BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/18/2012

Reliance Superior Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (204) 697-5666

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
03/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had a new furnace installed after old one was determined unrepairable. No refund for new parts installed, not needed and unneccasary as old furnace thrown out. Was told the promotion was for 4 months free rent at the time. Was told the rent would be $100 a month .The bill is for 111.48$!Not right.Should be 101.69 with taxes.! Got a bill from (I guess ) related company in ******* after one month. I phoned a Winnipeg company. After repeated phone calls to Winnipeg and ********** least 2 e-mails No-one seems to know anything and I Have never got a phone call back from anyone. They have my correct phone number and correct e-mail.I have given up as I realize I am on my own with this company. Does anyone work here. Might call *** *********** to get their cameras and on-air answers!Work order No's XXXXX,XXXXX,XXXXX
Product_Or_*******: Gas Furnace
Order_Number: XXXXX*****
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Cannot trust this company and want furnace and products removed as I cannot see dealing with zero customer service or callbacks in the years to come.

Business Response
Good afternoon, I have researched this dispute and can offer the following on February 11, 2015, a goodwill adjustment was processed for 594.02 as refund on Mr ******'s service call, our maximum refund is usually capped at $500.00 where customer proceeds with purchase or rental after service call is performed, in this case we increased the refund to $594.02. We also subsequently put in for a billing adjustment on the account and that we received confirmation that that indeed was done this week as well.

Please let me know if you need additional clarification.

****** *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Well, I guess that's as good as it gets. A partial refund and they said they will adjust the bill . Would have been nice to get a phone call or e-mail (months ago). I'm satisfied if they do what they say. Thanks for your assistance.

01/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My family and I moved-in to our new home in ******** ** in July 2013 and have been living here since. Today I noticed that $20.28 was withdrawn directly from my bank account by "RELIANCECOMFORT" on 19 Jan 2015. I later saw that the same company had taken $19.72 from that account on 17 Dec 2014. There are no other withdrawals from them. I noticed that there is a Reliance Superior sticker on the furnace (the furnace was installed when the house was built in 2012). We bought the house from the builder after it was built. We've never dealt with or spoken to this company and, all-of-a-sudden, they are withdrawing money directly from my personal bank account!
Product_Or_Service: none

Desired Settlement
I would like the stolen money to be returned to me.Regards,******* *****

Business Response
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for sending through the additional information.
I was able to find the payments that Mr. ***** was debited.
At this point we believe it was a transcription error on our part. We are issuing a refund in the amount of $40 for Mr. *****. It should be in his account midnight tomorrow.

Please apologize to Mr. ***** for any inconvenience or frustrations our error has caused.

Thank you
*****

***** *********
Supervisor - Customer Solutions
Office: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext XXXXX
Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: *******************************

12/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In my opinion, I have been overcharged for a furnace part replacement on a repair.
At around 4:00pm on Saturday November 29, 2014 we had an issue with our furnace not starting. Superior Heating and Air Conditioning supplied and installed our furnace 10 years ago so we called them out to take a look. Shortly after 10:00pm a technician came out and quickly diagnosed the issue as a cracked ignitor (Carrier part# LH 33ZS 004) and informed me that the part costs $210. (On top of $99 fee to come out.) I gave the go ahead and the repair was complete within 10 minutes. After seeing the part and checking the part# installed as reflected on the invoice, the cost seemed rather high. The next day, I researched the cost of the part, and see that it is available online from numerous sources. The cost is between $20-$25. (Proof of the parts cost from 4 vendors was submitted in person to the BBB.)

On Monday December 1, I went to Superior Heating on 1600 Church Avenue and was hoping to get some justification for such a high cost for the repair. I was directed to speak with one of the managers. I thanked him for repair and told him that I was happy with the work performed but felt that the cost of the part was high. I then asked if the $210 part cost included both the part and installation. He said it does and that the cost is high because the repair was done after hours and overtime has to be paid to the employee. I then mentioned that I am able to purchase that particular part for around $20-$25 from numerous online sources. He then told me that because it is after hours, the supplier charges a flat rate of $70 to get the parts after hours and that is also reflected in the cost. I let the manager know that the repair technician did not have to make a trip anywhere and that the part was already on the truck. (In fact, when the technician said he is going to the truck to get the part, I said you must store a lot of different parts on the truck.) I informed the manager that I plan on purchasing the part in case of future repair of the same issue. I then asked if he could give me an idea of what the repair cost would be if the same issue with the furnace occurs 5 years from now and the repair is done with my part. I was told that "if just the parts need to be swapped, we probably would not charge anything". I don't see how Superior Heating can justify the cost of the repair going from free if I supply a part that costs roughly $20, to a cost of $210 if they supply the part. (Of course I would expect to pay an initial call out fee).

In summary, we are happy with the work the technician did. He was very knowledgeable, courteous and repaired the furnace quickly. I realize that Superior Heating needs to make a reasonable profit and have no issues paying for the repair. However, paying $309 + taxes ($349) in order to replace a $20 part that took a few minutes to replace seems excessive. Especially after being told that $210 of that may not of been charged if I supplied the part.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have a partial refund of the cost & repair portion of the bill. In my opinion, paying $210 for a $20 part is excessive. Especially after the manager informed me that they may of essentially replaced the part for no charge if I already had the part on hand.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This type of feedback provides us with a training opportunity for team members involved. It certainly seems reasonable that if our Technician did not have to make a trip to obtain the part after hours, there should be no cost associated with that process. We were also incorrect in stating that there would be no charge for the labour and time associated with installing a part which you've obtained elsewhere, should that need arise in the future.
We would be happy to refund $70 (given that it was included as part of the reason for the price charged). We also notice that you have taken the time to research and to make a personal trip to the BBB to present your findings. We understand that time has value and to that end, we offer an additional token of $70 to recognize your time spent on this. Therefore our total discount offered off the total bill is $140. We would be happy to look after that from our office. At your convenience, please contact ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX so that we can move this forward.
Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for the response. I appreciate the partial refund and token gesture. Your response has been more than satisfactory.

03/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got two rental equipment of Reliance for my house Furnace and air conditioner about two years ago and this on January 2015 water pipe burst in the house because of low heating which caused flood in house called immediately Reliance to check furnace and air-conditioned they promised a technician will visit two weeks later called again they said technician will come wait, in March tech came and write report during this I was keep getting rental bill called several times to get the right bill for insurance with a technician report, spending hours on phone was useless people were transferring me from one to other person, people promised to call back but never called even their legal department insurance company waited so long and closed my claim in July 2015. still Reliance collected rental money from my account of 800 dollars in August after that they sent me bill of about 60000 dollars, I wrote my review on google review then some one contacted me from there a manager and informed me that he is appointing ************* to investigate and get back to me, at the end is no body get back to me with any solution or explanations instead I was keep receiving harassing notices that bill will go to collection I was keep leaving messages in voice main and via email to ************* to provide me the feed back how she is investigating and keep calling billing department account receivable say pay bills have no other option customer service says bill is correct you have to pay and finally I got notice from collection company, today again I called same cold response how ever one of rep transfer me to dispute team and member of this team says amount is correct I don't know any more how ever legal department will contact you in 24 hours to answer your questions but you have to pay and bill is right.My concern is that I don't have to pay single penny because I got property damaged and financial loss emotional loss because of Reliance negligence and ignorance, Hope you will help
Product_Or_Service: furnace/ air conditioner
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Reliance should refund my money which they have charged me since January 2015 as rent for rental equipment and water pipe damaged because of low heating I have no way now to proof, Reliance did not send technician on time then my insurance company was waiting for technician report from me and final bill from me they did not repair the house or pay me for repair until so long because of Reliance negligence and ignoring and poor quality of service they should waive all these charges.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

We have attempted to connect with the customer via email and via telephone.
The customer has failed to respond to us.

We have adjusted the account and removed all rental charges. The account is presently close with the only charges remaining for the damaged equipment.

We have reached out to our Liability Coordinator regarding the customer's claims that the insurance company has closed the claim. It is our understanding that an insurance claim is not closed off without customer sign off. We suspect the file was closed without documentation for the damaged equipment. We have provided the customer with a copy of the invoice from Reliance indicating the charges for the damaged equipment. We understand that the customer should be able to request the to have their claim reopened and submit this to their insurance.

Please let us know if there is anything further required.

Sincerely,


**** ****
Customer Solutions Specialist
Reliance Home Comfort
Office - 800-317-0234 ext 72038
Cell - 519-998-5226

03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello,
After many hopeless attempts to resolve our problem with Winnipeg Reliance Superior customer service, we decided to ask you to help us


Below, you will see our last letter to **** ***** - General manager of Winnipeg Reliance Superior .
We did not receive any reply from him - our letter was simply ignored.

Hello *****
after many hopeless attempts to resolve the problem with AC and damaged part,
I'd like to draw your attention to this issue and may be you can help us.
The whole story you can find in all e-mails, but the short version of it is below:
At the time of furnace installation the technician did not test the operation of the air conditioner before and after, he also did not recommend us to do the test.
After the job was done, our AC , that worked well last season, stopped working .
Damage the coil during process of installation - it is the common error that often happens. It should not be surprise for you.
Your technician preferred to choose another reason for not working AC - its age.
Of course it is win-win situation for you - we can not prove your fault.

But there is another problem which we can not resolve.
The condensate drain line is damaged and ******'s explanation is:
"it was from existing equipment".
Does it mean that technician would install everything new and leave damaged pipe with a big hole?
We did not receive any answer to this question.
Could you give us any reason or explanation for this act?
And even more, our request to change this pipe was ignored.

Your website says:
If a customer is not satisfied with any of our work, we will make it right. We do not tolerate unsatisfactory work by our employees or subtrades and welcome immediate input from our customers to correct what may not be done satisfactorily.
IS THIS THE TRUTH?

P.S. We are sending you pictures of damaged drain line.

Please, advice us
*****

Business Response
Mrs. ****** did contact us many months after the install of her furnace, it was installed in February, her first contact with me was in July, well after a.c. season started. She was indicating her air conditioner wasn't working, we dispatched a tech and it was deemed her air conditioner needed replacing, the refrigerant had leaked out of the unit and was nonoperational. She indicated it must not be working because of the furnace we installed months earlier. The leaking of refrigerant happens over time and was not the result of the install of the other appliance the furnace. I indicated that the installer does not touch, operate or test the air conditioner when simply installing a furnace. She also then indicated she was not happy that the lines near her furnace ( the condensate lines) which are in place for the air conditioner were not changed. I sent another technician back to check on which lines she was talking about. After the technician returned, he informed me it was the condensate lines. I informed the customer that the lines would not affect the operation of her air conditioner and that they would not have been replaced with a furnace only replacement. The customer then wanted our best price on a new air conditioner, I provided here the promotional sale pricing we had on at the time plus offered her an additional discount as authorized by the general manager. She questioned the pricing I had offered and indicated competitors were offering better pricing. I informed her the quality, workmanship and warranty were factors in our pricing. She was focused on pricing and unfortunately we could not discount any further. Mrs ****** then contacted our customer resolution department in Ontario, indicated she had no responses from her emails. I responded to our resolution department indicating the history and they relayed this to Mrs. ******. In an attempt to satisfy the customer, we offered to replace the condensate lines as a courtesy. We completed that today as a customer accommodation, not related to the install of the furnace.

Consumer Response
Mrs. ****** has stated that we have contacted Reliance Superior Heating & Air Conditioning many months after the install of the furnace. Yes, our first contact was in July, after we have attempted to turn on the AC. We were not aware that the installer had not tested the full functionality of the unit before declaring the installation successful. We were also not informed that it was our responsibility to test the AC in February, right after the new furnace was installed.

It is not a secret that, in the process of installing a new furnace, the AC coil can be damaged causing a regridgerant leak. According to countless installation reviews online, this happens quite often. ******** Reliance Superior Heating & Air Conditioning prefers to take a stance that the reason for the AC not working is its age. ***************************************** *********************************************** The AC, however, has been working the previous season.

I am wondering, is it the policy of Reliance Superior Heating & Air Conditioning to NOT test and check the entire unit, including the AC, before and after the installation of a new furnace? *********************************************************************************************************************

We would love to hear the company's response to the question above.

Regarding the second issue - a damaged drain line, we are surprised to learn that the company had replaced it as a form of good will, a courtesy.

For both of the company's technicians it came as a big surprise to see a drain line with big holes. They both stated that it was impossible to put a damaged line in, during the installation of a new furnace. According to the Mrs. ******, "condensate line is not related to the install of furnace".

If this condensate line is not related to the furnace, why have the technician left it there, instead of removing it as unnecessary? And why is this drain line attached to the condensate pump (which we did not have with an old furnace)? We were told that this is a new piece that comes with the new furnace. So, had the technician install the new pump and connect an unnecessary, damaged condensate line to it?

Even if this drain line was there before and has magically attached itself to the new pump, does it mean that the technician would install all the new pieces and leave a damaged pipe with a big hole as is? Could the company give us any reason or explanation for this action? Is it part of Reliance Superior Heating & Air Conditioning installation procedures?

So far, no one from Reliance Superior Heating & Air Conditioning has provided a ******** explanation. We are still waiting for their response.

**************************************************

01/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received a bill from this company and I have no recollection of signing up for a service contract with them.
I spoke with someone from accounts receivable(account number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) and was told that someone from ******** ******** signed us up over the phone on May 1st to purchase a service contract with them. I asked to speak to a supervisor who was "not available" I was however able to cancel the account, but was not able to confirm how my name and address was obtained for this bill. ************************ I receive a bill and yet no one I speak to at this company can confrim who authorized this contract!

Desired Settlement
Could someone please tell me who(ie a name of a person)authorized this contract and confirm that neither myself nor my husband are responsible for payment of this bill. I would also like to see the original contract.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

It seems there was a miscommunication. The husband was contacted regarding the CPP they advised they wanted to think about it. It seems we signed them up advising them of the 21 day cancelation period.

The account is currently cancelled without any additional charges related to the CPP.

Please advise if anything further is required.

**** ****
Customer Solutions Specialist
Reliance Home Comfort
Office - 800-317-0234 ext 72038
Cell - 519-998-5226


01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have asked several times for a proof of any contract between Reliance Superior and my self. They didn't even have the serial # on the hot water tank in my house. I provided it to them. I have left sever messages and e mails trying to resolve this issue. They have now sent a collection Agency after me. All I want to do is sort this out and get a coppy of what ever contract there is that states I have a contract with them. Thank you .
Product_Or_Service: NA
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Proof of contract. And correction of credit.

Business Response
This customer was previously renting and paying for the tank through ******** ****** in January 2015, all tanks rented under ******** ***** were transferred to being billed by Reliance Comfort. We took over the portfolio. If this customer replaced their tank with a new tank instead of under ******** ****** they were to notify ******** ***** so ***** could stop billing. WE would have been unaware of that. I can have the customer account closed and charges reversed if the customer verifies it is not the original tank in the home.

12/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are billing me for something I paid already.
On July 2015 I called Reliance because my AC was not working. A technician came over and diagnose a failure from the capacitor. The part cost 15$. The service and diagnose call was 99$. The Tech offered me a maintenance plan for a year. He told me if you pay for the whole year I will give you a rebate. I decided to subscribe and pay the total by credit card, wich was 277$. in september I call Reliance for a maintenance, wich it should be free of charge because of the plan I enrolled.

Now Reliance sending me a bill every months for 16$. They said the 277$ was not including the plan but only the service I had. Wich was 99$ + 15 $ for the capacitor. Either the overpriced me big time or they tried to charge me twice the maintenance plan.

Desired Settlement
Stop billing me for something I paid already and respect their contract

Business Response
In July, this customer contacted us with an air conditioner issue, he was quoted the $99.00 call out fee and then any parts and labour were in addition to that. It was deemed that the parts required were a dual capacitor and labour charges totaling $208 in addition to the $99.00 call out fee. There was no reference to $15.00 for the parts. The technician on site informed the customer that if he signed up for a comfort protection plan for a year, he could receive 20% of that days work. The customer agreed and the technician completed the work for a total contract of $307 less 20%. The customer may have misunderstood, however, the plan is charged out monthly and not upfront, the charge for the maintenance plan is billed at $16.49 & tax monthly. I have looked up the invoice and indeed it clearly lays out the charges for the days repairs and indicates, customer signed up for CPP plan, we would relay that information to our billing department to set up the plan. The customer has also already had his maintenance visit this year under the CPP plan. If he would like to cancel the plan, I can have his account adjusted to zero and cancel the CPP plan.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would be happy if they cancel my plan. There was no misunderstanding****************** ******* I Know what the seller told me. Its too easy to change the story after. A verbal contract has the same value. They should have a look on how that technician sell their products.

So cancel everything and and adjusted my account to zero.

Thank you

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Furnace Cleaning, Furnace Sales & Service, Water Heaters-Res., Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Furnace & Duct Cleaning, Duct Cleaning, Water Heater - Tankless, Water Heaters - Dealers, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.