today.**********************************************

Business Response
Scotian Homes - May 30th 2014
we have been in touch with *********** several times and gone to his home on Tuesday MAY 27TH to fix many of the deficient items he referred to as well as contacted both trade suppliers for flooring and warranty DEFICIENT items for the home have been ordered - once they arrive we will arrange for the install and final repair - I will update you to let you know when this will be done. As I understand *********** is fully aware of our waiting for the final item to arrive which will impact several other items to be complete.
************

Final Business Response
June 4th 2014 -

I have contacted the representative for the tub and requested an update on the arrival of the handles which were defective.
he could not answer me today but is doing a tracking search on the handles.
the flooring warranty issues are going to be addressed once we replace the tub handles which will also require tile reapir work to be done - the flooring company has emailed me to say that the will schedule as soon as I have a date for the handle install.
I will update further as soon as I hear about from the company for the handle eta to arrange a suitable time to do the install
************

06/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scotian Homes did some repair work on my hardwood floors. They are SUPPOSED to be responsible for thir work for one full year. There are problems.
On May 9/2013, Scotian Homes completed some repair work on my hardwood floors near the patio doors. They are supposed to be responsible for this work for one full year. The hardwood has lifted. I send emails to ************* (owner and President of Scotian Homes) on May 13, April 7, July 17, and August 4th of 2013. ************************************************************************************************************ does...************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Warranty work is "warrintied" for one full year from the time that it is completed. This warranty work was completed on May 9/2013 so Scotian Homes is still responsible for the issue with the work.

Desired Settlement
I want the work done properly. The hardwood is lifting in one area and it should not be happening. *************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
May 15th - I have received notice that **** will be available to go to her house Tuesday May 20th at 4 pm - please advise that ***** will available.

Final Business Response
June 4th - the flooring repair specialist was on site today and completed the repair / rpalcement to the board today - the client was satisfied.
************

12/10/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Scotian Homes has not completed certain work that should have been done as part of our original house build, or within the 1 year warranty period.
Scotian homes built our house and we moved in ******, 2013. There were a number of problems immediately identified. I have been in repeated contact with the company over the last year and four months, but have yet to have everything resolved. They have fixed some of the deficiencies, but not all. In particular, the more difficult to deal with deficiencies have not been dealt with. In addition, in November 2013 Scotian Homes agreed to build us a shed. It is still not finished. Attempting to get anything done by this company is like pulling teeth. They respond with polite and professional communications and then nothing happens.

Desired Settlement
I want Scotian to address the issues outlined on the following "deficiencies" list that was submitted to them:

- The front door needs to be reseated to the proper level.
- The molding and baseboards need to be filled.
- There are a few small nail push outs and cracks/chips in the paint.
- The banister to the basement needs to be finished.
- The rubber seal on the garage door needs to be replaced or repaired as it is kinked.
- The dishwasher needs leveling.
- The rough in for the washer in the basement was never done.
- We have a closet door that doesn't close properly.
- We have a kitchen cabinet that needs the hardware fixed.
- The shed is still unfinished.

Business Response
November 2nd -
last Friday October 31st 2014 - there was someone sent out to finish the shed - I have not heard back that they completed the work on the shed as of today Sunday but will follow up on Monday - contact was made to see what day the crew could go to do the interior work - the customer advised on Wednesday November 5th. they will endeavour to do as much as they can on that day - there may need to be a second day set up to finish off.
************



Consumer Response
I'm sorry this response is a day or so late, but I was waiting until they had actually come to do the work before I responded. The shed and most of the interior work has been completed. The work to be completed by ******* has yet to be arranged or completed. So, I cannot say I am yet completely satisfied by Scotian's efforts.


Business Response
November 19th 2014 - I have emailed ******* sales representative - who was contacted previously about fixing the flooring issues - i also reasched out to their warranty department to enforce that the work and contact happen - so the client will hear from either ************ or *************** or both
at this stage we thought everything that we were supposed to do had been completed - please let me know if there is something that we are missing.
******* ****

10/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issues with interior doors sticking and scrapping along floor. Also issues with outside decking and posts.
Contacted Scotian Homes warranty division via email mid August regarding issues with the interior doors sticking, scrapping along the floors, door hinges and screws becoming loose and screw holes appearing stripped (screws would not catch or latch/ tighten when I attempted to drew two of them back into the hinge). Requested a date that this would be addressed to arrange my work schedule. Only reply received was an inquiry as to whether or not I had run the air conditioning unit during the summer (to address the humidity I am assuming). I confirmed that yes the air conditioner had been running all summer. Have not received any correspondence since. Followed up last week again requesting a date to address this issue and identified a new issue with the decking outside (end posts are loose and wobbly/ unsafe and one of the spindles has become completely detached from the base). Also requested that the nail pops and cracks, etc be addressed, in addition to the above noted items - per warranty - all at the same time and once more requested a date as to when this will occur. No response to date and our one year warranty is due to expire late October/ early November (new build) of 2014.

Desired Settlement
I just want the work done in a timely fashion and indicative of the quality workmanship that should have occurred during the initial build!!

Business Response
Regardign the complaint for the items associated with warranty or concerns for this home - we had been attempting a time when all concerns could be addressed - the interior doors needed to be adjusted and can at time swell due to humidity levels in the home due to weather conditions and use of the HRV / heat pump dehumidifcation from additional appliances can also sometimes alleviate this problem.
we did line up a visit after the request and it did need to be moved to October 6th - during that visit all items were addressed and resolved and we have custoemr sign off on October 6th to this efffect by ****************.
please let me know if there is anything further that you will need. ************

07/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Items from the deficiency list filed in Aug. 2011 still not complete.
I have contacted this company over the last 2 years and 10 months on many occasions. The company responded to the list of deficiencies submitted; however did not complete all of the items on the list.
I repeatedly expressed my desire for a timeline of completion and was ignored. I called, emailed and went into the company over this time period and politely requested that the final deficiencies were addressed. Company representatives told me that they would handle it, but then never did. I have polietly expressed my frustration with the delay and have still not received any satisfactory response.
The items on the list include:
1. a cupboard door that was damaged by the contractor when it was first installed.
2. An exposed wall in the basement that was not addressed during the construction of the home (the home is R-2000 and should be air tight.
3. The front lattice work around the front porch was not the correct style as requested by us during the planning stage of the build.
4. Almost all of the taps have leaked from the initial build of the home. The company has told us we will have to pay for the labour cost to have these fixed.
5. A speaker (value = approx $300) has rattled from almost the inital build of the home as well. I did not list this on the deficiencies list until Oct. 2012, but in this email did note that it had been rattling for quite some time.

NEW ITEM - Scotian homes also conducted a build in the lot next to us. They excavated in the fall of 2013, creating a signicant hole next to our property. The build was completed this spring, but has not been filled or landscaped. This difference of grade has caused our property along our driveway to start to erode into the excavated area, causing damage to our driveway. We have spoken to our neighbour about this issue and she has indicated that she is waiting for Scotian Homes to complete the property. While we all wait, our property continues to be damaged.

Desired Settlement
I want Scotian Homes to complete the deficiencies list that I have submitted almost three years ago in its entirety (with no additional cost to me). I also expect that the property adjacent to mine is completed in a timely manner and that my property is fixed by Scotian Homes (with no additional cost to me).

Business Response
June 23rd 2014 -Scotian Homes - we have received the letter on June 19th 2014 - for items to be addressed.
a call to the landscaping company has been made to confirm landscaping activity for the adjacent property has been slotted for the first full week in July - due to our weather that has been wet and the amoun to fill that was required to be put into the property - as the original property was quite a bit lower than the adjacent property in question - this additional fill now has to settle before final landscaping can be completed - at the time that the landscaoing company is on the other lot an assessment will be made of the condition to the driveway.
the other items will be investigated this week with the customer.
************

Business Response
we have been in touch with the client last Monday and throughout the week- this had been established BEFORE he sent you that last communication - the items have been addressed - we are waiting for a cabinet door to arrive to install - landscaping work adjacent the property began based on weather and arrangements for the transition between this property and the most recent build has been done with this client which includes additional work of sodding which this client did not have completed on his own- there was no deterioration with the storm, or landscaping pending.


Business Response
Scotian Homes - July XX XXXX - to my knowledge all the items have been addressed as well as the concern regarding the landscaping has been completed - there is one remaining item of a cabinet door replacement and this has been ordered their delivery to us will be the week of July 28th 2014 - we will arrange a time convenient to the client to install the newer door. we will be in touch with the client to set this up.
******* ****

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.