BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Louisville Water Company

Phone: (502) 569-3600 Fax: (502) 569-0806 View Additional Phone Numbers 550 South Third Street, Louisville, KY 40202 http://www.louisvillewater.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Louisville Water Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Louisville Water Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 22
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Louisville Water Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 03/06/1854
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Brammell, President & CEO Mr. Vince Guenthner, Government Relations Manager Mr. Dave Vogel, Vice President/Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Brammell, President & CEO
Business Category

WATER COMPANIES-UTILITY


Additional Locations

  • 550 South Third Street

    Louisville, KY 40202 (502) 569-3600 (502) 583-6610 (800) 752-6007

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 583-6610(Phone)
  • (800) 752-6007(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started having problems in march 2014 when I made my payment online through there sight for some reason my payment did not go through on there sight I called in march to see why it did not go through and they said that there was a problem on there sight and they would waive the 18.80 dollar charge I payed my payment that day conf#080160 the payment keeps showing up on my bills I called today 7-3-2014 and the lady told me that I had to pay the 18.80 dollar charge even though it was not my fault why should I have to pay for a charge that was not my fault.

Desired Settlement: I paid my bill today with the 18.80 charge and I want a refund

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******:

I've reviewed your account and found that you were billed $161.71 on April 24th.  We didn’t receive payment by the due date of May 15th, so on May 19th the account was charged a late fee of $8.09, bringing the balance to $169.80.  

A payment in the amount of $151.00 posted to the account on May 19th , leaving a balance of $18.80.  Since only $8.09 of the balance was a late charge, when you contacted Louisville Water on July 3rd that's the amount the representative offered to waive.

We have removed the late fee and you now have a credit on your account in the amount of $8.09.

Thanks for bringing this matter to my attentiona and allowing me the opportunity to research and offer an explanation.

Best,

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* ******

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The water company turned my water OFF for no reason and even they don't know why it's turned off. So far it has been over 6 hours and my water still isn't turned back on. They said they were sending out an emergency vehicle which still has not arrived. The lady I talked to the first time was EXTREMELY rude they cannot give me a time or even a ball park time when this so called emergency vehicle will be here. I called to speak with a supervisor 5 hours ago and left a message and still have not received a call back. This is their fault and they are doing nothing to fix it. I should be a priority they should have already had someone out here this is unacceptable. I bet if they had competition and I had options to go elsewhere this mistake would not have happened and the customer service people would be much nicer.

Desired Settlement: First off I deserve an apology for this and for the rudeness of their workers. I personally think it's stupid that they get paid for something I can go out there and do, it's a total waste of tax payers money for them to have a job. Secondly if they are going to turn water off the resident of the home should be notified especially when it's not do to non payment. I want my water turned back on and left ALONE FOREVER

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for any rude treatment that you feel you received while speaking with a representative of Louisville Water.  We take customer complaints seriously and will follow-up with the individual(s) that you spoke with providing coaching as necessary. 

As for your water service interruption, our records do not indicate that we turned your water off.  According to our billing system, we were at your property on June 16th around 2:30pm to gain an initial reading to begin service in your name.  While there, the field tech noted that the service was already on but the meter lid was loose, so he/she tightened the lid. 

We have no record of being back at your property until you requested that we come back on June 18th due to not having water service in the home.  Again, I apologize for any inconvenience that the service interruption may have caused but do not feel that Louisville Water was at fault.  I'm glad that we were able to restore your service on June 18th as requested.

Kind Regards,

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have moved into a new address,water was cut off I was trying to put in my name to have turned back on,the water co told me I have a past bill from over 5 yrs ago that was 489.00. It had been written of because of so long ago. But for service to be turned back on in my name that old bill needs to be paid. They will set no payment plan it has to be in full. I am single mom 3 kids just tryn to make it now we have no water for the fact that the water co will not work with me. In serious need of so help........thank you ******** **********

Desired Settlement: Make payment plan just need water turned back on asap,willing to pay each week if water is restored......

Business Response:

Dear ******** **********:

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond to your concerns.   Louisville Water works hard to follow consistent policies and offer all customers the same options to pay for their water usage.  It appears that our Collections team informed you that your total debt is $579.59.  Further, we offered to accept $400 (70% of the balance due) to restore your water and allow you to pay the remainder at a later date.  We feel that this repayment offer is fair and consistent with what we offer other customers in situations similar to yours.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at ***** ******** to discuss further.

Sincerely,

 

***** *******Manager, Customer Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the last year my water bill has been estimated due to mud in the vault 3 times. The water usage has been from 2,000 to 11,000 gallons. In 2012 the bill was estimated due to water in the vault 4 out of 6 times. Water usage was 2,000 to 11,000 gallons. I don't know what the problem is that they can't read a meter, if their is mud fix it. I don't have a pool, garden,or use a dishwasher and I take showers and have a HE washer. Also for several years my road has been charged a drainage fee even though I'm not near sewers. We are charged for the rain to fall on our property. The water company hasn't done anything for drainage for me in 40 years. We are paying for the fat cats at the water company to get a big bonus. My big bonus from social security this year was $20.00. I asked about a discount on drainage but I can't get it because I not on sewers I'm just on drainage from the rain. I am sick of the water company.

Desired Settlement: My meter read right 6 times a year and a discount on a drainage fee that we shouldn't have to pay.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *********:

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.  As for your first concern, I apologize for the number of times that we have had to estimate your bill.   I'm not sure what the exact cause is for the apparent build up of mud in your meter vault or if there is something we can do to resolve it.  So, I have asked our metering department to look into long term solutions to prevent multiple estimated bills at your home.

In regards to your concern about paying for drainage fees, Louisville Water Company acts as a billing agent for Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD).  MSD charges customers separtely for sewage service and drainage.  If a customer is not on sewers, as is the case in your situation, they are not charge for sewage services but are charged for drainage.  All cusotmers in MSD's service area are charge for water runoff as the water makes its way into the MSD system at some point and is treated.

Thanks again for giving me the opportunity to explain our billing practices in more detail.  Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss further.

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been paying Metro Sewer District for the runoff on my property since August 2013. I called them the 1st week in March and asked them what the final balance was for the run off bill and told them that I would no longer be responsible for it because the property was no longer vacant and a tenant would move on on Wednesday March 12, 2014 and occupy the property. I spoke with ***** about the situation and explained what would take place. ***** reviewed the charges and stated to me that nothing was due because the property manager ****** ******* Realty had paid the balance and turn the utilities on in their name and the transfer of services would be on them. Then she stated I did not owe any money to Metro Sewer District or the Water Company. Today March 24, 2014 I received a bill from ********* Collections stating I owe them $52.61 and have not paid it. I am very upset that I am receiving this letter since I called to handle this matter 3 weeks ago. I have no problem paying this account but I do not appreciate the attempt to damage my credit after I called and was told I don't owe them anything.

Desired Settlement: This should not have been placed in collections and would not have been if the customer service agent ***** had given me the correct information. I want this issue resolved and I want it removed from collections.. I will only make a payment to The Louisville water company as I tried to resolve this but was apparently given incorrect information.

Business Response:

Dear ***** ******:

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.  We have contacted the collections agency and had your account removed from their records.  You can pay Louisville Water directly.

Thanks again for your patience in allowing us time to correct this matter.

Kind Regards,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was denied service at a house I was trying to rent. Due to previous tenant not paying a bill. Was told that I could not get service there until the other person paid their debt. Told me a was liar that I was not who I was and I was trying to bale out the other person! I don't even know who the other person IS!! I asked to speak to a supervisor and was denied. The customer service person name was Undre. Very rude and disrespectful people at that place. They shouldn't treat people like that.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Unfortunately, based on the information provided in the complaint, it is unclear at what address the customer attempted to get service.  I need this information in order to properly investigate and provide resolution.  I have attempted to contact the customer and am awaiting a response.

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I have been unable to reach this Ms. **** and, therefore, cannot speak specifically about any events that took place during the interaction. However, generally when a debt is owed at an address and someone calls for service, we attempt to collect the debt. If the person attempting to establish service has no connection to the debt, we simply ask that they provide a lease showing that they are brand new to the property.

If Ms. **** provides a lease, a copy of her social security card and picture ID, we can proceed with establishing service.

I hope this helps resolve this issue.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Problems with accurate meter reading resulting in improper billing. I called and complaining about a very high reading recently that was nearly double our normal usage. And sure enough, the next reading was about 1/3 of our normal usage. This is not the first time we have had these kind of problems.

Desired Settlement: Perhaps train your people more thoroughly?

Business Response:

I sincerely apologize for the inaccurate meter reading on your water bill.  As I'm sure you understand, the majority of our water meter readings are entered manually and therefore subject to human error.  I'm glad that the error was corrected on your very next bill.

If in the future you feel that a meter reading is out of line, please do not hesitate to call us at ###-###-####.  We will have someone come out to re-read the meter and correct your bill accordingly.

Thank you for taking time to provide this feedback.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had sevral problems with the Louisville Water Company and not one customer service agent has been even remotley nice. They answer phone like they hate their job and life, they are rude and they don't work with you on the problem. This month I am being charged $50.00 because I no longer wanted to do automatic billing because I have had problems with them on that issue. They do this because they are the only Water Company in Louisville and know we have no other options. Worse company I have ever had to deal with since moving to Louisville.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $50.00 back I am going to have to pay because I no longer want automatic billing, and an apology for how rude EVERYONE has been.

Business Response:

Dear ****** * ********:

As with most companies who issue credit, Louisville Water Company requires that all customers who have had less than three years of uninterrupted service with us pay a deposit.  The deposit is fully refundable once the three year period is reached or the customer no longer has service with us.  If a customer enrolls in automatic bill pay, it's a step towards  lower risk, so Louisville Water waives the deposit for those customers.

If you have further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my water bill 12 hours late, they reassured me it would be back on that evening, 12-6-2013. It is now 9:15 pm on Saturday 12-7-2013, and I still have no water. This may not seem important to some or urgent to others but I have 3 children for whom I cook, clean, and bath on a daily basis. Not only has this inconvenienced my family and I but the customer service I received was appalling. The third time I called the lady stated " she wasn't going into this with me" when I tried to explain how and why this was unacceptable. as soon as she said that she hung up on me. I really want to get this resolved, but more importantly I just want to take a shower, give my 3 children a bath, wash my dishes and do some laundry. There is no excuse that can be adequate enough to explain why a person had to go 3 days without water, as it looks, I won't have water until tomorrow, hopefully! I'm a mother that works full time, and the date came 1 day before my payday, I hope this wasn't punishment for paying the very next day. LG&E even gives a 2 day grace period before they just cut you off, maybe louisville water company could do the same.

Desired Settlement: I would like a credit applied to my account for the day I didn't water.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******,

I apologize for the inconvenience of not having water and for the inadequate service that you feel you experienced.  I will pull the telephone calls and follow up with individuals as necessary.  As for Louisville Water Company's turn off practices, we allow a one week due date extension on every bill.  It appears that your water bill was due on November 12.  We do not interrupt water service until 2 weeks after the due date and you were granted a due date extension.   So, your service was not interrupted until December 6, three weeks after the original due date.  Being a utility, we try to initiate policies that are useful and can be handled in an equitable manner for our entire customer base.

Since you are not billed for water when it is turned off, I cannot issue a credit for the days that you did not have water.  I can, however, waive your $25 non-payment fee due to the delay in restoring your service.  I will also waive your water service charge due to the cusotmer service not meeting your expectations during such a difficult time.  You will see a credit for the water service charge in the amount of $17.01 on your next bill. 

I truly appreciate the feedback. 

Sincerely, 

 ***** ******* 

 ******** ******** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/22/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The water company charged my family excessivly and during this period *** was in the area for several weeks yet they take no accountability. The water person visited our home in September 2012 and *** was on our street at the time and suggested this was the problem yet *** takes no accountability. Further, the water company bills for *** based on usage so if its a hot summer and we are watering our trees more the water isnt going through the sewer system yet we are charged for it. The amount in questions is exhorbitant ($900) for a 2 month period and we've paid 40% of it. The water company is threatening to disconnect our service when we pay on time each month. They also misapplied charges on our home for an 8 month period and truned off our account in error during the same time period in question. I also believe this could have something to do with the problem but they deny it. They are trying to bill us for 200,000 gallons we didnt use. If the methods to record the water were more technical it would be a better argument but they relay on a human recording and there is way too much room for error and again the meter reader suggested it was ***.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the water company to take the 40% we have paid and waive the rest. This process has been a huge waste of my time and I dont believe we are being treated fairly. I would feel differently if they used technology to collect data. I feel *** is really making the money on this deal since we always pay a premium in the summer and the sewer use isnt increasing. Please get back with me as soon as possible. Thank you.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

Your water usage increased between May 10th and September 10th, 2012.  This was reflected on the bills for the billing periods May 10th-July 11th and July 11th-September 10th.  You submitted documentation showing that a toilet was repaired on September 15th.  Your usage for the very next billing period, September 10th-November 10th was back in line with your average usage.  Since the repair, all subsequent  bills have been in line with your average usage prior to the toilet leak.  Therefore, we concluded that the toilet was the culprit.

As with any customer experiencing a water leak, as a courtesy Louisville Water Co. attempts to offer some relief.  Since the treated water did go through the meter, we cannot waive the full bill ($1957), but we did adjust 50% of the usage amount above your average, bringing the bill down to roughly $900.  This is the same courtesy we allow for any other customer experiencing a leak on their property. 

We also offered to set up a payment arrangement to allow you time to speak with an attorney regarding the matter.  That way, your account does not have to continue to be watched manually to avoid interruption of service. 

As for the misapplied payments, I apologize for any error on our part.  My understanding is that you had the auto-payment set up online through your bank.  Once you moved to a new address, your account number changed.  So, your payment continued to be applied to your previous account since the new account number was not updated online.  Each time we received notice that you had made a payment, we moved the payment over to the correct account.  We provided a ledger to show that each payment made was correctly applied.  This issue was resolved once you updated the account information online through your bank and now all payments are being applied to the correct account.

I am not authorized to speak on behalf of ************ ***** ******** (***) and I advised that you contact them directly with your concerns related to their business.  Louisville Water acts strictly as a billing agent on behalf of *** and other companies who provide sewer service in the area.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

The toilet was not the culprit.  The replacement toilet occurred due to our children breaking the porcelain top.  The water company wont take responsibility for *** yet they bill for them (and apparently collect for them since this is a portion of the disputed amount.  If I need to make a separate claim, please let me know, but there should be some accountability since they are assuming responsibility for all collections and billings for ***.  As far as the billing errors - the apology is nice but the point has been missed.  Since the water was turned off and back on during the timeframe in question I think this could also contribute to the problem.  Last, the water company representative that came to our home to examine the meter also suggested it was *** who was on our street that day.  Please respond to this point since its extremely relevant.  Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our service was diconnected on 10-2, due to an past due balance.When found out about this we promptly paid the amount requested scheduled someone to come out to turn back on the service. A day and a half go by and still no service, we called service back to see what was going on. The customer service rep said that someone came out but they could not complete turning back on the service. I rescheduled someone to come back out while we were home (customer service confirmed that someone would be out !!). It is now 10-5 and still no water service. This is unacceptable , there is no one who I can speek with to help us.

Desired Settlement: Turn on our utility that we pay for.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********:

It appears that we attempted to restore service on October 3 but the meter was spinning too fast.  To protect your home, we  do not leave the water on when this happens in case there's a leak.  Our records indicate that your service was restored on October 5.

If you have further questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first is that I did not have services in my name but the past due amount from another address was transferred to me when I started services. I have asked for something in writing to show that I am legally responsible for a bill that was not in my name and no one from the water company will provide it to me. No one wants to listen and help me but they want to threaten me. They even changed my last name on the account to match the last name of the person whose name it was in. I had to go to the office and argue to get it changed back. However, they continue to leave the past due on my account and threaten me with shut off notices when I pay for my services. I have spoke to 3 different people trying to get this and they are all rude and not understanding. The last one had the name of Mr. Hayes and when I asked for his supervisor, he said he does not have one and there is no one else to talk to. When I asked for his first name, he told me I only needed to know him as Mr. Hayes. The second part is that the past due was originally $182.69. I had paid an extra $50 on my account so it should have dropped it to $132.69. Instead the amount as of today is $522.19. It keeps getting higher. Everyone at the company is rude and not willing to help me get this resolved.

Desired Settlement: The best outcome would be to have the $522.19 taken off of my account immediately. I don't even care about the $50 that I already paid towards the amount.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *********:


Our records indicate three balances were transferred to your account at **** ****** ***.

1)      1)  $182.69- from 3728 ******* Ave.  Service at that address was in ***** *****’ name, but the landlord provided us with the lease in which ****** ********* is the only tenant.  The lease is amended to say that ***** *****’ was given permission to reside on the premises.  He is not a tenant and the lease specifically states that ****** ********* is responsible for paying all utility bills (#12 on the lease). We have copies of checks that show that ****** ********* was paying the bill for 3728 *******.  The checks have an address of 5315 ****** on them.  You are welcome to come into our office to review the lease at your convenience.

2)       2)  $101.51- Drain only charges from **** ****** **.  MSD requested a balance transfer; Ms. ********* was the owner of **** ****** **.

3)   $109.75- final bill from **** ******* ***.
.

When Ms. ********* put service in her name at **** ****** ***, we ran her social security number through our system and the name ****** Oakes came back.  This apparently was a previous last name and had been used on a water account in the past.  Our Collections department did not use the last name Oakes as a matching criteria to transfer the balance as the lease clearly shows ****** *********. 

The transfer balance and awareness that she had been at ******* and moved to ****** Ave came from the landlord.  He called to make sure his new tenant had put service in his name and gave a forwarding address for ****** ********* and ***** *****- **** ****** Ave.  He then provided us with the lease.

 In addition to the transfer balances, the account is accumulating late fees since the balance hasn’t been paid.  Two months ago the account was in danger of being disconnected for non-pay and Ms. ********* emailed the mayor’s office requesting to speak to a supervisor.  Our Collections manager kept service from being interrupted as a courtesy, called her back and left messages twice, and did not hear back from her.  She is eligible to be disconnected for non-payment at present.

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to look into and respond to your concerns.

Sincerely,

*********** ** ******* ******** ******** ****


Louisville Water Co.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The Louisville Water Company is not trying to resolve the issue.

1) I did not have any agreement with Louisville Water Company to pay the water at **** ******* ******, not by verbal or written. The lease was not with them. They say I owe the money but will not provide anything stating that I am legally responsible for doing so since I did not open that account.

2) Anything that I owed previously was paid when they transferred my ****** Drive past due + additional, unnecessary fees to *****'s bill. It was $400+. The bill for MSD came at a later time and I called to let MSD know when I was not the owner of the property and she was suppose to remove the charge since it was not mine.

3) Again, another way of ripping people off...If the bill transferred was $180+ then why is there another final bill for $109.75? It is because they want to bill anyone they choose whether it is their account or not.

I even asked to pay the original $182.69- $50 already paid on it, but Mr. Hayes said I now owe $522+ with late fees. My services should not be disconnected since I am current with my bill at my address.

Regards,

****** *********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a recent bill from Louisville water for $344.66. I contacted them right away asking about the big increase in water usage as my bill usually runs around $125. They had recently placed new meters so they don't have to get out of their vehicles to read them. This is when the high bill started. They placed an investigation on my account. On 06/15/13 I received a letter from them Louisville water stating their investigation was complete and they found no leaks or faulty equipment. My landlord had a company checks for leaks inside and outside of my home with nothing found. Louisville water company did not send out my final notice with a due date and on July 10th they came out to my home and shut my water off while I was out of town planning my brothers funeral. When I got back in town and checked my mail there was still no notification from Louisville Water. I did contact them and they turned my water back on for me. However I am disputing this $344.66 bill and would like it to be investigated further. My next door neighbor is having the same exact issue with Louisville Water concerning the dramatic bill increase since putting in their new meter reading systems.

Desired Settlement: I would like further investigation on my account and some kind of credit.

Business Response: Dear ***** *****

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.  First of all I apologize for the inconvenience of coming home to no water service.  We do attempt to mail out a notice and make a phone call before interrupting service as we understand the difficulties of not having water.  As for the usage, I reviewed historical water use on your account.  There was definitely an increase in usage from March 18 through May 20 of this year.  You stated that you felt the increase was related to our replacing your manually read meter with an automated one.  However, that meter was replaced in November 2012 and usage from January 22 through March 18 of this year was only 5,000 gallons.  The automated meter readings were manually verified on June 11 and we found no indication of leakage.

Since the treated water did pass through the system and this usage amount is abnormal in relation to your historical use pattern, we have decided to offer you a one time courtesy adjustment of 50% of the amount above your average usage.  You will receive a letter detailing the adjustment amount and the remaining balance owed.  If you'd like to set up payment arrangements please give us a call at (502) *********

Kind Regards,

*********** *******
Manager, Customer Care

 



BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had water service at **** ****** Drive. I was the owner of the property and selling the house. I called to have it removed out of my name effective the anticipated closing date. The company informed me the buyer of the house had called to have it placed into their name. The buyer could not close on the anticipated date, a Friday. I tried to call Saturday to inform the company of this but the business is closed. I called back the following week to inform them I need it in my name still due to the closing not occuring yet. They told me I would have to pay another $30 activation fee. I told them this is an unnecessary junk fee, as it was already in my name and I had attempted to call and inform them of this. They refused to remove this fee. I had already paid my last statement amount of $13.11 on 6/17/13, and this final bill was only $3.75 before they added a $30 additional activiation fee.

Desired Settlement: I expect this company to remove the $30 activiation fee placed on my account. I paid this fee already once to activate service on this account. This was a circumstantial issue where another fee is unnecessary. The service was already in my name prior and should have defaulted back into my name if the buyer did not have it placed into their name upon the expected initial closing date. I expect this to be done promptly. I have 4-5 accounts wiht this company at any given time and always pay the bills as agreed, however this is an attempt to collect a junk fee. Also the customer service was rude and treated me like a number, "stating this is our policy, anything else?" I am very taken back by how I am being treated here.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.  You are correct that you should not have been charged a second Service Activation Fee.  I apologize for the error.  The fee has been credited back to the account and we have requested a refund be sent to you.  You should receive the refund in 10-14 business days.  Thanks again for the feedback as we value your business and your opinion.

Kind Regards,

***** *******
Manager, Customer Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from Louisville in January but we still own our home on ********* Circle until we sell it. On our last bill, they said we used zero water and they still charged us $105.20 despite the fact we used zero water and thus zero sewage services were used. They acknowledged that we had zero water use and they still sent us this outrageous bill.

Desired Settlement: Adjust the bill and do not charge us for any late charges until this is corrected.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **********

When a water account is set up in your name, you are granted access to water service.  Even if no water is used, Louisville Water Co (LWC) must dispatch a technician to read the meter each billing cycle.  We must also maintain our facilities in good working order so that water will be readily available should you decide to use water.  Your bill reflects charges for this service.  In addition, LWC acts as a billing agent for Metropolitan Sewer District (MSD) and sewer and drainage charges are reflected on your water bill whether water was used or not.

 

I also see charges for Water service line and Sewer/Septic line coverage on your bill as well.  These are optional charges that aren't related to your water service.

If you are away from your home and not using water for extended periods of time, you have the option of having your service turned off.  With this option you avoid being charged water or sewer service charges; however, there is a $25 activation fee charged to restore your services at your request.

Thanks again for your feedback which we value at LWC.  I hope this information is helpful to you.

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

(502) ******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the BBB Complaint Form under Step 1, Primary Nature of your Complaint, the drop down did not really have the appropriate response for my issue, so I chose the closes one. I have not been at my home recently, but yet my water bill keeps increasing. No one is at home to use water so it confuses me greatly to see my bill going up each billing cycle.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund due to over charges in billing.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********

I have reviewed your usage history and it appears that your usage did increase from Jan 18 - May 20.  I have mailed a copy of your usage history for your review.  If more water has not been used during this period, it is possible that you have a water leak.

The first step in finding a leak often involves testing every toilet in your home (even unused ones).  You should place at least 10 drops of red food coloring into the tank on the back of each toilet.  Do not flush and allow the dye to sit in the tank overnight.  If there's dye in the bowl the next morning, you have a toilet leak.  If there's no dye in the bowl, give us a call to send a representative out to inspect your meter.

Kind Regards,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

(502) ******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I’m asking for your help with a problem I have concerning my last water bill. The bill is from the Louisville Water Company, 550 South 3rd Street, Louisville, Kentucky 40202, phone number ( 502) 569-3600. My name is ******* ** ****** *** ********* ***** Louisville, Kentucky 40215. Phone number (502) ********. I can also be reached by email at my father’s email address: ***************************. The reason for my complaint is as follows. Over six years ago I opened a Louisville Water Account, #*********, and made a security deposit at that time plus connection fee. Just a short time ago my landlord had the water service stopped for unknown reason. The next day I called the Louisville Water Company and had the service turned back on, which they did. Today, Wednesday, April 24, 2013, I received my water bill and I was again charged a reconnect fee and a security deposit. I have no problem with the reconnect fee and will gladly pay it. However I feel that as I made a security deposit over six years ago and have paid my bills for said time that the security deposit should be credited to my next bill. The water company said the reason was it was a new account? My question is, if that is true then why do I have the same account number and why was I not given a refund of my first security deposit? Thank you for you attention and help in this matter. ******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: Security deposit credit applied to next water bill.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns, Mr. *****.  Louisville Water charges a deposit for all customers who have had less than three years of continuous service and on time payments. 

I've reviewed your account and found that we did charge you a deposit in June 2009.  The water service was turned off for non-payment in December 2011 and your deposit was refunded to the account in January 2012, bringing the balance down to $18.87 at that time.  The account was re-activated and charged a new deposit in April of this year since three years of continuous service and timely payments has not been attained.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with questions or concerns you may have.

Kind Regards,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For te past 6 months, th ewater company has kept coming to our house threatening to turn off our water bc we are late. This was not true, at one time when the man came we pulled the most recent bill out of our mailbox as he was there; the bill had no notice on it. I paid it anyway. we had to due it again this month. The bill was due October 18th, and we paid it- I have a reciept that I paid it- and I took a screen shot today of my account on their "pay my bill" website that shows my balance is zero. They will not turn it on bc they said we are stealing water bc we didn't pay a month one year ago- but I have paid my balances every month and have no invoice of this.

Desired Settlement: want my water turned on- I have seage in my toileets and can not take care of my hygene.

Business Response:

Mr. & Mrs. ************

 

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns.  It appears that this issue was handled by our Delinquent Accounts Department.  This is in part because the water account was closed for non-payment in November 2011.  Then, as is routine, a drainage account was set up by MSD.  The drainage account has been paid, as you indicated.  However, a new water account was never established.  

 

As our Delinquent Accounts associate stated, we would be more than happy to provide you with duplicate bills for the property.  This balance remaining is $304.95, for service from  July 20th through November 10th, 2011.

 

Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to further explain and expedite this process.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February 2012 my water was turned off under account number *********. I called the company on 2/10/12 and was advised I needed to make a payment of $348.50 to reactivate account which I made the same day, and was advised that I would still owe $189 fee that had been transferred to my landlord in error and an additional $75 reactivation fee. Then on March 13, 2012 I received a voice mail at work from Mrs. **** from Louisville Water Company collection department at phone number of ************ * **** stating there had been a review of my account and I no longer owed any money but had a credit of $66.20. My next bill was received in April 2012 and I made a payment arrangement to pay the amount of $155.29 on 4/27/12. On 4/27/12 I made my payment online and noticed a balance left over around $489. I immediately called customer service and was advised that an amount of $489 was transferred to my account from my landlords account and I would have to contact her for further information. I advised the representative that I have spoken with my landlord and she thought the water company had straightened out this issue. She owns several other properties besides my residence. I asked for a supervisor and was advised that someone from Collections would contact me back. I did receive a call back a few days later from Mrs. **** stating she would be mailing be a billing summary and to let her know if I had questions. After never receiving this summary I called collections again and spoke with a different representative who stated they would mail me a summary. I finally have received a summary with a copy of my last bill already paid with codes and amounts that I do not understand and have now made 4 calls back to Mrs. **** at ************ * **** without any calls back. There are only 3 people including myself living at this residence and there is no way I could owe this much money for water. I have been misled and told this issue was closed back in March and didnt get notice that money was transferred back to my account until I called to find out why my online balance was incorrect

Desired Settlement: A explanation of the summary I received, and a correction of my bill as I believe I am being billed for one of my landlords many properties in error.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond to Ms. ******* concerns.  According to our records, a representative from our Collections team responded to an email from Ms. ***** on 5/18 and called and left a message for her on that same day.  The Collections manager tried to reach Ms. ***** by telephone as well.  The manager followed up with an email explaining the transfer balance and offering to answer any questions.  We would also encourage Ms. ***** to dye test her toilets/have the home inspected for leaks since her usage has been increasing.

Ms. ***** is welcome to respond to the emails sent or contact me directly to receive the necessary explanation and resolve any outstanding issues.

Kind Regards,

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

************

Consumer Response:

[I have now received a bill for over $800 today , this is incorrect, there are only 3 people in this house.  There must be a leak at the meter]

Regards,

********* *****


 

Business Response:

Thanks for sharing this new information and allowing me to respond to the customer's concerns. 

It appears that Ms. ***** has already contacted us directly.   We scheduled an inspection of her meter.  Until the inspection is complete, I cannot advise next steps.  The inspection results should be available within 14 calendar days.

Please let me know if any additional information is needed in the meantime.

Kind Regards,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Company

************

Consumer Response:


 I received a partial voice mail from an automated person at Louisville Water Company today 5/30/12 advising they did find a leak on this property.  I called customer service and left a voice mail for ***** ***, I then spoke with a customer service representative who advised me that this leak is not the water company responsibility but is the home owner responsibility which is NOT me.  I have been billed incorrectly since last year,and now am being OVER BILLED for a leak that is no fault of mine and there is no leak inside the house.  I have called my landlord and left her a voice mail advising her of this leak as well.  I have also received a cut off notice for June 11th and do not know how much to even pay on this account now.  I need an explanation of my billing from 2011 to current, I need a payment arrangement if I am responsible for any of this bill and I need to stop being billed for a leak you have found.  I expect a call back at ************ or ************.  I do work from 8:30am to 5:00pm M-F and am not able to answer my cell phone at work.  Please wont someone at this company help me?!?!??!?!?

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******

Our account records indicate that you have been working with ***** *** over the past couple weeks and are in the process of setting up a payment arrangement to spread out the cost of this unforeseen event.  The bills that have accumulated are for actual water usage that has passed through the meter and are accurate billings.

 

Though you indicate that you do not own the home, Louisville Water Company (LWC) must bill the person who signed up for water service.  Deciding who must repair water leaks on the property or who is ultimately responsible to pay the water bill is between the tenant and the landlord. 

 

Once the leak is repaired, LWC works to help offset the cost of up to 2 high water bills, if applicable.  Simply document the repairs, send us the receipts (550 S. 3rd St. Louisville, KY 40202) and you may be eligible for an adjustment of 50% of the overage amount.   The adjustment is a courtesy and is based on historical usage.  Only a handful of water utilities in the United States offer this service. 

 

As for speaking with you by phone, unfortunately, our hours of operation are very similar to your work hours.  Please email me directly: ****************** *and let me know what the best time would be to speak with you.

 

Sincerely,

 

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is in regards to water usage at a rental property located at: **** **** **** Louisville, KY 40216 Account # ********* This property has been vacant for approximately ten months. It is undergoing extensive repairs and upgrades. The January bill for the period of 10/27/11 – 12/29/11 was $54.96 reflecting only fees and service charges with no water usage. The March bill for the period of 12/29/11 – 2/29/12 was $56.14, again reflecting only fees and service charges with no water usage. The May bill for the period of 2/29/12 – 4/30/12 came and displayed water usage of 21,000 gallons and a total due of $169.68 Upon receiving this, I immediately thought there must be a leak and drove to the property to inspect it. I found no sign of a leak as the ground from the meter to the house was dry and solid, there was no water in the meter cavity nor was there any water under the house or in the sump area. The sinks and tub had no evidence of even a drip. The outside spigot has the handle removed. I called the water company and reported this and was told they would send someone out to check within 6 to 10 days. On about the 8th day, I found a note on the door stating that no leaks were detected. I again called the Water Company to see what the next step was and was told there was no next step, that the bill would be due. I stated my objection and asked where 21,000 gallon of water could have possibly gone. I was asked if I would like to meet a representative at the property. I said yes, thinking I would have a logical conversation with someone who would be an expert in the field. I was wrong. I was asked if I wanted a morning or afternoon appointment. I choose an afternoon appointment. I was told that it would be between 12:00 noon and 3:00PM and that they would call when on the way. The next morning, I was awakened at 7:30AM by a technician stating he was on the way. I quickly dressed and headed to the property. When I was about 5 minutes away, I received a second call stating he was there. I told him I would be in about 5 minutes. Upon my arrival I was met with a disgruntled gentleman, whom before I was even out of my vehicle stated that, “I was just here yesterday.” He said he checked the meter again and 21,000 gallon of water had passed through it. I asked him to come inside and look at the evidence I had that no water had passed through my plumbing. He said he was not allowed to enter a property. I realize in today’s times safety practices are in place but this also left me feeling I had no voice in this matter. He suggested that maybe a neighbor broke in and stole water. I told him that I did not feel I should have to pay for water I did not receive, to which he retorted, “Don’t pay it…and I’ll be back to cut your water off.” He then left. The next day I called the Water Company again in hopes of being connected to an ombudsman or complaint department or someone who would listen to my side. I was told my only option was to have the Water Company remove the meter , take it to the Water Company’s shop for teardown and inspection, and if it was found to be good I would pay for that also. I declined as I could already see how that was going to go. This employee also suggested a “borrowing neighbor theory” as to the use of the water. Now for my complaint. There is apparently no one that will hear my side of this and offer me a logical explanation. Here is my side. • I go by this property at least 3 times a week, generally more often, for fear of scrappers stripping out my A/C and copper or drug dealers setting up shop. I have never detected any drips or toilet sticking. (The toilet is only 2 years old.) • I have had a contractor working there off and on for the last 6 months, installing a new roof, windows, replacing ceilings and repairing drywall. Possible the toilet was flushed on a few occasions. For the two months in question there has been a white dry powder in all the sinks and tub from the drywall work with no evidence of moisture streaks. The contractor has stated to me that he never detected any water running. • The idea of a neighbor stealing water is absurd when one is talking about 21,000 gallons of it. With the average flow rate of a faucet being 1.3 gallon per minute, it would take 10 to 11 days of continuous running to expend this amount of water. A toilet would have to be flushed 80 to 100 times a day for the entire 2 month period to use this amount of water. • I cannot attest as to why the meter shows a 21,000 gal. difference, but I also do not believe anyone at the Water Company can provide a plausible answer to where the water went. If none can be offered, I feel it is a stalemate and think the fair thing would be to at least adjust the bill to half. Sincerely ******* ********** Trustee for the ****** B ********** Living Trust

Desired Settlement: As stated I feel it fair to both sides to split the bill in half.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **********:

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns.  First of all, I would like to apologize for any treatment that you receive which you felt was unprofessional.  We work hard to instill the principles of good customer service in our employees both in the office and the field enviroments.  We will use your feedback to coach employees and correct behavior as necessary.

The most challenging situations for LWC involve high usage and no indication of a continuous leak.  LWC has no way of evaluating intermittent leaks, customer internal plumbing fixtures, or other changes in usage patterns by the customer.  The usage has taken place during the previous two months (for bi-monthly billed customers) and it is often difficult for customers to remember if anything out of the normal has taken place.  In many cases, the usage can be attributed to irrigation usage, small faucet leaks that ran for a period before being shut, or toilet flappers that either get stuck open or leak slowly causing the tank to fill up.  In many cases, the culprit ends up being a toilet (or other fixture) in a part of the house that doesn’t get much use and is out of sight from the customer, especially in a vacant home.

 

I have reviewed your usage history.  According to our records your consumption did increase from February 29 to April 30 but two Louisville Water Company (LWC) inspections in May did not indicate an underground leak.  

 

Although there was no culprit identified, the treated water did pass through the system.  Since this usage amount is abnormal in relation to your historical use pattern being that the home is vacant, we have decided to offer you a one time courtesy adjustment of 50% of the amount above your average usage. 

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with further questions or concerns. 

 

Sincerely,

 

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Company

###-###-####

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9073995, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* **********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the Louisville Water Company on February 27th regarding my bill. The bill stated that I consumed 10,000 gallons of water over a 60 day period. That calculates to an average daily usage of almost 170 gallons per day which is insane for two people that are not home during the week. I called the Louisville Water Company to discuss my bill with ********. She was rude and argumentative telling me that my meter had been recently read and that the past bills were an “average”. I can say with 100% certainty that my meter has not been read in years. Grass and dirty have covered the meter plate for years. My fault for not complaining sooner, but my wife just brought to my attention the high cost of the water and sewage bill. I did the “food coloring” test and neither toilet is leaking. All faucets in the house have been replaced two years ago and none are leaking. I did some simple math based on extreme usage in our situation (table noted below) and feel that I have been grossly overbilled for several years. Water Consumption Table Max per use Normal weekly use Weekly water used (gals) Avg Daily (gals) 60 day bill cycle Tub / Shower 40.00 10.00 400.00 57.14 3,428.57 Washer 40.00 2.00 80.00 11.43 685.71 Toilet 3.50 10.00 35.00 5.00 300.00 Dishwasher 10.00 3.00 30.00 4.29 257.14 Total 545.00 77.86 4,671.43 I believe the Water Company has overcharged me for months and I would like to have my account credited for the overbilling.

Desired Settlement: Expecting a credit to my account for overbillings over the past 3 billing cycles.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *********:

I have reveiwed your account history.  Our records indicate that we physically read your meter on February 1.  You indicated that you felt 10,000 gallons of water was excessive for a 60 day period.  According to our data, the average person uses 6,000 gallons of water in a 60 day billing cycle.  Therefore, if there are two people in your home, you are using and being billed for less than an average amount of consumption.

We have an inspection scheduled for March 3, at which time the field technician will be happy to show you the reading on the meter.  Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you'd like to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8937152, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

* *********


 

This is simply NOT true.  My meter was opened for the first time in years this past week and only after I complained.  The ground has covered the meter plate and it has not been disturbed until this week.

I don't care about averages as I do not wish to pay based on consumer averages.  I have kept track of my useage (baths, laundry, dishwasher, etc) and there is NO way I could have used 10,000 galllons.  ******** quoted me a different average for a family of two when I called earlier this week and that number was closer to 7,000.

I have been overbilled and can show the math to prove it.  MY meter has not been read until this past week.  I do not appreciate the water company calling me a lier.

 

 

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *********:

I sincerely apologize if we communicated differing averages in regards to customer usage.  As you stated, the average amount really doesn't mean much as different customers have different usage habits. 

I reviewed the inspection results from  the field tech who visited your home on March 3.  He did not find any issues at the meter and notated that the meter reading was "1611" on that day.  This is in line with the readings that we have gotten every two months.  Prior to the inspection, the most recent meter reading we obtained was "1606" on February 1.  This means you have used about 5,000 gallons in 32 days.  This is in line with the usage charged on your most recent bill of 10,000 gallons for 60 days of usage.  If we were over reading your meter, the reading that we obtained during the March 3rd inspection should have reflected a lower reading.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you'd like to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

###-###-####



Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8937152, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

* ********* 


 

I still disagree as both my wife and I are not home during weekdays.  We keep a running log by all our appliances and know precisely how many times we use each appliance and even flush the toilet.  I calculated the useage at most 6,000 gallons using the highest consumption on the manufacturers' manuals and data sheets plus adding a 10 percent margin for error.  We do NOT water the lawn or wash vehicles at home.  We have no leaks in the home and have tested multiple times using the food coloring method.

The meter is underground making it difficult if not impossible for the consumer to verify actual usage.  By the last response from the Water Company it would appear that usage is rounded up to the nearest thousand. 

I am very disappointed but what can the average consumer do but complain and then be forced to accept their response regardless of the reason, logic or rational.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Louisville water company sent a bill for $2300.00 stating i had used 322,000 gallons of water. my average water usage for the time i have lived in the home is 3-4 thousand gallons of water. i had an unknown leak underneath the home and had it repaired by ******* plumbing in july 2011. I recieved water bill after repairs were made that was consistent with my usual bill. after a few months i recieved anoher bill for the previously stated $2300.00, which i dont understand why it wouldnt have shown up on the previous bill i recieved after the repairs were made. I called and questioned the bill and was told it was accurate and that i could have them come check meter, which they did and it was functioning properly so the bill would have to have been due to the leak i had and repaired. From there i filed an adjustment thinking that since i provided all the documentation of repair bill it would be adjusted down to my average bill or just sllightly above. It was not, it was only reduced by half to $1130.00. This makes no sense seeing as how i am not a plumber and could not easily detect a leak under my home, but as soon as it was detected it was repaired within 2 days and water was shut off for the days. I have complied with the current adjustment and paid $500.00 towards outrageous bill so as not to have service interrupted, but would like that payment back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the bill adjusted to my average billing amount, which i have already given them and to have my payments which i have already made towards the amount they said i owed refunded to me. I do not want credit toward future bills, i would like a refund given back to me.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****

I hope this communication sheds some light on our adjustment procedures.

 

A water leak on your property can dramatically increase your water bill.  If those leaks are repaired, Louisville Water Company customers are eligible for two bill adjustments every twelve months.  Document the repairs, send us the receipts and you may be eligible for an adjustment of 50% of the overage amount.   The adjustment is a courtesy and is based on historical usage.  Only a handful of water utilities in the United States offer this service. 

 

We did receive the necessary documents and have processed an adjustment to your bill for usage from August 3 through September 30.  Our records indicate that your repair was made during this billing cycle, on August 6.   

 

According to our records, we also set up a payment plan so that you could pay off the remaining balance on your account over time.

 

Thank you, again for taking the time to give us feedback.  If you have questions or would like to discuss this issue in more detail, please give me a call.

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I faxed to the Louisville water the copy of the lease and the eviction of a tenant in my property at *** ** ****** ***. I waited while they reviewed it so that I could get the water turned on in my companies name so that I could do the repairs that are needed after the tennant vacated it. After waiting I finally got the call it had been reviewed by collections and all was ok. I immediately called to get the water turned on so I lost no more time. After a 25 minute hold I got thru to *****, their rep. When I told him I had gotten the call and wanted to turn the water on in ******** name, he insulted me and told me I was trying to subvert the system. I am the homeowner and I pay all my bills. I was the one who called and told them about the tennant having the water on illegally. I have done everything they wanted and now when I go to get the water reestablished I am insulted? NO WAY!!!!! This is pitiful and will be reported to the city and all other outlets I can find.

Desired Settlement: I want an apology and the water turned on at *** ** ****** ***** ******* *** ** **********. Send the bill to the address.

Business Response: **** *** **********

I sincerely apologize for any poor treatment that you feel you experienced.  We strive to offer superior customer service to all customers as we do appreciate your busines.  I will have someone contact you to start water service as soon as possible.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Company

###-###-####

******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8847236, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 3rd week I made an office visit to the Louisville Water Company to have the water turned on at my property **** **** *** Road. I requested it for about two weeks, as I had some contractors to work on the property in order to rent it. I call the office on November 1 2011 and was advised that it would be November 3 for the cut off. The following week I received a bill for $56.34 and several days later another bill for $14.80. On November 20,l 2011 a check was mailed to them for $71.14 (combined amount). While checking my *** **** checking account online on November 30, I discovered that the Water company has made two different debit charges against my account. I 've " never" given them permission or authorization orally or written to access my account at any time. These debits were made on November 20 and 28, 2011. I called and talked with a represenative ***** today December 1, 2011. Her explanation was not to my satisfaction and I advised I would be into the office on Decedmber 2 to speak with a Supervisor as she suggested. However, my concern is the legality of a company or person being able to access my account by getting the account number from a check written to them. And the four different billings, two by mail and two debits from my checking account.

Desired Settlement: I desire a refund and a explanation why four (4) different bills for 2 weeks of water usages

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ***** ***** *****:

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and allowing me to respond. 

You indicated that you wanted an explanation of why you were sent multiple bills for only 2 weeks of water usage.  Please allow me to explain our billing procedures.  It appears that you requested water service be placed in your name and water service was started for **** **** *** **. on October 20.  Your meter was read per the normal reading cycle on October 26.  Thus, you were billed service charges and usage for 6 days, and a security deposit on your first bill.  You requested service be turned off once repairs were completed on November 2 and service was turned off the following day.  When we turn service off, we read the meter and send a closing bill for any charges from the last bill until the closing date.  Therefore, you received a closing bill for service charges and usage from October 26 until November 3. 

You sent a payment in the amount of $71.14 to cover both bills and the security deposit.  Your security deposit was refunded on November 4 since you closed the account.  Therefore, your account currently has a credit balance of $71.14.  I have requested that this amount be refunded to you.  You should receive a check in 7-10 business days at the mailing address we have on file, *** ***** **** *********** ** *****.

I hope that I have answered your questions and resolved your concerns.  If not, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

******************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/20/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have made several attempts to correct an ongoing issue with LWC concerning their billing practices. I contacted the company on or about 10/10/11 and spoke with a Customer Service Rep who was extremely rude on the phone. I tried to explain to her that since January I have had a problem with billing. My bill dated for AUG, SEPT was for 15000 gallons of water with equal sewage usage. I live alone in a 1000 sq ft home and there is no way I could have used that amount of water. I was contacted on Tues. by a gentlemen in the Meter Reading Dept who subsequently came out to check the meter and when I spoke with him he assured me there were no leaks because the meter was not running at all. He assured me that he would have customer service get in contact with me about a deduction on my bill. That was Wed. 10/12/11 and I have yet to hear anything from this company. I take issue with the fact that LWC does not always read the meter's but estimates some months and I always come out on the short end of the stick. I battled with them in January over a bill that was outrageous and I didn't have water charges for 4 months and when I called Customer Service they informed me that no charges were made because my house was under a rental agreement so I only had to pay for the charge of having water and sewage. I tried to explain that I had owned the house for 8 yrs. but she was not willing to try and fix the mess. I am tired of 30 minutes on hold and rude customer service and I would like some vindication for the hassle and absolute inconvenience this utility company has put me through. Although it is a public company there are no alternatives through the state complaint system because the LWC is owned by the city. I have contacted my council person and the mayor's office and have gotten no response.

Desired Settlement: A refund of some sort which is what I was told would happen...

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.  I understand how frustrating it can be to try to figure out why a water bill seems out of line since we bill 60 days in arrears.  Let me explain the steps we have taken to ensure our meter reading was accurate as well as offer a comparison with the historical usage on the account.

We have not estimated the usage since February of this year.  We physically read the meter on July 21 and again on September 20.  Based on the meter readings, 15,000 gallons of water passed through the meter during this time.  On October 12 the Supervisor of the Meter Reading Department, ****** ********* came out and met with you at your home.  He again verified that the meter reading that we captured on September 20 was accurate.

You expressed concern that your water usage was high because the home is 1,000 square feet.  I reveiewed the historical usage for the home and found that the average amount of water used per billing period is 13,000 gallons which is in line with your usage on this bill.  Since there are no known leaks on your property and nothing has been repaired, I cannot offer a bill adjustment. 

 I do apologize if you feel that you did not receive good service from our telephone representatives.  I will review the phone call and coach and re-train as appropriate.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with future questions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8775789, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

 


 

 I moved back into my home in November of 2010 and the average bill for my home is NOT 13000 gallons every two months. I have NEVER used that much water ever. I am ONE person, I don't even have a toilet that flushes more than 1.2 gallon.  How would you know for sure if something is wrong with the meter just by checking to see if the reading was close to the last reading.  Your saying there couldn't be anything wrong with the meter if there is no leak? It really doesn't matter because even if there was a problem on LWC's part they would never admit to it or fix it without a fight.  Terrible customer service and horrible management.  But if you live in this city you are stuck with whatever they choose to do to you as a customer.  They are no different than LG&E...

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i am being billed for something/water usage i am not responsible for, ias i explained to them i never lived at that house the transfer the charge to my acount , just because i gave my brother some room and board. i have also help my brother with the lease agremeent for his property placing my name on the lease to help him, since he doesn't speak english well enough. i have explained the water company customer service i have never live or used any water in any other place but my 2 current accounts i have now with them. i have explain to them i don't have any interest on that other property they have transfer the balance to my account. the responsability is ****** *******, ****** ****** *******, and ***** ****** ******* ****** they were the people that live at that house and the party responsible for that bill, They claim since my name shows on the paper/lease my brother show them i shouls be responsible I don't agree. They should investigate and will see i don't have any interest in that property. they have no right to place that balance on my account. they should remove it so i can pay my bill and remove the late fee

Desired Settlement: take off that debt from my account and bill who is responsible not me , ****** ** ****** is living with her daughter ***** ******** of ***** ****** ******* ******

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******,

According to our records, the lease for **** ********* ** indicates that you are the landlord.  During the timeframe in question, water was used and no one was signed up for service.  Therefore, we hold the landlord responsible or ask that he/she provide a valid lease indicating the tenant responsible for water usage.

In order to remove this debt from your account and collect from the appropriate party, please forward a valid lease indicating the tenant responsible for the water usage to: 

Louisville Water Company

BBB Dispute

Attn:  ***** *******###-###-#### fax// 550 S. 3rd Street, Louisville, KY 40202

 

Sincererly,

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8748468, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

I am not the landlord nor i have any interest on that property, the property belongs to my brother ****** ** ******* and his ex-wife that live at that location previously ****** * ****** *******. I NEVER LIVE AT THAT PROPERTY  NOR I HAVE ANY NTEREST IN THAT PROPERTY. I AM NOT THE LANDLORD. IF MY NAME SHWS THERE IS JUST TO BE ABLE TO HELP THE PEOPLE IN BEING THE TRANSLATOR FOR FUTURE REFERENCE. mY BROTHER IS STAYING AT MY HOUSE BUT HE IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR MY BILLS NOR I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR HIS BILLS.

i HAVE EXPLAIN THAT TO THA WATER COMPANY PREVIOUSLY. THEY ARE ABUSING THEIR POWER AND HAVE PLACE THAT DEBT ON MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT MY CONSENT OR PERMISION, THEY ARE VIOLATING MY PRIVACY BY PLACING A DEBT ON MY SERVICE ACCOUNT. THEY CAN EASILY CHECK ON THE COURT HOUSE AND SEE/VERIFY THE ACTUAL OWNER ON THAT LOCATION AND THAT'S NOT ME.

 

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********

upon further review of the documentation we received, Louisville Water Co. feels that ****** ******* is responsible for the debt.  We will remove the disputed charges from your account.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with future questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

*********** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Louisville Water Co.

###-###-####

******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8748468, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

They should remove any late fee attached to my account, so i can pay my bill, it was not pay because they were requesting the whole amount with ******'s debt.  i like to pay my bill but i shouldn't be penalised, i have been calling the water company since they added ******'s debt to my account several times.  i called them and have tried to explain to them: ******'s debt is not my debt but they refuse to remove the debt. i have no other choice to contact you BBB so it can be resolved. I am thankful that we have you the BBB to help us customers that we all  want to do is pay our debts. The soonest i get the correct bill i will pay it. thanks ***** *******

Business Response:

The balance for the water bill that was disputed, **** ***** **, does not include a late fee.  The current balance is $88.28 for water usage during the period of July 12- September 10.

 

Please contact us at ###-###-#### to discuss in detail.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Manager, Customer Care

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8748468, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

Do i have any choice about the issued it was resolved , they took the balance off my account and after so much work and calling back and forth and wasting my time I was force to contact you

thanks

*****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.