BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

Dufresne Furniture & Appliances

Find a Location

(800) 737-3233230 Panet Road, WinnipegMB R2J 0S3 Send email to Dufresne Furniture & Appliances

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

BBB has determined that Dufresne Furniture & Appliances meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dufresne Furniture & Appliances' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 52 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

52 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues10
Problems with Product / Service36
Total Closed Complaints 52

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dufresne Furniture & Appliances

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (52)
05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a dufresne warranty and they are purposely sending damaged dressers over here to get away with replacing it. We know for a fact !
We have written out 2x what needs to be inspected pre delivery and i called 5 x to ensure this time dresser will be in good condition and its an intentional attempt for them to get away with their warranty. . This is against the law!

Desired Settlement
We want compensation and new dresser from this merchant

Business Response
We have made good faith efforts attempting to deliver this dresser in show room condition. Unfortunately, this has not come to fruition. As a result, we are able to offer one the following resolution options:
1. Deliver a new dresser
2. Keep the dresser in home with a 50% price reduction
3. Return the dresser for a full refund

Please let us know the preferred resolution.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please make sure for delivery may 16 that dresser is in pristine condition please and as pee ryan a gift card will be granted.

you have not made acceptable attempts to deliver a proper dresser at all. .the warehouse did not even INSPECT THE DRESSER whatsoever even though it's indicated in big bold letters right on service request. .

This will be your 4th attempt now to get this correct and in every one's opinion, ourselves and others are saying your attempts are deliberate...we paid for extra warranty and it needs to be granted with a proper outcome. .as we lost allot of money taking time of work only for you to fail every time!

I learn deliver a perfect dresser MAY 16

05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Report for Better Business Bureau March 11, 2015
I would like to share the experience we had with Dufresne when we informed them of our dissatisfaction in relation to the quality of the fabric used on two living room chairs which we purchased from them.
We bought a living room set...sofa and two chairs on March 27th 2014 for the price of $2785.44 (600.00 x 2 for the two chairs). We are happy with the sofa but we are having serious problems with the chairs. When we were choosing the fabric for the chairs/sofa, I remember having asked the sales lady, ***** ******* if the fabric was of good quality and was durable and would stand well with day to day wear and tear. Without hesitation she said yes it would. Both of us are retired and we are the only ones using the chairs. After only a few months of use we started to notice some pilling on the seats, arms and sides of the chairs. Also, the seats became loose; now, every time we want to sit on the chairs, we have to push in the cushions. When we sit for a while, the seats slip and it is most uncomfortable.
On January 2nd, I phoned Dufresne and briefly explained the problems that we having with our chairs. The lady I spoke with said that she would have to send a technician to look at the chairs. I said that we were going away and coming back on February 16th. At my request, she made a note of the date of the phone call and put in our files. She said that we had plenty of time to make an appointment with a technician when we came back. On February 17th (February 16 th was a provincial holiday) I spoke with ****** I believe and the appointment was scheduled for March 4th. The technician came, saw the pilling and acknowledged it. He also saw that the cushions on the chairs were in fact not at all snug and necessitated to be pushed in every time one wanted to sit on them. He took down the information and said that someone from Dufresne would be contacting us.
We did get a phone call the next morning. I spoke with an employee (she did not introduce herself and I didn't ask her name). I explained our problem to her. From the very beginning of the conversation, I saw that she was not actively listening nor was she empathic to my problem and was not ready to try and find a solution. Her response was that she was ready to put in new foam in the chair seats. She also said that I would have to purchase, at my expense, a fabric shaver to deal with the pilling of the chairs. How will that solve the problem I asked?
1. Foam: If the seats on the chairs are sliding out of place, it means that the cushions are too small. Dufresne is not ready to come and measure the opening and make brand new seats and so prevent sliding. They want to replace the foam and put it in the existing cushion envelope. Replacing the foam will not solve that problem. After a few months the problem will re-occur.
2. Pilling: I do quite a bit of sewing and I know fabric. The fabric on the chairs will not hold up to a fabric shaver. On top of a smooth fabric there is a type of embroidery on the entire chair. Therefore, if one uses a fabric shaver, the threads will get caught in the shaver and not only will there be pilling but we will have an even greater mess with loose threads all over the chairs.


I explained that to her but to no avail. I asked her if I could speak to someone else in a superior position. She said no because I would not get anywhere with anyone else. I spoke to my husband about this when he came home from doing errands. He was just as upset as I was. He spent the entire afternoon speaking with ****** ****** and **** explaining our problem and our utter dissatisfaction as to how we were being treated. No one was interested in coming to a solution. Basically the message was ...you bought it; we have your money; you are stuck with it. They always came back to the idea of the using the fabric shaver which we needed to purchase ourselves and the foam which they said they would replace (without making it fit properly in the chairs). They did not try to understand that in fact what they were suggesting was not going to help at all. To end the conversation, **** told my husband that he could make an appointment with the staff members that operated the store on Ellice Avenue (store where we bought the chairs). All this time both my husband and I thought that we were speaking with the managers at that store. Then, **** said we could go to that meeting but the problem would only come back to him and he would not come back on his decision. How insulting that was! After having spent the whole afternoon speaking with this one and that one ...and to be insulted in that way!!!
Needless to say, we are most unhappy with the result of this procedure and we are bringing it to your attention. We hope that you can help us with this problem.

**** & ***** ******


Business Response
It is unfortunate that Mr. and Mrs. ****** have these concerns. Neither pilling or cushions sliding caused by body movement are covered by the manufacture or extended warranty (if purchased). This is why the multiples persons communicated with delivered the same message. It was not intended to be unhelpful rather it was communicating what is covered under the coverage.

Consumer Response
Refunded the consumer $1,356.00. Consumer is satisfied.

Final Business Response
Called guest to review warranty coverage. I have left a message today at the number on file requested a call back to review warranty details.
Thank you,
****** *******

02/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a pair of washer and dryer on the 14th of July 2014 from Dufresne. I accepted their no payment and interest plan for 12 months. An administration fee of $79.99 was charged to my account wich was disclosed and agreed upon at the time of purchase. I have been making payments on a monthly basis for these appliances in order to avoid the interests. I received my monthly statement dated December 25/2014, in it there is an extra charged described as an "Annual Membership Fee" of $21.00. Upon contacting the toll free number on my statement for **** ********* to request a cancellation for this membership and to continue sending me the monthly bill, I was told I could not cancel. I informed the supervisor that a no point I was told by Dufresne that their store credit card was a forced membership to their customers and that I was obligated to pay into it. I was then told that it was all in the fine print of the contract. I requested a copy of said contract on Jan 5/2015 and have yet to receive it. I had past problems with Dufresne and their customer service. I find the way they sold me on their store card without disclosing all the little extra charges is so dishonest. I demand they cover this $21.00 "Membership Charge" on my account as I'm not willing to pay for it. I do not wish to be a member of such store and feel I should not be force into it. The Supervisor (*****) that I spoke with for ************** apologized for the way they mistakenly label the fee. She mentioned they are in the works of calling it something else.
Product_Or_Service: Maytag washer and dryer
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the $21.00 "Annual Membership Fee" credited to my account. I will continue making monthly payments as I have until the balance is paid in full before the plan expires.

Business Response
I have spoken to the guest in regards to their 'Membership Charge'. This is not something that they were aware of at the time of sale, so I've offered to waive the charges on their behalf. I did advise it will go back to************* and takes a few billing periods to process.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm pleased with the resolution offered by Dufresne Furniture.

01/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased an extended warranty for a sectional, Dufresne wants a restocking fee to replace it,but its their negligent it is now not repairable.
We purchased a leather sectional for delivery 03/17/11, order # XXXXXXXXXX, $2351.98 with tax and extended warranty. ******* from the Ellice location sold us the sectional explaining the extended warranty will cover everything, even if my kids take scissors to the couch and rip it, it will 100% be covered for free for replacement. The sectional was sold to us under the Paradigm customs home as she offered us a new homeowners discount, and we did not realize this till after the purchase as our name and info was on the invoice.
We have had the couch approximately 3 years and had called to have warranty work done many times to fix it. From day 1 the sectional was defective and parts of it were fixed a couple times. It was frustrating to keep calling to have the same seat looked at that was fixed previously, but even more frustrating was that every time we called service the rep could not find our order and it took 20 minutes to look up as Dufresne putting the Paradigm name on it made it impossible to find as there were 700 other orders under that same name. We also found they called Paradigm for service and showed up at their address. We also at time got calls for other customers under Paradigm and vise versa.
On *** 16th, 2014 a service tech came out to our home to look at the sectional for warranty issues again. The middle seat was broken, and there were rips in the leather on the chair. After taking pictures and he examined the sectional, we were told that entire sectional would be recovered and stuffed because of the damage to it. We were not offered any reselection as we were told the parts were available and they were going to fix it. We were told the parts would be available in a few weeks and they would pick up the couch and bring it back the next day. As time went on the parts were on back order and kept getting pushed back. Finally 5 months later the parts came in to fix the sectional and we get the call to make arrangements to pick up the sectional for repair, this was October 20th, 2014. The sectional came back 4 days later. We got a bag of misc. parts that they we did not know where they went when setting up the sectional, still don't to this day. Only half the sectional was done and the half of the sectional that was done was not redone properly. The leather was not stuffed properly so the leather buckled. Also after 2 weeks the leather had already started to fade. I made an appointment to have a tech come out again, but no one showed up again. I followed up with ******* whom sold me the sectional, she directed me to ***** at service, whom after almost 2 months later told me that they will let me reselect on half the sectional for free, the other half I will have to pay 80% restocking fee. The parts and the sectional are no longer available for reorder. We feel that Dufresne should let us reselect the entire sectional and have credit for what we paid as it is their fault that it was not fixed when parts were available. Why did they take my sectional in for repair and only fix half when they ordered the parts for the whole sectional to be fixed. They had the opportunity to fix it when they brought it in to their warehouse. The half they want me to pay restocking fee on the leather was replaced with defective leather which faded and they did not fix it correctly when given the chance. 5 months is a long time to wait on parts and we were more than patient. A sectional should last longer than 3 years with no repairs being done, why should we have to pay a restocking fee of approx. $800 or live with a damaged sectional because they failed to fix the sectional properly when given the opportunity. We proceeded to talk to *****'s boss, ****** explained our issues, but before the conversation even started she already was saying "no" and nothing I said would change her mind. She said she was the highest mrg and there was no one else to talk too. We tried to resolve this but couldn't.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have Dufresne let us reselect our sectional for the amount we paid. We bought the extended warranty with the understanding that if a situation such as this arise we would have the peace of mind and reassurance that we could get a new sectional free of charge. It is Dufresne neglect that the sectional was not fixed properly when parts were available. It is their fault that they sold the sectional under an invoice name that the information was not correct and they confused our order with other orders causing problems with communication and service appointments. Its their manufacturers fault that the half of the sectional was not fixed with proper leather parts. Whomever heard of telling the customer that faded leather is not covered under the warranty , but yet its leather they just replaced on my sectional under 2 weeks ago, it does not make sense? Also why does it take 2 months of constantly following up with service managers and sales managers to get an answer. If we did not call to find out what is going on with the warranty we would have never even gotten an answer, and that took almost 2 month as well. Everything seems to be non urgent.. parts coming in , getting back to customers with an answer when their waiting and have been asking for one.
We just want to reselect a new sectional for what we originally paid. Is that not the least Dufresne can do after all the aggravation we have had with this? Right now we are being forced to keep a damaged sectional or pay more money to get a new one when it the fault of Dufresne that they did not fix it right the first 2 or 3 times when the opportunity was there and parts were available. The restocking fee they want us to pay is on a sectional that is damaged. The other half of the sectional is damaged and there is no restocking fee so we do not get it. However ****** service manager claims she called us back in June to offer a reselect on half the sectional. We told her that we never received that call she must have spoken to another customer as they have mixed up our orders in the past. An example of this was just recently when ******* gave me a service order # to give to service to look up my order so we would not have to wait 20 minutes to find it, and it ended up being an order number for another customer.

Business Response
***** has communicated with this guest on this matter and offered a re-selection on the two piece sectional which was accepted.

******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We are very happy with quick response from ****** and letting us reselect our couch at no restocking fee. We have proceeded and picked out a new sectional, which we are waiting for delivery now 4-6 weeks. Our only concern is that our reselection is still in Paradigm's name as the purchaser which can cause issues in the , future with warranty work is needed. We would have liked it if Dufresne could have changed that in their system somehow. Overall we are satisfied that ****** took a good look at our complaint and made us happy with his quick decision and stood by the product and provide good customer service. For that we thank him.

06/25/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unacceptable time taken to have our broken fridge repaired under the extended warranty. New unit finally ordered but we are still waiting!
Today, Tuesday June 3rd, marks one month that I have been without a refrigerator. Sometime during the day on May 6th, our ************* fridge simply quit. We arrived home from work to find no internal light and no power. Hoping that perhaps Dufresne would still be open, we phoned them but were put through to a call centre, located
in *********************** (!!)

At the time of purchase, we spent the extra money for an extended warranty which has a remaining 1 year on it. The service call was entered into the system and we were told to call Dufresne the next
morning, during regular business hours to follow up, which we did.

In the weeks following our initial call for assistance, we have basically been given the run-around between Customer service in Dufresne and RF Appliance. The part has been ordered - the part has not been ordered - the service person has to come out and examine the fridge (this was 3 weeks after the initial phone call to report the
broken fridge!)- the company holding the extended warranty (Tutoris)has to 'approve' the replacement. During one frustrating conversation
with someone at RF Appliance, I asked what I was supposed to do without a fridge since the part still had not been ordered and I was told (quote) "Most people own bar fridges"!

I finally phoned Dufresne and more or less demanded that this fridge be picked up and another be delivered. A manager ******************
spoke with me and checked their stock and said there were 2 fridges on the floor that were similar to mine. I told him without looking at
them, I wouldn't make a decision and my husband and I would be down that evening to look at them. We drove into the city (we live in St.Adolphe) but upon arriving at Dufresne, there were no fridges located like the ones he had described to me on the phone.**************************************************************. We were told to look at the available fridges on display and choose one that would be similar to our present unit. We were able to locate one but there were none in the city and it would have to be ordered in from Toronto.

My husband phoned Dufresne yesterday to check on the status of the order and, you guessed it, it still hasn't arrived! They anticipate that it could arrive sometime next week but who knows when it will actually be delivered and that will now bring the time period up to 6 weeks without a fridge!

*********************************************************************************************************************************************** Why are we paying extra money for extended warranties that seemingly are not honored in a timely and satisfactory manner?

Who should be held responsible and follow through with appropriate customer service? I quote from the brochure we received from Dufresne when we purchased the fridge in 2011; "Our Customer Service Department is ready to serve you if any problems or concerns arise after your merchandise is received. They will assist you and, if required, send a
professionally trained service technician out to fix your problem.**********************************************************************************************************************

***************************************************************************************************************************

I am sure my issue will be resolved eventually however my complaint with Dufresne is the unacceptable time that is passing in trying to have this problem resolved and all the while I am without refrigeration. Action should have been taken immediately from the day we reported the problem and followed through from someone who actually cares about Customer Service.

Desired Settlement
I'm not sure what to enter into this category. What settlement is there to request? A replacement fridge has been ordered and all I can do is wait until it arrives. Perhaps some sort of apology or an indication that Dufresne understands my situation and realizes that they could have acted much more quickly to resolve this. I have received no indication that they are concerned or care about the fact that I have no means of keeping my food fresh as the weeks carry on. Sure, I'll eventually have another fridge but what about all the weeks of stress, frustration and tension that this has added to my life? Next to the extreme frustration of living without a fridge for so long, it is the lack of compassion and genuine caring that I find so disappointing!

Business Response
Fridge delivered January 14, 2014
Concern report on May 6, 2014, concern was "no power going to fridge and freezer"
Information sent to LG Canada to send a technician out on May 6, 2014
May 7, 2014 depot says part on order to rectify this concern.
The terms of the third party extended service agreement do not provide replacement items when a repair is possible. Dufresne approved this due to the length of time that this is taking to resolve.
It is unfortunate that this has happened, unfortunate that this is taking some time to resolve. It is important to note that Dufresne took action the same day the concern was communicated, as well as authorized a replacement outside of the purchasing agreement in the interest of the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Even though the historical timeline (as stated by the Dufresne representative in their response)is incorrect, we did, after 38 days, finally receive a replacement fridge and will now consider the matter closed.

Final Business Response
The fridge in question has been replaced.

Page 1 of 4
05/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*******************This complaint is about unfair treatment my spouse and I received as customers of Dufresne Furniture. We attempted unsuccessfully to persuade Dufresne to address our concern about receiving a defective kitchen table from them. The delivery/installation persons arrived on the afternoon of Friday, April 17 and discovered the table was defective during their assembly. The installers sent pictures to a company rep. who advised the installers to tell us that a replacement top would be delivered on Monday, April 20. We also realized after the installers left that the table base was installed incorrectly(backwards). We called Dufresne on Monday and were advised that the product had not been reordered, was not in stock and would not be available until May 2. Initially we purchased the table with the understanding that it was available for immediate delivery. Secondly, the table is defective and was assembled incorrectly. We are concerned the table mechanism which opens and closes the table is poorly designed and could malfunction in the future. We made the decision to return the table rather than risk further problems. On Monday, April 20, I spoke with Tanya, manager in the service department and explained our decision not to accept a replacement. Tanya advised me that we would be charged a 10% restocking fee even though the product was malfunctioning. It seems unreasonable that a flawed product would be 'restocked'. They state in their brochure "in the unlikely event you discover a defect, we'll do our best to resolve the issue right away." There was no consideration given to negotiating any manner of settlement to address our concern about the quality of the product. We did not simply change our mind; the product is defective and cannot operate as an extension table. We have lost confidence in the reliability of the product. We are not interested in getting the same table and we saw no other product at Dufresne that would meet our needs and wants (function and design).
Product_Or_Service: Yale table, base, base plate and top
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We paid for delivery and received a malfunctioning product. We don't want a replacement. We are receiving a refund less a 10% restocking fee. We would like to be refunded the entire amount as delivering a defective product should be considered differently than simply deciding an item is not suitable. There was no attempt to reduce the restocking fee given the circumstances. The total lack of flexibility and customer concern is disappointing given they state "Experience after Sales Service".

Business Response
It is truly unfortunate that there was a flaw in the table (preventing it from extending). We sincerely asked for an opportunity to address this concern by replacing the table. Unfortunately, this was not the resolution path chosen. We processed a refund as requested. We honored the purchasing agreement entered into at the time of purchase when processing the refund as requested.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Buyer beware!
We are disappointed by the response from Dufresne Furniture. Although we recognize Dufresne is within its legal right through its policy to secure the 10% 'restocking' fee; we believe there are extenuating circumstances which if considered could have turned this experience into a positive one.

The company states: "Your purchase is only the beginning of your journey with us. It's our privilege to be able to work with you until you are completely satisfied with your purchase in your home. After all, we're here to offer you a better experience." Dufresne's customer service approach is deficient when the situation does not fit their policy, i.e. the delivery did not go as planned; staff did not exhibit any flexibility in their approach to addressing our issue.

"Whether delivery or pick up, you deserve to receive your pieces in showroom condition." The extendable dining room table was delivered to our home on a Friday afternoon. There were no visible marks on the packaging, but it was obvious after assembly by the delivery staff the table was not in working condition. The mechanism was bent and the table appeared to be warped. The obvious assumption was the table was damaged during manufacturing, this was echoed by the delivery staff as well. The delivery staff contacted the technical department and shared some pictures of the table top using a smart phone. We were given the option of refusing the table, or waiting until Monday when they would deliver a new top. We decided to accept the malfunctioning table and get the new top on Monday. We made this decision in good faith recognizing we had signed a document stating: "In the unlikely event you cannot find a suitable replacement, you may return the furniture product within 48 hours of purchase for a refund minus a 10% restocking fee."

When we contacted Dufresne on the Monday afternoon, after not hearing from the store in the morning, staff told us they did not have a replacement in stock as we were led to believe and they would have to order one from the factory which would take a few weeks for delivery. After the initial delivery we heard from various contacts working with this particular product that there have been other instances of problems with this table. We decided to return the item rather than risk the possibility of future malfunctions. It should be noted this product is extremely heavy; we were concerned a malfunctioning table top might pose an injury risk.

We were also advised this table top was unlikely to be repaired and would probably be returned to the manufacturer or disposed of with an insurance claim. In Dufresne's literature it states: "We want you to be happy with your purchase. If you change your mind and want to select a different product, you may do so without additional cost within 48 hours of receiving your product." When we were purchasing the table we had indicated to the sales staff we have been looking for a table for some time and the selected table appeared to meet our needs. We did not find any other Dufresne product met our needs. It is not reasonable to expect we should have to select a table we don't like just to meet Dufresne's policy requirements. The policy on returned items is deficient when it comes to damaged items; the company has unreasonably applied its restocking policy. We should have been advised that the customer is responsible for a restocking fee regardless of the reason for refusal or return.

In conclusion, we did not return the table because we did not like it; we returned it because of a manufacturing defect and we have grave concerns about its functionality. It would be helpful to know whether the defective item delivered to our home was in fact restocked. If there is evidence to show the defective item was repaired and restocked, then the restocking charge may have some validity. If not, then the company has acted unfairly in the application of its policy.

'Good companies' develop and adhere to operational policies; 'great companies' provide staff with flexibility to exercise discretion in applying a policy in order to achieve customer satisfaction. From our perspective Dufresne Furniture has failed in its pledge live up to its founder's vision to provide customers with a better experience.



Final Business Response
We are of the opinion that we have acted in good faith by acknowledging a defect with the purchased product and by offering to rectify the situation. We offered replacement of the same or something else in the store. The decision was made to return (when the same and other tables are available). We fulfilled the request as we agreed to originally.

01/19/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had ordered a sectional from Dufresne, I was please with the service I had received on the day of purchase it was easy, fun a great experience. Day of delivery comes I had the previous furniture moved out as I was told if they have to remove furniture there is an added expense(which I found out later to be false). The delivery guys brought in the furniture originally with the legs on but then took it back up the stairs as it would not fit with the legs, so they removed them. I was home alone at the time with my toddler and dog, (who were not happy to have strangers in their house at that time). Once all the furniture was down stairs I went down far enough that my child could still see me so she would not be scared and the dog. Asked if the guys could set it up and move it into place which they did. At that time I asked if there was anything I had to sign. They proceeded to hand me a tablet stating to sign that I received all the furniture pieces. I had so I signed and went back up to attend to my child. When the guys left I took my daughter downstairs and right away noticed the damage on my furniture (ripped cushions, scratched off paint from the wood, and a ripped down the side of the furniture.) I then noticed the damage done to the walls in my home. I immediately took pictures of all the damaged that occurred to the furniture and my home. I have been told that I will be receiving new furniture however someone needs to look at it, but they will not cover the damage done to my home because it was not reported at the moment the delivery guys were there and that I signed the tablet stating there was no damage. I have been told by multiple people that they will not cover this however if they would have stated at the time to check for any damage to the house I would have. However I trusted them that I was signing for the furniture and that I received all the pieces. unable to reach any managers and have been given a generic email as I was told the managers do not want to be harassed
Product_Or_Service: Sectional

Desired Settlement
I would like to speak to the customer service manager "******" is what my salesperson told me his name is. I want my delivery charge refunded as well to be compensated for the damages to my home.

Business Response
We have spoken to this guest and are replacing the items and attending to the home damage.

12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a Stand-Up freezer back at the beginning of April, the following day had to get them to refund purchase on their credit card due to the freezer being to big. Found an alternative one with a price match difference. Sales person was super nice and very helpful. ************************** ********************. She refused to return the total amount of which was charged to my Dufresne Credit Card. She told me that once it is processed it can not be refunded. I explained that if something is bought and returned a FULL refund is expected. She was not listening whatsoever. She kept telling me that it cannot be reverse. During this time the manager walked by, listened for a few seconds and walked away without intervening to diffuse the situation. Told them 3 times that they had the wrong address on the invoice, they stated it was changed and to this day which is now Oct/20/14 I have still not received a bill. *************************************************. Received the Freezer, the delivery people were ******. ************************ very unprofessional, damaging the Freezer. Made a phone call to them in regards to the damage, new one was ordered. A gift card of $100 was promised in regards to the delivery people and dealing with their unprofessionalism. Emailed their customer service department not once but twice in regards to above said issues, still haven't heard anything from them. Later, after going to credit card company, they stated that Dufresne's had charged us an addition $195 which should of never been charged. Haven't been able to rectify this situation either.
Product_Or_Service: *** ********* ******* *******
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want the $195 the company over charged me put toward outstanding balance, I want the $100 gift card that was promised, put towards the outstanding balance on the credit card purchase. I also want additional months of interest free from the company for all the headaches that me and my wife have encountered from this company

Business Response
Good morning,
The original order XXXXXXXXXX was for a freezer for $561.63 (item number XXXXXXX) and an extended warranty plan for $99.99 (item number ****** With taxes the net total is $747.63. The payment was divided, $551.89 being paid by financing and $195.74 on a credit card. This is not consider an overcharge.
We do not have any records of a gift card being discussed however we can issue one and mail it to the address on file once confirmed, *** ** ** ** *** ****, *** *** ***
Thank you,
******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not sure how they determined that the payments were divided. The total amount was put on my Dufresne credit card. I had to then pay $195.74, 3 months after the purchase, which Dufresne could/would not explain why I was being charged this amount 3 months after purchase when it was originally set up as no payments for 6 months. The person who works for Citi Financial who finances Dufresne told me that they even charged the taxes on the original purchase from the freezer that was returned per say the next day for full refund, which they never did.

I find it rather annoying and ignorant when a company promises said gift cards because of damaged appliance, and extremely rude delivery people and then all of a sudden have no record of said gift cards. That is bad business.
Speaking to their customer service department via the phone when they delivered the appliance, they offered only $50 gift card. or $65 off if I kept the damaged appliance. Going down the to store where I purchased the freezer, and speaking to the manager *** ********** showing him pictures of the damage and listening to the complaint about the delivery people who was not even their own company delivery people, it was a 3rd party delivery company, he promised a $100 gift card for the trouble that my wife dealt with in regards to delivery.

I do not want a stupid gift card from this business now, they should just honor the $100 in cash not a gift card.

Again to this day, November 6th 2014 I still have not received any bill or communication from Dufresne's in regards to my purchase. Which they finally have the correct address to my residence as of when Dufresne's responded to my complaint. Not even a single phone has called to ask if I am happy with my purchase.

I have all the bills from the original purchase which was suppose to be refunded as well as the bill/paper work for the freezer I have now and can provide that at a later date.

Final Business Response
Our records do not show an overcharge. If we can receive the written documentation to show this overage we can certainly correct any discrepancy. We are able to honor the gift card committed to in the amount of $100.00 The address we have on file is *** ** *** **** ****'s, ** *** **** Can this be confirmed for mailing?

09/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a LG range (including 4 years of extended warranty in addition to the manufacturer's 1 year warranty) from Dufresne Furniture on March 31, 2009. In mid January of 2014, after numerous (at least 7) oven failures & subsequent repairs that left us without the use of the oven for extended periods of time during the previous 18-24 months, the range was deemed to be a "lemon" & "not worth repairing (NWR)" by Dufresne's service dept, by Tutoris (the extended warranty administrator), & by LG. As a result we were advised by Dufresne that we would receive a credit equivalent to the original purchase price ($1647.42) towards a replacement range from their inventory. However, we were unable to find a suitable replacement. We were advised that the use of our "credit" was not limited to the purchase of a replacement range; that we could use the credit towards the purchase of other furniture &/or appliances from their inventory; & that a note to that effect would be placed on our file at the store. In mid February, we rec'd a call from Dufresne service to arrange the pick-up of the "lemon" NWR range. We explained that we had no stovetop to use until we found a replacement & the service person agreed that we could keep the range until we received a replacement, but we would have to pay for its return. We objected to paying to return the "lemon" & the service person (after consulting with a supervisor) advised that since neither LG, Tutoris, or Dufresne really need the range back, we should dispose of it ourselves. We asked for this in writing - he said our conversation would be documented on our file. We disposed of the "lemon" to a scrap dealer on/or about February 24th, 2014. We confirmed the credit with Dufresne's on several occasions & finally went to use it in early July. We were advised that, due to store & warranty policy, we could not receive our credit until we returned the "lemon" range. Efforts to redeem our credit through the service dept & Tutoris have been frustrating and fruitless.
Product_Or_Service: LG range & extended warranty
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Reinstatement of our store "credit" in the amount of $1647.42. We feel we should not be penalized in any way for acting in good faith. We only did what we were advised to do by their own personnel.

Business Response
We have no records to indicate that any employee of Dufresne Furniture and Appliances recommended or agreed to disposal of the unit. If we can get a specific name or date, we can certainly continue to investigate.
Retailers require the returning item to replace or issue in-store credit. This is common practice. We are no different. We have offered a potential resolution, half credit if confirmation from disposal company can be obtained.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was unsure how to respond to the question. We have been trying since we last spoke to Dufresne's to obtain written confirmation from the independent scrap dealer (that we were referred to) that picked up the range. So far we have not been successful as the owner frequently works up north & we are not sure when he will return. If we are unable to obtain a suitable piece of paper, we certainly would not "accept" Dufresne's response. We still feel unfairly treated by Dufresne's as no mention regarding the return of the old range was made during all the contacts after the credit had been set up on our account; even when they contacted us to change the credit from a replacement credit to a general in-store credit. Nothing was said until we went to use the credit in early July. And, given the nature of the scrap business, that delay (from February to July) has made it extremely difficult, if not impossible, to obtain confirmation from the dealer whose return to Winnipeg is at this point uncertain. The second reason for my uncertainity in responding to the above question is that we still feel that, given the circumstances of our case, we are due the full amount of our credit, not half.

Final Consumer Response
We received another call from ****-*** October 2nd stating Dufresne will give us half credit as the warranty company had spoken to the disposal company. I pointed out to her that Dufresnes response on August 18 was "if we can receive written proof of disposal by October 1, 2014, we will be able to issue full credit". **** indicated she would have to speak to upper management.

Final Business Response
***** ***** - ***** ******
Adjustment committed to is in processing.

07/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a ********* Washer and Dryer from Dufresne less then two years ago. We had purchased the extended warranty plan at that time for peace of mind knowing if anything were to happen we would have extended warranty on our appliances. This all started April 23rd when I went to use my washing machine and it stopped working. I had error codes appearing on the screen. I contacted Dufresne Furniture on April 24th to let them know that my machine is not working and that I would need a technician to come out to our place (note: we live one hour from city). An appointment was then book for Wednesday April 30th for a techician to come to our place. Wednesday came and my husband stayed home all day to wait for the techinician.....no show and no call. I then called back again and asked what happened. They told me that it was something in there computer system that didnt go through and that they would rebook an appointment for Friday May 2nd. I received a call Thursday (May 1st) at 8:30 pm from their contractor who actually comes to your place to fix the appliance and he said they should know better then to book appointmenets that he needed the error code and would order part once Dufresne approved his invoice. After numerous calls to Dufresne, run around after run around and no one knowing what to tell me, and an unreturned phone call from the store manager I am sitting here 10 weeks later with no washing machine, no part. I was told that Dufresne approved my claim May 13th and then the contractor changed his invoice by $21.00. That $21.00 took another 5 weeks while me the customer had no machine and lives 1 hour from Winnipeg. I have been bringing laundry in and out of city every 2nd day. I received a call from the contractor two weeks ago who said Dufresne finally approved the differene on the invoice and that he was placing the order and the part would take 7 days to come in. Its now two weeks later and still no call? This is absolutely unacceptable **************************
Product_Or_Service*********** Washing Machine

Desired Settlement
I would like my washing machine fixed ASAP or a brand new machine delivered to my house one hour out of the city on their expense. I would like my extended warranty for this machine refunded. Dufresne needs to make things right with the customer. There process has completely failed in every way with us. If nothing is done I will be cancelling my store card and will never return to their store. *****************************

Business Response
We can appreciate how this can be frustrating. This is precisely why Dufresne is working at the facilitator between the payee (third party extended warranty company) the repair person (third party repair depot) and the guest.
The repair approval was provided on May 13, 2014 then again (once revised) on June 6, 2014. At this point we are simply waiting for the part to arrival and for installation arrangements to be made and completed.
If the guest would rather not wait for the part, which was expected last week, we can offer a replacement washing machine. Unfortunately, this model is no longer in production so we would offer a price equivalent to shop in our store. Once the new one is delivered, the old one would be picked up. Replacing the item would fulfill the extended warranty agreement.
Please let us know how they would like to proceed.
******

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/27/1993Business started: 09/01/1993
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norman Alegria (Manager, Guest Care)
Number of Employees

68

Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dufresne Furniture & Appliances

230 Panet Road

Winnipeg, MB R2J 0S3

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dufresne Furniture & Appliances is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.