BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1980

Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal

Phone: (204) 237-8361Fax: (204) 237-616920 Burnett Ave., WinnipegMB R2G 1C1 Send email to Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1980

BBB has determined that Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
** ** (****) ******
***** ****** *******
** ******* ***
********* ********
*** ***

September 11, 2015

RE: *** ****** ***** ******** *****

Dear Sir or Madam,

Enclosed is a copy of a letter with attachments which I personally delivered to Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal on Burnet Street in Winnipeg on August 14, 2015. To date I have received no response. It is for this reason I am writing to ask for your assistance with this matter.

Also enclosed are photos and a copy of the hand written note I sent with my cheque on April 27, 2015 for the invoice in question in the amount of $971.25. I did not receive a response to this note either.

I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX or ***************** if you have questions or require any further information.

Sincerely,
**** ******
Home: XXX-XXX-XXXX

August 14, 2015

RE: *** ****** ***** ******** *****

Dear Mr. *****,

In early May 2014 Oakwood Roofing my cottage at ******** ***** (quote #XXXXX). To date I have been very satisfied with the job done on the cottage proper and attached guest cottage ( no leaks). However, the cottage also has a large screened in porch with 3 skylights.
One of the skylights has been leaking since the roof job was completed in May 2014. I reported this problem to your maintenance manager, *** ****** The water appeared to be coming in under the skylight curb and not through the skylight itself which was dry. I mentioned to him that one of your roofers, on the final day of the job, had told me that they had removed the skylight in question during the roofing job. I expect they did so to make it easier to roof around the skylight curb. Unfortunately, ******************************* as mentioned, The skylight has leaked ever since.

After many delays *** ***** sent 2 roofers out to fix the above problem in May of this year. Unfortunately on the day there was a big wind blowing off the lake and it was too dangerous to remove the 54" skylight. Instead they did some caulking where the acrylic dome of the skylight meets the aluminum flashing. Total time, 1 hour. I was doubtful that this was were the problem existed and subsequent rain storms proved my hunch correct, the skylight still leaked! I then received an invoice for the "repair" visit for $971.25. I was astonished! I felt like I had been a fair and patient customer. I paid the bill in full as I do not like to owe anyone money and I was hoping to get fair treatment from Oakwood. I sent *** ***** a note with my cheque (a copy is enclosed) and got absolutely no response.

The roof has a 2 year workmanship guarantee. The leak was a result of poor workmanship around the skylight curb. ************************************************************************ ********************* I had suggested to *** ***** when this problem surfaced that the skylight should be removed to discern the problem. However, when I spoke to **** ******* about the "repair" he said they never intended on taking off the skylight during the visit in question???!!!

Just brief note on what my friend found when we removed the skylight. The finish layer of asphalt was coming away from the curb, particularly at the problem corner. They had also finished the top of the curb with a finish layer of asphalt bent at a right angle and going down the curb inside the finish layer of asphalt running up the curb to the underside of the skylight. The flashing should have gone over the asphalt running to the curb. ***** *******, ******************* I am enclosing a couple of photos.

In conclusion, the roof is under warranty. I expect a full refund ($971.25) for the 1 hour caulking job plus my expenses incurred when I finally removed the skylight and found out where the problem existed, another $375. Total: $1346.25. I will be expecting your cheque.

Regards,

**** ******
Home: XXX-XXX-XXXX
******** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, President
Contact Phone: 204-237-8361
Contact Email: harry@oakwoodroofing.com
We did in fact install a new roof on the cottage including removing and stripping the curb under the skylights, we have photos where the skylight had been removed.
Our guys advised me they removed the skylight and stripped the curb with new materials and reinstalled the skylight.
When *** spoke to **** regarding the leak, **** had indicated it only leaked during heavy driving rains and stopped right after a rain which would suggest something other than the roof as the roof would typically continue to leak for a period of time after the rain stopped. Because of this, *** had assumed the skylight was the problem, as typically skylights are notorious for leaking where the glazing meets the metal frame, and this would be an item not included in our scope of work.
The hours charged were the hours we paid for 2 men to caulk the skylights including travel to and from site.
However based on the pictures provided, it is evident our men did not complete the initial work as we had instructed. As per the provided information, Oakwood agrees that we should credit our invoice and reimburse the cost requested of $1,346.25. Oakwood wishes to apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for giving us the opportunity to rectify the situation.


12/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
See attached complaint.

Business Response
****** called on Oct 16 and spoke to **** regarding squirrel penetration into her attic. She stated a squirrel had chewed a hole in a roof vent. She asked if we could replace the vent as soon as possible. She questioned the quality of the vent, thinking it was of poor construction. **** explained how the vent is made and that squirrels can chew through plastic, wood 2x4, etc, with relative ease over time. Their conversation continued to various topics, such as her boarder, the quality of the borscht she made for the workers that did her roof and how satisfied she was with the work we completed for her.
Her concern was to have someone come out as soon as possible. **** explained this was the busiest time of year for us, but assured her we would do what we could to have someone there as soon as possible. The following day we sent a repairman to replace her vent.
After receiving our invoice, ****** called the office and spoke to ******. There is no record of voice mail or manual message being left for ****, and she did not ask ****** to have **** call her. In speaking with ******, ***** requested a breakdown of the invoice. ****** initially assumed she was looking for detail of what actually was done and therefore said that she would need to get further information from the department manager. However as the conversation continued, xxxxxx stated she just needed a split of expenses between labour and material as her accountant required this information for income tax purposes. This breakdown was something ****** could do for her, so she immediately re-billed and mailed out the second invoice with the breakdown between labour and material. ****** did not ask for the details of the materials, only the breakdown between labour and material. The material costs included vent, nails, and caulking.
For maintenance work, our invoices are dated the date the work was actually done, so regardless of how many invoices are done or re-done, or when they get sent out, all the invoices would be dated the same day as when the service was rendered.
We are not sure who received the phone message after ****** received the second invoice. Neither the shingle department manager nor the service manager had received a message from her. In following up and checking with other staff in the shingle department and then with staff in the flat roofing and metal departments, we could not find anyone who received a message from ******, or any messages regarding her address.
The actual charges for our service will vary depending on the amount of time and material required. **** had a lengthy conversation with ****** but throughout the conversation did not realize that ****** was expecting that the repair to her roof vent would get done at no cost to her, and at no time did he state that it would be done for free. Businesses charge for service calls - it's a standard business practice.


Consumer Response
See attached rebuttal received from the consumer.

Final Business Response
Dear Ms ******,

I have looked into this situation and although we always try to please all our customers in a fair and honorable way, sometimes due to the customer this is not possible. In this case the customer has already received our services and apparently is not complaining about the service or installed product, but rather only about the invoice. She has already wasted your time and mine and the cost of that alone is substantially higher than her invoice. The truth is that this was not a warranty item and that we charge a service fee. Shame on us for trusting our customer and not collecting the fee up front. Tell her to forward what she feels the service was worth and will consider the matter closed.

***** *****, President
Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal Co Ltd
20 Burnett Ave
Winnipeg, MB R2G 1C1
p: XXX-XXX-XXXX f: XXX-XXX-XXXX
***** @oakwoodroofing.com

07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a leak from my roof at *** *********** *** that was repaired by Oakwood Roofing in 2011. We also purchased a 50 year warranty. We were told at the time that we did not need chimney flashing repaired/redone as per their assessment, however a large amount of tar was placed around the chimney and we were reassured that it would "never leak".This spring we noted soaked drywall in the office. Oakwood Roofing came by this week and determined that it was coming from the chimney. They will not honour their warranty claim and I believe this repair work should be covered.Your assistance would be most appreciated.

Desired Settlement
I would expect that due to the 50 year warranty we paid for for the roof that Oakwood Roofing honour their warranty and do the repair work that has caused a releak.

Business Response
We re shingled *** *********** in Oct 2011. Along with our standard 2 yr workmanship warranty the homeowner received a 50 yr Manufacture's product warranty that replaces the standard 10 yr pro rated warranty. The 50 yr warranty states that at anytime the shingle product fails, the entire roof will be replaced, labour and material included, at no cost to the homeowner.
This is only a PRODUCT Warranty.
When we reshingled the crew doing the job accessed the chimney and stated that it did not need reflashing. It was left intact. It was 4 years later that Oakwood was called to address a leak issue that cause ceiling damage around the chimney area. If we had done something incorrectly at the time of the re roofing the leak would have showed up immediately after the first rain, not 4 years later. When Oakwood's maintenance crew came out and accessed the leaking ****** determined that the leak was due to the poor condition of the chimney and deterioration of mortar holding the bricks in place. He applied a caulking compound sealant at the point where the bricks and flashings meet as he concluded this was the water entry point. It coincided with the ceiling damage. He also took pictures which he shared with me. From those pictures and ******'s assessment, I concluded that the leaking was very much related to the chimney but not necessarily the flashings. I suggested that the homeowner should have the chimney checked out before any re flashing was done.
Oakwood's stand is that since it was 4 years after doing the roof that it leaked it is not an installation problem.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Soffit & Fascia, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1980Business started: 05/01/1977
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1987, MB

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Bosma (President)Mr. Greg Groenheide (VP-Production)Ms. Doreen Lecuyer (Controller)
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Soffit & Fascia, Commercial Roofing


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal

20 Burnett Ave.

Winnipeg, MB R2G 1C1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 20 Burnett Ave. 

    Winnipeg, MB R2G 1C1Fax: (204) 237-6169

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oakwood Roofing & Sheet Metal is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.