BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Korrect Optical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Korrect Optical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Korrect Optical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1972
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Optometric Examiners
163 W. Short Street # 550, Lexington KY 40507
http://www.optometry.ky.gov
Phone Number: (859) 246-2744

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven A. Baker, President Mrs. Mary Chandler, Retail Manager Mr. Carol Grayson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven A. Baker, President
Principal: Mrs. Mary Chandler, Retail Manager
Principal: Mr. Carol Grayson, Vice President
Business Category

OPTOMETRISTS-O.D. CONTACT LENSES OPTICIANS

Alternate Business Names
Eagle Safety Eyewear

Additional Locations

  • 3801 Bishop Lane

    Louisville, KY 40218 (502) 897-1004 (502) 897-1656

  • 4036 Dutchmans Lane

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 895-2020

  • 4747 Dixie Highway

    Louisville, KY 40216 (502) 447-2020 (502) 447-1799

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered new glasses through the VA Medical Center in Phoenix. First pair could not read. they replaced and now 2nd pair I can not see distances. I filled out and returned their satisfaction survey form. On form I requested a call to discuss, never received call. So far the 3 trips to this optical shop total waiting times are over 5 hours. I will not go visit the shop again to waste another 1 hour plus waiting . I could have paid full price for glasses somewhere else and been ahead financially because of missed time from work. What appeared to be a good deal on glasses has turned out rotten. The free pair I am entitled to because of being disabled vet are fine. Tells me the new prescription is good.

Business Response: Mr. ****,

 
It seems to be a measurement problem with your eyeglasses as the prescription does work in the other pair. We would request the chance to properly adjust the glasses for you and verify any issues. If you will return to the location to have this done they can handle that issue on site. If after the adjustments are done and you still cannot see properly we will happily issue you a refund.
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

did you read my complaint?  the reason I have not already returned is the amount of time wasted in waiting for service.   IN THE 3 TIMES I HAVE BEEN THERE WAITED OVER ONE HOUR AVERAGE EACH TIME.  I have already been back for adjustments as the glasses broke when first put them on.   so what are you going to suggest next?   I will not continue to waste my time and continue to miss time from work.  I might not feel this way if I was retired

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 3, 2013 I purchased a pair of eyeglasses for $89.00 (invoice # *****) from *** ***** at Korrect Optical store #60 in the Eureka VAMC, 930 West Harris Street, RM #118, Eureka, CA 95503, ************. At that time *** told me that if I was not completely satisfied with my eyeglasses I could return them for a refund. He said I would receive the eyeglasses through the USPS mail in a couple weeks. I did not recieve the eyeglasses until May 1, 2013. The eyeglasses arrived with a scratched frame (left side earpiece), and the frame was not the same one that I had chosen on April 3rd, and the frame did not fit properly to my face, and the prescription did not seem correct. I returned the eyeglasses on May 8th, 2013 to *** at his office, explained to him the problems with the eyeglasses (detailed above), and asked *** for a refund. At that time he said he could refund my $89.00 by either putting the $89.00 back on my debit card or by having the Korrect Optical main office issue me a check. I told him I wanted them to mail me a check for $89.00. On May 14th *** called me and said that since the prescription appeared correct, a manager at Korrect Optical said they would not refund my purchase price of $89.00. Korrect Optical still has the eyeglasses in their possession, probably at ***'s office, and they can keep them; I do not want them. I want Korrect Optical to mail a refund for $89.00 to me at **** ***** *** ******* ** ******

Desired Settlement: I want Korrect Optical to mail a refund for $89.00 to me at **** ***** *** ******* ** ******

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

************ ********************
Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: ***** *******
Company Phone:
Company Email: ********************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ***** **** ******
Staff Member: ***** *******

Response:

After further review, Korrect will be happy to refund Mr. ***** his payment of $89.00. A check will be mailed within 10 days to: ****** ***** ****** **** ***** ** ******* ** ***** We apologize to Mr. ***** for any inconvenience we have potentially caused and would look forward to serving him again in the future.

Sent on: 6/25/2013 10:49:12 AM

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: ***** *******
Company Phone: ###-###-####
Company Email: ********************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ***** **** ******
Staff Member: ***** *******

Response:

I researched with our accounting department and found a hold to be on the check in error. It has been released and will be mailed in the amount of $89.00 next week. I apologize for the dealy and apprciate your patience in this matter. It is my hope that this resolves the issue to your satisfaction.

Sent on: 10/18/2013 3:58:43 PM

Consumer Response:

Please be advised of new mailing address: ****** ******* *** ********** ****** *********** ** **********. I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an Army Veteran that just wanted to get my glasses filled with prescription lenses. I bought my own pair at *********** and brought them to the VA to get them filled with my prescription. They also asked if I wanted to upgrade for anti scratch lenses for $70. I paid for the upgrade fee. I received my glasses in the mail. The order that came with the lenses were overwhelming and could not be worn without getting a headache. Also the frames that I had bought were a bit bigger than I usual have. The lenses were just not right for my eyes. The prescription was wrong. I returned my glasses to lenscrafters because i could not wear them. I recently moved to San Diego because husband had orders to be in San Diego. I came across my receipt to see if I can get my glasses filled again with the correct prescription lenses. I was hoping I could used the upgrade fee I paid for my last pair (that I no longer have) towards this one. None of this was my fault from the beginning. Speaking with the customer service from the Fresno VA and Korrect Optical was a very bad experience. Yes it's been 5 months since but I had to move. I know it sounds like I am trying to get a new pair filled for free. But that is not the case. The doctor gave me bad prescription so I got my eye exam redone. Korrect Opitical says it has a 90-day policy. No where on the receipt does it say anything about returns not was I told that I had to bring the lenses back! Customer service kept calling me "HONEY" which I politely asked to stop calling me that and she responded with "HONEY, this convo is over" I'm not asking for anything. The least they can do is be professional and polite. I just feel like I paid $70 for nothing. Maybe of there were more specific policies written about returns then I would of taken those steps. But how was I suppose to know that the company wanted just the lens part back within 90-days. Korrect optical is dealing with US MIlitary Veterans. We served therefore it should be returned to us professionally.

Desired Settlement: I want to get my glasses filled or at least refund me the upgrade fee.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: ***** *******
Company Phone: 502-********
Company Email: ********************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ****** *******
Staff Member: ******** *****

Response:

Korrect Optical does maintain a 90 day return policy. After reviewing your situation we have determined that we will issue a good will refund for the amount of your upgrade. It will total $70.00. Korrect Optical maintains that you did exceed our return policy criteria, but want to extend this courtesy to you. We appreciate your service to your country and apologize for your unpleasant experience. Please email me and confirm the correct address that we may forward your refund check to. My contact information is ********************. Please let me know if there is anything additional I can help you with. Respectfully, ***** ** ******* VP Korrect Optical ************ ********************

Sent on: 5/17/2013 2:38:15 PM

Consumer Response:

The following complaint has not been resolved. The business asked for my address to mail the refund. I sent them my email and there was no reply nor did I get my refund. 

 

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: *** *****
Company Phone: ************
Company Email: ******************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ****** *******
Staff Member: ******** *****

Response:

Ms. *******, we apologize for any inconvienience and since you are no longer in the Fresno area where glasses can be verified and reprocessed , we will iisue a full refund for you upon return of materials. Please contact me directly and we can process for you.

Sent on: 7/3/2013 12:22:32 PM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Following an eye exam and upon new prescription for a prism, my opthalmalogist referred to a list of places including Korrect Optical that would fill the new prescription as well as refund or remake if the prescription changed within a short period of time. Over the phone, a female employee verbally stated that the company would remake new glasses if the prescription changed within 30 days and also would refund if the new prescription were to be less expensive, or I wold have to pay the difference if it were more expensive. After I received my glasses, the prism turned out to be too much for my eyes to handle and I went back for another checkup with my opthalmalogist and he changed my prescription to just a +1.00 and to remove the prism. I went into the store and the same employee that I spoke with originally, and helped me the first time completed my new prescription and also made a note to the manager to refund me for the prism charge ($50). She told my mother and I that he wasn't in on that day but would be there the next day and would call me to complete the refund. I received a phone call the next day from the manager (******* ******) and he tried to tell me that in could not receive any refund and that it was my fault for having a wrong prescription. He also argued with my and raised his voice, telling me that even though I was told incorrectly on multiple occasions that I was wrong and would not receive anything other than just the new glasses. I explained to him several times that it was not told me that way or I would have not come there because I explained on the phone the first day to the employee that the prism may just be for a short period of time because I had never had it and she assured me I would receive a refund and a new remake for my glasses. I am now having to pay for an expensive pair of glasses from a company that would not let me get any sort of refund and the manager not only yelled at me but also to my mother.

Desired Settlement: Refund for prism

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: 9345745
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: ***** *******
Company Phone: ###-###-####
Company Email: ********************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ******* ********
Staff Member: ***** *******

Response:

We are very sorry we were unable to resolve Ms ********'s complaint. Ms ******** was in our Dupont store on 11/27 with a prescription for eyeglasses from Dr. ******. The Dr prescribed for Ms ******** a prism lens. Korrect made the eyeglasses per the doctor's prescription. On 12/19/2012 Ms ******** returned to her doctor complained that she could not see well using her new glasses. He wrote her a new prescription without a prism. There was an initial charge on the original prescription for $50.00 for adding prism. It is, and has always been Korrect Optical's policy as a courtesy to remake lens for our patients even if it is a doctor error. We were more than glad to do this.The patient picked up the new pair and expected a refund for the prism added to the original pair.To restate we were happy to remake the glasses over again at no charge but were unable to provide a refund. The patient's mother called and spoke with ******* *****. She became angry when Mr ***** reiterated Korrect's policy. We strive in every case to please our patients and provide a quality custom made product. In this case we made the product twice through no fault of ours and were happy to do so.

Sent on: 1/3/2013 2:15:57 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9345745, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I, the customer, understood the policy once it was explained by the manager, ******* ******, but had heard from one particular employee on more than one phone call and personal conversation otherwise. I do not believe I should have been treated with such disrespect as I was to incorrectly by an employee. It was not about the money, it was about the customer service by the manager. Dr. ****** was under the same impression as to the refund for the prism which is why I was referred initially to Korrect Optical. Again, it was never about the money, it was about the customer service of the manager as disregard to the employee that told me wrong and led me to believe differently on several occasions. Thank you. 

Regards,

******* ********

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered progressive, polarized, photochromic glasses at the ***** ****, CA VA outpatient clinic from the Korrect Optical representative. After five weeks I received glasses that were not polarized. The representative refused to refund my money but did reorder. Two weeks later I received glasses that were polarized but not photochromic. I want my money back so I can order glasses from a reputable company.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money and I will return the incorrect glasses to the local representative of Korrect Optical.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: ***** *******
Company Phone: 502-********
Company Email: ********************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: **** ****** *****
Staff Member: ***** *******

Response:

Korrect Optical has reviewed Mr. ******* issue. Mr. ***** originally requested a progressive lens, high index, photochromic and polarized. Because of the complicated order our optician in ***** **** spoke with our lens department to verify that we could do this job and to make sure the correct lens was selected. When Mr. ***** returned he was extremely unhappy and wanted a refund. We explained that he needed to give us a chance to fix his order. The lab was contacted to verify how to process the remake. To our knowledge we had no further contact with Mr. ***** and this is the first that we have heard that he is unhappy with the second pair of eyeglasses. We are contacting Mr ***** today to obtain his credit card number in order to process the credit in the amount of $229.00. We only ask that Mr. ***** return to us the glasses that were incorrect as we would like to send them to our quality control manager for further analysis. We do apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused Mr. *****. I am not sure what else I could have done to troubleshoot this order and agree that at this point a refund is the best way to handle the situation. Please let me know if I need to do anything else regarding this matter.

Sent on: 10/4/2012 3:30:22 PM

Consumer Response: No, I am not pleased but will not waste more of my time and travel.

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of glasses on 8/23/12, the glasses never arrived and I still haven't gotten a refund for the amount which is $135.68. I've called for the refund twice and both times it hasn't gone through, it is now 10/3/12, this has been going on for over a month. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want the $135.68 that I paid for glasses I never received deposited back into my bank account posthaste.

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: Korrect Optical
Company Contact: ***** *******
Company Phone: 502*********
Company Email: ********************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ****** ***** ********
Staff Member: ***** *******

Response:

We are sorry for the delay. The credit was in fact processed to the cc used for the initial purchase. It was entered on 10/01/2012. We again apologize for the delay and would be happy to offer a 25% courtesy discount on any future purchases.

Sent on: 10/4/2012 2:44:39 PM

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1