BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2007

Nott AutoCorp Ltd.

(204) 889-66882074 DeVries Ave., WinnipegMB R2G 3T1 Send email to Nott AutoCorp Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2007

BBB has determined that Nott AutoCorp Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nott AutoCorp Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Nott AutoCorp Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
10/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

We traded in our challenger for a bmx x6 which was $40,740 on their add and was discussed in the dealership as well. We were told our trade in value and that would come off our amount only to find out they raised the price of the vehicle to $53,740 and did not take anything off for our challenger instead added on an extra $32,000 for us to pay for the challenger on top of the $53,740. Tried asking questions but was given false information and was taken advantage of for my misunderstanding of things. Was not given papers to register the bmw and its been 2 weeks now since having the vehicle and the finance manager is refusing to give us the registration papers. I tried getting our challenger back in exchange back for their bmw. She kept refusing me, so i kept trying to ask and figure out ways to get our car back for a week only for her to tell me not happening then the next day tell me they sold it already. And is still refusing to give me insurance papers. Very poor company to buy a car from.

Desired Settlement
We want our challenger back. If not possible want our sale done properly with the right prices so we arent getting overcharged an extra $13,000

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****
This customer came to us in what they explained as a bind (two car payments) and they wanted to trade both of their cars and go to one payment. When we discovered one of their cars (volvo) was consolidated with other debt and there was more owed on the car than what we could give them, they said they'd sell that one privately. We agreed and removed the second trade from the deal and used the challenger as the only trade.

As it was explained clearly to the customer (and signed off on) at the time of sale, the difference between what they owe on their trade in and what we are giving them for their trade in must be added to their price. In this case, we gave them $19,000 real money for their trade and they owed $32,000 to the bank. The difference between those numbers is $13,000. This is what the customer is referring to as us charging them 'extra' for. The original work sheet shows $19,000 trade value as well as the $32k balance they owed at the bank for it. The bank will not finance negative equity so we must show the same value for the trade as what's owing on it. That difference ($13,000 in this case) must be added to the price in order for the bank to accept it. The difference between the price they negotiated and the trade value given is till the same, that never changed. ($21,740 difference) Her final bill of sale clearly shows the trade value as $32,000, which matches the amount owing (and that we paid out) for their trade. When I explained this to the customers, I specifically stopped and asked them..."Does this make sense?" They both nodded. This deal was approved through the bank with a $3000 deposit, of which, to date we have only received $500 (we received a total of $1000 from them but $494.09 of that was to finance an extended warranty)

At no time after the customer took delivery of the car they purchased from us did I ever say that getting their trade-in back was an option. She kept asking for approximately 7 days (via text) and I kept saying no, that's not an option (we had already put the challenger in our name and been funded on the X6 loan) Finally, the car sold and when I told her that she became angry and threatened legal action.

The customer expected to sell her other vehicle privately and assured us she would pay us the remainder of the deposit within a week. That has not yet happened. I even offered to take her Volvo on consignment and sell it for her so we can get our deposit paid and she can pay off her loan. All she needed to do was call her bank to confirm they would release the lien on the Volvo if the loan wasn't paid off in full. We can't sell a vehicle to someone else if another institution still holds interest in it. She never did that.

Our agreement was that once we received the registration for her challenger AND the money they owed us as part of the deal, that we would give her the paperwork (Registration and safety) to insure the X6. We now have the registration for the trade (challenger) and have still not received the rest of the money they owe us.

There is no responsibility being taken here by the customer, only blame being placed. Considering we had not and still have not received the money they owe us, we did not have to release her new car to her. But we did as they were very anxious and very excited. We did it with the agreement that they would have the money for us from the sale of their Volvo within the next week. That was 2 weeks ago.

I have (via text 2 days ago) told the customer her registration and safety is here, ready to be picked up and she has not responded to me. This goes against our agreement (she has not kept up her end) but I am prepared to do this as a show of good faith with the understanding that she is still required to complete our transaction by paying us the remaining funds.

The customers have copies of every piece of paper they signed and they received those the same day as the purchase.
I am more than happy to discuss this with the customer in any way she prefers.

We understand that purchasing a vehicle can be an overwhelming experience and we strive to make it less so. If we've failed at doing that, we apologize. We welcome the opportunity to help the customer better understand how the numbers work.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Normally when someone buys a car, the dealership has an obligation to give them the registration papers if they are leaving with the car purchased. As per "our" volvo, we told her we do not want to sell it. It became too difficult and she was pushing us to give her our car. I feel we got screwed over with our challenger so wasnt gonna allow that to happen as well with our volvo which we knew had more value than what they were giving it. As of today I do not have a copy of every single paper we have signed. Also, they pay people to make sure those vehicles are clean and ready to go when someone buys it but instead when I was looking for something in the x6 I seen something under the passenger seat, had no idea what it was so I reached to grab it only to get my fingers sliced and only to realize there was a smashed up beer bottle under the seat.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not owe $17,000 on my volvo. I said I owe $6000 and that is exactly what I owe. As for the glass under the seat, clearly that just goes more to show how you guys do not do your jobs properly and then lie about it. There was a broken beer bottle under the passenger seat and no matter what you try to use as an excuse there was still glass found in that car. You qouted us more for our challenger than you actually gave us. There are other major concerns as well that I have already discussed with my lawyer that she said is against the law what you did and that she will be dealing with those matters as they are pretty serious. As I was a customer I am very displeased with Notts service and information. Ive heard many complaints pretty similar to mine from many people after what I have experienced thus far. I can garuntee you Nott is no longer a place I would ever consider again buying a car or referring anyone to. Employees and management of Nott have made many mistakes that they wont even own up to. Doesnt show for a good business.

Final Business Response
I have addressed every concern the customer has raised thus far, professionally and clearly. Her responses are now bordering on slander. I wish to find a resolution to this matter ASAP that does not include emailing back and forth in a 'he said, she said' battle with no progress. This is our final response.
Thank you


06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/22/2007Business started: 02/01/2007Business started locally: 12/28/2006
Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 2006, MB

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Trevor Nott (President)Complaints: Mr. Barry Swain (GSM)Mr. Carlos Bergantim (Manager)Ms Terra Terra Bellisario
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Repair & Service

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Nott AutoCorp Ltd. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nott AutoCorp Ltd.

2074 DeVries Ave.

Winnipeg, MB R2G 3T1

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2074 DeVries Ave. 

    Winnipeg, MB R2G 3T1

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nott AutoCorp Ltd. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.