BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2010

Graphic Construction

Phone: (204) 226-0966Fax: (204) 783-92781332 Downing St., WinnipegMB R3E 2R7 Send email to Graphic Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2010

BBB has determined that Graphic Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Graphic Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Graphic Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This contractor has advised he has abandoned this job and is unwilling to proceed to complete the job as agreed. The job was originally started in September 2013, and it is still yet to be completed. Promised completion date was October 2013. It is now approximately 7 months over. We have large excavated area that is starting to collapse. There has been many issues & concerns we have repeated brought to the contractors attention. None of these have been satisfactorily addressed or resolved. A few examples include live electrical wires not safely terminated, open junction & switch boxes, lack of heat or insulation of openings to work area, lack of working ground water removal and general job site housekeeping/safety. During construction there has also been substantial errors made regarding calculations and reading of engineered drawings. We have had an ongoing issue with a cantilevered floor which we had to demand be completed as per the drawings (not completed). The contractor tried to tell us it was not able to be done which would have resulted in having to redesign the kitchen to accommodate a recessed fridge. We have repeatedly attempted to get firm completion dates none of which have been met. This is a rental property & we have not been able to occupy the unit as it is uninhabitable & unsafe. This has caused financial hardship of which this contractor has been fully aware of but has done little to rectify. We were lead to believe the contractor employed a crew of workers (on quote refers to workers being covered by insurance) but as the work proceeded, it was evident this is a one man operation. There is a substantial amount of work to be completed for this area to be both accessible and usable again. We live out of province & have had to incur ongoing expense to travel back & forth to check on the progress of the job as attempted to get this job completed. It has been our focus for the last 7 months. **************************************************

Desired Settlement
We want the entire contract to be fulfilled as agreed. We want to be compensated for lost rent from April - to date completed. We want to be able to inspect the work as it progresses and a detailed list/accounting of what needs to be done and timelines for completion.

Business Response
Re: case ********
On Feb.4/14 I sent them a quote detailing what we had discussed. They wanted to do only option A with a minor revision. On Feb.10/14 I sent them the revised quote and they agreed to it and sent me a deposit for $7000.00 on Feb.13/14 with the balance payable when the work was completed. This was a 2nd contract and completely separate from the original Agreement and Contract of Sept. 2/13. On this contract I received a deposit of $5200.00 via bank transfer on Sept.3/13. I also received payments of $5200.00 on Sept.13/13 and Jan.8/14 in accordance with the details set out in the agreement. Another $3000.00 was due when the waterproofing was completed and $2358.00 when the entire job is completed. So $5358.00 is due and payable when the detailed work has been completed. This work has not been completed and I have not been paid for it. The Feb.4/14 agreement and contract was completed before the end of April and I billed them for it. They have continuously refused to pay with one lame excuse after another. They want both the Feb.4/14 contract and the Sept.2/13 contract completed before they pay what has been due since before the end of April on the Feb.4/14 contract. By the way neither of these contracts have their signature despite the fact that I have asked many times for them to sign for the record and they were always too busy or had some other excuse. This doesn't really matter because sending me the funds is proof of acceptance of the contract in its entirety.
Yes the job was started in Sept. shortly after receiving the deposit. We were able to do some exploratory demolition to get the job started. They were fully aware that once we were done with this demolition it was going to take some time for the engineer to revise his plans and for the City to give us the approval for the building permit. They were told from the very beginning that once the building permits branch had received the stamped engineers plans it would take them 2 months plus before we would have the permit in our hands. On December 6/13 we finally received the permit and within a week we were on the job. They were also told that once the permit comes through I would need about a week to get everything set to continue the job. I don't know by what stretch of the imagination I could have promised to have the job done by October/13. The large excavated area that they say is caving in is addressed in one of my responses and is actually a very small job that by the nature of the work can not be avoided. ******************************************************************************* I have addressed every legitimate and fabricated concern from the beginning but at some point they just started looking to find fault everywhere even if it did not exist. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************** I believe I have shown my side in the correspondence I have forwarded to you. The substantial errors in calculation and reading of engineered drawings that they refer to is more fabrication. It is not uncommon to have to make some modification to the plans to make things work when you are rebuilding a 100 year plus building. The plans show a recessed cubby hole for the fridge with a cantilevered floor into the rebuilt area. The depth of the cubby hole or length of the cantilevered floor is not on the engineered plans because it could not be properly established until certain sections had been demolished. It was up to the builder ( me ) to make it work. Also considering that we reframed the structure from the inside and used 2x6 lumber to meet code instead of the original 2x4's there were measurements that had to be modified. The cantilevered floor has not been put in place yet because it is part of the original Sept.2/13 agreement and that is one of the last things to be done before the drywall goes up. They were never told it could not be done. I told them I had to discuss it with the engineer to let him know that we had to make some modifications and to get his approval. I accepted responsibility for the delays that were within my control but there were many delays such as weather and delays caused by his delinquent tenant who wouldn't move out even after being given an eviction order and as a result I did not have access from the suit as was necessary to continue with the work. They are accusing me of being a one man operation which is more nonsense. From the very beginning I have had helpers on this job every day that I worked and I can prove it with payroll receipts. And yes they were all covered by workers compensation and I can prove that too. I have also had independent contractors work on this job with their heavy equipment to excavate the foundation and haul away the debris. I have had licensed electricians with their helpers on this job. For the reframing part of this job I did not use a helper because it wasn't warranted. The stairs were being made by my stair makers, the drywall was to be done by my drywallers, the paint by the painters, etc. Where I did not require a carpenters helper I did not use one and this is being twisted into making me look like a " one man show". The statement that they have had to incur ongoing travel expenses to check progress on the job and to try to get it completed is another bold faced lie. Since they accepted my Sept.2/13 quote and transferred the deposit on the next day they have been to ******** a couple of times to deal with their delinquent tenant who was causing delays and preventing me from being able to continue the job. They were supposed to sign the Sept.3/13 agreement and the updated agreement with the added costs for the engineering changes from the original Sept.3/13 agreement which they asked me to leave for them in the locked rear construction area. To this day they have refused to sign the agreements. The only other times they came to Wpg. were on the weekends that they were working on the interior of the main floor suite. They were renovating this part themselves and that was their reason for coming here. In fact they forced me out of this part of the house so that they could do their own renovations despite having agreed to giving me access through the main floor in order to make the section I was working on quicker and easier to complete.
I have tried to be complete and as straight forward as possible with my response. Please let me know if any of this is not clear enough.
Thank You,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We could go into detail pointing out false statements **** has made and this can go back and forth, but we have decided to keep our response brief, and only mention the facts. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
We paid this contractor a substantial amount of money and the balance that was to be paid upon completion does not even come close to finishing this project. The simple fact is his new foundation work has sunk and this contractor's structural work is pulling away from the house. We have a report from the City of Winnipeg citing deficiencies. We are now left with a twisted mess, that we paid a lot of money for, which cannot be finished as is.*******************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Business Response
Business Response:
It is unfortunate that the customers persist with their unwillingness to pay a bill that is over due and it is their breaking of our contract that forced me to not abandon but rather " Walk Off " the job. I had hoped that they would be reasonable and make a new decision to honor our Agreement, which you have a copy of. **************************************************************************. I will attach a letter from the engineer who designed the plans because he was there at the request of the customer. The customers objective was to validate their accusations of incompetent and faulty workmanship. The letter clearly states that both the foundation rebuilding and the reframing of the upper levels was done in accordance with current building practices with regard to materials and workmanship and all the work met building code requirements. I also have numerous photographs showing the various stages of work that has been complete*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** The amount the customer has paid ( which I have detailed for both contracts ) and the amount that was left to pay upon completion is in accordance with our written Agreement.
Re: Customer's statement; " The simple fact is his new foundation work has sunk.....etc. etc. ". I received a telephone call from the designing engineer on the day he conducted an inspection of the work I had completed. This was just before his report dated June 23/14. He informed me that the footing had settled and the foundation had dropped about 2 inches. When I last was at the job site on May 16/14 to drain the sump pit there was no evidence of any settling. I have photos to show this. The customer was on site to inspect my work and knit picked about a bunch of ( as listed in previous emails ) imagined faults but said nothing about the foundation sinking. There were no signs of this. It is an unfortunate twist of fate and turn of events that the foundation has settled since but I can not accept responsibility for it. I built it according to plans and I have detailed photos showing that all the stages of the work were done to requirements. Starting with the gravel base being compacted, the framing of the footings, the installation of drain lines and re-bar, the sump pit, the gravel base for the floor and the concrete poured. Photos of the down spout and extension leading the water away from the foundation walls as well. I have a close up of a carpenter's level resting on the new wall showing the levelness of it. I can prove that everything has been done in accordance with the engineer's plans. UNFORTUNATELY neither the engineer who designed the foundation or the builder who built it to specs ( me ) can take responsibility for existing ground conditions. We don't know the condition of the soil below the point to which we excavated for the basement floor. Without soil tests being conducted prior to building no one can know what the soil is like. There may be a silt deposit and water channels just below the excavation line which later settled causing the footing to drop. It is not common practice to do soil tests for a foundation of this sort. Even in most cases where piles are required a soil test is not usually done because it is very expensive. All of the work done on this project has been done in accordance with standard business practices. It is not uncommon for 25-30 foot piles to settle if the ground conditions are bad. Again it is unfortunate that this happened and I sympathize with the customer however I will not take responsibility for something which is out of my control.
If the customer would "man up" and pay his bill I would take a look at this new problem and do what ever is needed to fix the problem and I would do the required remedial work at a discounted price. BUT first I need to be paid. I will wait for the customer's response before filing a law suit to recover my losses.
**** *******, Graphic Construction

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Foundation Contractors, Custom Home Builders, Home Improvements, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/16/2008Business started: 01/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Gyorffy (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Contractors - General, Foundation Contractors, Custom Home Builders, Home Improvements, Kitchen Cabinets & Equipment - Household

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Graphic Construction

1332 Downing St.

Winnipeg, MB R3E 2R7

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1332 Downing St. 

    Winnipeg, MB R3E 2R7(204) 226-0966
    Fax: (204) 783-9278

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Graphic Construction is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Contractors - General


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.