BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2003

Winnipeg Home Services

Phone: (204) 339-2559Fax: (204) 982-2135

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On March 26, 2014 I called Winnipeg Home Services to look at my furnace that was not heating the house. Their technician came to the house and concluded that the circuit board needed replacing. Since this was late at night, a new circuit board could not be obtained at that time, and the next day another technician installed a new circuit board. He tested the heat and everything was fine.July 2, 2014, I turned on my central air conditioning. It did not work. I called a company, ******** to look at it. This technician discovered that the circuit board was not connected properly for the air conditioner; one wire was connected to a "g" terminal instead of to the "c" terminal. This cost me ******* I phoned Winnipeg Home Services, and after about 2 weeks got to speak with ***, the service manager (I had already submitted the Home Services and ******* invoices to the company). *** informed me that he would not pay any money. Instead he would offer me a free furnace cleaning when I needed one.
Product_Or_Service: Furnace repair
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to refund me the cost of the repair performed by ********

Business Response
See attached response received from the company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** ***** has his "facts" all wrong. He did not phone me on July 2. I phoned his office after the repair by ******* was done (repair was done July 2 and I phoned his office the day after). *** ***** was not in the office at the time. *** ***** did not contact me. I visited his office a few days later and dropped off copies of the two invoices. Again he was absent. Still no response from *** *****. He then left a message on my phone saying that he would be out of the office for a few days and would phone me back either July 14 or 15. No phone call came. I phoned *** ***** on July 16 and we talked for the first time.

The ordinary homeowner would connect a furnace repair with an air-conditioning problem 4 months later. In any case, I did not connect the two things as the same problem. So I consulted the yellow pages when my AC did not work and called the first company willing to come out to the house.

When I did speak with *** *****, he blamed me for not calling his company to correct the poor work they did in the first place. He refused to accept the idea that I did not connect the two things.

The fact remains that the cause of my AC malfunctioning was the poor work by *** *****'s company. And I see no reason I should be out of pocket some *** because of it.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** *****'s reference to "good customer service" and "good customer relations" does not ring true. He did not respond to my repeated attempts to contact him. I called July 3 and he did not respond. A few days later I dropped off the copies of the two invoices at his office. A few days later he phoned and left a message that he would be out of town and would contact me on July 14 or 15. He did not phone by July 15 and I contacted him on July 16. The rest is outlined in my letter of August 1.

My air conditioner had been working fine for years. When we needed to cool the house, we turned it on and it cooled the house. When it failed to cool the house this year, we assumed that something had broken down or that the refrigerant had leaked out or some other unknown problem. We did not connect the furnace repair four months before with the current AC problem.

When the ******* technician was able to correct the problem by simply connecting the wires correctly on the circuit board, it became very clear that the problem was caused by the newly installed circuit board.

******************************************************************. If the AC technician had found some other problem, unconnected to the new circuit board, I would not have been looking for "someone to blame." That is obvious. And there is no law that one must use the same company for all one's heating/Ac problems.

*** ***** is refusing to accept that his technician made a mistake, in spite of all the evidence. I therefore request that *** ***** refund my ********

Respectfully,

**** *****

Final Business Response
Dear ** **********

This is to inform you that this matter has been resolved and a cheque for the amount of ******* is being issued to the complainant.

Sincerely

*** *****
Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX
**************
***********************************

05/24/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/01/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
12/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Sewer Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Plumbing Contractors, Duct Cleaning, Hot Water Tanks, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Furnace Sales & Service, Boilers-Repair & Cleaning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.