BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/1980

Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd.

Phone: (902) 453-2790Fax: (902) 454-55623154 Robie St., HalifaxNS B3K 4P9 Send email to Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/19/1980

BBB has determined that Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our **** ***** "died" and was towed to Hillcrest. We were told the clutch was worn out and that the replacement cost would be $2000. T
Feb.28, 2014 is the start of the warranty period. Feb. 19, 2014 is the date on the invoice of $1,913.53, which has been paid. Model ******** We are customer No. *** The salesrep was *** *****

We were told the warranty did not cover the clutch and that the clutch was not faulty (pictures were taken and sent by the Service Manager to Volkswagen Head Office to confirm this opinion).

We were told that the clutch was worn out because we had driven it badly, that we "rode the clutch."
This is what we dispute. We have been devoted Volkswagen owners over the years from atleast 3 ******* to multiple ****** later. We have always driven a standard and never had a problem with a clutch. Our cars have always been serviced at a Volkswagen dealership. One of the grounds for our complaint is the low mileage on the car(just over 9000 km). Is it possible that newer clutches are much weaker than older models? German engineering has been one of the reasons we have had such confidence in Volkswagens.

Desired Settlement
Basically we would like a refund of the amount we paid. And it would be a good idea to point out that our driving habits of many years are not likely to change. Will we be looking at a similar problem with this car in 2016?

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** GM
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *********************
We are presently continuing dialogue with Volkswagen Canada in pursuit of a partial reimbursement for this customer.
Based on the completion of the technical analysis of the affected parts there is no opportunity for full reimbursement under warranty as there is no manufacturing defect. However we are making a case for partial reimbursement on a goodwill basis supported by customer purchase and service loyalty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We find it incredible that after driving a standard shift for over 40 years, that suddenly we have a car with low mileage, where the clutch burns out in less than a year. We feel there must have been a design defect in this clutch.

Final Business Response
Vehicle has been repaired.
Total charges were $1915 of which Volkswagen Canada has agreed to reimburse $1200 . Hillcrest VW will contribute 50% of the remainder leaving the customer expense for this repair at $357.

07/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/19/1980Business started: 08/17/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Registry of Motor Vehicles (NS)
6960 Mumford Road
Halifax, NS B3L 4P1
(902) 424-5851

BBB records show a license number of 04240 for this company, issued by Registry of Motor Vehicles (NS).

Type: Registry of Motor Vehicles-Dealers License

BBB records show a license number of 283581 for this company, issued by Registry of Motor Vehicles (NS).

Type: Official Inspection Station License

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Colin Silliker (General Manager)
Number of Employees

58

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd.

3154 Robie St.

Halifax, NS B3K 4P9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hillcrest Volkswagen (1979) Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying A New Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.