BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Bennett & Bloom Eye Centers

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 895-0040 1935 Bluegrass Avenue #200, Louisville, KY 40215 http://www.eyecenters.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bennett & Bloom Eye Centers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bennett & Bloom Eye Centers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bennett & Bloom Eye Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 08, 1995 Business started: 03/01/1992 in KY Business incorporated: 03/01/1992 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Optometric Examiners
163 W. Short Street # 550, Lexington KY 40507
http://www.optometry.ky.gov
Phone Number: (859) 246-2744

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Donald W. Bennett, Partner Dr. Steven Bloom M.D., Partner Dr. Inder Singal, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Donald W. Bennett, Partner
Principal: Dr. Steven Bloom M.D., Partner
Principal: Dr. Inder Singal, Partner
Business Category

PHYSICIANS & SURGEONS-OPHTHALMOLOGY PHYSICIANS-SPECIALISTS OPTOMETRISTS-O.D.

Industry Tips
Competency Licensing for Businesses and Professional Firms

Additional Locations

  • 1935 Bluegrass Avenue #200

    Louisville, KY 40215

  • 4010 Dupont Cirlce #380

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 895-0040

  • 55 Quartermaster Court

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 284-0077

  • Bluegrass Medical Office Building  1700 Bluegrass Avenue #200

    Louisville, KY 40215 (502) 895-0040 (502) 364-0033

  • Brooke Side Office Center  800 Cardinal Drive #102

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 769-0099

  • Carroll County Hospital  309 Eleventh Street

    Carrollton, KY 41008 (502) 732-0066

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had eye surgery on 4/28 & 5/11/2011. I had to pay up front due to having a $3,000.00 dedutbile. After what I paid & what my insurance paid they now owe me $616.85. I have made multiple calls & sent several letters but cannot get any results. I have copies of all payments made by myself & all of my eob's.

Business Response: ******** ***** did have surgery on the dates stated on her complaint however she elected a "premium lens" that is not covered by her insurance and is an additional charge above and beyond her insurance deductible and any co payment amount owed.  With those additional charges which she did in fact pay (in addition to her insurance deductible) her account does not have a credit so there is no refund due Ms M****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8790852, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** *****


 

They billed my insurance for  the entire amount of the surgery including the lenses as far as I am aware.  According to my eob's that show what was under my deductible & what was not covered I have overpaid. They indicate in their response that I also owed for co-pays. The type of policy I have has no co-pays.  They say the lenses were not  covered. They have refunded $550.00 for one of the lens that was covered. I can send copies of all my eob's if necessary that will show what was billed, what was  covered, what was not & how much I owed.  Once again based on what I paid & what my insurance paid they have been overpaid.

Business Response: I have talked to Mrs ***** and explained that a portion of the surgery was not covered by her insurance and was never billed to her insurance.  This was the premium lens she selected and signed a form that stated she understood this was a non covered service.  We have agreed to bill her insurance for that portion of the services to make a final determination that the servies will or will not be covered by her insurance. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8790852, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** *****


 

At this point the charge has not been billed to my insurance. They did bill a $556.00 charge which has been denied as the procedure code was missing or was invalid.

The form that I signed stated I would pay any charges not paid by my insurance.  I do not have a problem at all with that. Until the charges they say I owe  has been billed & denied by my insurance I do not feel I am responsible.

 

 

Business Response: We are still attempting to get an EOB from ****** that will satisfy the patient.  Since the service she elected to received and signed the paperwork stating she understood she was to pay for this uncovered service is not a service that insurance pays for, there is not a normal billing code to bill it easily so the process with ****** is more difficult.  We have contacted our ****** representative for their assistance.  The service she elected to receive is a premium service and across the country is not a service that insurance pays for so this is not something unique that our practice has the patient pay.  Here is a link to a practices web site in West Virginia talking about the service she elected to have done  ************************************************************* Please note the last comment on the bottom of the page stating the premium lens and service is not a covered service.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8790852, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** ***** 


 

I will pay for anything that is not covered by my health insurance. The problem is that they still have not billed my insurance for the charges they state are not covered. It is not their decision to decide what it or is not covered.  They say I owe $695.00 for both 4/28/2011 & 5/11/2011. This amount has not been billked to my insurance company.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had surgery by Dr ****** on June 2, 2011 the day befor his office called me for my copay and $424.32 was charged to my ******** ******* card. On 7/22/2011 ****** sent my EOB Bennett & ***** copay should have been $253.98. I did not notice this discrepancy until 10/26/2011 and notified Bennett & ***** immediately. I was told I had a zero balance and was overcharged $170.34 and to give them 1 month and they would straighten it out. I never heard from them or received a check. On 12/22/11 I called their office and was told I had to talk to **** , they put me through to her voicemail and I left a message for her to call me. On 12/27/2011 I had not heard from her and called again, same story about ****, called again on 12/29/2011 **** never called. On 1/7/12 I called and ask to speak to Dr ***** I was ask the nature of the call, I explained this problem and that **** had never called me, they put me through to ****. She verified I was owed $170.34 and she would cut the check right then. Today is 1/11/2012 and I have not received a check, I called this morning and left a message for **** she has not called back. I am tried of getting the run around from these people and am ready to take action.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money

Business Response: Mr. ***** ****** was issed a refund of $170.34 March 2012.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8877460, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. The check was received and has been cashed. Thank you for your help, I was geting no where with this office.

Regards,

***** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.