Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Elements Bath and Body?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Elements Bath and Body

Phone: (502) 690-2520 View Additional Phone Numbers 4203 Evergreen Road, Crestwood, KY 40014 http://www.elementsbathandbody.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wholesale soap making and toiletry supplies

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elements Bath and Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Elements Bath and Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tammy Tivis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tammy Tivis, Owner
Business Category

WHOLESALERS & DISTRIBUTORS SOAPS & DETERGENTS PACKAGING MATERIALS PACKAGE DESIGN & DEVELOPMENT CRAFT SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4203 Evergreen Road

    Crestwood, KY 40014 (502) 690-2520

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 241-7697 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This started when I was ordering a product from this company. I had a customer service rep on the phone and they were rude and did not help me with the questions I had about the product I was ordering. I ordered the product anyway and when I received it I realized it was not the correct length. I e mailed the company and stated my problem. In addition to not offering me any assistance with my problem, they were impolite, and also stated they would not accept return of the incorrect item. At that time they did not have any notice on their site that purchases were final. I e mailed them back and forth stating that I did not agree with how they were handling the situation and that I was planing on going to a different company for my supplies. They finally agreed to give me a refund for the items if I paid to ship them back. It was not economical for me to send the items back, but this offer made me willing to eat the expense and give them another try with my business. So, I re-ordered the correct product a couple of days later. To my surprise, my order was cancelled the next business day with no notification to me. I e mailed to inquire why they had cancelled my order and I received this response: "Due to your dissatisfaction with the products & service you had received previously, it was in the best interest of both parties to cancel this order. I can only recommend purchasing the closures you need from the supplier you originally purchased the bottles. This will ensure you get a perfectly matching closure. ***** ***** www.ElementsBathandBody.com Wholesale Soap Making & Toiletry Supplies" I cannot go to the supplier that I got the bottles from because like many small business owners, I picked up the bottles in a closeout sale at a very inexpensive price. The supplier no longer exists. I needed these closures buy the end of the week and due to this company's presumptive, rude actions, I will not be able to meet a deadline. I replied and asked to speak to a manager to get better resolution and I got this response: "There is no need to discuss this matter further. Again, please feel free to contact the company from which you purchased your bottles as they should be able to provide you with the closures you need." I was shocked. I had paid them, ordered the product, and agreed with their new "no-returns" policy and they were refusing to do business with me. I feel discriminated against and have been put in a very bad situation because of their treatment of me. Then, while I was researching where this company was located I realized that the person sending me these rude, un-helpful e mails was the owner! There are no words as to how shocked I am at how unprofessional this business woman is. I will not ever do business with them again, and I will do my best to let all of my business contacts know that they should stay far, far, away from this company. I want full refund of the original transaction for all of my trouble.

Desired Settlement: I want full refund of the original transaction for all of my trouble or I am filing a lawsuit. Total $15.75

Business Response: Customer placed online orders with us on 7/20, 10/8 & 10/23. Her complaint is regarding the 10/8 order, but we do not understand why she would have placed another order 10/23, then waited until 10/29 to file a complaint for the 10/29 order?  If she was dissatisfied with our service, why did she place yet another order, but then wait to file the complaint until 10/29.  It is clear that she was unhappy that her 10/23 order was cancelled & refunded in full. Because she cannot file a dispute about a full refund on the 10/23 order, she has chosen to go back to the 10/8 order. These are the facts as we know them to be true. 
Customer called on 10/8 & spoke with customer service. She was having issues with her computer, so the representative asked if she was using Google Chrome. We've found inherent issues with Google Chrome, so the rep recommended that she use another browser. The customer was adamant that there was nothing wrong with her browser and that we contact our IT department. We do not have an IT department & could not resolve her computer issues. She asked about the spray output of the fine mist sprayer caps and the representative did not have that information at that time, so customer was not happy and hung up. 
Customer then emailed (same day 10/8) asking about the sprayer output & we were able to contact the manufacturer & respond within 3 hours with the information she requested. She then chose to place her 2nd online order with our company for 30 fine mist sprayers priced at $.35 ea (subtotal = $10.50). She chose USPS Priority for $5.25 as her shipping carrier. That was the entire order & it did not include bottles. She has never purchased bottles from us, so we have no way to know what size bottle she has or from where she purchased them. We provided excellent service as the order she placed 10/8, shipped on 10/9 & the customer received package 10/12. On 10/15, customer emailed us "Hello, I have a problem with my order. I ordered the wrong length dip tube on my sprayer. I got the 20/410 Fine Mist sprayer with the 3.125 dip tube and I need the 20/410 Fine Mist Sprayer (4.25" dip tube). Please help me rectify this situation. I was speaking with a customer service rep on the phone when I was trying to order this item and she was not helpful at all. I was argued with about the internet browser I was using, she spoke down to me, and was not able to answer pertinent questions about the product I was ordering. I finally just got off of the phone with her because I was so frustrated. Please tell me what I should do, thank you so much for your time". 
Our response to her "Thank you for your email, ******* and I'm sorry you had a negative experience when calling in.  Unfortunately, for sanitary reasons, we cannot accept the return of sprayers (closures).  These cannot be resold, so we are unable to accept them as a return.  The only thing I can recommend at this point is to purchase the containers that match this bottle as well as the 4.25" sprayers that you need.  All of our products have 'recommended products 'available at the bottom of the product page. For instance, the 3.125" sprayers recommend our 1 oz bullets."
At the time her 10/8 order was placed, the Policies she agreed to read as follows "Returns must be requested by email or phone within 5 days after your shipment has been received & the products must still be in usable/resalable condition... <snip> We cannot accept returns of closures, twist-up tubes, pipettes, botanicals, essential oils, flavor oils, fragrance oils, colorants, books, bases, carrier oils & butters, preservatives, jojoba beads, goggles, raw ingredients or clearance/discontinued items. For the safety of all customers, Elements reserves the right to change this return policy at any time & may choose to not accept any item for return."
"Closures" are sprayers & we were clear that we cannot accept the return of these items. Customer emailed "I am sorry I haven't been able to respond to this until now, I was in the hospital all week without access to e mail.  I have to be honest I am pretty surprised that this is how you are handling the situation. I had a poor experience and in addition to not helping me out with my issue, you will not even accept a return of the item.  This isn't the point, but I also did not see a notice when I ordered it that the purchase was FINAL.  I run a business and like to keep relationships with suppliers that make sense for me as a business owner.  It does not seem as though a relationship with your company makes sense if this is how you handle a customer with a problem.  I have no issue looking elsewhere for my packaging supplies if this is the case."
Our response "For sanitary reasons, we cannot accept the return of closures. If you were to return them, we would honestly have to discard them. When a customer proceeds through Checkout, they must check a box that indicates that they have read all the policies prior to completing the order. This is standard in internet businesses so that customers understand all the guidelines of shipping, office hours, returns, etc prior to completing an order.  Many of our competitors will not accept any returns & we will be changing to that policy next week to avoid situations such as this. This way, there is no confusion about what may or may not be acceptable for return.  We received a return recently that was in the home of a smoker. We were already obligated to refund for the product, so we had to discard the product & issue a full refund.  It was a waste. But, our obligation is to ensure that products shipped to a customer are clean & new & we are unable to do that when a product is returned.  I've been in this business over 15 years & understand there are many options when choosing a supplier. We wish you all the best in finding a supplier that better suits your needs."
Customer responded by telling us we should accept the return & just write it off as damaged. We are not in business to throw product away & do not wish to cause price increases to our other customers by doing such a thing.
I'm not sure why the customer is upset that we cancelled her 10/23 order when she had already advised that she would be looking elsewhere for her supplies. When she emailed asking why we had cancelled her 10/23 order, we were polite in responding that it is in the best interest of both parties to cancel the order & issue a refund. This wasn't done to cause her a hardship, but because we have no way to confirm that our closure will fit her bottle. If it does not, we do not want to again be blamed for something that is beyond our control. 
We issued a full refund for the 10/23 order & feel that this BBB complaint is unjust. If there was an issue with the 10/8 order, she should have filed the BBB complaint & not placed another order with a company she obviously does not care for.  It is unfair for this to show on our record. The customer threatened to sue us if we do not refund the $15.75, so it is unfortunate to escalate it to that degree, but the customer must do what she feels is in her best interest. I do not understand why there was a charge of "discrimination", but that is unfounded. 
The customer has misrepresented the facts & is attempting to lead BBB to believe that we sent her the wrong sprayers by stating. As per her email, she acknowledges that she ordered the wrong sprayer, "I ordered the product anyway and when I received it I realized it was not the correct length".  But, her complaint states " I ordered the product anyway and when I received it I realized it was not the correct length. ".  It is a clear misrepresentation of the facts.  She also states that she did not review our Policies, but that is required prior to completing Checkout.  customer statement "they would not accept return of the incorrect item. At that time they did not have any notice on their site that purchases were final."
Customer ordered incorrect item & our Policies (which customer agreed to prior to paying for & completing the order) clearly stated that we do not accept return of closures
" I e mailed them back and forth stating that I did not agree with how they were handling the situation and that I was planing on going to a different company for my supplies." - This is accurate & this is one of the reasons we decided to cancel & refund any future orders. This has nothing to do with any allegation of discrimination.
Our responses were quick & courteous.
These allegations have tarnished our reputation & our BBB rating. We would appreciate if BBB would remove this from our record.

Thank you,
 


***** *****www.ElementsBathandBody.com

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not mis-representing anything regarding this complaint.  It is almost as though they did not even read the original complaint.  I am aware I ordered the wrong sprayers, and I admitted that.  My problem is with how their customer service department has handled the situation.  I did state the following in the original complaint "I did not agree with how they were handling the situation and that I was planing on going to a different company for my supplies. They finally agreed to give me a refund for the items if I paid to ship them back. It was not economical for me to send the items back, but this offer made me willing to eat the expense and give them another try with my business."

This is why I decided to place another order.  As I stated in my original complaint, "I re-ordered the correct product a couple of days later. To my surprise, my order was cancelled the next business day with no notification to me. Once I noticed this at the end of the business day, I e-mailed to inquire why they had cancelled my order and I received this response: "Due to your dissatisfaction with the products & service you had received previously, it was in the best interest of both parties to cancel this order. I can only recommend purchasing the closures you need from the supplier you originally purchased the bottles. This will ensure you get a perfectly matching closure." As previous;y stated, I cannot go to the supplier that I got the bottles from because like many small business owners, I picked up the bottles in a closeout sale at a very inexpensive price. The supplier no longer exists...They would have known this if they had contacted me like they should have before taking this action.  I replied and asked to speak to a manager to get better resolution and I got this response: "There is no need to discuss this matter further. Again, please feel free to contact the company from which you purchased your bottles as they should be able to provide you with the closures you need." I was shocked. I had paid them, ordered the product, and agreed with their new "no-returns" policy and they were refusing to do business with me. I feel discriminated against because I was "black-listed" with no warning and for no reason except for the fact I was previously dissatisfied with they SERVICE.  I did not cause this company any sort of loss, they are the ones that caused me a loss.  This company has put me in a very bad situation because of their treatment of me.  I repeat, I want full refund of the original transaction for all of my trouble.


If the company was making a decision that they were going to refuse future orders from me, they should have contacted me first.  If I had known that was the case I would have never made the mistake of giving them another chance with my business.  I agree it is unfortunate that their unwillingness to properly take care of a customer (over a measly $10) had to escalated this far.  However, I DO agree that future potential customers have a right to know that this is how this company treats their customers.  Also, if they happen to have a service problem the company may black list them with no notice causing huge ramifications on their end.  


Lastly, I would like to state that I do not appreciate the tone of the company's response and their insinuations that I was lying, fighting with customer service staff about the internet problems, telling them to contact their IT department, etc...these are all lies.  The fact that they are refusing to rectify this situation and are instead trying to attack me by falsifying information just adds to the reasons this complaint of mine against them is valid and should stay on record to warn future potential clients.

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hard to choose from the above list "The Primary Nature of your Complaint" because this company has wronged me in at least 4 of the ways listed in the last 3 weeks. 1. I paid $80 for next day delivery and received my shipment 4 days later Elements refused to refund the shipping 2. Elements bath and body phone number leads to a voicemail everytime and many requests for a call back have gone un answered 3. Elements bath and body does not reply quickly to emails since their phone number is a dead end this is the only way to communicate and it is slow 4. Elements bath and body shipped me grape lip balm oil with a raspberry label on it (I had ordered raspberry) 5. The replacement that they sent was also grape with a Raspberry label and they made me pay for the replacement and shipping, lead me to believe I would be refunded but did not refund me. 6. When I pointed out that the replacement oil was also grape mislabeled as raspberry Elements bath and body told me that they had double checked and were certain it was raspberry (however I assure you it is not!) Then they did not reply to further emails seeking an additional replacement.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the below 4 items Original Raspberry Oil ordered that turned out to be grape (and has still not been successfully replaced) $18.95 from order #***** Replacement Raspberry Oil that I shouldn't have to pay for $18.95 from order #***** Shipping of replacement oil that I shouldn't have to pay for $8.52 from order#***** Next day Shipping from order #***** for $82.90 because the order arrived 4 days later Total refund of $129.32

Business Response: I will go through each item individually.  We already addressed the Next Day Air shipping back on 10/8, but we will discuss that again since you’ve chosen to file it as a formal complaint with BBB.  On Monday, October 8, 2012, we responded “Thank you for your email.  Your order was placed on Friday at 5:25 pm & it shipped today. I’m not sure why there is a problem with the shipping as it could not have shipped any sooner.  Once the package is scanned @ the UPS hub, you will be able to view package progress. Your response “It sounds like you are saying your company doesn't work Saturdays? The post office and the bank are both open (as well as every serious professional company in America) I think if you are going to offer next day shipping for a giant fee it needs to be clearly stated that you don't do business on Saturdays and what is with the phone going straight to a machine that tells me I've called during non business hours at 1:30 on a Monday? I guess I'm confused why anyone would think that paying to ship next day on a Friday would mean that your order will get to you on a Tuesday? That is more like Next next next next day.  Perhaps if you are closed from 4pm Friday until 8am Monday you shouldn't offer next day shipping at all.  I basically just paid $80 for nothing and now I have to explain to my customers (who expect me to respond on Saturdays by the way) that their order will be shipping late so besides wasting money on shipping I will probably give them a discount to make it up to them.Basically I feel ripped off because I elected to spend big bucks for fast shipping and didn't get it. Our office hours are clearly posted on our website on the “Contact Us” page http://www.elementsbathandbody.com/contact. Every major competitor in our industry is closed on Saturdays & it is not uncommon for non-retail businesses to be closed on Saturdays (every manufacturer we work with is closed on Saturdays & they are all multi-million dollar companies. Most would classify them as “serious professional companies in America”). UPS does not offer a daily pickup service for Saturdays, either. The fact of the matter is that you placed your order at 5:25 pm EST on a Friday & it would not have been possible for us to pick, pack, verify & ship the order prior to our daily UPS pickup, even if we were open at that time.  We did ship your order ASAP on Monday October 8 & it was received by you the next day.  There was no request for a Saturday delivery (which UPS charges additional for) & you had not contacted our office to ask if there would be any problems in shipping an order that was placed at 5:25 pm EST on a Friday.  It is unfair to say that your order was received “4 days later” as the order arrived late in the day on Friday & both Saturday & Sunday are not standard business days for UPS (another “serious professional company in America”). Additionally, we do not control the shipping fees that UPS charges. You elected Next Day Air service, which is the most expensive shipping option available.  Your next complaints are that we do not answer the phone & we do not respond to emails within a timely manner. We answer the phone if possible throughout the day, but, customers need to keep in mind that we are operating an internet business.  In order to keep our wholesale prices intact & competitive, there are many times throughout the day that everyone is in the warehouse working to ship orders.  We respond to emails every day of the week (including the days that we’re closed, such as this email response on Sunday October 28) & most emails are responded to within a couple of hours.  Each time that you’ve emailed, we’ve responded in less than 3 hours.   You did not ever leave a voice mail requesting a call back &, because all emails were responded to quickly, you did not request that we call you.Your email to us on 10/8/12 @ 1:29 pm was replied to same day at 2:33 pm.  (1 hour 4 minutes later)Your email to us on 10/8/12 @ 3:17 pm was replied to same day at 4:14 pm. (57 minutes later)Your email to us on 10/23/12 @ 11:45 am was replied to same day at 2:22 pm.  (2 hours 37 minutes later)Your email to us on 10/23/12 @ 2:28 pm was replied to same day at 2:38 pm (10 minutes later) Your email to us on 10/26/12 @ 2:20 pm was replied to same day at 3:20 pm (please note that we are closed on Fridays & we responded to your email in 1 hour)  Your next complaint is that we did not refund you as promised. It is unfair to make such an allegation as your refund was processed 10/23 (the same day we advised we would issue the refund) & the Paypal Unique Transaction ID is *****************.  The amount refunded was the $24.95 discussed. Please check your Paypal account as the money was deducted from our account.  Your next complaint is that we charged you for shipping of the replacement item, but this is not accurate. As mentioned above, we did issue a refund for the 8 oz bottle of Raspberry Flavor ($18.95) + $6 shipping for a total refund of $24.95.  Your next complaint “When I pointed out that the replacement oil was also grape mislabeled as raspberry Elements bath and body told me that they had double checked and were certain it was raspberry (however I assure you it is not!) Then they did not reply to further emails seeking an additional replacement.” 

We have replied quickly & courteously to all of your emails.  After your last email, your next course of action was to file a complaint with BBB 3 hours, though. Again it is unfair to say that we “did not reply to further emails seeking an additional replacement”.  We’ve done some research into the matter over the weekend & realized that we did switch suppliers & reformulate Raspberry at the end of July 2012. We have determined that you did not receive an incorrectly labeled bottle of Raspberry, but that you are noticing the difference between the Raspberry we used to carry & the new Raspberry.  You had mentioned in 1 of your emails that your older Raspberry was darker, but the lighter colored oil is our new raspberry. You mentioned you received 2 oils of the same light color, so this confirms for us that you’ve received two 8oz bottles of the new Raspberry. From what you’ve emailed & from what we verified we re-shipped to you, we are certain that you have the reformulated Raspberry in hand.  We’ve been selling this reformulated oil for over 2 months & not had any other complaints or inquiries from other customers. I’d like to mention that smelling a fragrance or flavor directly out of the bottle should never be done. We always recommend formulating with an oil to determine if it is right for you.  We thoroughly tested this oil in lip balm prior to making the switch between suppliers & found it to be a very comparable match.  I hope that you have formulated with the oil & not just smelled it out of the bottle as this will not give you a true idea of how it performs in finished product.  Unfortunately, we are unable to offer you the previous Raspberry we carried.  Although we are closed Fri-Sunday, we’ve also responded to your emails on non-working days.  We have made every effort to satisfy you, but feel that offering a refund for the newer version of Raspberry is in the best interest of both parties at this time. We have issued an additional refund of $24.95 via Paypal today. $18.95 for Raspberry oil + $5.25 shipping (this is the cost to ship that 1 item. Unique Transaction ID # *****************. There were other items on your order(s), so we cannot refund shipping for those items. 

 

We feel that your complaint is unfair & that you've misrepresented the truth. We have provided facts disputing your allegations and would appreciate if you will rescind your complaint.  We wish you the best of luck in finding a new supplier. ***** *****www.ElementsBathandBody.com

Wholesale Soap Making & Toiletry Supplies

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business Elements Bath and Body is taking no responsibility for their mistakes and unprofessionalism the worst of which (mislabeling oils for use in body products) could have lead to serious injury.  We are talking about oils that go into lip balms and then right on peoples mouths sending an oil that is mis-labeled in this instance can lead to chemical burns or allergic reactions.  I am shocked that the business Elements bath and body did not handle this quickly and professionally.  Of course I could never trust this company again with my money and more importantly my business needs a dependable supplier that we can rely on in order to give our customers the best possible service.  

Regards,

***** ****