BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2013

Fix Auto St. John's

(709) 368-6011938 Topsail Road, Mount PearlNL A1N 2W4 Send email to Fix Auto St. John's

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/28/2013

BBB has determined that Fix Auto St. John's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fix Auto St. John's' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fix Auto St. John's

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took my vehicle to Fix Auto on *** **th, **** ******************************** to obtain a quote for the repairs, received a quote to have the bumper replaced and was told it would take a week to 10 days for the bumper to arrive in *********. After not hearing anything for over 3 weeks I called to check-in and was told, no bumper yet. Another 3 weeks went by, I phoned again, I was not very happy at this point but the manager told me he would look into and get right back to me. A week later I phone again and they set up an appointment to bring the vehicle in on **** **st, ****. At this time they would have the new bumper painted and installed and would bring the vehicle to **** ***** to have the back-up sensors checked, and test drive for the pulling in the left. I dropped my vehicle off at 8am on **** **st, **** and was told it would take 1 to 2 days at the most. I called at the end of day one and was advised the bumper was in the paint booth being painted; at the end of day two I was not contacted and phoned back. The manager told me the vehicle was at **** ***** but didnt know the status, I called **** ***** but they didnt have the vehicle nor had they had the vehicle. I then called the manager at Fix back and he decided to be honest with me and told me the bumper wasnt even on the Island, it didnt come in so no work at been done on my vehicle at all. *******************************************************************************************************. I expressed my frustration with him and he assured me they would call me immediately and give me a rental while it was actually being repaired. On **** **st, **** the manager called me and said the bumper came in and he would like to coordinate a time to bring my vehicle back in, we agreed on ****** *th, ****, they would provide me a rental of comparable size and the servicing would only take half a day because the bumper was already painted. I dropped my vehicle off at 8am on ****** *th, **** and was given a ****** ***** with no gas in it; I had to stop at a gas station to get myself to work. I called in the afternoon and was again told that it wasnt ready because **** ***** didnt do their part, I called **** ***** and they informed me no appointment was ever made for them to look at my vehicle. The manager told me **** ***** agreed to fit it in the following morning right away, it would be ready by the afternoon. The afternoon came and went and nobody returned my calls, I showed up to pick up my vehicle and the place was closed. I went to the adjacent dealership (owned by the same gentlemen) and demanded they phone the people of Fix Auto to return so I could get my vehicle; he told the lady to tell me they were closed come back on Monday. After speaking to another manager he requested they come back to get my vehicle, thankfully he did. After expressing my frustration and VERY bad service experience he wanted to do everything he could to help, he went and got my vehicle for me and told me it looked perfect, just like brand new. When I looked closely at the vehicle it was far from looking perfect, the reflector was about to fall off at any moment and the holes for the back-up sensors did not look to be factory made. The holes are not perfectly circular and have gaps between the sensors and the bumper where I believe water will seep in and likely ruin other components of the vehicle. I emailed the dealership back and informed them of my dissatisfaction and provided pictures, he advised he would look into it the morning of Monday, ****** **th, ****. He looked into and said it was a factory bumper and that is the way it came from the factory. I contacted another **** ***** dealership and was advised it would not come like that from the factory nor did it need to be painted, they informed me it comes as a rear bumper, plastic, fully painted with a special tool to punch out the back-up sensor holes. I went to the dealership to show them but the manager would not look at it because he seen it on Friday and it was fine, he then proceeded to tell me he wasnt going to deal with me anymore because he was just trying to help and all he was getting from me was negativity. Im not sure how else he expected me to react after what the place had put me through. He called **** ***** to verify it was the correct bumper and asked if they had the special tool to punch the holes. While I was at the dealership I looked at other vehicles with the back-up sensors and the holes are punched out in a circular shape and there are no gaps between the sensors and the bumper. I also verified that **** ***** did not use their special tool to punch the back-up sensor holes into the bumper that is currently installed on my vehicle. I have been told nothing but lies from this dealership; they are not conducting business in a very ethical manner.
Product_Or_Service: **** **** ***** *** rear bumper
Order_Number: ****

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my vehicle repaired to its original factory manufacturing when I purchased it from the **** ***** lot in ******* by properly punching the holes and full refund or a full refund and my original bumper back so I can have the work completed elsewhere.

Business Response
It is my understanding that ***** *******, our new Body Shop Manager, has responded to Ms. ****** regarding her complaint.He has ordered a new bumper for her and she will be notified when it arrives. Arrangements will then be made to have the install done at her convenience. Once again, we apologize to Ms. ******* for any inconveniences this incident has caused her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept that Fix Auto has ordered a new bumper and the correct tool to punch the back-up sensor holes in the bumper as per the manufactured design; however, I would like a refund as stated in my desired resolution. The treatment I received from the dealership was dishonest, unnecessary, and very unprofessional and unethical; I would be selling myself short if I were to stand for such behavior.

Final Business Response
We have agreed to correct the bumper situation with Ms. ******* but we will not agree to correcting the problem and a full refund. Ms. ******* must remember that it was she who insisted on ********** and only ********** working on the vehicle.Being a second year apprentice he would not normally have been assigned a job like this but Ms.******* was insistant.This left us with minimum control of the quality of the workmanship. Ms. ******* can have either a full refund or she can have her new bumper installed. This is our final offer.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/28/2013Business started: 03/01/1993
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1993, NL

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Linda Cranford (Controller)
Related Businesses
O'Neill Automotive Group - 938 Topsail Road, Mount Pearl, NL
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fix Auto St. John's

938 Topsail Road

Mount Pearl, NL A1N 2W4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 938 Topsail Road 

    Mount Pearl, NL A1N 2W4(709) 368-6011

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Atlantic Provinces. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fix Auto St. John's is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.