BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Sullivan University System, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (502) 451-0815 Fax: (502) 454-4880 View Additional Phone Numbers 3101 Bardstown Road, Louisville, KY 40205 http://www.sullivan.edu

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sullivan University System, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sullivan University System, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sullivan University System, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1962
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glenn D. Sullivan, President Ms. Jill Long, Administrator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jill Long, Administrator
Principal: Mr. Glenn D. Sullivan, President
Related Businesses
Sullivan College of Technology & Design Spencerian College United Adjustment Services Dale Carnegie Training Professional Nanny Program
Business Category

SCHOOLS-ACAD-COLLEGES & UNV. SCHOOLS-BUSINESS & VOCATIONAL

Alternate Business Names
Julep's Catering Sullivan University The Bakery Winston's Restaurant

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 452-1210(Phone)
  • (502) 456-0980(Phone)
  • (502) 456-6505(Phone)
  • (502) 942-8500(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2007 I attended Sullivan University, 6 1/2 hours from home. I was there for a total of 9 months. I was half way through my program and I allowed my grades to slip. I was suspended for academic reasons. My parents moved me back home, and I continued my life there. Two years later, when trying to enter a different university, I was denied entry because I had a hold on my account with Sullivan University. I had corrected all of my student loans before I applied to the new school, so I was unsure as to what my new university was talking about. It turned out that I hadn't returned a library book. I couldn't find the library book, so I paid for it, hoping that it would clear the hold and allow me to enter a new university. It turned out that the library book wasn't the only reason that I was denied entry to the new university. I called Sullivan, and found out that they had additional loans in my name that the University itself had "lent" me to be able to attend. I didn't remember signing the documents for this to be able to happen. They have a record that I owe almost $5,000 and until they are paid, they won't release an official transcript. I started to make small monthly payments on it, and then became delinquent again. Sullivan didn't give me the information that I owed them money for my transcripts until long after I was out of school. I don't recall signing anything that says that they can "lend" me money if my financial aide doesn't cover all of my costs. Now I am almost to the limit for financial aide for a BA degree and I am stuck at a school that I won't be able to get my degree before I run out. I wasn't made aware that I owed this money until years after I left Sullivan and now it is prohibiting me from furthering my education. Not only that but I can't consolidate these "loans" with my other student loans.

Desired Settlement: I would like the documentation that I actually signed saying that it was ok for Sullivan to do this to me. I would like an itemized list of where all of my financial aide and these "loan" amounts went. I would also like to know if there is some way to settle this so that I can switch to a different school so I can receive my degree. I don't have the money to pay this off.

Business Response:

I have been forwarded complaint ID# 10077817 issued by Ms. ***** K. ****** concerning two outstanding obligations owed to our system. We appreciate the opportunity to help resolve Ms. ******'s concerns.

When Ms. ****** left Sullivan University, she had an outstanding tuition balance of $3085.17. We understood she could not pay her account in full and allowed her to set up monthly payments of $51.42. Ms. ****** started her payments then fell past due. Her account was given to ******** ********** in the amount of $2828.07. Ms. ****** also had taken out a private loan (CEF) with the University in the amount of $4000.00. She made payments towards her balance then became past due. This loan was also given to ******** ********** in the amount of $3273.70.

I have spoken with ******** ********** and they informed me that they had spoken with Ms. ****** on June 11, 2014. She requested validation of her accounts and this information went out in the mail the same day. ******** also stated that Ms. ****** hopes to be able to settle both accounts no later than the end of July. With that being said, ******** offered her 80% settlements of both accounts. The amounts quoted to her were $2262.46 for tuition and $2618.96 for her CEF loan. She will have until July 21, 2014 to pay ******** ********** via certified funds, they will notify us of the payment and her transcript will be released. Please feel free to contact my office if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

***** *****|Director of Corporate Collections

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

 


 

 I talked to a lady at ******* ********** and she explained the $4000 "loan" as a cancelation fee.  Because I left the program before I finished it.  That wasn't a loan.  It was a cancelation fee that I wasnt made aware of when signing all of the paperwork to go to Sullivan.   And my parents were denied because of their credit history, so they were unable to be consigners.  So I am confused as to (1) how my dad could be a cosigner and (2) how this is considered a loan, when your company said it was like a cancelation policy, similar to cell phone cancelation policies.  This wasn't a loan, but a cancelation .

Business Response:

Please find this letter in regards to Ms. ******'s reply concerning her dissatisfaction to our response. She claims that she had spoken with ******** ********** and they explained that the $4000 "loan" as due because it was a cancellation fee. I spoke with the Manger at ******** and she did some investigation. Ms. ****** was never told that she was being billed $4000 for a cancelation fee.

******** did state that they had spoken to Ms. ****** regarding her balance and had even sent out documentation validating both debts. Nowhere, in either Application for Admission and Tuition Understanding Agreement (Tuition) or the Career Education Funding Loan (CEF-Loan) does it indicates that our students would be charged a cancelation fee of $4000.

I would ask that Ms. ****** review the documentation that ******** ********** sent to her along with my documentation to you. In both the Tuition and CEF obligations, the notes speak for them self. Both outstanding balances are due based on the terms of these agreements less any payments she made to us prior to the account being placed with Tri-City. Most alternative loans approved for Educational purposes do require credit approved co-signers, Sullivan does not. The Department of Education allows Universities to be the "lender of last resort” if students cannot secure approved funding elsewhere. All we ask is that there student acquire a co-signer that agrees to pay any outstanding obligation that the student may owe, if they decide not to pay. Neither our Tuition or CEF loans are credit based obligations.

As stated in my response of June 12, 2014, ******** ********** has agreed to a settlement of 80% for both outstanding obligations due. Ms. ****** has until July 31, 2014 to contact ******** with payment. If payment has not been received by that time, the offer will be null and void.

Sincerely,

******* *******

Director of Corporate Collections 

Sullivan University System


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not had a consistent advisor since my advisor ***** ******** left over a year ago. However, since he left I have had at least 3 different advisor well this last advisor ******** who I have never met is never available for me to talk to when there a problem or question which, always leaves me to ask for the director of financial aid. On 4/29/** I noticed I had a credit in my account of 4,466 so, I contacted financial aid to speak with ******** to have credit set up for Thursday which, was the next disbursement day well I was told he was on leave once again I never get to speak to this advisor so, I asked to speak to director and explain to her that I would like to be set up for Thursday and she stated that's not how it's done anymore that they have a central system that handles disbursement now and it will take ** days to process. My response was why wasn't student's informed of the new changes and why do students have to wait ** days to get their money when the school get their money as soon as it hit's our accounts but yet there a process for students to get their money. However, I didn't feel what she was saying was correct because every quarter it's something different when it comes to your money so, after going back and forth with her I decided to check her statements by going over her head to ******** executive secretary because I was refused to talk to Mr. ******** himself several times I think this is absolutely wrong as much money as students spend to go to ******** university they will never be able to have a one on one with ******** very sad to me it says a lot about how he feel about complaints and ******** students. After going over the director head the very next day she audits my account and takes 3500 out of my account and state she sent it back to the loan people to stay incompliance that because I was packaged for two classes and only took one she revised my account. Here is the problem with this first of all I have a signed document that simply states any extra money after tuition and fees is suppose to come to me to send back to the loan people that was what I signed for with financial aid when I was packaged so, regardless of however many classes I took I'm the one who has to pay my loans back not ******** so, therefore the funds should not have been reversed and second of all how do you revise award letter without the students presence to see what your doing with their account?, How is it legal to void a signed contract and void it when you get mad at students. This was the same director I spoke with last quarter and the quarter before about disbursement please explain why she waited a whole year to do her job talking about she looking at the best interest for me to save money why wait till a student is 60 thousand in debit to try and counsel your students why wasn't I counseled and account revised last quarter when I talked to her? I tell you why because she call her self retaliating against me for going over her head that's why. What she did was very unprofessional and out of hatred for me. The biggest problem with this problem is the fact that she allowed other students to receive this same amount she took from me and this student only took one class and received more than she took from me however, I was referred to *** ***** who I reported the student getting the same money and guess what nothing was done and the student received more than they took from me this to me is form of discrimination please explain why they allowed her to get full financial aid with one class? *** ***** didn't have my best interest from the start of the conversation with him after explaining to him the situation he states yea but you weren't going to send money back though how do you communicate with students in this manner first and foremost that's like saying I'm going to take something before I take it very unethical communication so, I knew this was going no where with him he was suppose to contact me back last week never heard from him until I called the business administration office whom I had to explain situation all over again after speaking with administration office that when *** ***** calls and states he on vacation and repeat the same thing the director said I do not believe for one minute there was an effective and fair investigation to this matter. I want future students to know what their dealing with when it come to financial at ******** university they have a very high turnover in financial aid, advisor don't have to communicate with you, and you may not never meet your advisor. Also, please be advised anything you sign for they can void it at anytime without contacting you about the changes. Also, I contacted the loan people and they stated they had not received anything from ******** and was very alarm by what I was going through and told me to send proof which, I don't have because once again this was done without my presence nor did I receive any new award letter or any type of documentation from the director of the new changes.

Desired Settlement: There no way she should have been allowed to do this I can see them saying after this quarter anyone who doesn't take what they was package for will not receive full aid even if they signed to have everything come to them after fees and tuition. Any time there are changes inform students in writing, email, phone don't just adjust accounts and not inform students because I feel this was very inappropriate because this balance didn't even reflect my books I suppose to get 500 for books and the remaining of any book balance however, I didn't get books this quarter and 1100 she sent me does not reflect my books and if it does show me because now you telling me as a graduate student taking one class only gets 500. I used to be a financial advisor at ******** College before I came to ******** so I know all about financial aid and how it works that's another reason I stay on top of my account. This was not done for compliance this was done out of hatred because if it was about compliance I take it the director didn't care about ******** being in compliance all the other quarters I contacted her but because this quarter I went over her head now she worried about being in compliance. Also, the director was not in compliance allowing other students to receive the same amount for one class and Yes I have proof please explain why she wasn't worried about being incompliance with the student I reported and explain the difference between me and the other student she allowed to receive the same amount for one class?

Business Response:

Response:

All continuing students at ******** University are required to complete a Supplemental Information Sheet for Financial Assistance Evaluation (supplemental form) prior to repackaging financial aid for the next academic year. The supplemental form asks for the total number of credit hours the student will take each academic quarter, how many courses he or she will take online, and the degree to which financial aid applies. The answers to these questions assist a financial planning coordinator (FPC) with packaging a student’s budget (i.e., cost of attendance) and estimating the financial aid required to cover these costs. The student notified her FPC via the supplemental form that she intended to take two classes each academic quarter (a full-time, graduate student course load). The FPC packaged the student with a full-time budget and created a financial aid package accordingly. The student signed an Estimated Expense/Resource Report, also known as an “award letter,” which shows details of the financial aid package and the terms upon which financial aid will be awarded. The supplemental form states and the student acknowledged understanding by his or her signature: “I understand that my estimate of charges will be based on the information that I have reported above and that any changes in my schedule can affect my estimated charges. It is my responsibility to contact the Financial Planning Office about any schedule changes, program changes, early graduation, and/or additional online classes. I also understand that failure to complete all of the necessary documents required for my re-packaging could result in a delay of scheduling classes.” The student only scheduled one class per academic quarter and became a half-time student within the academic year; the student also failed to notify the Financial Planning Office of scheduling changes. The student’s financial aid award had to be adjusted from full-time to part-time student status, which significantly changed the cost of attendance. When this occurred, the loan amount that was originally packaged, which was based on a full-time cost of attendance, created and over-award beyond the part-time cost of attendance. When this occurs, a school must make adjustments in the form of a refund back to the lender or reduce future disbursements as not to exceed cost of attendance. A refund of the over-awarded amount was sent back to the lender since the student was ineligible for the funding, and the difference was deducted from any loan balance received as a stipend to the student. Refunding the lender reduced the stipend amount that the student was eligible to receive for the current academic quarter. The student was sent the stipend well within federal regulations (** days from when the credit occurred), and the extra monies (i.e., the difference which remains once the charge occurred) was sent per her Title IV authorization selection.

**** *** ********* ******* **

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Sullivan University about a little over 10 years ago. I attended under the (at the time) newly formed Metro college program with UPS. Upon leaving I was told that i wouldn't be able to obtain my official transcripts from the college until UPS had paid them. I have never heard back from Sullivan in the last 8 years and i recently tried to get my transcripts as i am going back to school. I was told i had an outstanding balance which i shouldnt. I fear this is holding me hostage from returning to school. As i wouldn't be getting any credit for the work i put in early in life. I have never received any itemized billing and when i contacted UPS they said my accounts were paid the Sullivan.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my transcripts released and mailed to me. If there is something not paid your issue is with UPS not me.

Business Response:

See attachment for response and additional attachments.

RE:*********** **** ********)

Dear Ms. ********:

Please find this as a response to Mr. ****** complaint concerning an outstanding tuition balance owed to Sullivan University‘ The balance is currently $825.00.

Mr. **** was a student at Sullivan University in 2002. He was an employee of United Parcel Service and was eligible for their Deferred Tuition Reimbursement program. Once a student completes the quarter, they must turn in a copy of their grades along with a bill from the University to UPS. UPS will approve the payment based on the grades, and send the payment to the student. The student is responsible for submitting payment to the school. You will find enclosed, a copy of the billing statement dated August 13, 2002 that was sent to Mr. **** in the amount billed was $1732.66. You will also find a copy of his grades.

On September 5, 2002, we received a call from Mr. **** setting up a monthly payment plan of $50 which was to start on September 30, 2002. He also indicated that he would have the account paid in full no later than December 30, 2002. On September 7, 2002, we received verification from UPS that payment of $1732.66 was processed and a check for this amount was sent to Mr* ****. We continued to receive monthly payments sporadically up through April 12, 2005. We never received any large payments from Mr. **** indicating that he used the money he received from UPS to pay his outstanding obligation to the University.

You will find enclosed, copies of his Applications for Admission along with his student ledger validating his outstanding balance of $825.00. it is the policy of the University to hold official transcripts until all balances have been paid in full. At this time, his account is currently being handled through Tri-City Acceptance. it will be necessary for him to contact their office to take care of his balance before his transcript will be released. They can be reached at********.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

******* ******* Director of Corporate Collections Sullivan University System

Enclosures

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loan paperwork not completed by Sullivan, and courses not completed being billed/sent to collections. Spring semester was completed and loan documentation signed and submitted to Finance at the Fort Knox branch. Summer semester I was dropped by instructor for "attendance" even though homework had been submitted every week for the previous 4 weeks, which automatically put my online instruction account on hold. No return to my phone calls to IT or finance within a week of the account hold, yet I'm expected to pay NOW for courses that the school would not allow or assist for me to complete. The instructor is supposed to drop within the first two weeks for attendance to avoid this exact issue, so if I was not "attending" I cannot be charged. The second class I will pay for once I get to complete. I did not receive the services I agreed to, yet they want my money from my end of the bargain. I need the spring semester put on the loan that I signed....and the school to contact me directly on completion of the courses I enrolled for. I will make payment in full for the spring semester if need be....and option to complete the courses I was removed from and then happily take my curriculum to another college.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my spring semester put on the loan that I signed and to have the option to complete he course I was still completing and deletion of the course they dropped me from for "attendance". If I wasn't attending I shouldn't be charged.

Business Response:

*****Please see attachment for response and all of the documents pertaining to the response.

Please find this letter in regards to Ms. ***** ****’s complaint against Sullivan University. We have reviewed her account in great lengths and found that the balance of $2490.00 is correct and owed by Ms. ****. Enclosed, you will find documentation validating her debt. You will also find a copy of her original dispute dated November 14, 2013 along with the University’s response.

I have reviewed Ms. ****’s desired resolution. She asked that we have her spring quarter charges covered by the loan money she signed for and have the option to repeat the course she was dropped from. We are unable to grant Ms. ****‘s request. The Department of Education‘s Title IV refund policy states a student must be actively participating in class in order to received federal! financial aid. Since Ms. **** is no longer attending class, the Department will not allow her to apply for loans to cover past balances. Secondly, Ms. **** was dropped from *** **** and *******, on 7/11/13 for nonparticipation. (Student must be logged into a class and show coursework and participation at least two hours a week) The University reinstated her to ******* on 7/12/2013 but she was again dropped on 8/1/13. Ms. **** was given a 25% reduction in the amount of $390.00 because she was dropped in her first class during week 2. She went from being a half time to less than halftime on 7/11/13 to disqualified her for any student loans.

At this time, we are willing to set an interest free payment plan if Ms. **** is unable to clear your account in full. She will need to contact our office at ***** ********. It wit! be necessary for her to contact my office no later than December 17, 2013.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Director of Corporate Collections Sullivan University System

*** *** ***** *********** *********** ** ***** **** **** ************


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** ****


 

 As much as I appreciate the no interest payment gesture it is for a service I never received. If I was reinstated on August 1 there was no communication sent to me either by paper or return of the many phone calls I placed that went unanswered. The issue is that there was no service after the sale from your school. Your staff had no interest in supporting the student, in this case me. I also believe you are missing the fact that we have two separate semesters. The last semester I was dropped from class, not reinstated to my knowledge because of lack of communication from Sullivan. And received no response to my account until after the end of the term. I also had been submitting my homework every week and was spending a considerable amount of time to complete. Each weeks homework assignments had a minimum of 1 hour homework in addition to reading and studying the chapter. Again, why was I not dropped until week 5? That's because I WAS doing my assignments. The semester prior to that I DID complete loan documents and also the semester but I'm still being charged cash for the semester because your staff did not comets my paperwork correctly. Now I'm being requested to pay for services not received due to lack of support by your staff and asked to pay cash for a semester that I completed and signed loan approvals for but because of lack of integrity on your staff. My paperwork seems to have not been submitted. I should at the very least be able to complete and receive credit for the courses I'm being requested to pay for, then I will transfer to another college that is more supportive and responsive to their students.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at Sullivan University over 3 years ago. First thing that I did was try and pay ahead on my tuition to try and lower the amount that they would send out to the bank requesting from my student load account. They did not lower the amount they just enrolled it into the next semesters tuition without anyone's authorization. on my third semester there the teachers decided to pull down the midterm exams 3 days early without any verbal or written notification therefore I lost my government funding and was forced to drop out of the college. I was also unable to make up for these credits lost. 3 Years later I get my first bill in the mail and they are demanding full payment up front with no explanation. They sent me one letter and I called to complain and let them know that I would be sending a letter of explanation for them to review and process whether I was going to be held liable for these charges. The letter was sent out them 3 day later get another letter demanding payment before they could even ready my letter of explanation. They have now sent me another letter that I have received within 3 days of the last letter demanding payment. I have called several times to talk to someone and have not gotten any call backs or responses.

Desired Settlement: I believe that after 3 years with out send any kind of due balance that they should at least work with me and call but this is not done. I do believe that due to the worst school experience I have had ever that I should not be held liable for these charges.

Business Response:

Please find this as a response to complaint we received from Mr. ********* ***** concerning his outstanding tuition balance in the amount of $*******. We have reviewed his account along with the complaint and find the balance is correct based on the terms of the agreements signed by Mr. *****. l have enclosed the documentation for your review.

Mr. *****’s complaint was forwarded to the University's Ombudsman for his review. He has checked with the on-line division to obtain e-mails from Mr. ****** along with his instructors with any problems he may have had his last quarter. They were unabie to locate any e-mails supporting any problems

Mr. ***** or an official withdrawal indicating there was a problem.

According to the attendance records, we show that Mr. ***** attended up through November 1, 2010. This was during week 6 which per his enrollment agreement obligates him to pay 100% of his tuition costs for that quarter. At this time, we are willing to arrange an interest free payment plan if Mr. ***** is unable to pay his obligation in full. He will need to contact my office at ***** ******** no later than July 22, 2013.


Thank you for the opportunity to address this complaint and feel free to contact us if you have any additional questions.


Sincerely,

***** *****

Director of Corporate Collections


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There was a complaint made by myself addressing this issue to customer support @ Sullivan University and now stating that nothing was on file about the complaints.  I do find it wrong that this was the first corispondance that I have heard in over a month about this issue.  Mr ***** please review your incoming phone conversations with me communicating with your organization and you will find multiple complaints

Regards,

********* ***** 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sullivan University has not deducted the scholarship money they have received for my son's tuition. It places an unfair burden on whoever pays the tuition. This is an unfair business practice. The scholarship money was given FOR tuition so that the recepient will have less of a burden, not more of a burden while the school is enriched with the money and the interest.

Desired Settlement: Sullivan University should deduct scholarship money from the tuition costs so that the student or whoever is responsible for the overall cost will not be charged for the same amount. Stop a system which clearly profits the University and places the student or the one who pays for the costs in a vunerable financial position. It is not ethical to receive money clearly intended to reduce the cost to the student and use that money for other purposes while the student is still bearing the full cost. This unethical practice should stop. The money received for a specific student should be applied immediately to the account, appropriated correctly. Reimbursing a student after all costs are paid and all courses have been completed is clearly not funds which have been appropriated correctly.

Business Response:

This writing is in response to BBB Complaint ******* which was filed by Mr. **** ******** against Sullivan University.  While the Complaint seems to lack specifics concerning amounts and the particular scholarship(s) referred to in the Complaint, we believe the matter relates to scholarship funds for the Eagle Scout Scholarship which was awarded to Mr. ********’s son when he first entered Sullivan University. This understanding is a result of Mr. ******** speaking with various personnel in the Financial Planning office with specific concerns about the Eagle Scout Scholarship. 

 

The scholarship awarded was given and is being funded by Sullivan University.  There is no external funding source for the scholarship.  Therefore, Mr. ********’s assertion that the University has acted unethically by receiving money and using “…money for other purposes…” and that it has “…enriched [itself] with the money and interest…” is grossly inaccurate.    In the case of these scholarships, the University has chosen to give its own money to students who meet certain standards – the suggestion that we are taking funds from other sources and misappropriating them is not accurate.

 

The details of the scholarship, as shown in the 2011-2013 Sullivan University Catalog are as follows:

 

               Eagle Scouts

To be eligible for the scholarship students must have attained the recognition of Boy Scout Eagle Scout.  These competitive scholarships offer tuition awards up to $6,000 dollars towards their associate of science degree to those students who have met the following criteria.  A 3.0 GPA or higher at the high school level as well as a score of 17 on the ACT, 1365 SAT, or APT score of 54.  Students must maintain a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale while attending Sullivan as well as maintain full-time continuous enrollment.  *Scholarships are paid over 6 quarters, and require continuous enrollment at Sullivan with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. (p.15)

 

The details of the scholarship clearly indicate the scholarship is paid over 6 quarters, not all at once.  Also, although the scholarship normally requires a GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, the University adjusted the requirement to a GPA of 2.5 for Mr. ********’s son which is lower than the requirement stated in the catalog.

 

This $6,000.00 scholarship, which is paid over 6 quarters, pays $1,000.00 per quarter at the conclusion of each quarter if the requirements of the scholarship as described above are met.  To date, Mr. ********’s son has completed 3 terms and his account reflects the application of scholarship funds.  Specifically, three $1,000.00 payments for the Eagle Scout Scholarship were applied on the following dates: 12/28/2011, 3/26/2012 and 6/14/2012.  If Mr. ********’s son meets the stated requirements of the scholarship, he will receive 3 additional credits to his account in the amount of $1,000.00 each, one for each term completed in the future as a result of continuous enrollment and satisfaction of the scholarship requirements.  This will complete the funding of this $6,000.00 scholarship and it will have been paid out over 6 quarters as described in the scholarship description.  Students are never required to pay funds in advance for scholarship funds that are to be applied in the future.

 

In addition to the Eagle Scout Scholarship, Mr. ********’s son has two additional internal scholarships (also funded by the university) that have been applied in the same manner and on the same dates described above.  After a thorough review of the account, it appears the student’s ledger is accurate and all funds due the student have been applied correctly and in a timely manner. 

 

If Mr. ******** has additional questions or concerns, he is welcome to make an appointment with a financial aid administrator who will be happy to meet with him in person and explain his son’s financial aid package in detail.

 

We trust this information adequately addresses the Complaint.

 

Best,

 

*** *** ** ****

Vice President for Academic Affairs / Chief Academic Officer

Sullivan University (Louisville, Lexington, Fort Knox, e-Learning)

3101 Bardstown Road

Louisville, KY  40205

************ ************ ***** ************ ****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with **** ******** in the Admissions office who gets paid on Commission about attending school for pre-pharmacy at Sullivan. He told me that Sullivan does not offer a Pre-pharmacy program but they do offer a pharmacy technician program. I said that I'm already a certified pharmacy technician and asked if I needed to take that program or if he knows if Sullivan offers the classes I need to take in order to get accepted into the Pharm D program. He explained that what I would need would be a bachelors degree so I then asked if sullivan offers the classes I need to obtain this bachelors degree and if it would be enough to apply for the Pharm D program. **** said yes and wanted to set up an appointment with me in order to "get the ball rolling." When I arrived for my appointment at sullivan thank God I ended up accidently going to the Pharmacy department of the school and spoke with the Assistant Dean of the pharmacy program about directions to get to admissions in order to make my appointment with **** because right before I was getting ready to walk out I told the Dean that the pharmacy school is where I want to be one day. He then stopped me right away and asked if I was wanting to take my prerequisites at Sullivan in order to apply for the Pharm D program. I told him yes I thought it would be better to start my prerequisites at Sullivan to have a better chance of getting in the program one day. He then told me that sullivan doesnt offer all the prerequisites I need in order to apply for the pharm D program but they do have a contract with *** ***** **** ***, etc. I ended up in the right place at the right time for him to tell me that. The Dean's assistant then told me that no matter how many times they explain to the people at admissions this process admissions just keeps recruiting students into the school by misleading them because the admissions advisors are paid on commission so they want to get students in so they can get their paychecks. I was blessed by God that I didn't end up enrolling and wasting time and money because of the misleading process but mainly I want to make sure that no other innocent students get lured in because of a situation like this one. I don't think they should be paid on commission! It's not right!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like for **** ******** along with anyone else in the admissions department at Sullivan University to be more clear with the students and not to mislead them into enrolling in a program that truly is not going to get them where they need to be. No lying to students! Advisors not to be paid on commission they should care more about really being informative and helping the student instead of worrying about getting the student enrolled regardless so they can get the commission check.

Business Response: Thank you for your recent correspondence.  I apologize for the late response; however, one of the individuals mentioned in the complaint was on vacation and just returned.

I've reviewed the complaint and completed a thorough investigation.  I've also attached a scan copy of the original complaint.

According to our records, ***** ***** called **** ******** after receiving his messages and they discussed her interest in the Pharmacy field. We offer a Doctorate in Pharmacy at our College of Pharmacy and a Pharmacy Technician Diploma and soon to be released Associates Degree in Pharmacy Technician at our Sullivan University main campus.  You will see his reference to *****'s conversation with **** below. **** did not have a scheduled appointment with ***** to come to the school as referenced in our records.  

***** arrived at the College of Pharmacy and not at the Sullivan University main campus admissions department where **** is located. ***** spoke with Dr. ******* and a support staff person (*****) while she was at the College of Pharmacy.  According to statements and my interviews with ***** and Dr. *******, the following occurred.   

***** was asked to come in our secure building so that directions to the person she was looking for would be able to properly be given.  ***** asked who the individual was she was looking for and ***** stated **** ******** who is not located in that building.  ***** shared she was highly interested in our program and could not wait to be part of the program.  She indicated she was looking for direction from the admissions department in obtaining her Bachelors so that she would have a better chance of being selected.  ***** advised her she does not need a Bachelor's Degree before acceptance into our program, but rather there are pre-requisites.  The Assistant Dean, Dr. *******, heard this discussion and then started to advise the individual of the course of action she could take prior to filing her application with our University.  He stated that needing a Bachelor's degree for consideration is a common misperception.  ***** advised her that Dr. ******* was the head of the admissions for this program.  He also informed her of our website that included all pre-requisites she should take along with the application process and admissions process. ***** thanked Dr. ******* and ***** and left the College of Pharmacy.  

On Wednesday, 6/13 at 11:52 am, ***** called **** to tell him that she had met with Dr. ******* and that she would not be keeping her appointment (however, please note there was no confirmed appointment). ***** stated that Dr. ******* had  informed her that we do not offer the prerequisite courses. According to ****, he had no further conversations with *****, never met her in person, did not tell her that she needed a Bachelor's degree, or that she could take all of her pre-requisite courses at Sullivan University.  Please note that every Doctorate in Pharmacy candidate is directed to our College of Pharmacy once the student clearly advises us of their interest.  The Pharmacy Technician or related Associates Degree program would be facilitated through Sullivan University main campus where **** is domiciled.

Please also note that our admissions officers are not paid commission nor are they provided incentives of any kind.

Thank you for your correspondance and we're very sorry ***** had less than an exemplary experience with all of our valued employees. We strive hard to meet our customers needs.  

We wish ***** the best in her future endeavors and hope that she reaches her goal of becoming a Pharmacist.  We stand ready to assist if needed. 
 
*** **** ** *********** ********* *******Sullivan University
3101 Bardstown Rd.
Louisville, KY 40205 USA
###-###-####
###-###-####
********************www.sullivan.edu

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9081099, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****

I don't have any problem with the feedback from Sullivan except for the fact that I did set up an appointment with **** for that day in which Sullivan is stating that **** said there was no "confirmed" appointment. The only way I can respond to that is that maybe **** failed to remember the fact that he called me to set up an appointment for which I took off work to arrive. Now I don't know if there is more to the appointment making process but if so I was not informed of it.  He did tell me I WOULD need a Bachelors degree (which is not required). Sullivan mentions in text the "valued staff"... well, valued staff in my opinion needs some honesty to back it up!!! I would like to say thank you for the responce and I do respect and appreciate your time and effort. I do have high moral standards though and believe that anyone in an advising position should be completely honest with the students. I rest my case and can only pray that this will make some kind of difference for the best! Have a good day!

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at Sullivan University for several years, I graduated with a MBA in September on 2010. At that time I went through a exit interview with Sullivan Universtiy and was told that I had no outstanding balance, my account was paid in full. Two months later I received my Degree in the mail. One year later I was notified that I now owe Sullivan University over $3000.00 dollars for something in 2009. I don't understand how this could happen, all of my schooling was on student loans that I have to pay back, now they are telling me that I owe them. Being a long time student with Sullivan I know how their practices work, you do not receive a degree if you owe a balance to the school. You cannot get your books at the bookstore on your account if you owe a balance. I would like to know how this happened. How can i tell if they deposited my student loan in someone elses account. And then a year later bills me. I have called several times trying to get help fro Sullivan with this matter and cannot get anyone there to research this matter. It is very disturbing, as I know how much Sullivan does to keep their accounts up to date. I just don't know how this could happen a years after the fact. The 2009 account was never brought to my attention.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see this cleared up. I need to know where my loan money went to and how they let me walk without knowing this and then bill me a year later for something that happened years before. I have been turned over to a collection agence and would like this removed. I t seams this was their mistake not mine. I also would like to know if I need to contact the Kentucky Department of Education on this matter and see if they can help me get this investagated. Thank You for your time and help with this matter. ***** *****

Business Response:

Please find this e-mail as a response to Mr. ***** ***** complaint concerning the outstanding balance billed to him by Sullivan University.  After thorough investigation, it was found that Sullivan University failed to process Mr. ***** last quarter financial aid.  Because of this, we did not receive any loan proceeds on his behalf.  This is why there was still an unpaid balance owed to the school.

Dr. **** ****** has approved an internal scholarship to cover his outstanding balance owed.  This adjustment should be made to Mr. ***** account within the next 5 business days.  I have notified the collection agency servicing his account and removed the collection hold that was previously on his account, has now been removed.  He will be able to request his transcripts or return to Sullivan University without any problems.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

***** *******Director of Corporate Collections
Sullivan University System

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9013319, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 ***** *****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem that I am experiencing with Sullivan University is that they say I owe them money. I have proof that my student loan balance is 0. To add, the university has a policy that you cannot graduate or receive copy's of your transcripts unless your account has been paid off. I have graduated, participating in graduation December 2005 and have requested transcripts and received copies of my transcripts in 2006 and in 2008. I have recently requested transcripts for a teaching job with another University and Sullivan is now telling me, 4 years later, that I owe them money. I have not received any notifications of such a balance. When corresponding with the school the are not willing to investigate the issue. When presented documentation to me, information is lacking where they sent me the notifications stating that I owe, and refuse to send me copies of when they did try to notify me. According to my student file/ledger/account the charges and payments balance out to $0.00 and clearly state that. This has caused a huge inconvenience for me and career progression and is very stressful for the university to say I owe such a large amount of money 4 years later. The school has not done thier due dilligence in trying to resolve the issue and have demonstrated poor practices of accounting. This is very unacceptable. Please help me try to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome I would like from this situation is for my account to reflect the correct amount owed which is a $0.00 balance. I want a letter stating that I DO NOT owe Sullivan University. I would also like for copies of my transcripts sent to me

Business Response:

Mr. *****,

In response to your request I asked our staff to provide me copies of all documentation we had that could respond to your requests. That documentation is attached.

As background I want you to know that I have personally involved myself in gathering information and responding to your requests. I normally ask others to do this task.
As you can imagine with some 9000 students in the System and some 1300 employees my days can be full. The reason I wanted to learn more about your issue of Loan 5 Repayment due is because of your excellent academic record and the several degrees earned from Sullivan. As an Alumnus I felt I owed you a close look at the issues you raised.

After a thorough review of each document my staff provided I am at a loss as to your misunderstanding about the repayment due on the Career Education Funds (CEF) loan you took out while a student at Sullivan. This loan was one of numerous loans and grants you obtained to assist you in receiving your education. And like the Federal Loans you received to finance your education and persona! Expense’s It must be repaid. I have checked and note that you have entered repayment and even consolidated those Federal Loans. As in the case of 'the CEF loan your balance showed zero when you graduated but as with those loans this loan also has to be repaid.

Please find the most important document and that is the Promissory Note you signed on October 31, 2002 when you asked the Sullivan University System to make you a loan through Career Education Funds (CEF) to help finance your education. With your extensive undergraduate and graduate education at Sullivan I know you understand Notes and obligations to repay debt incurred. In this case most of the amount of the $4100.00 borrowed was dispersed to pay your school and personal expenses while a student. This is identical to how the loan amounts you borrowed from the Federal Government were utilized. And like the Federal Loans this loan from CEF has to be repaid to Career Education Funds.

You will clearly see in paragraph II in the note “The loan becomes due on the first day of the SECOND Month after the borrower's attendance ceases. A late payment of $15 will be assessed if a payment is received after the 15th of the month. Paragraphs III through VI of the Promissory Note are terms to which you agreed when you applied for the loan as assented to by your signature dated 10/31/02.

As to your comments about your having a Zero balance at Graduation that is accurate because the amounts you borrowed were used to reduce your balance to zero which allowed you to graduate. This is not different in how the Federal Loan amounts were posted which also allowed the balance due Sullivan to be zero when you graduated.

That document is the only relevant document in those you requested relating to your Career Education Funds Debt (your student ledger notes that you did not use all the CEF loans funds and part of the loan was refunded to CEF prior to your graduation thereby lowering the amount due in repayment).

The other documents with explanations are enclosed. We were unable to answer your question #6 since we did not fully understand your request. In addition- we do not retain copies of each letter or form we send to former students with an unpaid debt but there is a computer document tracker attached which shows each letter and contact effort made to your address to get your debt into repayment.

I know you are an honorable man and do not want a judgment or garnishment against your record which will tarnish your credit rating in the future.

Finally I guess I am puzzled why you think that you do not owe this debt. Did you forget that repayment on the CEF Loan started after your final graduation?

Please review the documents provided. I suggest you immediately arrange to pay the amount currently due, which sadly is much larger than that due after your graduation.

Sincerely,

 

**** ********

Chancellor


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8888868, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ***** 

 


 

With Regards to the documentation in question which shows per Sullivan Systems that the balance is $0 and that information is hand written contained on their supplied documentation that I owe is not ethical or prudent.   In one of my classes I received at Sullivan which was business ethics the instructor talked about be ethical when it comes to business and being responsible.  Sullivan has not been responsible nor ethical in this matter.   Sullivan, states that a student is not able to either graduate or receive their degrees if they owe money to the University.  This is a constant and consistent theme when preparing to graduate from the school.  I fulfilled all my financial duties with regards to Sullivan which shows as a balance of $0. 

Sullivan states that they have been trying to get in touch with me which I have been in communication with Chancellor ** ******** due to the issue that has arisen.    I have requested copies of all letters sent to me and have yet to receive them.  Sullivan Systems has held my transcripts which I paid for due to this issue which has jeopardized a teaching position with the largest University in the country.  This is what alerted me to the problem and this was seven years after I graduate.  The school states that I owe them money, and I state I do not based on the owe schools Director of Financial Services “Mrs. ********”.  I was a constant pillar in this office to ensure that all funds were paid and that I was on track to graduate with no issues.  Moving forward I have received four degrees and received multiple transcripts from the school.  Now, the school states I owe them money is classless and not financial responsible nor ethical by the school. 

Where is the accountability from the school to balance their books quarterly or yearly?

I do not agree with the Sullivan and will continue to dispute this as it is unfair and extremely unjust. 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ** ****** *** *

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Per education contract with Sullivan, they offered a education taught by knowledgeable instructors. After 3 to 4 weeks of the basics the classes questions were met with answers like "I don't know I would ask my ***** guys the answer." This was a class to obtain a ***** Certified Network Associate certification. I found this to be in violation of the contract I signed and discontinued going to classes. I've tried to work with Sullivan to remove my debt but they are unwilling.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to remove the debt that is claimed to be owed for services rendered. I would also like a formal apology from the institution and the release of my transcripts so that I may attend a post secondary institute that can actually provide me an education.

Business Response: Please find this letter in response to the complaint issued by Mr. ***** ****** regarding his  outstanding balance owed to Sullivan University. Please find enclosed letters sent by Mr. ****** on two occasions disputing his balance. You will also find enclosed copies of our response.

Mr. ****** attended class, received grades, and still refuses to pay for services rendered. He has how requested an official transcript and based on our policies, cannot be released until his balance of $3837.42 has been paid in full.

At this time, we are willing to offer Mr. ****** a settlement of $3000.00. This must be paid in one lump sum via certified funds. Once the $3000 is paid, we will release his transcript per his request. He wilt have until February 29th to provide us with settlement amount. If he has not paid the requested amount, we will understand that Mr. ****** still refuses to pay what he is obligated for and the total balance of $3837.42 will need to be paid before transcripts will be provided.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8905550, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Good Morning,

I reject this response. Sullivan knows full and well the deceitful tactics used against this particular class. The only services rendered was providing an incompetent teacher and references to tools and labs that were never seen or used. I have contacted 3 people so far  I attended this class that can substantiate any of these claims that I've made. It is unacceptable to think that you can write a contract out and try to force people to pay for something that was not rendered. To be honest this is exactly what is wrong with America, everyone wants to get paid for doing nothing. If Sullivan is unwilling to release my transcripts and remove any debts from credit history. Myself along with the others who attended this class will be pursing legal counsel. Please pass along this is the LAST attempt to settle this outside of court.

Regards,

***** ******

 


 

 

Business Response:

Please find this as the response to Mr. ****** ‘s statement regarding our most recent letter to you.  In that letter, it outlined that the balance of $3837.42 is due to Sullivan University based on the terms of the agreements signed by Mr. ****** for classes he completed and received grades for.  Our records indicate that Mr. ****** never made any formal complaints during the time period he was enrolled but only disputed the services once he found out that his employer would no longer be paying the bill.

Once Mr. ****** satisfies his outstanding obligation in the amount of $3837.42, we will be more than happy to release his transcripts. 

Sincerely,

******* *************** ** ********* ***********

Sullivan University System

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8905550, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On the contrary a complaint was made. However, at this point it does not matter. I have 9 members of the class I attended with who are willing to back-up all the claims I have made. I will be contacting a lawyer today to proceed in filing a lawsuit against Sullivan.

Regards,

***** ******

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1