BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Car World Inc.

Phone: (204) 786-3800Fax: (204) 953-3055690 Nairn Ave., WinnipegMB R2L 0X7 Send email to Car World Inc.http://www.carworldsuperstore.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Car World Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Car World Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/14/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife and I had purchased a car from Car World. When we signed the papers, we were told that purchasing the warranty was mandatory. We were also told that in the event the car was written off, we would get money back from the warranty. They said the refund would be prorated from the date the car was written off. Less than 3 months later my wife was in an accident and the car was a total loss. I have been in contact with car world for the past 3 months trying to get the money back that we were told we were supposed to get. After many phone calls and going down to car world in person, I signed a cancellation form that was sent to car world by the warranty company. The next day I was told that the cancellation of the warranty was denied. The warranty company told me I only have 10 days from the start of the warranty to cancel it. Car world claimed that they have done many refunds before and that the form stating I only have 10 days was different from what they were used to. I was told by the warranty company that the dealer keeps some of the money that we paid for the warranty and are not obligated to give any back. We feel extremely cheated by car world. We work hard to earn an honest living and don't like being taken advantage of.
Product_Or_Service: Car

Desired Settlement
Even if we get some of our money back we would be happy at this point. We paid 2400 for the warranty. If we got half of that back we would be satisfied. This has taken far too much of our time already and would just like it to be resolved once and for all. Thank you

Business Response
**** ****** purchased a car and we went over many options for financing and warranty. Warranty is NOT mandatory. Our store documentation fee's were. Warranty is not prorated. Life/health/Accident insurance are prorated. They did not want to buy any insurance because they said it was too expensive. They we also received different options for warranty. They decided on a powertrain warranty with conditions as it had the lowest price factor. And warranty companies do make exceptions sometimes, but I suspect that they noticed the price you paid on your bill of sale for the car and the amount you received from MPIC may have been a factor in you not receiving any MORE extra money.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When we were purchasing the car, we clearly asked ***** if the warranty was mandatory. He answered yes. We understand that the documentation fees were mandatory and we don't dispute this. ***** also told us at this time, that if the car was written off, we would get our money back. We were also not presented with any options for the warranty. We did not "decide" on a power train warranty, that's just what we received. We would not have spent $2400 on a warranty unless we thought it was necessary to purchase the car. After the car was written off, I contacted ***** to see about getting the warranty money back. It was at this time he told me that the "refund" would be prorated so I would be getting about $2100 back. In another conversation with *****, he told me he had done 10 of these "refunds" this year alone. After getting our settlement with MPI, we are still at a loss. We are not looking for "extra" money. We talked to another dealership to ask them about "mandatory warrantys" without mentioning the name Car World. They said there is no such thing as mandatory warranties, and that we must have been to Car World. It seems they have a reputation for doing this. We now understand that the "mandatory warranty" is to offset the lower price of the car since Car World keeps some of the warranty money. The final price of the car ends up being not such a good deal after all.


Final Business Response
We hope this will clear this matter up with the BBB. We are not even going to attempt to satisfy this customer as they are only trying to make money. We have the original Purchase Agreement which states the Balance as $13916.00 We also have a copy of the Proof of Loss from MPIC $13821.00 These folks drove a car for three months for less than $100.00 total. Sounds like a pretty good deal if you ask me. We are requesting to have this complaint removed. Thank you.

03/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have made multiple attempt to resolve our complaint over the Warranty "Guarantee" that we signed when we bought our **** **** ****** from the Portage Ave location.
We were forced into purchasing a 5 year warranty which we did not want but were told by the Finance Manager at the time that it would be refunded if not used during that time-copy of purchase agreement is attached which shows this agreement.
When we contacted Car World after the warranty expired and we did not use, the previous Finance Manager was no longer employed there. We talked to the new Finance Manager/General Manager ***** and we faxed (Nov 6/14) him the copy of the purchase agreement because he could not find their copy in their records.
In talking with ***** he indicated he has never heard of any such warranty guarantee. In follow up phone calls with ***** he indicated that we should contact the previous Finance Manager ***** (that is why he is no longer here) to see if he would give us the money back and that he would let us know where he was currently employed. We told ***** when we signed the agreement ***** was employed at Car World which is Car Worlds responsibility and we should not have to go looking for an ex employee for a Warranty Guarantee refund.

Please advise if you need more information.

Thank you,
**** and *** *****


Business Response
In regards to this complaint, it is clearly stated on the bill of sale under Warranty Description. ( if warranty removed or canceled refund Car World Superstore cost to client.)
No where does it state that if you do not use your warranty you get your money back. Also please read bottom of the page where it states ( Important with resect to this purchase, no other verbal commitments have been expressed or implied by the management or sales staff of this dealership.)
Thank you
*****
CarWorld


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
it states if unused or cancelled refund Car World Superstore cost to client. it was explained and written in the warrenty description. we would not have purchased otherwise.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** *** ** ********
My name is ***** ** *********; this letter is a formal complaint in regards to the dealership; Car World Super Store.
In late January I had been looking to purchase a vehicle from Car World Super Store. I had gone with my mother ( ******* *********) to test drive a Nissan Altima that I had seen on their web site. All had gone well, and I had like the vehicle very much. With the intent to purchase the vehicle, I had places a $300.00 hold on it (February 5 2014), on my ** visa credit card.
At the time I had been using a rental vehicle that was charging me by the day, so I had made it very clear to the dealership that I need a vehicle as soon as possible. Having this knowledge ***** (the dealership manager) had assured me that I would be in the vehicle "latest, early next week". Assuming I would at least hear from the dealership by Wednesday February 12, 2014, I had not.
I became a little impatient from not hearing back from Car World Super Store about the vehicle and where I stood with the financing company. On Thursday February 13, 2014 I decided to give the dealership a call to ask them about the financial situation with the bank. The dealership had explained to me that they had not heard from the bank yet about me receiving a loan for the vehicle. I had understood the delay, but I found it to be very poor customer service to not call me and let me know what is going on with the bank. (The bank that Car World Super Store had been dealing with was ****
Later that evening I had called the *** credit centre to apply for a car loan worth just over $16, 000.00. I'd been approved for the loan to buy the vehicle.
Out of curiosity I asked the loan advisor if loans had been applied for under my name involving the dealership. He had told me no and that applicants are only able to apply/be approved for one loan at a time. After hearing that I had made the assumption that Car World Super Store had done nothing about my loan.
On February 14, 2014 I had gone to the **** ** ********* on Regent Ave to finalize the loan and get the cheque to pay the dealership for the vehicle.
I had my meeting with Ms. ***** ******** the financial manager of the branch. I was accompanied with my mother, ******* *********. Since everything had been approved the night before, Ms. ******* had asked that the dealership fax over the bill of sale.
I called Car World Super Store and requested to speak to the manager, *****. I explained everything to ***** over the phone while still sitting with Ms. *******. ***** tried to convince me to avoid taking the loan with the bank due to the high interest rate. I had refused all of his offers because financing through Car World Super Store was taking much too long. He continued to push and attempt to convince me, but still I choose to take the loan from the bank.
He had been getting aggressive to the point where even Ms. ******* had to interrupt in the back ground to push along the conversation. After I gave my final answer to *****, he asked me to come down and talk it over with him in person. We agreed that if I still wanted to take the loan through the bank, he would give me the bill of sale and I could go back to the bank and pick up the cheque.
My mom and I asked Ms. ******* to give us a few minutes to go and pick up the **** of sale from *****.
We went to Car World Super Store and I was directed to *****'s office. We requested of him the bill of sale, because we had Ms. ******* waiting on us. We had thought that ***** would just give us our request, but instead his behaviour changed and he was quite upset with me and my mother. He started raising his voice saying he can get me a better interest rate. I told him I was not interested, and that I only wanted the car and I wanted to use the bank. I could not understand the reason for his actions and behaviour. I kept insisting I just want the bill of sale so I could go back to the bank for the cheque so that I may be able to pay for the vehicle. At this point he flat out said "I am not selling you the car and as a matter of fact you can deal with the owner if you want the bill of sale." At this point I was lost and he was not making any sense. My mother even asked ***** "You mean, if I wanted to buy a car from you and had cash you wouldn't take it?" ***** said "No!" Being very disappointed and stressed it seemed that I will have to go along with him since I was desperately in need of the car.
I work two jobs far from home. It had been Friday February 14 and I only had the rental car until February 15. He convinced me to get an extension on the rental vehicle until the following Wednesday.
I told ***** that I will go along with him and he said for sure by the following Tuesday he will have the car financed for me. I told him I was disappointed because this means I will have to pay at least another $100.00 on the rental car when that money could actually go to the car I wish to purchase and I had been charged so much money already.
I called him Tuesday and asked ***** if I was approved to come and pick up the car. He had told me that I was declined and how I need to go with the loan from the bank. He continued to say that I can reapply a few months later of me owning the car with Car World Super Store financing for a lower interest rate. He told me that he would fax Ms. ******* the bill of sale right away so we could get the paper work moving along, which until this very day he never did. After that phone call I'd been so frustrated, stressed and upset from all the back and forth that the dealership had put me through, I stopped contact with them.
Due to transportation issues and m work schedule I wasn't able to go back to pick up my holding funds until 2 weeks later. When I went to Car World Super Store for the first time to pick up my deposit, ***** had told me that in order to get my money back it had to be done by the accountant. But the accountant was apparently not in at those hours. Even though it had been touching noon on a week day, the receipt reads "deposits refunded MON-FRI 9:00 am -5:00 pm though the accounting office". I had visited twice more on weekdays at the same time and was told the same thing.
On February 25, 2014 I had gone with my mother to get my deposit back. ***** called me into his office after about a 5 minute wait. My mother came along in the office with me. He said that he had some bad news for us and asked me to show him the receipt for the deposit. He pointed out on the top of the receipt the the deposits do not have to be refunded unless you are declined, at this part I mentioned to him that he told me over the phone that I was declined. After I pointed that out to him, he said that the owner of the dealership did not want to give me back my money, because m deposit was held for too long. At this point m mother intervened and said to ***** "how long did it take you to come up with this?" **************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

The dealership Car World superstore is refusing to give me back my deposit after I had been declined through their bank for a loan.
Product_Or_Service: Deposit

Desired Settlement
Refund
$300

Business Response
In Regards to the case involving ***** *********. Car World will make one offer and only one offer to resolve this matter. We will require a letter of apology that states that this claim is false and should be removed. I have proof that ***** ********* has made false statements and will be willing to take this matter to court on principle alone as $300.00 is not the issue here. The only reason for this offer is we do not wish to waste any more time with this matter. If she is willing to do this I can have a cheque ready for her right away and we can resolve this matter.
Thank you
*****


Consumer Response
**************************************
August 6, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam:
Good Day!
Re: Case file #XXXXX, ***** ********* vs. Car World Superstore.

I, ***** ********* reassure you that my claim is not false. All I wanted was to purchase a car, I hoped to get a bank loan on my own then make the purchase. I was successful in getting the loan. When I tried to purchase the car CWSS (*****) was not pleased at all. I could not understand why. I had the funds to make the purchase.

He spoke against the bank loan, and gave me all the reasons why CWSS should handle the financing. I insisted I use the bank loan, and so he refused to sell me the car.

All I want is for CWSS to pay me back the $300 three hundred dollars they took on my credit card to hold the car, that he ended up not selling me..

I already stated the incident in my original claim letter, and do not want to repeat again this letter. Thanks!

***** *********

*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1991Business started: 03/01/1979
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2007, MB

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Melvin Scobey (President)Mr. Jason Dahle (Manager)Mr. Bill Sibley
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
USED CAR BUYING
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 690 Nairn Ave. 

    Winnipeg, MB R2L 0X7(204) 786-3800
    Fax: (204) 953-3055

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Car World Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

USED CAR BUYING
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in the BBB files, it appears that the company is no longer in business. The phone numbers the BBB had for this company are disconnected, and directory assistance does not have a listing for this company. The BBB's mail to this company has been returned as undeliverable. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.