BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Metropolitan Sewer District meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Metropolitan Sewer District include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Metropolitan Sewer District
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 09, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1946
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Collier, MSD CFO Mr. Greg Heitzman, Executive Director Mr. Steve Tedder, Community Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Collier, MSD CFO
Principal: Mr. Greg Heitzman, Executive Director
Principal: Mr. Steve Tedder, Community Relations
Business Category

SEWER CONTRACTORS WATER COMPANIES-UTILITY HAZARDOUS WASTE REMOVAL

Alternate Business Names
Louisville & Jefferson County Metropolitan Sewer District MSD

Additional Locations

  • 700 W Liberty Street

    Louisville, KY 40203 (502) 587-0603 (502) 540-6345 (502) 540-6000

  • P O Box 740011

    Louisville, KY 40201

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 540-6000(Phone)
  • (502) 540-6345(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted MSD last October 2011 about water standing in my driveway, and told them I needed a drainage pipe put under my driveway. They told me that it would be June or July before they could take care of it. Then at the end of July 2012, they came out and dug out some dirt out of the ditch. That did not solve the problem. I called them in August 2012 and told them that digging dirt out of the ditch did not solve the problem, they told me that they would send someone out to check it out. I called again in September 2012, they told me somebody would be out the first part of October 2012. No one has come out, and I still have water in my drive. I do not think I should be paying MSD for drainage repairs, if they are not going to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: Put a drainage pipe under my drive!!

Business Response: Firm states that they were just at the complainants on 12/5 and restored area and installed the pipe.

Consumer Response: Matter has been resolved per the complainant.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2007 representatives from MSD met with residents concerning the ********* ******* Sanitary Sewer Replacement Project. Both verbally and in writing on the supplied Information Sheet, MSD representatives confirmed that the ********* ******* Sanitary Sewer Replacement Project would result in no cost to the homeowner. Specifically MSD states "MSD will cover the cost of all improvements" as an answer to "who will pay for these improvements?". As a homeowner, I had no choice to decline the work to be performed by MSD, as it would result in non-compliance. Secondly, MSD clearly stated the homeowner would not incur any costs associated with the project and our house/lawn would be restored to the condition prior to the commencement of the project. MSD failed to honor this commitment, as my lawn is in nowhere near the condition prior to commencement of the project. Additionally, MSD killed 1 tree and 1 bush, failed to replace damaged bricks, and left lawn in disrepair. As a result, I have incurred costs associated with this project. MSD attempted to plant grass seed 3 times on my lawn, however all 3 times were in July and August during the hottest and dryest weeks of the year resulting in significant watering required. This has resulted in significantly higher water and sewer expenses for the last 2 billing cycles. I attempted to re-coup this expense and MSD has failed to respond to multiple requests for communication.

Desired Settlement: Credit to my water and sewer bill for the last 2 billing cycles to compensate for the watering required in my attempt to successfully grow grass which MSD seeded during July/August. The workmanship and quality is unacceptable and will require me to re-seed and eradicate weeds which have resulted from MSD's lack of restoration to the prior condition. I request MSD fulfill their commitment and cover the expenses I have incurred due to their lack of proper restoration to the condition prior to the project.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****, per our discussion regarding the claim submitted by Ms. ******* ******** at *** ******** ****, Louisville, Ky, our project manager has had the opportunity to review her bills in light of her claims and demand for credit to water and sewer bills for the last two cycles due to her watering her yard for newly planted seed. Our records show the following:

Her usage for the 9/14/2011 bill was 8.00 and for the 7/14/2011 bill was 4.00.
Usage cost for 9/14  (based on 8.00) was (water-$20.32, sewer-$22.05) $42.37 total Usage cost for 7/14 (based on 4.00) was (water-$12.30, sewer-$13.25) $25.55 total Usage cost (based on a usage of 3.00) would have been $7.38 for water and $8.46 for sewer for each bill, or $31.68 for two billing cycles total.
Going back the past 11 bills (22 months) the usage has been 8,5,5,3,4,8,9,4,3,3,3. One would have to go back to 2009 to get a usage of 2.
 
Therefore, to be very reasonable, and in settlement, MSD will offer her a reimbursement for usage in the form a check in the amount of $36.24.
This is based on $67.92 (actual usage cost total for 9/14 and 7/14) LESS $31.68 (usage cost for two cycles based on usage of 3.00).

If this is acceptable, I can prepare the release to document the settlement unless the BBB has a standard form to consummate the settlement agreement. If you have any questions, I can be reached at the contact information below. Thank you


***** ******
Metropolitan Sewer District
Attorney-Environmental Law
(ph) ###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8767811, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I accept the credit provided for the water/sewer charges.  However, my request was for MSD to fulfill their commitment that I, as the homeowner, will not incur any charges associated with the ********* ******* Sanitary Project.  In addition to the water/sewer credit, will MSD pay the cost of re-seeding and weed eradication until my lawn is back to the condition prior to their work?  Due to the subpar workmanship and timing of seeding/weed eradication, MSD has not yet fulfilled their commitment.  In MSD's attempts to restore my lawn, continued credit to my water/sewer bill until proper resolution would also be required.  Please confirm that MSD has committed to fulfill their promise with no expense incurred by myself, the homeowner, until my lawn is restored.

Regards,

******* ********

 


 

 

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****, I am writing in reply to the response that MSD received on December 7, 2011 concerning Ms. ********'s claim. I have discussed the matter with the Project Manager and MSD stands by its original proposal to compensate Ms. ******** for her water usage. I have been advised that the substantial completion of the ********* ******* projects was reached over a year ago. As such, the warranty period has passed. Accordingly, all private property issues regarding any work installed during the project are now the property owner’s responsibility. MSD has met its obligations and standards for all work in ********* ******* and the project is complete. MSD  has proposed and is willing to reimburse Ms. ******** for the months of watering costs as originally set forth, but the remaining work has been done in accordance with the plans and specifications. If Ms. ******** has any other documented out of pocket expenses that are identifiable, I would be willing to review that information, but otherwise, MSD stands by its original proposal.

***** ******
Metropolitan Sewer District
Attorney-Environmental Law

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8767811, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As stated previously, I accept the credit for the water usage, however MSD has not fulfilled their commitment to restoring my lawn to it's original state at no cost to me, the homeowner.  If it is required by MSD, I will upload the printed material supplied to me by MSD at the commencement of the ********* ******* project, which commited to restoring our properties to the original condition at no cost to the homeowner.  On multiple occasions within the stated warranty period, I contacted multiple personnel within MSD (2 project managers and **** **** ********) stating that the work performed by their lawn contractor was unacceptable.  My solution was to hire a professional lawn care company to re-seed/restore my lawn to acceptable condition and forward the bill to MSD for reimbursement.   On each occasion I was warned that if I pursued this solution, MSD would void their warranty period.  Additionally, on each of these occasions, the MSD personnel assured me that MSD was committed to taking the appropriate future actions until my lawn was restored to it's original condition.  Due to this warning by the MSD personnel, I did not hire an outside lawn company to rectify the solution and I do not have a bill to submit to MSD now for reimbursement.  This is why, at this point, MSD has failed to fulfill it's commitment and I am at a point where I must pay for outside work to rectify the work MSD has failed to do.  At the requirement and assurrance of MSD personnel, I did not take the matter into my hand.  Unfortunately, MSD made unwise decisions to re-seed during environmental conditions that would deliver no results (i.e. the hottest/dryest weeks of the year).  I believe if MSD would have made the rational decision to re-seed lawns in the logical timeframe, results may have been successful. I brought this point up multiple times to MSD personnel and they agreed, however with no warning on two occasion's MSD's contractor re-seeded my lawn during a ridiculous time of year.  I am not willing to pay for MSD's unwise and inefficient decision.  I have no invoice from the outside lawn company to re-seed/restore my lawn at MSD's direction.  In addition to the water credit, in order to restore my lawn to the condition that MSD failed to deliver, I will need to hire an outside lawn company to re-seed/restore my lawn in the spring of 2012.  At that time I will forward the invoice to MSD to cover the cost of the job they have not fulfilled.  I need a commitment that MSD will honor this expense for what they have not delivered as of yet.

Regards,

******* ********

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1