This business is not BBB accredited.

Ken Towery's Tire and AutoCare

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-9599 Fax: (502) 499-1579 View Additional Phone Numbers 2103 Production Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.kentowery.com


Click for BBB Rating on Ken Towery's Tire and AutoCare

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Ken Towery's Tire and AutoCare. BBB of Upstate New York has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Ken Towery's Tire and AutoCare.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1969 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Towery, Owner Mr. Kris Towery, Zone Manager Mr. Greg Jones, Director of Retail Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Towery, Owner
Principal: Mr. Kris Towery, Zone Manager
Business Category

TIRE DEALERS

Alternate Business Names
Ken Towery Auto Care Centers Monro Muffler and Brake

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10006 Brownsboro Road

    Louisville, KY 40241 (502) 883-4626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10312 Dixie

    Louisville, KY 40272 (502) 935-6444

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1105 N. Dixie Ave.

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 506-2007

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11300 Westport Road

    Louisville, KY 40241 (502) 708-2500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11300 Westsport Road

    Louisville, KY 40242

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11480 Preston

    Louisville, KY 40229 (502) 964-0127

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11811 Shelbyville Road

    Louisville, KY 40243 (502) 245-9701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12344 Shelbyville Road

    Louisville, KY 40243 (502) 244-7031

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 S. Hurstbourne Pkwy

    Louisville, KY 40222 (502) 365-2900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1440 E. 10th

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 288-8482

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    164 East Brooke Court

    Mount Washington, KY 40047

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    164 Eastbrook Court

    Mount Washington, KY 40047 (502) 904-9500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2103 Production Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-9599 (502) 425-5249 (502) 966-3166 (502) 447-2034 (502) 448-8188 (502) 499-2600 (812) 941-9830

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3421 Bardstown Road

    Louisville, KY 40218 (502) 459-7574

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4037 Taylorsville Road

    Louisville, KY 40220 (502) 409-8473

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4050 Cane Run Road

    Louisville, KY 40216 (502) 447-2034

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4900 Dixie

    Louisville, KY 40216 (502) 409-5700

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5315 Dixie

    Louisville, KY 40216 (502) 448-8188

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6601 Preston

    Louisville, KY 40219 (502) 966-3166

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6919 Southside Drive

    Louisville, KY 40214 (502) 367-2275

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    710 E. Lewis & Clark

    Clarksville, IN 47129 (812) 282-0112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7511 Shelbyville Road

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 425-4402

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    806 Hausfeldt Lane

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 941-9830

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9710 Taylorsville Road

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 266-0113

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently I took my car to the Ken Towerys, located at ***** ******** ** ********** ** *****, I explained to the employee behind the counter the issue. I said My AC is stuck in the DEFROST position, how much would it cost to fix? He didnt explain to me that he was charging me $109.45 to diagnose the problem. When I ask why he didt explain himself better he got an attitude with me and was rude. I called their customer complaint number and pleaded my case. They had their DISTRICT MANAGER call me. The district manager raised his voice and cursed at me after giving me some smart-aleck replies to me giving him my side of the story. Normally I wouldnt waste anyones times on things like this, but I feel the line has been crossed by multiple people within this company. I will say the customer complaint department actually did a good job at trying to help. Not sure why the district manager called me. And I have no clue why he thought he could speak to a customer that way. The stores number is *************, the district managers number is **************

Desired Settlement: They agreed to refund 50% of my money. However, I would like to receive the rest of my money. An apology from those who were rude and disrespectful to me would be nice. But the money is the main thing. People like that shouldnt get a penny of a hard working persons money. Theyre crooks.

Business Response: To whom it may concern;

mr. ****** came into store with an issue and the manager explained that they would have to diagnose issue and that it would cost $100.00. Mr. ****** agreed and signed repair order. After the technician diagnosed problem, manager explained needed repairs and Mr. ****** declined repairs. He then paid for diagnostic charge and signed invoice.

mr. ****** then contacted our corporate customer service Nd stated he did not know what he was signing for. The customer service offered to refund 50% and Mr. ****** declined. 

Customer service asked that I reach out to Mr. ******, in which I did and Mr. ****** started cussing at me and I at that time stated we would only offer the 50% refund. He hung up and then proceeded to call corporate and complain about myself.

Mr. ****** complaint is invalid and we stand firm on our offer.

Sincerely,
******* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear. 
Me ****** left out the part where he yelled and cussed at me. Here's how it went down. 

Me : why do I need to pay you $100 to tell me about a problem I already knew existed?
****** : (in a smart tone) well did you know the name of the exact part you needed?
me : there you go, that's the same ********* answer that your employee gave me. 
****** : (yelling) wait a **** minute, you're not going to sit here and curse at me cause I'm not about to do a **** thing for you. 

I I hate when people say this but, I've been in retail for ten years and not once would I ever speak to a paying customer in this manner. And of course he's going to act like it's all my fault for signing papers. It's just too bad that I can't prove that I was just told to sign a paper and theyd take care of it.  What did he expect me to do after that phone call? Just act like it is okay for him to yell at me over the phone? The fact they they offered a 50% return should be proof enough that they're in the wrong. 
I'm highly upset and Unsastisfied with the way they've handled this situation. What ever happened to the customer is always right. 
Regards,

*********** ******

9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, April 3, 2015, I drove my 2004 Dodge Intrepid to Ken Towery's Tire and AutoCare (Store ****) for service for shimmying (front end of the vehicle), squeaking noise and wiper blades replacement. A copy of their service invoice is attached. First, the wiper blades weren't replaced. It had rained all day and was in fact pouring down when I returned to pick up the car or I might not have noticed that this had not been done. I had to immediately return to Ken Towery's and the person on desk duty came out in the rain and changed the wiper blades. The next day, Saturday morning, as I was pulling away from the curb in front of my house, I heard the same loud squeaking noise and went back to Ken Towery's. The store manager drove the car himself and acknowledged hearing the noise and said they would "fix it". Within a few weeks the sound was back but not as loud nor as constant but it does occur. Lastly, the car continues to shake very badly, in fact it has grown worse. I had advised store manager, ***** ******, on April 3 that I was having surgery for bladder cancer on April 6 and that I really needed the car in working order in the event that I would have to be driven to and from doctor visits. I am familiar with the car's quirkiness but it could have proven difficult for someone else to drive the car as it was/is. I did receive an apology and a card for a free oil change but I need a car that runs efficiently.As of today, Monday, June 29 the car continues to shake (violently at times) if not driven at a certain speeds. I took the car to Big O Tires for tires because some women I know said cars can shake or shimmy badly sometimes if your tires are bad. I did not tell the mechanics there anything about the shaking this morning but they told me that the bushing needed to be replaced. When they attendants were changing the tires they noticed the worn bushiing at the front end of the cars two tires. Their manager said that if the problem wasn't corrected, it would cause the new tires I just purchased to go bad. I have attached a copy of their price quote to correct this problem. This "bushing" problem is what I paid Ken Towery's to correct. I have no reason to believe that Ken Towery's repaired anything they told me they had and I should not have to pay for this service twice. I am willing for anyone to drive the car to see what I am stating here.I am seeking reimbursement for $896.45

Desired Settlement: I have taken my care to Ken Towery's twice (not including the initial visit to repair the car) and do not trust this dealer to make the repairs. I am requesting a full refund (minus the wiper blades) as I have since had the car taken to another mechanic. I felt the car was unsafe to drive as it was.

Business Response:

Customer was contacted by store manager.

Customer claims big o looked at vehicle as well, but did not fix it.

she had a friend repair the vibration, we tried to get her to bring receipts in for repair, but customer would not do so.

Could not help customer if she would not bring in receipts for what she had done.

thanks,

**** ****

Market Manager **

Ken Towery's Tire and Autocare Centers

***************** ****************

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a transmission flush on my 2002 Buick Rendezvous. After the work was done I was asked to sign a paper showing that I was advised in advance that the flush was not recommended for cars with high mileage. This was not true, so I told them that I would not sign and not pay until they changed the paperwork, which they did. Now I find that GM does not recommend flushing. I am unhappy with this and I consider it a cheap trick.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a partial refund and a change in their sales practice. No more cheap tricks.

Business Response:

The customer was advised before the work was done. The store told the customer that with the high mileage that his car has that flushing the fluid out if it was not done prior could hurt the transmission. The store was protecting themselves because the customer insisted on flushing. If the customer would like to contact me I would be more than happy to speak with them considering that we have phone numbers posted for any individual who has a concern.


Thank you,

******* ******

Market Manager ***

************* **** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/8/15 damage was done to 2007 Mustang GT/CS which is rarely driven. During service the driver's door was hit against alignment rack and paint chipped from edge.****, the store manager, said he had a paint person who will take care of it. Two calls by me and one from Ken Towery customer service were responded to with "Paint is still being matched up" as reason for me not receiving any contact. This has been over two weeks now.

Desired Settlement: I want refund paid for service and I will get repair done personally.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

I have spoke to the customer and advised that the touch up paint has been ordered. We are waiting on Ford. Customers concern was lack of communication with manager and all has been addressed.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****




 

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my truck off on Saturday August 15th for an oil change and tire rotation. I was called later that day saying they were done, but I did need a water pump. I opted to fix the water pump myself. I was charged $31 and told to pick up my truck. I picked up my truck and Tuesday August 19th I started to fix my water pump when I noticed NOTHING had been done. No fluids were topped off, oil filter was still dirty, and the oil was still dirty. I was charged for services they didn't do. I went up there and the manager at first wouldn't even come talk to me. I told the employee I wanted to talk to the manager and no one else. When he finally came over to me he argued with me in front of other customers that he watched them drain my oil, which was a lie because nothing was any different, they didn't even put the new mileage sticker on my window. After I called him out on this stuff in front of everyone he agreed to have them check and do it for real this time while I stood there. How many people are they scamming out money for services they are not performing??? I felt I should have gotten a refund for my time and trouble of having to go back up there and being lied to!

Desired Settlement: I feel since we were charged for services that were not done, then had to go back up there (20 minutes from our house) to bring to their attention that we knew they did not do the services we paid for that we should have been refunded. Good customer service would have refunded us and still completed the oil change instead of arguing me in front of other customers.

Business Response:

I have contacted customer and apologized, I have also agreed to refund for their troubles. I explained that this is not common practice that we would be investigating on our end as well.

Thank you,

******* ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

******** ******* ******


 

 

8/3/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially brought my car to Ken Towery to address water leaking into the floorboards of my car and faulty tail lights. After my car was serviced, I went on vacation and my car was not driven until I returned. Upon return, my emergency flashers and left/right turn signals were no longer functioning. I have never had an issue with wiring previously, and only after having my tail lights worked on did such an issue arise. While I have no direct proof that Ken Towery negligently repaired my lighting system, the circumstances seem very suspicious. What is certain, however, is that the leaking floorboards were not addressed. Upon returning after vacation and subsequent to an alleged "repair" of a clogged A/C drain, there was more water in the floorboards than before the car was worked on by Ken Towery. I returned to Ken Towery to explain that the problem had not been addressed and requested my money back for the unnecessary service of "unclogging the A/C drain." I was informed that nothing more could be done and that the leak was likely something that would need to be addressed by a body shop. The store refused to return the money that I paid for labor despite the fact the problem was not addressed and the issue they "worked on" was asymptomatic.

Desired Settlement: Since the service that was performed did not address the symptoms for which I brought my car in, I feel that a refund of the labor charge is only fair.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

 

I spoke to the customer and apologized. I asked customer if he had spoke to the Store Manager and he stated that he wasn't sure if the manager was there at the time. I told customer I would refund, no problem.

 

Thank you,

******* ******

Market Manager***

Ken Towery Tire & Auto Care

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******

 


 

 

In a strange, yet unsurprising, turn of events, my refund has been placed on hold. I am not surprised by this development as it appears to be consistent with the level of professionalism that I have come to expect from this company. Please see below for a chronological account of my experience since I initially filed my complaint with the BBB. Additionally, please find the emails referenced below in the attachment to this message. 

7/12/15 - I submitted my original complaint to Ken Towery. This complaint described my disappointment with being charged for a service that did not address the presenting problem. The complaint went on to note other complaints/impressions that developed as result of my interaction with this company. 

7/16/15 - I received no indication that Ken Towery had received/processed my complain. As such, I chose to report this unresolved customer complaint to the BBB. In filing my complaint, I added my original letter of complaint to Ken Towery as an attachment. 

7/17/15 - I was contacted by Ken Towery district manager, **** ******. Mr. ****** apologized for the incident, asked some questions, and assured me that I would be refunded for the service that did not address the problems that led me to come to Ken Towery in the first place. Mr. ****** specifically stated, "I saw that we had a BBB complaint, and I wondered how the complaint even got this far." I explained that I wrote a letter and submitted it on the Ken Towery website. Mr. ****** informed me that he had not received this letter, and assured me that my issues would have been addressed had my letter been brought to his attention. I placed a follow-up call to Mr. ****** to ask if there was anything that I would need to do in order to receive my refund. He assured me that such refund would go back on the credit card with which I paid. 

7/22/15 - I receive an email from Ken Towery explaining that my refund will be placed on hold. In this email, which I have attached for your reference, I was surprised to read that I had in some way continued to consider this an unresolved consumer complaint. Mr. ******, in this email, referenced my original 7/12/15 letter, and presented this as evidence that I must "obviously" not be interested in receiving a refund. After speaking with Mr. ******, I made no further effort to complain or discuss any dissatisfaction with the company. I am unclear as to why Mr. ****** would alter the terms of my refund when there has been no additional complaint or discussion related to my experience with Ken Towery subsequent to our 7/17/15 phone conversation. 

7/23/15 - I sent an email explaining that I would like to receive the aforementioned refund. I went on to explain that I would happily report this as a resolved complaint if my refund is granted, and that I would be forced to pursue other resolution with the BBB if my refund is denied. Please find a copy of this email attached. 

I have heard nothing else from any Ken Towery representative. I feel as if I am being penalized because Mr. ******, for whatever reason, did not read my letter until well after it had been sent. This "shoot first, ask questions later" attitude is yet another vivid example of why I will be avoiding this business in the future. Perhaps the BBB will have better luck communicating with this organization as I, the consumer, clearly am of no importance to this organization. 

Sincerely, 

 

****** ******* 

Business Response:

All,

 

refund has already been processed.

 

Thank you,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

 


 

 

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 27, 2015 I went to this company because I was having a problem with my van. I asked them to check to see what my problem was and I also asked them to check my transmission and if need to flush is out. They checked and told me that my transmission was fine and in the type of van that I have you didn't have to do that just the cooling system. They did give me a list of other things that they said needed to be repaired, being a ***** **** ******** I said ok, not knowing that the reason they did nothing about my transmission because they know that it was going out and told me nothing about that. I feel like and I was told that by them being professionals they knew what was going on and that they never should have done the other work because I was going to have to have my transmission repaired are get another car. I was told that's why they didn't flush it out because they new what was about to happen. I am very upset with this company, I have been dealing with them before and I thought that they were good people. I paid these people 1,200.00, for work that could have waited because they knew what was going on. I had this done on May 27, 2015 and by June 16, 2015 it Transmission stared humming and having problems changing gears. I know that people try to get over on women but, 1,200 is no joke for me I could have used that money for a down payment on a new one. I am so out done, I don't know what to do.

Desired Settlement: Because they knew by them being professional they knew that my transmission was getting ready to go bad, I desire a adjustment and a some type of a refund. I have my paper work from them and the paper work from pro built

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

After review with the technician and the documents for Ms. ****** vehicle, at the time the vehicle came into our shop had no evidence that the transmission had issues. While some of the symptoms that the customer was stating, there would be no way to diagnose transmission driving issues without codes in the computer at that time with the way both front axles and right front bearing were falling apart. Although I am sympathetic to Ms. ****** issues, I feel the shop has done nothing unethical and the breakdown of the vehicle was due to the vehicle being pushed to the limits by lack of maintenance. We at Ken Towery's can only advise with issues present at that time and we can not guess at future breakdowns. Please feel free to contact me if there is any other questions.

 

Sincerely,

**** ******

****** ******* ***

Ken Towery's Tire & Autocare

6/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last Friday, May 29th, our car continued having issues, but also started smoking under the wheels. We again, took our car to Ken Towerys because its so convenient to our house and were told that our rotors and brake pads were worn out.This visit to Ken Towerys cost us a little over $600. This is very frustrating because we have had to take our car to the service center on multiple occasions before this was checked out and continued to drive our car, wearing down on the parts, and making issues worse for months because we were told everything was inspected and was fine. On Saturday, May 30th, when i went to pick up the van, I asked why no one had mentioned the shape of the parts on the previous visits when I had taken the van there for inspection. The service manager told me that when I took the car before, I didnt specify what parts of the brakes that I wanted checked. I don't know the parts of the brakes- I just knew the issues that I was experiencing, which I described to the service team. I trusted Ken Towerys to fully assess the problems that I had been experiencing, but because they didnt do a full or even thorough inspection for whatever reason, I ended wasting a lot of time taking the van back and forth and causing additional damage to the brakes because issues werent resolved. This ultimately led to spending more money than necessary. There is still a burning smell coming from the two front wheels so I now have to have the vehicle to be serviced again.

Desired Settlement: I expect Ken Towerys to make this right by issuing us a refund for at least half of our last visit of $609.67 to compensate for our wasted time and money because of Ken Towerys repeated failures to do due diligence and assess our problems as needed. Our van's issues are still not resolved and we will have to take it somewhere else to get it checked out. This will be the 5th visit for the same problem.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

 

***** ****** came into our facility on April 11th and had the vehicle checked out. The manager at that time recommended brakes and the customer declined work to be done at that time. I feel we as a company advised customer of vehicle needs at the time but we can only recommend as professionals. I am sure after reviewing the attached documents you will concur with our findings.

 

If any additional information is needed or you have any other questions, please feel free to call me at************* or email at *******************

 

Sincerely,

******* ******

****** ******* ***

Ken Towery Tire & Auto Care

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We were told that the brakes were inspected and the pads weren’t even halfway worn. We were specifically told that no repairs were needed or recommended for the brakes.  We did not see the receipt that you're providing for the 4/11 date. If you notice, there is no signature on that receipt.

 

 

Regards,

***** ******

 


 

 

 

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prior to contacting Ken Towery, I had done background research about the issues I was having with my car. The engine light had come on in the car during the last week of February 2015. I read my car manual to find out what could possibly to causing the problem. The manual indicated that I should not drive the car, as driving could cause additional damage. Research was done, so I had specific information as to what the car generally needed to have done to correct the problem(s). The car was parked in the garage until I took it to Ken Towery on April 23, 2015. OUTLINE:4/23/15-Car taken to Ken Towery, informed the ****** Technician that I was having problems with the car not remaining on, causing me to restart the car several times. I informed the Technician that the Emission system was the problem. *Diagnostic screening to be conducted at $ 98.97.*Car left at the service depart and Technician to call with recommendations.*Technician called with the following recommendations or codes that indicated a need for service. 1. Oil system flush /oil change- car registered 3 quarts low (only 2 quarts in) and oil dark at $117.96. 2. Fuel system flush-fuel rail injectors engine receiving too much fuel at $132.99, special of $ 99.00. 3. Tune up-set of 6 spark plugs at a cost of $410.32 4. Fuel filter-recommended but not necessary at this time. 5. Air filter-dirty 6. Mass Air Flow System Sensor- causing flooding, sending signal that too much fuel being released, causing the car to shut off, cost of $298.75.*Customer questions and final decision to complete services or recommendations 1. Surprised that an oil issue existed because I always took my car back to the Dealer for oil changes. I did not agree with the Oil system flush, decided on an Oil change only at $29.00. 2. Informed Technician that I have put started up from time to time to make sure the battery would function. Technician stated that they would

Desired Settlement: It is evident that Ken Towery does not have the expertise to repair my car in order for my car to be driven without the threat of completely failing. I want to take my car to Sam Swope for the emission or catalytic converter to be repaired and for Ken Towery to pay for the repairs. I would also like to have detailed information about the testing of the mass air flow system sensor that indicated that the sensor was no longer in working order and a refund.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

 

I have called customer and advised that I wanted to keep her happy and explained that her being a customer for life was worth more than the $465.22 that she felt was work that was not needed. I offered to credit this money to the additional work that she needed.

 

After explaining this she still wanted to know how a shop would not just replace the convertors to begin with and I explained that depending on the code that the vehicle was giving would determine the direction you would start testing.

 

Mrs* ******* told me she would think about my offer and get back with me. I feel at this time that our offer is fair and is the right thing to do.

 

Thank you,

******* ******

****** ******* ***

Ken Towery's Tire and Auto Care 

2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been utilizing Ken Towery's services for years on my vehicles. Since late 2013 I had started to have repeated issues with my 2000 Ford Windstar SEL. In late 2013, my vehicle was diagnosed by Ken Towery Auto Care services of needing a new intake manifold, intake manifold gaskets and intake grommets which was causing the engine light code to state the engine is running lean on fuel/air. I had the vehicle repaired at the center. Around the month of the Dec 2014, the engine light came on again stating that the engine is running lean on fuel. Ken Towery Auto Care Center had diagnosed the problem and stated that the vehicle need the IMRC for the intake manifold needs to be replaced. I had the vehicle repaired at the center. On 2 Feb 15, the engine light came on again, I had check the engine light code at a nearby Autozone. The code tester had stated that the engine is running lean on fuel/air. Per visit with ********** ********** facility on 7 Feb 15 to get an opinion on the problem, they had diagnosed that the intake manifold gaskets are leaking and didn't understand why because it hasn't been long since Ken Towery's Auto Care Center replaced them. Also, the alternator was activating the engine light. ********** ********** Repair had stated that the alternator was not giving a proper load. The new alternator was recently replaced on 27 Nov 14 from Ken Towery's. ********** ********** had recommended that I take the vehicle back to Ken Towery's Auto Care Center to make the repairs because the problems should not have occurred. Dropped off the vehicle at the Ken Towery's on 8 Feb 15. On 9 Feb 15, Ken Towery Auto Care Center had called me. They said that alternator is defective and will replace. As for the intake manifold, they said that it is leaking from another part of the manifold and it will cost $1200 to repair. They said that it was not the problem that ********** ********** had stated on the written estimate that I had given to them. Inconsistent diagnoses by Ken Towery's at a high cost.

Desired Settlement: I have been a dedicated customer for years and made payments to Ken Towery Auto Care Services for quality work on my vehicles. I have paid for the repairs recommended by the facility that I thought I could trust in not trying to take advantage of me. Unfortunately, inconsistent diagnoses and expensive cost leads me to believe that it is not about customer service. I want my car repaired correctly with no cost to me. I had earned it at least that much as a dedicated customer for years.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

In regards to Mr. ***** vehicle that was fixed in late 2013, the part that was replaced was the upper intake gaskets. At this time the lower intake is leaking coolant. On this vehicle, you would not have sold a customer the lower unit to be fixed when only the upper unit was leaking. This would have been unnecessary additional cost to the customer at that time. Unfortunately, a vehicle tends to need additional repairs as it gets older. This is due to weather and wear and tear. I feel that Ken Towery's has done nothing wrong at this time other than possible miss-communication.  

Additionally, I will have one of our corporate employees that is presently at that store reach out to Mr. ***** and offer to show Mr. ***** what was done in the past and what is now needed.  

If I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* ******

Market Manager #78

Ken Towery's Tire & Auto Care%

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my daughter take her 2005 GMCY Envoy in for an oil and filter change on 9/15*** to Ken Towery Tire and Auto in ***** **********. They billed us for an oil change and filter change, plus a few shop fees. $13.95. The bill is not the issue. I changed the oil today and found that the oil filter and found my OLD oil filter from May of ****. also, the plug was so tight it stripped when I removed it, I had to buy a new one. $6.99. The oil was extremely thick (sludge and black) I'm not sure they even changed the oil. (but they charged me) I change the oil periodically myself to check for things like this. I was amazed when I removed the undercarriage cover and found that nothing appeared to have been done on 9/15/**. How many times is Ken Towery getting away with this for people who don't check or change their own oil? my ticket number was (Invoice******, Manager was******* ******** and the tech was** ******) I want others to know this is an issue and be careful when choosing your service provider... These guys are crooked. I plan to contact them tomorrow and confront their lack of service.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the work that was supposed to have been performed and a written apology from the Towery Family, not the store manager. I think they should be turned over to the ASE and have their shops audited for accredited auto service mechanics.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

 

In response to Mr. ******* *. ********* statement, we here at Ken Towery's  do not accept this type of behavior from our employees as we have terminated upon investigation.  Although we are not always able to catch dishonest people immediately when they do things of this nature, we do have procedures in place to try and stop this from happening.

Mr. ******* came by the store and the store manager apologized and immediately submitted a refund request for the service work in question, as well as the expense that Mr. ******* incurred purchasing for a new drain plug. If we are accused of not changing the oil should this have been refunded?

Again, we have refunded because of the oil filter not being changed and also terminated employee. We feel this is doing the right thing and should show Mr. ******* that we do right by our customers.

 

Sincerely,

 

******* ** ************ ******* **

Ken Towery's Tire and Auro Ca

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *******

 


 

 I am satisfied that they have taken the proper action regarding the employee, based solely upon the manager's comments. I don't feel that this branch has followed the proper procedures to ensure that this doesn't happen to their customers. Evidently they do not feel that the customers warrant the same standards your company may have put into practice for them to follow. Is sounds as though your management staff needs retraining as to the proper procedure that should be followed at each Ken Towery, that is assuming that all stores follow the same protocols. However, the comment made by your marketing manager was not acceptable and quite frankly offensive. He questioned whether Ken Towery's should have given me the refund. Lets revisit the issue, we brought our vehicle in to have an oil change which actually involves changing the filter and adding new oil with out damaging any parts in the process, however what actually occurred; you damaged the drain plug, they left the old filter in place, that we originally paid for when we changed the oil ourselves. I find that to be theft in the worst way.  I feel the refund is at the very least what you should have done.  I am a very honest person and take pride in doing the right thing, putting a question asking whether a refund should have been offered is not only offensive its in the poorest of taste and sounds as though you need to realize that Ken Towery's was in the wrong and the lack of responsibility you feel is quite pathetic.  I took the time to bring this injustice to Ken Towery's attention along with the damaged drain plug and old oil filter to prove to you I was not just out there to get a free oil change and this is the way you treat your customers. I have come to the conclusion that the management oversight is lacking or the procedure that you have supposedly put into place are sorely missing and maybe you need to start thinking of better ways of follow through so this does not happen again.  It really sounds as though you are more worried about the money being refunded than the service you are not providing. I guess you have helped me teach my daughter a valuable lesson; there are companies out there such as Ken Towery that are willing to take your money and give nothing in return and know the best way to ensure that something is done correctly is to do it yourself. She now knows there are truly "******" out there that will take advantage of you through any means possible to make a buck.

 %

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have ken towery (******* ****) replace back engine coils in our nissan in January. Three days later we were back having the front coils replaced. A fee weeks went by with no issues however that qucikly ended when the coils that were replaced in January burnt up. Ken towery replaced them. Then a fee weeks later they burn up again. At this time I am very very frustrated. I contactec their corporate office and and voiced my complaint. They had the district manager **** ***** call me. He promised me that they eould rrsolve the issue and I would be happy. I stated that so far that has been an empty promise. He stated they he wanted us to take the car to the Hurstbourne lane location because his best mechanic in town was. We took our car there (only because of warranty). They realized that Nissans could not have substandard coils and thats what they installed (after consulting **** ******* ****** ) do they got the coils needed and replaced them as well as a new catalytic convertor, computer etc. Ourcar has been in and out of their shop numerous times with numerous issues. Everytime we oick it ip and get it home we see another issue. Idleing, oil burning out the exhaust, exhaust pipe not rounded, hose cut and fluids leaking, wire hanging down etc, etc. I have a list of all the repairs that they have done. However, they have caused approx $6000-$12000 in damage to our engine. We have contacted the, for resolution and they are washing there hands of it. They are very rude. We have spoken to **** *****, ***** ******, ***** *******. I emailed **** *** **** and still have no resolution.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $2500 (approx) that was paid for the original repair. I would also like Ken Towery to pay **** ******* ****** to repair our car or put the repair costs towards another vehicle.

Business Response: Our corporate office has responded and settled this complaint.  We are terribly sorry it took so long for this to come to an end.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *****

 


 

 

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my truck to ken towery to have a spark plug that blew out of cylinder to have fixed. They repaired it using a heley coil. Two months later motor started missing on the same cylinder. They told me they could not remove the plug because it was stripped out. They said it needed a new head and it would cost 3000 dollars to replace it. I took it to another shop to look at it and he told me they did the wrong repair for the application and the end result was they ruined the head. You would think that if you took your vehicle to a SAE certified shop they would know the right application and fix it right the fist time. Called their customer care and have been getting the run around for two weeks now

Desired Settlement: Have head replaced and reimburse for improper repair and for other shop expense.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

Mr. ****** came into our Mt. Washington location with his engine misfiring. The technician at the shop recommended that the head be taken off and replaced. They also offered a much lower costing temporary fix. Mr. ****** had chosen to take the cheaper route in which we did from his authorization. When he brought this vehicle to some other repair facility they removed the plug from the heli coil in which it can't be replaced. He have no liability at that point. Mr. ****** argued this with our store and because of this it went to claims where we have an outside insurance company get involved, and the claim was denied

Thank you,

******* ******

Market Manager 78

Ken Towery's Tire & Auto care

6/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i took my car to get an oil change on 5/28/**. i went to eat lunch. as i was eating, i get a call from ken towery's telling me that i really need rear brake shoes, as they are paper thin. also, the invoice said that i need a break system flush. i declined the brake work. both of those brake services are stated on the invoice. today, 5/29/**, i took my car to ******** ***** on ******** ave ct. to check out my brakes. they called & told me that nothing is wrong with my back brakes, but they would charge me for a half an hour to clean up my rear brakes.

Desired Settlement: i would like to get a refund for the 30 minutes of service that i paid american brake. (i don't have that amount, yet. also, i did call ken towery's corporate office to voice my complaint. later i got a call & had a very nice conversation with a regional worker who is very concerned, & promises to deal with this problem. he asked me if i wanted a free complimentary oil change, which i accepted. so if ken towery wants to only pay the difference between the oil change & the half hour labor, i do understand.

Business Response:

Good morning,

A refund request has been made for an additional $19.39 at customers request to go along with the free oil change voucher that was previously issued.  I wish we could do more to alleviate customers concerns about how he feels about his last visit to our store.  I have apologized again, and informed him of the internal disciplinary action that took place.  He states he just wants to let as many people know what occurred as possible.  I had talked to the people where his brakes were adjusted, they assured me they would call me back and text me pictures of what the brakes looked like, they did not follow through.  I am more than willing to inspect the brakes personally to see which mechanic was correct in their diagnosis.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

 

******** ***** ********  


 

in the response from the representative at ken towery,  at no time was it ever mentioned that anyone who was found responsible,  would be fired.   this is unacceptable to me,  because the whole ordeal appeared to be based upon the unlawful act of deception toward a customer.  that being me.

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday May 12* ****, I took my 2003 Ford F150 Supercrew truck into Ken Towery. I explained that I was getting heavy vibrating when I stepped on the breaks. I told the service manager that I had new rotors put on in November 20** by ******* in Louisville, less than 7 month ago. Even though the rotors had been replace by ******* I still felt that the vibrating was coming from the front of the truck. The service manager said they would check it over. After checking the truck he came back and said I needed upper ball joints in the front and rear rotors because the technician said the vibration was coming from the rear of the truck. I told them to go a head with the repairs. The techinician with Ken Towery took me home and then later picked me up after the truck was done. While driving back to Ken Towery the tech told me that their was still vibration and that I needed to take it to meineke. When I drove the truck there was absolutely no change in the braking from when I first brought it into Ken Towery. The cost of the repairs was $949.97! I took my truck to ******* on May **th and they found that one of the front brakes had rusted to the rotor. ******* stated that the techs at Ken Towery should have seen this. ******* replaced the rotor at no cost to me. Ken Towery shouldv'e been honest and simply said take it to ******* it is your front rotors, I believe they didn't because they knew the rotors were under warranty with ******* and they would not be making any money off the repair. When I got my bill I also noticed on the invoice that it had lower ball joints instead of upper. When I question the service manager **** ************* he said he said "Lower" when he quoted me the price. I told him how could the lower ball joints need to be replaced since I had already had them replaced in 20** at Ken Towery's on Preston Hwy. I have done thousands of dollars of business with Ken Towery and I want them to honor my past business by refunding my money for these unnecessary repairs that were made.

Desired Settlement: I want the cost of the repairs that were done on 5/12/** which total $949.97 refunded!

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

 
I have spoken to the customer on this issue. It is my professional opinion that the original ball joints that were in installed could have been defective. Under normal circumstances they would be out of warranty but with the lack of miles on vehicle since original work was performed I explained that I would refund that to the customer. She said she was satisfied with my offer. 
 
Thank you,
 
**** ************ Manager **
Ken Towery's Tire and Auto Care
*************

Consumer Response:

 

****** ****************** *************************** ***** ******* *** *** **** ***** ** *** ********************** ******** *** *** **** * *** ******* **** *** ********** *** ********* *********

 

To BBB.

 

I spoke to Mr. ****** the district manager for Ken Towery and he has promised to refund the amount for replacing the ball joints and alignment.  I appreciated Mr. ******'s rapid response to my issue and I am satisfied with the resolutions. Because Mr. ****** valued me as a returning customer and resolved the issue quickly, I will continue to conduct business with Ken Towery.

Sincerest,

**** ********* **** **** ** ** *** ** **** ** *** ***********

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *********

 


 

 

 

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent nearly $100 for an oil change in this business and they caused more damage and did not even do the oil change correctly. They kept overfilling the oil tank. I took it back four times and still the engine sensor registered hi oil limit. After the fourth visit, it leaked oil.I returned again for 5th attempt and they told me the transmission lines were leaking, and it would cost $565 to repair. It never leaked any thing before I took it to them the first time.I complained to the manager about this and he (*****) said he would check with his boss.I immediately to it to another shop who specializes in my make and model. They inspected it and found that it was leaking oil due to an oil pan plug seal was not replaced when Towery did the oil change. They also found that a paper oil filter was installed instead of the Manufacturer recommended filter they said they sold me. The new service mechanic also had to give me a new oil change to fix Towery's errors ($112). There were NO leaks in the transmission lines or any other areas of the vehicle. I suspect Ken Towery was trying to steal by deceiving me.

Desired Settlement: I not only want a refund, but need reimbursed for the $112 I spent with another mechanic to get it done right.In addition, I had to take off work five times, and drive back and forth 5 times. I complained to the corporate offices and they told me they would not reimburse for the money I spent to fix their issues (they lost my oil seal and could have damaged the engine). I am extremely concerned that many of their customers have not been given honest service or quality service.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

I contacted the customer and apologized as well as offered to refund the cost of his service with us. The customer wanted us to refund the cost of our oil change and the cost of the oil change he had done at the dealership. If we refund ours he has not incurred any additional cost. Whether he had the oil changed with us or them he would have paid somewhere. I tried explaining this to the customer and he said he would see me in court. My offer still stands to refund his service at our facility.

 

Thank you,

 

******* ******
Market Manager 78

Ken Towery Tire & Auto Care 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****

 


 

Of course I want a refund for the lack of service at Ken Towery!    The person who responded refused to listen that after 5 attempts to get the oil changed at Towery- I had to take it to another shop.  The other shop discovered it my oil had been over-filled and the seal to the oil tank was not replaced by towery- causing leaks-which the other shop fixed.  In addition for the refund from Towery- they should pay for damages they did to my car!  There could be even more damage to the engine due to over-filling- if that's the case I want a new engine!

I am not the only customer this has happened to from this Towery Store.  While in their waiting room-another customer said they did the same thing to her car.  This makes me suspect this store is either inept or cheating customers or both.  The Attorneys General office is my next step-  Consumers need protected from this company! 

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to your *********** Lane location today, Saturday, 4/5/2014, to remedy three problems that I have with the brakes on my '06 Lincoln Zypher. The problems that I reported were 1) Brakes going to the floor when administered 2) Low Brake Fluid Level message on the dash and 3) Brake Warning Light illuminated. Following inspection, the technician stated that I had a brake leak at the passenger rear caliper and that their recommendation was to replace both rear calipers on the vehicle @ a rate of approx. 680.00 to which my response was that I had not noticed any brake fluid leaking from my vehicle; however, at the insistence of your representative ******* and Manager *****, I conceded and agreed to allow the replacement of the affected caliper, only at a rate of approx. $380 despite the fact that several repair shops earlier in the day had stated, following inspection that I only needed to have the brakes bled to remove air from the line to repair issue #1 referenced above. Nonetheless the work was performed and when I returned to the shop to inspect the car I was astonished to find that issues #2 and #3 referenced above had not been remedied at all and your technicians made no effort to bring this to my attention. When questioned, I was told that they did not even take the time to diagnose the other issues and when I complained I was told by ******* that because I refused to replace both Calipers they did not see a need to perform any further inspection of my vehicle. ******* went on to express that the low brake fluid and warning lights were possibly due to the fact that I needed to replace the master cylinder at a rate of $500. With utter disgust, I left the store and called back to speak with the Manager, *****. I explained to ***** that I was 100% dissatisfied with the service provided and insulted by the technicians suggestion that I needed to replace the master cylinder and that furthermore, I have zero confidence in the recommended replacement of the calipers since there was zero indication of a brake leak. While in the store, ***** was well aware of my issuance of complaint and never bothered to intervene yet via phone he apologized and offered to reinspect and/or diagnose the problem causing the low fluid light and brake warning lights if I return the vehicle on Monday. As a result of this experience, I feel strongly that I was misled in your store today and charged for a repair service that was not needed while the problems that prompted my visit in the first place persists.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the service work performed because they failed to resolve the problems that prompted my visit to your establishment today. Everyday recommended services are declined and that is not a rationale reason for failing to provide the services requested.

Business Response:

***** I spoke with the manager about this complaint and first thing is first. A brake light being on is a true sign that there has possibly been a brake fluid loss. The store checked the car and advised the customer what she would need to fix the vehicle 100% dealing with the brakes. The customer after speaking to other people (that had not seen the vehicle at that time) said only fix a portion of this. That being said there is still other things that need to be performed and the store even offered to re-inspect the vehicle to be sure that something was not missed. We have multiple locations in the city and I have no issues re-inspecting so I can even see it myself. I feel the shop has lived up to their end and offered to recheck, if the customer does not want to give us that opportunity I am lost for words. Please re-offer to have recheck even at another one of our location.

 

Sincerely,

 

******* ****** ****** ******* ** Ken Towery's Tire & Auto Care

**** *** ******** ******* **

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

Greetings ****, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that the proposed step towards achieving a resolution, too reinspect the brake system and resolve the original issues, is acceptable. 

However, the response statement that the brakes were repaired at 100% is false and misleading. I took the car to this establishment to address all of the brake issues and the fact that I still have a brake light that is on and a dash message displaying that the brake fluid level is low if proof that the repairs for which I was charged for were not performed at 100% or more importantly not warranted at all. 

The other mechanics that I referenced in my complaint had in fact inspected my car on the same day, within an hour, prior to my visiting your shop and stated that the brakes needed to be bled along with a computer reset and either did not have the staff on hand to perform the job or an extended wait time that morning which is why I came to the Hurstbourne location. One of these other locations included Ken Towery's **** ************** *****.

I will wait for the business to reinspect and resolve all of the brake issues without incurring additional fees and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ******

 


 

 

3/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday, February 7, 2014, I went to Ken Towery to be serviced for an oil change and new tires. I was quoted for a set of tires and an oil change for $354. Then, a few hours later I receive a call from a Ken Towery employees who stated that the employees could not pull my tire off (which has never happened before) and that they had to break it off and that I had nuggets miss and was charged for a total of five (which was only two missing originally) and that I would be charged $540. Then, when I arrived to pick up my vehicle I was told that I would have to pay for a wheel alignment of $100, which I was never made aware of when I was originally quoted. Then, I was told my balance would be $670. I was never told that I would be charged additionally for the wheel alignment, when I was originally quoted. I was dissatisfied with my service because of the price that I had to pay and due to the co-worker originally misleading me. My front tire on my car has a little too much movement and feels unbalanced, which could be from the alignment not being complete properly.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of 100 for wheel alignment that I was never informed of initially.

Business Response:

We are very sorry to hear about this lack of communication and will gladly refund the alignment.  I need to know what store this occurred. 

Thanks for letting us know we need to imporve and giving us an opportunity to coach our employees, 

Kris Towery

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had Ken Towery replace my alternator and battery. To do this they had to drop the front axle in order to access the alternator. After repairs I noticed that there was a thumping noise coming from the front of my Escape when turning left or when passing over bumps in the road. I took the car back to them and explained that something did not sound right, asking them to fix it. They told me that their mechanic drove it and heard nothing. This does not ring true because the noise continues and is very noticeable. I believe that in putting the axle and associated parts back together that something was done wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want the repairs made correctly or my money refunded.

Consumer Response: The repairs were completed on ******* **** 2013.  The repair cost was $729.93

Business Response:

We've had Mr. ***** into the store. It appears his lower ball joint was making the noise. We've replaced the ball joint a no charge at the customer is satisfied. We consider this closed

 

**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****


 

 

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10-30-13 I took my '96 Chevy S-10 to Ken Towery to have a rear axle seal replaced. I was quote $22 just to look at it. They took it for a 20 min test drive which I didn't understand why that was needed when I told them what I wanted done. They came back and proceeded to tear the underside of my truck apart without first telling me they were doing this needless to say I was shocked when I stepped outside to see if they were even back from test drive. What was originally quoted ended up costing me $52.51. The repairs they quoted that I needed wound up coming close to $1300.00 and one of the repairs listed involved replacing a ball joint that I had just replaced not more than 2 months ago. They wanted to put on 4 new tires, rear brakes, a pinion seal, U-Joint, the ball joint and rear axle seal/bearings. I could not afford that and it wasn't what I wanted done they said they could not fix that without doing those. I told them to put it back together and we left. I noticed that when they put the wheels back on the truck there was a nail/screw stuck in the tire that was not there when got there. I am very picky with my truck and there are some things I check on a daily basis and I know for a fact that nail/screw was not in the tire when we got there. Then within a wk of taking it there our truck has died completely and we have no idea why. I keep up on my maintenance and there should be no reason why it died. What did the serviceman that took it for the test drive do to my vehicle. The unfortunate thing is that I cannot prove they did something to my vehicle when I truly feel they didn't reconnect something or did something to it that would make it break down after we left there so we would have to bring it back. I will never go there again and will definitely not recommend them to anyone. They are crooks

Desired Settlement: First of all I would like the $30 they overcharged on the quoted $22. I would also like to have my vehicle running again but I highly doubt they will do it. I feel they purposely didn't put it back together correctly so we would have to return for all the repairs they quoted. Which I know will never happen. This company is a bunch of crooks and I will never go there again nor would I recommend them to anyone

Business Response:

Spoke with Mrs. ********* and apologized that her S10 with 199,241 miles broke down.  I have reviewed the inspection, estimate, and invoice.  The test drive was performed because the customer stated their was a seal leaking, and that there is a clunking noise, driven to determine where noise was coming from, and what kind of noise it is. 

Inspection was performed on 10/30/2013, and I have issued a $30.51 refund due to miscommunication between the customer and the store. 

I offered a 20% discount towards the repair of the truck, but by what she is describing, it sounds as if the fuel pump has failed.  The fuel pump is electric, and like a light bulb, can fail without warning.

While I do sympathize with the truck breaking down with 199,241 miles on it, we did not cause it to brake down, but still would help due to the cost of needed repairs and due to the timing of the failure.

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought new wheels and tires from another business. Went to ken towery for an alignment to ensure even wear on new tires. Left confident thinking I don't have to be concerned about uneven tire wear. Drove for 6 months and then noticed uneven wear on inner edge of both front tires. I returned to ken towers for service and they 're-aligned not knowing why it was out and having no record of service on previous visit. Tires are very expensive and I want them replaced to match the wear on the rear.

Desired Settlement: Replace damaged tires

Business Response: While we are sorry that Mr. ***** is not happy that he needed to have the alignment done on his vehicle 6 months after having paid for an alignment previously, it is recommended to have the alignment checked every 6 months.  The reason for this is that roads do have bumps, potholes, etc.  that can cause the alignment on a vehicle to change.  We do offer a 90 day warranty on alignments as customer satisfaction, but the only way for the alignment to change on a vehicle is to have a tire impact something in the road, replacement of steering or suspension components, or even vehicle sag from age which occurs over a longer period than 6 months.  While we do appreciate Mr. *****'s business, no refund will be forthcoming for a manufacturer condition that is out of our control.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked Ken Towery Tire and Auto, (store # 1150) located at ***** ******** ****, Louisville, KY 40241 if they could balance 24" rims/tires they said they could charge me for the work and the wheels was not balanced correctly. I brought it back 3 days later and they said they would look at it for free. Then I was told they did not have the equipment to balance my size rims/tires. They lied to me and charged me for work the could not do, nor had the means to do. Was told I could get a in-store credit or a refund that at would take 6-8 weeks. I called a month later and they paper work was NOT filed on my refund. The people were very rude and unprofessional.I called corporate office and left a message about what I was going through. The next day manager had called me and said he was the new store manager the old one had been fired and I needed to come into the store to sign paperwork about my refund. I went to the store that same day and the people were very rude and unprofessional once again. After talking with a different manager I was told I did not have to come into the store and that he will call me when my refund has been processed. I still have not received a phone call about the refund process and this has been going on since July 6, 2013.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and apology and free oil change/tune-up

Business Response:

Below is the response to this complaint

 

****,

I called and spoke with ****** *******, and he was mostl;y upset that we
could not properly balance his large 24 inch wheel and tire combo. He was
also upset that the issue with balancing them was not communicated to him
on the first visit. I spoke with him on the phone and assured him that we
would love the opportunity to change his opinion of our service and staff,
and I also promised him that his refund request would be put through this
morning.

He was satisfied and told me he would be by Monday to see me.

Thanks, ****

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Late in the day on Friday, August 16, 2013, I dropped off my 2007 Hyundai Tucson off at the Ken Towery on Westport Rd for a routine oil change. They said they would call me on Saturday morning when the service was complete.Saturday morning they called and said the oil change was complete but that they noticed my front brake pads were very worn and should be changed. They stated they could do so for $149.99. I told them to go ahead and perform this service. About 45 minutes after receiving the call about the brake pads, I told my husband they had called. He said to me that we had just had the same store change my brake pads in May 2013. We pulled the old receipt out of the file cabinet and he was correct! On May 11, 2013 this same location charged us for changing the front brake pads (in addition to a whole other slew of repairs totaling $1,436.86).He called the store and asked why they were changing brake pads that had just been changed in May. He got the run around and excuses and was told they must have accidentally changed the back brakes in May because the back brakes looked brand new. They said they would change the front brakes and not charge us. How did they change the back brakes by mistake??? We never could get an answer to that.When we went to pick up the vehicle the manager in charge gave us the excuse that the computer system was new and not all employees knew how to use it correctly. My husband asked, "how new"?" and the manager said it was changed in December. They have had months to learn the new system but still blamed this on the computer. The manager, *****, was not apologietic and just kept saying it was because the tech didn't know how to use the computer system. We have been faithful customers for nearly 5 years. We have trusted this company and referred many others to them. I will make sure people know about this expierience and how the company didn't do what they said they would do and tried to charge me twice.

Desired Settlement: This company has lost our trust and our business. They can be certain that for every person we told about their great service in the past, we will be telling ten people about the horrible scam we experienced this past weekend.

Business Response:

Here is there conversation the store manager had with the customer,

 

I spoke with Mrs. ******** about the issue and apologized for the
confusion. They were very happy to hear someone cared enough to apologize
and they brought their vehicle back for us to inspect just a few minutes
ago. I met with Mr. and Mrs. ******** personally and spoke with them again,
and extended my personal apology for the way the situation was mishandled.

I am conifdent that we have restored the customers trust in the company,
and I personally guaranteed they would be satisfied from this point
forward. As a gesture of good faith, I have applied a credit  for $164.99,
the amount of the original brake job they paid for in May 2013. They were
extremely satisfied.

Please let me know if we can do anything further to help resolve the issue.

Thanks

****

 

**** *****

Market Manager

Ken Towery's Tire & AutoCare 

Business Response:

Here is there conversation the store manager had with the customer,

 

I spoke with Mrs. ******** about the issue and apologized for the
confusion. They were very happy to hear someone cared enough to apologize
and they brought their vehicle back for us to inspect just a few minutes
ago. I met with Mr. and Mrs. ******** personally and spoke with them again,
and extended my personal apology for the way the situation was mishandled.

I am conifdent that we have restored the customers trust in the company,
and I personally guaranteed they would be satisfied from this point
forward. As a gesture of good faith, I have applied a credit  for $***.**,
the amount of the original brake job they paid for in May 2013. They were
extremely satisfied.

Please let me know if we can do anything further to help resolve the issue.

Thanks

****

 

**** *****

Market Manager

Ken Towery's Tire & AutoCare 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

The company has fulfilled the resolutions they outlined in their email response and I am very satisfied.  I am grateful the company cared enough to make things right and I am extremely pleased with the response and assistance the store manger, ****, provided during our conversations and when we took the vehicle back to them.

Regards,

**** *** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

The company has fulfilled the resolutions they outlined in their email response and I am very satisfied.  I am grateful the company cared enough to make things right and I am extremely pleased with the response and assistance the store manger, ****, provided during our conversations and when we took the vehicle back to them.

Regards,

**** *** *****

 

 

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, My name is ******* ******** I am an Application Engineer at Humana, I take night courses student at University of Louisville (Speed Scientific School of Engineering). I also teach Computer Science at the Sullivan University to under graduate students. I am an Eagle Scout an active in my Parish, as well as and an average Tax paying citizen that only wants to better his community. I wanted to bring to you attention that a local business known as Keny Towery's located on S Hurstbourne Pkwy seems to rip customers off. I went into their shop a few weeks ago to have two new tires put on my car as well as have my oil changed and my tires rotated in the process. They charged me $220 dollars which is a fair price however when I got my car back my wheel would shake between the speeds of 60 and 80 MPH. So naturally I thought this was due to the fact that my tires weren’t balanced properly before being put on my car. I then went back up to Ken Towery’s the following day and explained to them my problem they told me they were too busy to take a look at my car today, and that I would need to bring it back into tomorrow or between 9-5 (which are the hours I work as well as most people) or call and set up an appointment. They also told me they thought it was the tires that I had left on being rotated to the front of the car my cause this problem. Which could be possible but highly unlikely, I then responded saying then rotate them to the back. I called two more times explaining my problem and they failed to tell when I could bring my car into have it looked at so finally I had my wife bring the car in around 9 while I took her car to work as I arranged for her to barrow one of her family members cars for the day. They were really nice to her they told her they would do a full inspection of the car and rotate the tires as I requested. Here’s where things start to get stupid they call me a work staying I need about 700 dollars’ worth of work to my car. THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW TIE ROAD, SHOCKS, BALL JOINT, ALLIGHMENT THIS WOULD ALL COST ME 700 DOLLARS. See what they fail to realize is that I worked at ford motor company on the line when I was younger and I know how to change my breaks and oil. As well as the fact that I’m not some sucker. So naturally I took my car back to Big O Tire, where I’ve been having work done own my car for years and I was RIGHT! It was just a the tires needed to be rotated as I suspected. I didn’t need new shocks or a tie rode and I didn’t need a new ball joint for about 6 months or so. WHICH BRINGS ME TO THE END OF MY STORY THERE AND THE FACT THAT THEY WERE TRYING TO ***** ME OVER, THEY DID A JOB POORLY AND DIDN’T WANT TO FIX IT OR ADMINT FAULT. INSTEAD WHEN I HAD MY WIFE TAKE MY CAR UP THERE THEY THOUGHT I WAS A SUCKER FOR HOW NICE SHE IS. AND TRIED PINNING ME AS A MARK WHICH THEY SCEW OUT OF 700 DOLLARS. YOU REALLY NEED TO GO INSPECT THIS COMPANY BECAUSE IF THEY TRIED TO RIP ME OFF HOW MANY OTHER PEOPLE AREN’T REALIZING IT? Thank you for your time & God Bless. ******* ******** ***** ********

Desired Settlement: I not really that concerned with a refund but if I had to ask for something I'd like them to just give me my money back because the never compleated the job. I mainly want to bring this to your attention because there just plain scewing people of out money. I was just smart enough to catch them.

Business Response: I have contacted the customer and will be inspecting the car this SAT at 10 AM at **** *********** parkway.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Why would I ever bring my car back to you ******?!?!? 

 

There’s an old saying fool me once shame on you! Fool me twice shame on me! I called and called and Ken Towery’s multiple times and went to your store twice, and even had my girlfriend take my car up there the final time. Asking you to rotate my tries finish the job you started.Your company FAILED TO FINISH THE JOB THAT YOU STARTED AND INSTEAD GAVE ME AN OUTLANDISH SHEET OF PROBLEMS WITH MY CAR TOTALLYING OVER 700 DOLLARS. Therefore I took my car to a more trusted placed that I’ve used for years, they rotated my tires for free and inspected my car and told me you all were trying to screw me as I suspected.  Why on earth would I bring my car back to Ken Towery’s again and waste my time? I no longer want to do business with your company! I already fixed the problem, the only thing you could do is refund my money and I really don’t care if you do.  Best Buy started treating customers this way too and there going out of Business. I'm contacting the Attorney Generalas well.    

Regards,

******* ********


 

 

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2012, I had my entire air conditioning unit replaced in my 2006 Ford Taurus. The air conditioner worked fine after repaired, however I had no need for using it during the winter time. May of 2013 was the first time I used my air conditioner and it worked fine for about a month and a half. The end of June, it began blowing warm air. I took my car in to get checked, out. After waiting for 3.5 hrs they told me the Orifice tube was clogged and it needed to be replaced. When it came time to check out, I was charged for the new part, freon, and other services rendered while figuring out what was wrong with my air. After spending almost $1100.00 on a new air conditioner, I feel that this should have been covered under warrenty and I should have not been charged anything. The service techs told me that this rarely happens and after replacing an air conditioner, you should never have to replace it again. I was very unhappy after being charged double for something that should have been done right the first time, and if there was a faulty piece of hardware, fixed without charge. The issue now becomes can I trust going back to my mechanic for repair problems, when clearly if something goes wrong by no fault of my own, I will have to spend more money to fix it.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refunded for what it cost me to have my air conditioned fixed, again.

Business Response: I need to know the store address so I can investigate. 


I am sorry to hear we did not meet expectations and we will try and make things right. 

Kris 

Business Response:

Sorry I missed the address!

I appologize we did not warranty the part, and will have a refund issued.  It will take 2 weeks.  We greatly appreciate your business and will try and regain your trust.

 

Thanks,

**** ****** 

8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was dropped off on Friday morning 7/26/13, keys were laid on the counter with ***. Upon arriving home, we got a phone call stating that the keys were not left. We had to make another trip to drop off our other set of keys. They take zero responsibility for losing the keys. Not even an apology. The key is $100+ so at the very least they could have at least given an apology. Upon arriving with the second set of keys, we searched our car, parking lot, etc....no keys to be found.

Desired Settlement: A key replacement would be great, but at least acknowledging the fact that they lost them would be great!

Business Response: We agreed to split the cost of a new key. 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response, purchased the key, and they have a copy of the receipt to satisfy my portion of the resolution in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to send me their portion of the price of the key, if they do, I will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Ken Towery's Tire and AutoCare
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart