BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2004

PartSelect.com

Phone: (888) 895-1535

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

50 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues8
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service29
Total Closed Complaints50

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (50)BBB Closure Definitions
03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered item and never showed. 6 weeks later I am getting no help, excuses, runaround, fail to call or email me in time promised. No apology or part!
Ordered part for *************** Feb 5th. 2 weeks later I called and they promised it would go out Friday that week. Week later no part so I called again and they said oh it just shipped today. Week later no part so called again and said have to wait for warehouse to email them back to see where it is. Said they cannot call their warehouse - only email. Promised call in 24 hours - no call. Called next day to be told "I had family emergency and could not call you". Got email from different customer service lady. Said ******* lost it and waiting for warehouse to let us know if we will re-ship today - will let you know soon". Never got a call or email back today. Now 10pm and I am so disgusted with this company I will never buy from them again and will warn everyone I know NOT to use them ever. Worst customer service I have even seen, and NEVER EVER SAID SORRY OR ACTED LIKE THEY WERE SORRY. Terrible service!!!

Desired Settlement
I just want the part I paid almost $50.00 for and still have never received, so I can use my ***************************! Its been a month and a half!! **********************************************************

Business Response
I am truly sorry for the trouble you had and know that this issue was resolved for you yesterday. Your part is scheduled to be delivered today as promised and I am sorry it had to get to this point to ensure a resolution.

03/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They shipped the wrong part. (not the one I ordered). Then would not refund me. It cost me the $22.19 plus $50 to have someone put it in. Horrible
I purchased a part for my *****************. Order number (*******) / Part number (XXXXXXX). It was not the part that was sent. The total was $22.19 which seemed fair. I then recieved the part and paid a handy man to put it in. I was not there ***********************. When it did not fix the problem I had him take it back out and when I opened a return on their site it went throught with a return number and all. I then started looking at the part. It is not the same one that was ordered.... I proceded to call and was told since it was put it for 10 seconds that I could not return it at all. Even though they sent the wrong part. So now I have no dryer and no refund on the part or the labor. I can't blame my handy man as i paid for his time but partselect I can. They cost me $22.19 and $50 in labor. I am now forced to order the same part I ordered from them to get it working. *************************************************************************************** I am out $70+ *****************************. *******************************. It's just been a nightmare. I am a reasonable man and dont want something for nothing. I work hard for what I have and I expect businesses to make things right if they mess up. Let me be clear they did not send me the part that was ordered and this is clearly their mess up. Thanks for your time. I hope you can correct this or at the very least make sure no one else gets swindled by these people.

*********** ****
XXX XXX XXXX
********@gmail.com

Desired Settlement
Full refund including shipping of the part would be acceptable though my cost is a lot more than that. I am at $70.19 as it stands now.

Business Response
Though it is true that we would not have refunded a part that showed signs of installation per our return policy, the customer made no mention that we had shipped him the wrong part which completely changes the situation. We take full responsibility for any shipment errors that we have made. I have someone from customer service following up with the customer for the part # that he received instead of the ******* that he ordered so we can claim this with the warehouse. In the meantime, I have refunded the order ($22.19) and the customer will see this refund in 2-3 business days.

03/09/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company advertizes and charges for 3-5 days delivery time via *****. It's been over a month and nothing has been shipped.
I ordered a part for a microwave oven on January 17th, 2015 that they showed as "in stock" on their website. My order #******* was for $8.18 with shipping costing an extra $7.49 for a total of $15.67 which was immediately processed on my credit card.
On February 11th, 2015, I called their 1800 number and spoke with a customer service rep to find out about my order. The rep apologized and said that it was their mistake and oversight and claimed the part was available and would ship out right away. The rep also stated I would recieve an email confirmation of the shipment with tracking numbers. As of February 14th, 2015 I have not recieved any email or part.

Desired Settlement
I would like my part shipped next day air at their expense by Tuesday, February 17th, 2015.

Business Response
Unfortunately, the item was not in stock when the order was placed but rather on order when the order was placed. That being said, the usual timeframe for on order items to come into stock has come and gone. The most recent contact to customer service was on 02/16 when the customer was advised that the ETA was 02/21 so we do not have the item to ship to the customer. I have contacted the warehouse to confirm that they are still expecting the part and will make sure the customer is contacted with any updates. In the meantime, the customer can cancel at anytime for a full refund before the order ships. Sorry for the inconvenience that this is causing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told when I called their customer service that the item would be shipped by Monday, February 23rd and I would receive an email confirming shipping with tracking number. I have not received anything as of today, February 25th. Nor have they even tried to contact me at any time during these weeks to explain the delay, but they were quick to take the money from my account even though they didn't have what I ordered. That is poor, shoddy business practice.

Final Business Response
I apologize that you were not contacted about the most recent delay. I have been in contact with the warehouse to confirm availability as the order kept showing that it was shipping though no stock appeared to be available. I am please to say that it has in fact shipped today (02/26) and you should already have received the shipment notification email. The ***** tracking # ***************, has not yet scanned but you will be able to see a delivery date once it does. Sorry again for the inconvenience the delay has caused.

03/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unwilling to take responsibility for wrong product/part shipped
via partselect.com, i entered the model number for the vent hood i needed a part. it is a stainless steel hood with stainless steel parts. i entered the correct model number and was directed to the parts book for the specific model. the parts book was in black & white draft form. i trusted that the website directed me to the right part and placed the order. When the order/part rec'd, it was in white. I asked to exchange the part for the correct Stainless Steel. Partselect indicate that it was the right part. I told them i ordered Stainless and received white. Partselect customer service reiterated it was the right part. After a few moments of back and forth and the reason for this email is partsdirect wanted me to pay for the shipping back. They sent a return auth for the part to be shipped back but were unwilling to pay for shipping. In conclusion; I have the wrong part (color, white instead of the ordered stainless) and i have to pay for shipping. I have been taken advantage and they obviously do not care. I do care and will fight this through my credit card company. I'm already out the time it took to process this transaction which is way more valuable than the part itself. Buyer Beware of Partselect.com!

Desired Settlement
Full refund including shipping back.

Business Response
Since the customer received the right part number that he ordered under his model number and the only reported issue is the color, it could be that the manufacturer has made a substitution. In a case where this was unsatisfactory, we should not have asked the customer to return the part at his own cost. He has been contacted via email and phone to not return the part at his own cost and will see credit within a week. He will be sent a prepaid return label if we want the part back. I apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused.

01/23/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In Stock,when ordered it.Email came back,back ordered. Called them got two different dates,that it wound be sent out!
In Stock,when ordered it.Email came back,back ordered. Called them got two different dates,that it wound be sent out! When it didn't ship on that date, I called and they push it back again! The offered me to refund the shipping, that will take 4-6 weeks. Can you help!

Desired Settlement
Send product!!

Business Response
Unfortunately, we still do not have the product to send and I am concerned that the ETA keeps getting pushed out. This can mean that the manufacturer is making a decision on whether or not to discontinue or substitute a part. I have reached out to the warehouse to verify and will make sure the results are passed along to you. I have also checked some competitors and haven't found anyone that has it in stock. We can still cancel at anytime before it ships for a full refund or will gladly refund your shipping once it ships if you decide to keep it on order as promised. Sorry for the inconvenience that this is causing.

Page 1 of 10
01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered package of 6 springs I received 1 spring. Called the company explained situation they refunded me my money reordered package of 6 received 1
I oredred a package of 6 springs online one week later received 1 spring.Called company explained situation they refunded me my money recharged me for 6 more springs. One week later received 1 spring yet again. Called company said that it was not there mistake and advised me to reorder the 6 springs again. I have waited 2 weeks for my springs I ordered and have not received them I am a paying customer and would like to receive what I pay for. This is very unprofessional and company was unwilling to resolve issue.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my package of 6 springs that I initially ordered at a discounted price to show good faith in this matter. I believe company has waisted my time and have no tried to resolve the issue rather than try to give me the run around. I even tried to call the company back and explain the situation to them and what my intentions where with reporting them.

Business Response
I apologize for the inconvenience that this is causing. All of the parts that we sell come directly from the respective manufacturers. When an issue like this occurs once, it could be chalked up to a packaging issue for that one item but when it happens more than once, it indicates that there may be a stock issue (that the manufacturer has done this for a bulk shipment) or that they may have substituted the part from a kit to individual and have yet to notify their vendors. Unfortunately, we do not have stock in any of our warehouses to send or even verify that the shipment would be correct and it could take a few weeks for new stock to come in. You have been fully refunded for the 2 orders and are still able to keep and use the springs that you have so far. Since we will not be able fulfill your order for a few more weeks, it would be best to find them locally or another site that is showing that they have them in stock.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
3 days ago the company told me to reorder the parts once again and they would overnight the package to me. Today I'm getting a message saying that they can not get my parts for a couple weeks. The company promises things they can not provide or deliver. A professional company should be aware of there delivery systems and parts stock on hand. when there is multiple shipping and order issues it then should become a priority to fix and establish a good vendor pipeline. Very unprofessional and rude company would not recommend to any customers.

06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
02/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.