BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dr. Post

(204) 955-4376View Additional Phone NumbersBox 116-A, RR2, DugaldMB R0E 0K0 Send email to Dr. Post

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Dr. Post is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dr. Post include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dr. Post

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Agreed upon length of posts not installed, used 4 foot shorter posts than agreed upon. Fence does not line up. Fence posts shifting a overall poor job. ******************************************** ************** ************************ There are no resolution options presented.
Product_Or_Service: New fence post instalation

Desired Settlement
Replacement of all posts to that of which agreed upon or full refund.

Business Response
Customer wanted to use 14'posts. They don't exist, so 16' posts were used. Due to soil conditions (excessive moisture), posts were between 12' and 14'. Posts were put in the same location as previous posts. We had a lapse in our accreditation.


Final Business Response
Customer refused to pay additional charges eeven though it states on our estimates that additional charges may apply.

I am trying to locate the receipt for the auger extension that we bought earlier in the year to shhow there was an extension on site.

Sandy soil causes the holes to cave in on themselves resulting in lost depth. The holes were drilled 6' deep but due to the make up of the soil, the sand could not be cleaned out of the hole.

All I can offer the customer is a $500.00 refund.

****** ******
Dr. Post

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Before contacting BBB I offered by e-mail to pay my holdback on the job once it has been properly fixed. My only error in this transaction was paying this company anything in good faith. They were to correct this as per ******* ****** has dug his heels in obviously. Every week the fence floats out more. I should have never paid this company 2,000 hoping they would fix their brutal attempt at this job. I do not see how ****** thinks a $500 refund could possibly resolve this. OK, so my fence is still worse than when this company replaced all the posts but know we are only out $1,500. Ridiculous offer.


Full refund as mentioned period. As mentioned before I have all proof and will proceed in court.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Explained expectations were not met. Owner (******) was non-responsive and did not want to follow up with our concerns. Job was unsatisfactory.
We hired ****** and his crew to install 5 fence posts for one section of street side fence on our property. I had personally finished the other two sections of fence to completion as reference for his crew. When his crew arrived in August. 13, 2015, I went out and explained our expectations with the two guys. I needed a certain elevation for the posts which I told them was 82" from bottom of the above ground exposed post to the edge of the reveal on our cap and dado custom cut posts. As I had other stuff to attend to, I left them to complete the job. Just over an hour later, I went out to check on progress and the guys were done and gone. The elevation of the posts were higher than we asked them to be. This created a gradual artificial elevation change from the corner post(that I had set) to the other end post. The elevation change did not contour the ground slope. In doing so, due to the design of our fence, we were now going to be above the City's allowable height variance of 6'6" and it affected the aesthetic of our fence. Also worth noting, as we supplied the quarter down gravel, the guys did not fully fill the holes. The top half of the holes were dry packed without water and not filled to the top of the holes. As they had two other sections of fence to reference, they saw that all of our 'sections' were within and under 8' apart. I had purchased 8' long material to finish this last section of fence as I did with the other sections. Despite these facts, ******** crew set one post past the 8' on center mark, forcing me to dig up the post and set it in accordance to the centering on all other posts. The alternative was to return purchased lumber and repurchase longer lumber to complete the job. I also had to complete the watering and compaction of the posts they set. Due to the fact that from one end of this section of fence elevation wise was lower on one end in comparison to the other, we had to order five yards of soil to artificially raise the ground level along half the length of fence in order to comply with City fence height restrictions. My wife and I reached out to ****** starting the day the job was complete and became frustrated by his lack of response or desire to hear or investigate our concerns. Despite having an online website assuring work guarantees, he was unwilling to appease our concerns. My wife and I felt that a credit for the soil we had purchased and the post I had to redo was fair due to the fact that his crew did not meet the expectations we had set for them but ****** refused to negotiate with these terms. Never once did he drop by to inspect the work of his guys or to follow up with our concerns. We are asking that the five yards of soil be credited against the invoice received and the quoted cost per post ($40) be credited for the post that I had to redo to be within 8' on center. ****** was combative, unprofessional and unwilling to communicate on the phone. Numerous attempts to reach ****** by phone to discuss the matter and reach a resolution were in vain. He refused to answer his phone or respond to voicemail. He additionally countered that our custom cap and dado posts could be cut after they had been set. This is in fact false.

Desired Settlement
Although we're not satisfied with the job, the section of fence was completed. We're asking that the invoice received be credited against the cost of soil we had to order to artificially raise the ground level to remain compliant and aesthetically improve the finished product. We are also asking that we be credited for redoing the one post which was set beyond the 8' on center plus all applicable taxes.

Business Response
Customer put a stop payment on the cheque issued. So technically no payment has been made.

Customer marked out post hole locations for drilling.
Watering is not part of a post hole installation service.
Work guarantees are for full projects, not fence post installation. We cannot be held responsible for doing part of a job.
I have text messages showing the customer was rude and aggressive towards my self which I can provide copies of.
No phone conversations were had as it was obvious customer was going to be difficult to deal with and needed to have proof of conversations.
And the post tops and dados can most definitely be cut after the post is installed.I have done it 100's of times.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/23/2009Business started: 07/01/2006
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Jaques (President)Mr. Jared Schewe (Secretary/Treasurer)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Fence Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dr. Post

Box 116-A, RR2

Dugald, MB R0E 0K0

To | From


1 Locations

  • Box 116-A, RR2 

    Dugald, MB R0E 0K0(204) 955-4376
    (204) 795-8597

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dr. Post is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (204) 795-8597

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Fence Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.