Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Metropolitan Sewer District

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 587-0603 Fax: (502) 540-6106 View Additional Phone Numbers 700 W Liberty Street, Louisville, KY 40203 http://www.msdlouky.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metropolitan Sewer District meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metropolitan Sewer District include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metropolitan Sewer District
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1946 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Collier, MSD CFO Mr. Greg Heitzman, Executive Director Mr. Steve Tedder, Community Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Collier, MSD CFO
Principal: Mr. Greg Heitzman, Executive Director
Principal: Mr. Steve Tedder, Community Relations
Business Category

SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER COMPANIES-UTILITY HAZARDOUS WASTE REMOVAL

Alternate Business Names
Louisville & Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District MSD

Additional Locations

  • 700 W Liberty Street

    Louisville, KY 40203 (502) 587-0603 (502) 540-6345 (502) 540-6000

  • P O Box 740011

    Louisville, KY 40201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Late fall of 2014 I had the backflow prevention installed in my basement that MSD was promoting. The equipment is to prevent water from flowing back into your house from outside. This backflow prevention is a program that MSD does for free. This lead me to believe that if MSD is doing this for free then it seems to me that they know there is a flaw in there system somewhere. To prevent this from happening to me I felt I should take advantage of it. In the early morning hours of 4/3/15, Louisville had a large amount of rain, several inches over a short period of time. When I got up the morning of 4/3/15, I had seen the ditches where raised considerably, so I went to inspect my newly finished basement, literally less than two months for any water. I was sick to my stomach to find my newly installed carpet, laminate flooring, baseboards, tools, computers, some furniture and clothing was sitting in water, that came up through the floor drain!!! This floor drain, that was supposed to be protected by the backflow prevention. I called MSD and they sent out Mr. ********. He inspected it and could not really determine why it happened. He said it could be due to the build up on it and asked if I had cleaned it. The build up was minimal and it was inspected in Nov '14. That build up was on the outside of the flap that could have came from the backup of water coming into the piece of equipment. Also he said debris could have came in from the backflow of water and wedged it up. He doesn't know. I was told that this was an act of GOD and MSD will not be helping anyone out. My response to that was God did not install the sewer lines and this equipment was supposed to prevent this from happening.

Desired Settlement: I am not asking for MSD to cover all my losses. Luckily I had insurance that covered most of the repairs and cleanup up to a certain amount. Since this system was supposed to prevent the backflow of water into my basement, I am asking if MSD will pay the difference of what my insurance could not.

Business Response:

See attachment for response and documents in it's entirety.

I am writing on behalf of the Louisville and Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District, in my capacity as Assistant Legal Counsel and in response to the complaint submitted by **** ****** *****, ID *********. The complaint stems from the failure of a backflow prevention device that MSD paid to have installed in Mr. *****’s house in September of 2014.

MSD offers two voluntary programs under its Plumbing Modification Program to reduce basement backups and remove improper connections to the sewer system. This program has helped thousands of property owners prevent basement flooding, decrease sewer system overflows to the streams and river and improves the overall water quality within Jefferson County. MSD offers this voluntary program, usually at NO CHARGE to the customer and it is a voluntary program. Once a property owner signs up for the program, this device is installed in the house by a licensed plumber. The customer is provided with an operation and maintenance manual and signs a release which releases MSD of any claims for liability stemming from the installation of the device and the customers failure to maintain the device. I have included a copy of the O &M manual and a copy of the release signed by Mr. *****.

In investigation the incident that Mr. ***** is complaining of MSD respectfully disagrees with his recitation of the facts. After the incident, on April 16, Plumbing Modification Supervisor Marty ********* met with Mr. ***** to review the situation. Mr. ********* observed that in the 6 months since installation, the flapper was already coated with grease and sludge. Mr. ***** admitted to Mr. ********* that he had never cleaned the valves as recommended. In addition, he admitted he did not close the shut off valve once he observed the backup. Mr. ********* has speculated that when the basement was finished that Mr. ***** had carpeted over the valves. Mr. ********* advised Mr. ***** again of the maintenance and operation procedures. Per the release signed by Mr. *****, failure to maintain the device waives any claim against MSD,

Further evidence in support of MSDs position that it is not responsible for Mr. *****s loss is that, as a comparison, ** homes on ****** ***** have participated in the program and had sewer backup protection installed. Of the 11, only Mr. ***** reported a backup on April 3. During the timeframe of April 2, 1015-April , 2015, over -8 inches of rain fell in Jefferson County. Thus, it appears that the devices performed accordingly. For the reasons set forth herein, MSD does not believe it has any liability.

If you have any questions, need any additional information or would like to discuss MSDs response, please feel free to contact me at ********.

Sincerely,

******* ***** ******, Assistant Legal Counsel



 

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/8*** the MSD main sewer line backed up causing raw sewage to back flow into our washing machine. The machine filled with sewage and overflowed flooding the basement. MSD promptly arrived to clear the line and in the same day arranged for clean up. This part is ok; however, effort put into the washing machine is the main problem. The service technician they sent to inspect the washer on 8/12/**** was not an authorized LG service provider and therefore cannot ensure that our warranty is not at risk from this damage. The service tech was here only long enough to turn on the machine, remove the back and run a quick spin cycle. He did state there was still sewage inside the frame of the machine but it was not his job to clean it. The clean up company then sent a technician out to remove the contaminated laundry that was left inside the machine since the 8th and to clean the machine (8/13/****). The cleaning tech proceeded to put an antimicrobial into the washer cycle, then left the premises. This did not solve the problem as the washer still wreaks of sewage. In addition to the obvious stench, there was no effort to clean outside of the washer drum and the frame of the washer. I have contacted LG to ask about any risk to the warranty for this problem and they agreed that if any unnoticed damage occurred that caused a claim later the warranty would be invalid. The washer was purchased new April **** so it has most of its warranty in place. In addition to the washer problem, there is a kitchen table beside the washer / dryer set that I believe was damaged during the clean up process. My wife and I picked up the table to inspect behind the dryer when the back table leg fell off. It had clearly been broken and placed back together. We were not notified by the cleaning company of the broken table leg.

Desired Settlement: We expect a full replacement of the washing machine with the same make and model including the 3 year extended warranty purchased on the original machine. Also we expect compensation for the table, all destroyed clothing, and laundry service used while waiting for the washer replacement. We also expect to be reimbursed for a hepatitis test for my wife since she may have been contaminated by the sewer water while trying to prevent other damage. A written apology for the trouble should be provided also.

Business Response:

Subject: RE: ID ********

 

MSD, working through our 3rd Party Adjustor, has agreed to replace the washing maching and to dispose of the damaged one.

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted MSD last October 2011 about water standing in my driveway, and told them I needed a drainage pipe put under my driveway. They told me that it would be June or July before they could take care of it. Then at the end of July 2012, they came out and dug out some dirt out of the ditch. That did not solve the problem. I called them in August 2012 and told them that digging dirt out of the ditch did not solve the problem, they told me that they would send someone out to check it out. I called again in September 2012, they told me somebody would be out the first part of October 2012. No one has come out, and I still have water in my drive. I do not think I should be paying MSD for drainage repairs, if they are not going to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: Put a drainage pipe under my drive!!

Business Response: Firm states that they were just at the complainants on 12/5 and restored area and installed the pipe.

Consumer Response: Matter has been resolved per the complainant.