BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Park Community Credit Union, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Park Community Credit Union, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 968-3681 Fax: (502) 964-6704 View Additional Phone Numbers 6101 Fern Valley Road, Louisville, KY 40228 http://www.parkcommunity.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Park Community Credit Union, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Park Community Credit Union, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Park Community Credit Union, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 25, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Spradlin, President/CEO Ms. Sandra Tallarico, Senior Vice President of Branch Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Spradlin, President/CEO
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS


Additional Locations

  • 1010 Veterans Parkway

    Clarksville, IN 47129

  • 134 Dr Arla Way  Hillview Branch

    Louisville, KY 40229 (502) 968-3681

  • 2221 Goldsmith Lane

    Louisville, KY 40218

  • 250 N. Hurstbourne Parkway  The Forum

    Louisville, KY 40222

  • 2501 Blankenbaker

    Louisville, KY 40299

  • 2864 Charlestown Road  in-store @ Kroger

    New Albany, IN 47150

  • 515 West Market Street, Suite 100  

    Louisville, KY 40202

  • 6101 Fern Valley Road

    Louisville, KY 40228 (800) 626-2870 (502) 968-3681

  • 7521 Dixie Highway

    Louisville, KY 40258

  • P O Box 18630

    Louisville, KY 40261

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 626-2870(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to a dealer to purchase an RV 1/20** i applied and was accepted over the phone by park for a loan that was suppose to come out automatically once a month. They said to make the first payment until auto billing and direct deposits were activated . I made first payment , auto deductions were coming out of my check. The next month they took the payment out of my account i assumed everything was properly done. I logged onto my account preparing tax info and find i have been charged 5 late fees starting April ****, and one returned mail fee in June ****. I lived there so i have no idea why that happened. When calling to try to get this resolved i have had poor customer service, having to explain several times to several people over and over and then told to speak to a manager which still hasn't called me. No reimbursement of late fees. Instead they send an automatic deduction form for me to sign again and refunded the returned mail fee. The money for this loan is there every month and i am having to use valuable time to resolve something that you think they would be trying to resolve. You would think they would look at the history of the account and say the loan started 1/**, the money for all payments has been there the whole time, we started charging late fees in April ****, what happened to make the payments stop coming out automatically, let's refund these fees asap and fix whatever went wrong. We should apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and assure this member we are looking into this and will resolve. They scramble to get loans and business but don't apply effort after you get the loan. Instead it seems it's more about quantity to Park opposed to quality, i can assure them people look and respond to quality then quantity comes.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund all 5 late fees plus interest, and inform all Credit Bureaus of this error on their part. I want the documentation proving they notified the Credit Bureaus and the Credit Bureaus response of corrections applied.

Business Response:

Response:

Mr. ****** obtained this loan through the dealership. We did not receive any information from the dealership telling us to set him up in this way. We manually transferred his payments once the system told us he was late and we should have recognized that Mr. ****** had funds available in his account each time the transfer was made. The correct way to handle this issue would have been to contact Mr. ****** to ask if he would like us to set him up for automatic payment. We refunded one late fee on May 8, **** and have since refunded him $53.43 making a total of late fees and interest offset of $65.21. We will be in contact with Mr. ****** to personally apologize and to be sure he is aware of the fees that have been refunded.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Park said they refunded my fees, when really they applied that money toward my loan.I don't want to pay extra on my loan i want the cash in my account where it was. Furthermore, they charged 5 late fees at 11.78 each and charged my account a 10 dollar return mail fee which totals 68.90 without interest, they have since deleted that in on online banking yet my balance is the same as before.Why delete errors why not show them corrected? I further bring the fact that they offered no response to clearing up the matter with the credit bureau agencies in providing me documentation from the agency stating it has been removed. I work hard to keep my credit in good standing and don't feel i should have late payments showing from a loan i was paying (auto deduction weekly from my paycheck) that sat in an account and wasn't being transferred over as needed.]

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

 

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

*

Complaint ID#:

*******

Company Name: **** ********* ****** ***** ******* ******** ***** *****

**** ********* ****** *****

Company Contact:

***** *****

Company Phone:

 

Company Email:

 

Person Who Sent the Complaint:

******* ****** ***** ******* **** ************** ***** ******* **** **************

Staff Member:

**** ********

Response:

The late fees that Mr. ****** refers to were not taken out of his account separately. They were taken out of his payment of $235.63 which meant that he paid less in principle each time the payment was made. When we gave the late fees back, they went directly to the principle which is where they should have gone in the first place. In response to the $10.00 bad address fee, we have refunded that back to Mr. ****** but do want him to know that this information was provided to us by the post office. Mr. ******** last concern is about clearing up the matter with the credit bureau. We never reported Mr. ****** late to the bureau and will send him a copy of a Transunion Account Reporting Review Report to his home address which will show no activity from Park Community Credit Union. We regret that this has not been a good experience for Mr. ****** and will work with him in any way we can to clear up this matter.

**** *** ******** ******** **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I recieved a letter from park saying they would attach a letter from the credit bureau agency saying my account was not reported late and there was no such attachment. If they would send this attachment i would like to view it. Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

 

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THEY KEEP GIVING ME OVERDRAFT FEES WHEN I MADE A DEPOSIT. BECAUSE THE GOVERNMENT CHECK THAT I DEPOSITED WAS MADE ELSEWHERE, TO THEM THE FUNDS WERE NOT THERE. I RECEIVED A RECIEPT AFTER ANOTHER DEPOSIT AND IT SAID " CURRENT BALANCE", SO I THOUGHT I HAD MONEY. THEY SAID THE CURRENT BALANCE AND AVALIBLE BALANCE IS TWO DIFFERENT THINGS. WITH ME DEPOSITING MONIES, THEY TOLD ME I WAS STILL IN THE NEGATIVE. THEY REFUNDED ME 11OVERDRAFT CHARGES ON 04/07/14 2 DAYS LATER I AM STILL IN THE NEGATIVE AND HAD NOT USED MY CARD UNTIL 04/09/14. I LOOKED ONLINE AT MY ACCOUNT AND WAS STILL IN THE NEGATIVE FROM 04/07/14-04/08/14. THE CHARGES (6) FROM THOSE DAYS IS WHAT I AM SEEKING TO GET REFUNDED ON AND THEY WONT HONOR IT.

Desired Settlement: TO REFUND ME THOSE 6 OVERDRAFT FEES, I WAS DECIEVED IN THINKING THAT WHEN I MADE THE DEPOSIT ON 04/07/14 THAT I WAS CLEARED. AND CLOSE MY ACCOUNT WITH THEM. AND ANY FURTHER FEES AFTER 04/09/04

Business Response:

 

Response:

The check our member deposited was made through an ATM at another financial institution. I cannot address whether that ATM had a disclosure stating funds are not always made readily available; however our member was provided with a Truth in Savings disclosure when she opened her account last month. In that disclosure, it states, "Funds from any deposit (cash or check) made at an automated teller machine (ATM) which is not owned or operated by us will not be available until the second business day after the day of your deposit". While she had not used her card during the period of April 7- 9, the account still went into a negative balance from where it had been overauthorized. This happened because the member elected to have Courtesy Overdraft Protection on her account to cover items when funds are not actually available. Although this was not a credit union error, we did refund 11 of the 17 fees the member incurred. We do not feel any further action is needed on our part. Respectfully, ***** ***** Regional Manager of Retail Operations

Sent on: 4/18/2014 1:32:52 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i was charged 6 over draft fees totaling $174... for 1 over draft and wasnt refunded any..

Desired Settlement: change the policy or possibly the computer system, and refund 5 of the 6 fees

Business Response:

January 6, 2014

 

Better Business Bureau

Conciliation Department

844 South Fourth Street

Louisville, KY  40203

RE:  Complaint ID #*******

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to the complaint filed with your office by our member, ******* ********. 

Mr. ******** is upset regarding non-sufficient funds and has requested that the Credit Union refund the NSF fees to him.

A representative of the Credit Union spoke to Mr. ******** about this situation on December 27, 2013 and explained that the fees would not be refunded. This decision was based on the fact that we have explained to Mr. ******** on numerous occasions the way debit card holds work and have refunded NSF fees to him three different times previously.

When a member swipes his/her debit card and the transaction is approved, that authorization from the Credit Union to the merchant guarantees that the funds are available. The Credit Union then holds those funds, waiting for the merchant to send in the actual transaction for payment. Once the transaction is presented, the Credit Union pays it. The Credit Union has no control over when the transactions will clear and therefore holds the dollar amount of the swipes that the member has made.

In this case, it is important to note that the NSFs occurred because there was not enough money in the member’s account to cover his charges. While Park Community strives to work with members at each opportunity, we believe we have been very fair to Mr. ******** in the past and regret that he chose to close his account.

Should you have questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to call me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Senior Vice President

Retail Operations

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Used my Park Community Credit Union MasterCard debit card to pay cell phone bill electronically. The transaction was unsuccessful. The cell phone carrier says transaction did not go thru Park Federal says it did. After numerous attempts to resolve with Park Federals accounting department they could not provide any proof the transaction was successful and were unwilling to directly work with the cell phone carrier to resolve the issue. The $$$ from my account went up in a electronic puff of smoke never to be seen again!

Desired Settlement: Find where my $$$ went and put them back in my account

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Park Community Federal Credit Union
Company Contact: ******* ********
Company Phone: 502*********
Company Email: **********************************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ******* ** ******
Staff Member:

Response:

Mr. ******* was contacted and a dispute was filed on his behalf. The disputed transasction was deposited into his account on August 8, 2013. At this time, no further action is required by Mr. *******.

Sent on: 8/19/2013 3:59:18 PM

10/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 14, 2012, I went into the blankenbaker branch and waited for someone to help me regarding my auto loan. I went into her office and explained that I did not have the money in my account for the auto-draft for my vehicle loan and wanted to avoid overdrawing. The Park representative, whose name I unfortunately did not write down, was very understanding and helpful. She re-configured the schedule for my auto-draft to begin again 9/1 (changing from every other Friday to every other Saturday, starting on my next payday), effectively skipping the payment that was scheduled debit on August 18. Today, I noticed that 2 debits occurred in the amount of $80.00 (one on 8/31 and one on 9/1). I called and ultimately spoke with ******* *********. She initially advised that I would have to find the exact person I spoke with, and I responded that this recourse was not indicative of representative, but that if any corrective action needed to be taken regarding that park employee, I would appreciate it. She researched and called me back to advise that she had credited $80 back into my checking, but that a payment was still due Sept 1st. She also advised me my auto-pay had been shut off and I would need to make my payment via another method. (this, she described as "bending over backwards") I need my $80. Today is Sept 4th. Quite simply, (neg$80 + $80) - $80 = neg80, so I'm still out the eighty dollars, and now I'm accruing interest on the loan on top of that. I was just bragging to a co-worker Friday about how good my experiences have been with park, especially in comparison to other banking institutions. This was far from indicative of my previous experiences.

Desired Settlement: I should not have a payment due on Sept 1, as I had a payment 8/31 debited (should have only had the 9/1 debit). As agreed upon during my visit on 8/14, my recurring draft should pick back up on 9/15/2012 (one draft of $80, and then again on 9/29, etc). I also recommend *******, and the agent whom transferred me to her, *****, should receive customer service training, as they are clearly only accustomed to dealing with customers in a "collections" setting. Likewise, ******* should be corrected that a customer should not be advised to seek out an individual employee of the company - in the customer's eyes there is just one company and any employee of that company is representing the company when customer-facing.

Business Response: I have received your letter of complaint sent via the Better Business Bureau. I would like to work with you te further explain the incident you reported.
In your letter you indicate that adjustments were made to your payment schedule on August 14. Unfortunately, there are no records of this adjustment in our system. However, on September 4 you were able to go to the branch to sign a modification form to advance the due date of your loan.

As you indicate in your letter, the loan was originally due for August 18. Funds were not available in the checking account to transfer for that payment until August 31 when at transfer occurred. The loan was then due for the next regular payment on September 1, t and another transfer occurred on that date.

You ultimately spoke with our Celiections Manager about these back-to-back transfers. She agreed to reverse the September 1 payment as a courtesy and transferred the funds back to your checking account.

When you signed the modification form on September 4 you also reestablished the automatic transfer of the payment. This transfer will continue to be made bi-weekly until the loan is paid in full.
Your loan is now set with the correct due date and the payments are set to transfer electronically from your checking account. If you have any additional questions please do not hesitate to cali us.

Sincerely,


*** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9201028, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the business is accurate.  However, the actions referenced on September 4th were taken on my own, and not per the advice their Collections Manager.  This Collections Manager was not helpful, and the reversal of the September 1 payment was utterly redundant, as it still left me with the same amount owed and on the September 1 due date, so not only was it redundant, it caused me to be late for the first time on this loan and presumably to accrue more interest - again, quite simply, if you refund me monies, only to turn around and say "now give it back to us because it's now late" I don't see how this is helpful or "bending over backwards" as the Collections Manager stated.  I respectfully request that Mr. *** ***** re-evaluate these circurmstances, especially with regard to his companies standards for customer service and the actions this Collections Manager took.  Furthermore, just because an associate was negligent in noting records with regard to my August 14 adjustment (which, by the way is exactly what I did again on September 4), doesn't mean it did not happen and there there was no error on Park's end.  Respectfully, I request that this situation be further investigated (if nothing else, I'm sure you have video of me in the bank that day, and the transaction that day, which is on record, will provide a time of day - this will at least provide you an associate to speak with on this matter)

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

Business Response:

I have received your follow-up letter sent via the Better Business Bureau. I would like to assure you that your loan is setup correctly. After your visit to the branch on September 4, 2012, the automatic transfer was reĀ­estab1ished and the due date advanced. Since that date, two payments have transferred from your checking account and the loan is current.

I apologize that this process required on your part. We want to do things correctly the first time so that you, our member, are not inconvenienced.

This situation has been discussed with all parties involved and we expect that your future transactions with Park Community are handled correctly and that we meet your expectations for member service.

If you ever have any questions or concerns, please feel free to call me. We appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

*** *****

Park Community FCU


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I do consider it odd that I'm told "feel free to call me" but not provided a direct phone number.  However, this response is satisfactory and trust that the appropriate corrective actions have been taken with regard to the person I dealt with.

Regards,

***** ***

 

 

3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was refused Shared Branching service at this location. Attempted to deposit a check into my ***** Employee *** account via Park Community ***** Shared Branching agreement, but was refused because I do not have a Kentucky drivers license. As an Officer in the US Army, my home of record is in another state and I am currently stationed at a military post in Kentucky. I have documentation of military orders, current address, and ID card, none of which were accepted by this credit union.

Desired Settlement: I am wondering if this violates a federal discrimination policy. I would like this branch to change its policy and allow me the same access to Shared Branching as is afforded other patrons.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Company Name: Park Community FCU
Company Contact: ******* *****
Company Phone: ************
Company Email: *******************************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ******* ******
Staff Member:

Response:

Mr. ******** complaint was in regards to being refused shared branch access at our ******** location. Our staff was unable to perform the transaction due to the fact that his address on his license did not match the address on his account which is a policy put in place to protect members accounts. I called and spoke with Mr. ****** and we discussed other options and the fact that there was not clear communication on our part. I apologized and made staff aware of the situation and how to correct this in the future. We greatly value our shared branch members and want them to continue to feel comfortable using our services. After speaking with him he accepted the apology and was hapy to get it cleared up.

Sent on: 3/7/2012 8:43:05 AM