Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sullivan College of Technology & Design

Phone: (502) 456-6509 Fax: (502) 456-2341 View Additional Phone Numbers 3901 Atkinson Square Drive, Louisville, KY 40218 http://www.sctd.edu


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sullivan College of Technology & Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sullivan College of Technology & Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sullivan College of Technology & Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1962
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Winkler, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Winkler, Executive Director
Business Category

SCHOOLS-BUSINESS & VOCATIONAL


Additional Locations

  • 3901 Atkinson Square Drive

    Louisville, KY 40218 (502) 456-6509 (502) 456-6653

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was previously a student at Sullivan College Technology of Design. I temporally withdrew from school w/ the understanding from financial aid by ****** that I was leaving in good standings. I finished out the fall quarter of 2014. Going into 2015 I received a bill for over $3000 however my financial aid had always been covered. I have placed several calls, emails & letters including to the director ***** ***** attempting to resolve this issue of an explanation of why I'm receiving bills. Finally, after several attempts I spoke with ******** & she assured me the issue would be handled and they were going to take care of the bill. I would need to come in and fill out paper work. The day I was supposed to go in to meet with ****** in financial aid I asked him why it took so long for someone to respond and the explanation of why I was billed. I was informed by ****** there was an error a former employee keyed in my account named ***** which caused the school not to get paid from my financial aid.I was told this has nothing to do with me as the student. This was the school's error. He stated I shouldn't received bills. However they wanted me to come in and fill out an application for a school grant for mishaps such as this. This would only be resolved if I apply for the school grant and agree to return in the summer. Therefore with me doing that I explained I would still be accepting responsibility for a bill that doesn't belong to me. I declined that agreement and I asked for a supervisor to resolve this as soon as possible. ****** apologized and gave me his supervisors email address and phone number. He stated she can handle it from here. I sent ******* ***** an email over a month ago the same day and there was no response.I placed several calls to her and left voice mails and she never returned my call. I've been dealing with this issue all year and this should've been resolved at this point. The customer service was poor and it shows the school's lack of integrity to their students.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the bill to be a write off on my account. I intend to finish school however my credits won't transfer with me having a bill that shouldn't be on my account. I also would like the collection agencies to stop calling me for a bill that doesn't belong to me. I would like a response from the school and something in writing stating this issue is resolved and this bill is being written off. I wasn't supposed to be billed as the student in case this has already impacted my credit.

Business Response:

*** ******

I’m in receipt of your BBB complaint submitted July 28th, 2015.  In your complaint you detail the sequence of events that led to your dissatisfaction with the level of service received.  I know in your circumstance, in particular, several circumstances changed throughout the process that inevitably had the institution adjust options for a solution to your issue.  I was personally involved in a few of these different solutions.  The last correspondence I had involving your issue was after you spoke with ******** Leach, Registrar.  Shortly after this correspondence I received approval on my request to remove your remaining charges on your account.  Your account was adjusted on 6-22-2015 and was reduced by $3,638.52 to bring your balance to $0 and the hold was removed from your account.

I’m assuming based on your submitted compliant and desired outcome that this information was never shared with you and I apologize.  I don’t see any history where we contacted you regarding the balance or the collection of a balance since 6-18-2015, so I’m hoping you can also confirm that collection calls have ceased.  If they have continued after this date it may be related to your student loan providers and not directly from the institution.

Again, I apologize for how long this resolution has taken, I can assure you this is not a common occurrence.  I know at one point you had planned to return to the school, I’d be happy to meet with you to see if there is anything that I can do to help you reconsider.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Executive Director

Sullivan College of Technology and Design

3901 Atkinson Square Drive

Louisville, KY 40218

************

800-844-6528

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

******** ******* ** *** *** *** *** ********* **** **** *********** ****** ******* **** *****

Regards,

**** *****

 


 

 Hello,

I wasn't aware my account was reduced to a 0 balance. No one from the school notified me after several attempts to reach the financial aid director. It seems I would've been notified at least by letter. Especially after I made efforts to get this resolved all year. I would like a letter submitted to me with Sullivan's letter head and my account number attached confirming my account was reduced to a 0 balance and if this ever arrives on my credit I can despute to have it removed due to this not being my bill. I'm not for certain if I'll be returning back to SCTD due to the lack of trust I have with the financial aid department. Going to college is a huge investment and now it would be difficult for me to trust my money in the school's hands. If I get a letter submitted with what I requested we can close this out. I'll be waiting with a response.

 

Respectfully submitted,

 

****

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

I have attached my letter of response regarding the zero balance and a corresponding ledger.  Please review and let me if this resolves the issue or if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

 


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sullivan College of Technology & Design
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)