BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/29/1992

Belliveau Motors Ltd.

Find a Location

Phone: (902) 769-0706Fax: (902) 769-0841View Additional Phone NumbersP.O. Box 190, 1484 Highway 1, Church PointNS B0W 1M0 Send email to Belliveau Motors Ltd.



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/29/1992

BBB has determined that Belliveau Motors Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Belliveau Motors Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Belliveau Motors Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a verbal agreement with a salesman, and trusted that he would keep his word.He did not keep his word.
In **************** I purchased a new **** truck from *********** at Belliveau Motors. I had initially spoken to him regarding the purchase and he was not able to give me a reasonable deal, so I went to another dealer. This dealer offered me 0% financing on a new vehicle. I then went back to tell **** that I would be purchasing the other vehicle, as they had offered the 0%. He then stated that he could also give me that deal for the first 7 years of my contract; the remaining year would be 5.9%. We shook on the deal and I left the dealership. A couple of days later, **** called and stated that the contract was ready and could my wife and I stop by to sign the contract. I went in and signed the contract, as did my wife. Both of us have very busy jobs, and we did not have much time to spare and so we didn't read the contract. (I felt ok not reading the fine print,as I trusted ****, having dealt with him many times in the past, and actually had worked with him previously). Again, I felt we had a fairly good personal relationship and he could be trusted. We did not realize we were actually paying 5.9% until a couple of weeks ago when we were at our bank doing some other financing, and were told by the bank officer, that we were in fact, paying 5.9%! I even argued with her stating that we had a deal of 0% for 7 years. When I contacted ****, he stated that he did not remember having any such conversation. (We had even turned down buying an older truck when we initially made the deal, because we could only get 3.9% on a used vehicle). I realize how important it is to read the fine print before you sign any document, but I felt confident that the contract stated what **** and I had agreed on. I am upset, but also confused, by the fact that no one, (not even the owner of the dealership, *****************) has offered any kind of recourse.

Desired Settlement
I only want what was discussed and agreed upon. I want 0% financing for the remainder of my contract.

Business Response
Once the customer has agreed on a vehicle purchase with the sales consultant then the Financial Service Manager reviews all documents with customer explaining to them all the details of his or her contract. If at time of review of the contract that the details are different from what the sales consultant had discussed, before signing the contract the sales consultant is brought into review the deal back with the customer to correct any differences before the customer signs or the customer can walk away from the deal if he or she are not satisfied with the deal.
With regards to this customer, a call was received several weeks ago about the interest rate and it was discussed about the rate on the contract and what the rates were at time of purchase and why the rate on their contract was chosen.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/29/1992Business started: 01/01/1945
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Registry of Motor Vehicles (NS)
6960 Mumford Road
Halifax, NS B3L 4P1
(902) 424-5851

BBB records show a license number of 04425 for this company, issued by Registry of Motor Vehicles (NS).

Type: Registry of Motor Vehicles-Dealers License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Claude Belliveau (Office Manager)Mr. Richard Robicheau (President)
Number of Employees

36

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying A New Car
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • P.O. Box 190
    1484 Highway 1 

    Church Point, NS B0W 1M0

  • #292 Hwy. 303, Conway
    P.O. Box 507, 

    Digby, NS B0V 1A0

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Belliveau Motors Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 565-1484
  • (877) 601-6565

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (902) 245-6426
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying A New Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.