BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2000

BBB has determined that All Star Collision & Glass Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised All Star Collision & Glass Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on All Star Collision & Glass Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They painted my truck 6 months ago and showing rust through the paint. Paint workmanship should last more than 6 months.
It's only been 6 months since I got my truck painted from All Star Collision. Now it is rusting and bubbling and they deny any responsibility. I told them, they didn't cleaned it and prepped properly. They gave me a cop out excuse saying it's rusting from the inside out underneath the metal. I told them if they had done it properly grinding and clean it down to bare metal and seal it properly, there wouldn't been any issue. They said they did, but I know they didn't. If they did there is no evident of body fillers there and the metal at the edge the metal still has the same oem gage thickness and there is still lots of thickness. They said they grind to as much as they could, I don't believe it and there wasn't any evidence grinding was done. I know a bit about painting and auto body prepping. To have your vehicle repainted only to have it rusted after 6 months is absurd.. Also All Star Collision said, if I wanted it fixed, it would cost me an additional $1000 and said that was giving me deal. I have been told they have had same complaint, but they agree to paint this other person car without hassle and gave her a rental as well. I guess my issues is bigger, they just don't want to eat up the cost ***************************************** There are other things they missed I haven't mentioned.

Desired Settlement
Simply put just want them to own up to it and make the corrections by refinishing it properly either by grinding or sandblasting and refinished after that..

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Dave Mack (OWNER/OPERATER
Contact Phone: 204 772 1100
Contact Email: dmack@allstarcollision.ca
The customer brought his 05 Armada to us to repair a mpic claim (vandalism). He omitted in saying in his complaint that there was bad rust in the same areas (rt and lt quarter panel openings) when he first came to us. At that time he asked if we would just clean it up for no charge and I said "NO " because it would come back. He insisted that if we clean it up the best we can at no charge he was good with that. The customer did not pay any additional money for any of the extra things he wanted done. The claim was completely covered by MPIC and he never paid anything for the repairs. I am sorry that it came back - but he was warned and told that there is no warranty on rust. Our written warranty states that it covers our workmanship and materials as per high I-car standards. However exceptions include (rust repairs - unless new parts are installed) This warranty is in our office and on our web site. The vehicle looked great when the customer picked it up which shows the rust was cleaned up as per his request. Also on the statement of ******************** - my reply is this - I have been in the trade for 44 years and have repaired a lot of rust and the tech who worked on this repair is a red seal and very dependable who said that metal needed to be welded in because it was that bad. But the customer did not want to pay for a better repair and we did as instructed. Now that the rust has come back he wants us to be responsible for his call. If he has any background in rust repairs he knows this to be true. Please do not blame us for doing what you asked for. The only way to stop the rust is to rebuild the quarter wheel openings or replace the quarter panels completely. The $1000.00 quote is to rebuild openings with metal - but that does not mean that the rust may not come back beside the patch. However this is a third of the cost to do this.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is false, he couldn't remember the work that was done when I approach him about this issue and now he remembers it in detail all of a sudden? I think not. First off it doesn't matter who writes the cheque.. The claim is and was mine to hire whoever I wish, regardless if it was a MPI claim. I AM the customer. I AM the one who hired them. Maybe this is one of their issue not recognizing that, not recognizing me as a customer..I originally approached them and the owner. We went out to have a look. I told him there was areas needed attention and I needed fixed. I had asked him and emphasized how important it was to get it fix and if he could fix it properly as part of the claim. He said no, I then said then I'll shop else where for some other shop that will and I know they will. He then quickly said he could, if it doesn't involves major work like placing new metal and I said I understood that's jut common sense. So I said, clean it up best you can and go from there. Meaning that when they are in the process of cleaning it, if it requires more work to have done, I would be notified giving me the opportunity to decide the correct action. I didn't get any calls or anything. I had stress very strongly that I wanted that fixed. I would had never agreed to them doing a ************* just to have rust in 6 months.. He never once told me that it would come back. He didn't say that, because he just wanted to satisfied my concern at that moment so he can get my claim, a large claim in fact. As for the $1000 being 1/3 of not including the refinishing which was offered. They said that it was just for welding time and not refinishing time and so I was getting a good deal. Laughable, I am a business person too. *********************************d *****. Funny, how I was able to find a shop who was able to do it for $600+/- including refinishing. I have dealt with many other body shops and I have friends who has been in the business for years. In the past and never have this much issue, if there was and issue the shop would fix it. Unlike here.. Also I haven't even mention some other thing they've missed. I know I may not get this resolved from them, but at least people would know the kind of issues they will find at this shop. If don't get it resolve from them, I will continue let people know as my work I deal with the public on a regular basis.

Final Business Response
This will be my final response: ******************************************* and so I will deal with the facts.
-I do remember when the customer came in and I double checked the repair file to make sure. I have our manager as a witness and just for the record all customers are told the same the same thing about rust.
-The customer has admitted that he wanted us to clean up the rust the best we could at no cost, which we did. He did not want to spend any money.
It would have been in everyones best interest to call him back with an estimate of 24 hrs body work to weld the rt/lt wheel openings and inners which works out to &1800.00 plus tax (no paint because it was covered with the claim) The customer stated that if he was contacted he would have had the repairs done? "REALLY"
-As for me begging to do the job: He already stated that I was not interested in doing the job because of the rust. Also it should be noted that we are a very busy shop with a lot of backlog and I did and it would not have hurt my feelings if he took the job some where else.
-He claims he has a lot of friends in the business and has had work done at many places and it sounds like there have been problems which he claims were rectified. IF THIS IS THE CASE WHY DID HE NOT GO BACK TO HIS MANY FRIENDS AND HAVE THEM DO THE JOB?
-If someone is willing to weld the rt/lt rear wheel openings and inners and paint for $600.00 then that is unbelievable and he should get it done quick before they change their mind.
-Therefore: If he feels that he needs to make more of an issue then so be it. We did what the customer wanted.

02/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A while back i took a car i got from the *** auction to All Star Collision & Glass just asking them to fix the framework that initially wrote it off. They fixed it for me at the tune of $1841.41. After they fixed it i inquired how much more they would charge me to finish it if i bought all the parts and he quoted me $2875.78 and after taxes coming to $3249.63 then he said "ill even do it for $3000 including taxes since i already did your framework". He gave me 2 pages of things i didn't want him to do and at the end quoting the big jobs of painting the inner hood, putting on the front bumper cover, the right front fender, installing a mirror and blending the paint and a clean coat. I told him I would think about it but he made very clear it was just putting in the remaining parts which i had bought from **** *** auto body being told that was all i needed to finish fixing it and it wouldn't cover if something else were to come up. When we finished talking about them possibly finishing it i went outside and looked at my car. i noticed a new dent on the drivers door, it looked as though it had been open while some driver backed into something and didn't think it was noticeable but i saw it and complained, properly **** came out with a hammer and whacked it back in, there's still a mark but its much less noticeable and he made sure as walked back into his office to yell out "it wasn't us that did it" and that's the last time i spoke to him, and that is only my first complaint. After having it towed out to ********** I drove it around a bit and sure enough a new surprise the check engine light came on. i scanned it and it came up as PO456 after looking it up its a "evaporative emission system- small leak. i was stunned that i had paid so much for such horrible service. But it seemed he already expected me to pay $3000 more to then have me only see him again to finish the check engine light.
Product_Or_Service: car framework repair

Desired Settlement
If possible I would like him to fix the check engine light but only under my supervision I don't trust this company at all. If he wont allow me to supervise it I'd think it be right that he should reimburse me to take it elsewhere to resolve the check engine light that he turned on. I don't have a fax but i still have the copy of the bill I paid for and the quote to finish my car.**********************************************************************************************************

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *************************
I just received the complaint by Mr. **** made to BBB. We do not have his file in our possession at the moment (accountant has it at her office and is on holidays till the new year). I request that I be given time to retrieve the file and review it in the new year. Thankyou

Consumer Response
in **** ***** reply he spent half of his message pretty much telling me he doesnt want to do my integrity, after he did the work that will qualify if it would pass or not. if you read my statement in my whole message i didnt even use the word "integrity" once or ask anything about it i simply asked that he fix the mistakes that came up after he finished the original job i paid him to do which was regarding the frame repair. i asked for him to fix the check engine light that he set off. Yes he caused a dent in the drivers door and fixed it however when i left my car for him to repair i left most of the parts that were needed for the car to be repaired within the car(still packaged as i had received it). When i saw him he assured me that he didnt go through any of them. While inside my car i had the front bumper,fender(passenger side), rocker moulding(passenger side), mirror(passenger side), and door handle(pasenger side). When i asked him for the quote to put the parts in if i supplied them he made me seem dumb for not having the tire liner(passenger side), and questioned if i knew what i was doing, and also mentioned that the rocker moulding on the drivers side was also missing on the car itself. I called autopac to ask if it was likely for them to remove both rocker mouldings and they had told me that they would only remove parts that seemed to have damage and would only take it off if they saw it was damaged or might be hiding damage, and reassured me that it would make no sense for them to take off the rocker moulding on the drivers side of a new 2011 Nissan Versa that was merely hit on the passengers side. Oddly enough i found just the bolts that were needed for the rocker moulding in the drivers cup tray, only enough for the one rocker moulding I might add. i also noticed he had opened the front fender out of the cardboard it was originally in and left the box in my car too. After that point i was very delicate every time i had to move it, when it came time to install it my mechanic noticed a dent on it and showed me where it was.

thank you for your time BBB and i apologize for my tardiness,
***** ****


Final Business Response
Mr **** originally brought his 2011 Versa to us for a body integrity inspection. The frame repair was only a small part of the process. We have 4 pictures of all 4 sides of the vehicle when it first arrived. We also have video of the car while it was here. The pictures show the damage and parts missing when it first arrived. The 4 pictures were supposed to be supplied by the customer when the inspection started. As far as the aftermarket sheet metal parts are concerned, it should be noted that over 50% of the time they have freight damage and need to be warrantied. It should also be noted that they rarely fit as good as oem parts and need to be modified and fitted. If Mr. ****'s mechanic would like to explain to me how its our fault that the trouble code is on, I would like to here what they have to say.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When i first came to see **** i only asked for him to do the frame repair as that was all in the original bill, and that was all i wanted from him,he told me a bit about integrity and what was involved but he told me he would do just the framework and only after he did the framework i inquired about him possibly doing more, i said ill think about it, Mr. **** please read this the rocker moulding went missing under your care, and oddly enough the bolts were in the cupholder for it(your right shopping for parts is annoying and bolts are the worst!). My mechanic said it was likely taken off to grip it for the framework. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Service - Window Tinting, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Glass - Plate and Window, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Detailing, Auto Customizing, Auto Paintless Dent Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/2000Business started: 09/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Tara Spelmer-Mack (Director)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Service - Window Tinting, Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops, Glass - Plate and Window, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Detailing, Auto Customizing, Auto Paintless Dent Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All Star Collision & Glass Ltd.

828 Sargent Avenue

Winnipeg, MB R3E 0C2

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1086-C St. Mary's Road 

    Winnipeg, MB R2M 4K4

  • 828 Sargent Avenue 

    Winnipeg, MB R3E 0C2Fax: (204) 772-7997

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Manitoba & Northwest Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All Star Collision & Glass Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (204) 255-1900

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (204) 255-8400
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.