Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Avada Audiology & Hearing Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Avada Audiology & Hearing Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Avada Audiology & Hearing Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1977 Business started: 08/01/1975 in KY Business incorporated 03/24/2000 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Licensing-Hearing Aid
P O Box 456, Frankfort KY 40602
Phone Number: (502) 564-3296

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Barlow, Compliance Officer Ms. Kim Capps, Marketing Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Barlow, Compliance Officer
Customer Contact: Ms. Kim Capps, Marketing Coordinator
Business Category

HEARING AIDS & ASSISTIVE DEVICES

Service Area
According to Avada Hearing Care Centers in December 2010; Avada Hearing Care Centers have nearly 300 locations nationwide to serve you. To find the Avada closest to you visit us on the web: http://www.avada.com/avada-locations-by-state.html.
Alternate Business Names
Avada Audiology Avada Audiology and Hearing Care Avada Hearing Care Avada Hearing Care Center Avada Hearing Center
Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hearing Aid Purchasers

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Avada Audiology & Hearing Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the ******** Location on December 4, 2014, for being fitted for hearing aids after a hearing test revealed I would be a good candidate for hearing aids. I was referred to this center by my insurance company, who stated that they were an in-network provider. The staff looked up the insurance coverage and found that I was eligible for up to $6000 of hearing aids ($3000 per ear). Upon selecting hearing aids that were within this price range and met my needs, I was told that I had to pay for the hearing aids up front, and then it would be 4-6 weeks for insurance to reimburse me. I have *never* had this come from any network provider with my insurance. I was told that they had payment plans available and that it wouldn't be a problem. In the mean time, I went to the Avada website and printed coupons. The coupon I had was for the "Affordable Option" and stated "6 months - no interest, or payments as low as $40 per month." Interest waived if paid in full in 180 days, must make minimum monthly payment. Non-transferrable. Offer may not be combined with other offers, discounts or coupons. LImit one discount per person. May not be used with previous purchases. Fast forward to December 12. I went to pick up my hearing aids, and presented the coupon. I was told I wouldn't be able to pick up my hearing aids the same day. I then found out that the "Affordable Option" was actually through **********. I am currently a ********** card holder, but do not have a high enough available balance to facilitate the purchase. I called ********** and was denied a higher credit line. I feel that the hearing center is misleading as the coupon did not state that the payment plan was subject to credit approval. Also, the staff didn't indicate that there would be a need for a credit check. Considering my insurance would be covering the entire purchase amount and this was a network provider, the policy to pay up-front is questionable.

Desired Settlement: In order to resolve this issue I would like the following: 1) A change in the company coupons to disclose that the financing offers are subject to credit approval and who the credit provider is. 2) A change in the training of the staff and audiologists to disclose the truth in financing up front. 3) If there is insurance coverage, especially for a network provider, a change in the policy so that insurance is billed directly. Not billing insurance directly can lead to misbilling, and with devices this expensive can subject others to extensive credit troubles. 4) I want to be reimbursed a total of $219.35 for my half-day of vacation time taken for this fitting.

Business Response:

We are in Receipt of your recent inquiry regarding the above referenced patient.  As a longstanding Wisconsin business, BBB and community member, we certainly take these matters very seriously.  I would also add, patient care is our number one priority.  Those words are easy to say, but we go into every new and existing relationship with the attitude that we plan to work with that person for years and years to ensure they are hearing their very best.

In direct response to Mr. **********’s specific complaint, which makes some valid points, our company will…

1.       …update the “website coupons” immediately to include verbiage that these terms are with “Approved Credit”.

<!-     …revise our training in this area of “financial disclosure” to be more fully versed in the terms and conditions.

   .      …finally, we will go ahead and process Mr. ********** insurance claim directly with the insurance carrier without requiring payment in advance from him. 

Our company hopes that these 3 steps will satisfy your inquiry into this matter, but MORE IMPORTANTLY, Mr. ********** will accept our apology and continue to work with us in helping him hear better and provide him the service and convenience that will meet his needs now and for years to come.

Please feel free to contact me if you have further questions.

Sincerely, 

***** ** ******

Compliance Officer

 %

11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/21/14 I purchased 2 hearing aids from Avada at a cost of $5,590. I paid a deposit of $1,090 which left an amount due of $4,500. I was verbally told by **** at Avada that I could finance this amount through ********** for up to 60 months but if I paid it off within 12 months, I would not be charged any interest. I agreed to this and the finance paperwork was presented to me and I signed promptly. I began receiving the monthly invoices from ********** and paid them every month more than their indicated minimum payment with a final payment of $500 made on 10/1/14; therefore, I paid the entire financed amount of $4,500 in 6 months. The following month I received an invoice from ********** for $210.37 for INTEREST. I called ********** about this and they advised the finance agreement that was written up by Avada did not indicate a promotional period of no interest if paid within 12 months. I then called Avada and spoke with ****, the very same person who worked with me on the finance paperwork and who told me I would not owe any interest if paid within 12 months. She looked at the paperwork and noticed that she did not write it up properly; therefore ********** has all rights to expect payment for the interest. I balked and she called Avada headquarters and was advised there was nothing they could do. **** told me one thing and she did another - whether intentional or not, I do not feel I owe this interest. Avada should be the one to make this right. I don't want my credit ruined because of this so I will probably pay the next invoice. I then would expect Avada to refund me the amount I paid in interest.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of all interest I end up having to pay to **********. The interest ********** was owed as of 11/10/14 was $210.37. I did not pay that amount; however, when I get the next invoice, I'm certain it will be more and I intend on paying what is due in full at that time. That will be the amount I expect to be refunded by Avada.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

At Avada of NC, we offer financing through **** ****** with the option of 3 plans; 12 months with no interest, 40 months with 14.9% interest and 60 months with 14.9% interest. At the time of purchase, Harrison ****** was offered and received a thorough explanation of the choices of financing options with **** ******. The clinician completed the Promotional Plan Selection Slip that clearly shows the selection of 14.9% interest and the 60 month plan selection. A promotional period was not indicated. The patient signed and dated that form and signed the credit card receipts with the plan #0560 circled. The clinician explained that in conjunction with the signed form and receipt, she reviewed and reiterated what plan that the patient had selected, which was 5 years (60 months). Additionally, as a practice, she circles the plan number on the receipt as an extra precautionary measure to ensure the patient understands which plan they are agreeing to. The related documents are attached to this response.

After a thorough managerial review of the case, it has been determined that the documents in place are binding and no wrong doing occurred. At best, a misunderstanding may have occurred, but all procedural practices to avoid such a situation were followed. The loan cannot at this time be altered. At Avada, it is our mission to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. We look forward to seeing Mr. ****** in the office for service of his new hearing instruments.

**** ******, Regional Director
Avada of North Carolina

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchaced hearingaids and from my first follow up visit I told ****** **** that there was problems.I couldn't wear them when I work because the wind noise was terrible,she changed ear pieces said that would fix it,it didn't when you increased the volume the only increase you got was loader back ground noise,tv or radio would have to be turned manually.then ***** came and told me she had removed all tinnyness,iwent back on 3-28-14 same complaints ***** said I will take out tinnyness after being told she had done this the last visit.the will always adjust them or make it look like they are doing something but I have never seen any results.after being treated this way I have no confidence in avada or trust them.this has gone on long enough and I want my money refunded,cut all ties with avada.this has been going on a year and a half,$6780.00 is to mush to waste.i have requested a refund many times****** told me she couldn't because her boss to hard to get ahold of. she gave me the name ***** on 3-28-2014,i called on 3-28-2014 at 9:30 am ,***** still has not retuned my call,today is 4-1-2014.i have two friends that wear devices,i tried both all day on each with no problems,when they put mine on they said they coundnt stand the aggravation and noise.i am a business owner myself,if I treated customers this way I wouldn't have a business. Product_Or_Service: hearing aids Account_Number: $6780.00

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund return my money,i want no more dealings with avada

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


Mr. ***** ****** purchased *** **** hearing instruments for the right and left ears on November 12, 2012 by ****** ***** in our ***** office location.  Mr. ****** had been a long standing patient of ours since December, 2009 when he purchased his first set of hearing instruments from ****** ****** ***** office of Avada Audiology and Hearing Care. 

Our records indicate that he was fit on November 20, 2012 with a follow-up visit on December 15, 2012.  He was seen or scheduled for follow up visits as follows:

11/12/12 Sold instruments

11/20/12 Fit instruments

12/5/12 Follow up after new fitting

3/8/13 Reprogrammed and serviced

4/4/13 He cancelled Lace Aural Rehabilitation Session

6/28/13 No showed for Service Appointment

9/9/13 PCC, ******** ****** sent him a postcard to remind him to reschedule his service appointment

9/13/13 Mr. ****** called in to reschedule his service appointment

9/25/13 Service appointment indicating he was unhappy and ***** ******* Hearing Instrument Specialist reprogrammed the instruments and worked with Mr. ******.   Mr. ****** requested to be placed on the no call list.

12/5/13 Came in to pick up batteries on his battery plan

1/3/14 Contacted by postcard to schedule Service appointment

3/26/14 No showed for service appointment

3/27/14 Mr. ****** called to reschedule his missed appointment

3/28/14 Service appointment. Mr. ****** was very upset with the instruments sounding tinny and having feedback.  Instruments were sent to manufacturer however the manufacturer found nothing wrong with the hearing instruments.  At this appointment, Mr. ****** was rude enough to ***** ******* Hearing Instrument Specialist that ******** ******, patient care specialist stepped in to calm Mr. ****** down to let him know ***** was attempting to assist him.

4/4/14  I asked Mr. ****** to be seen with ****** ***** and myself in our *********** office.  He refused and indicated he would not be back to any Avada office. 

4/4/14 ******** ****** contacted Mr. ****** to let him know his hearing instruments were back from the manufacturer from service and that he could pick the instruments up at his convenience. 

Our records indicate that he was provided a sixty day trial period which began on November 20, 2012.  Attached is a copy of the contract, medical clearance and delivery receipt all which is in compliance with the Ohio Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitter licensing rules and laws. Unfortunately, the window of time given to return the instruments has passed. We encourage Mr. ****** to pick up his hearing instruments and continue with service and adjustments as needed. At Avada, our mission is to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction.


***** **********

Director of Operations

Avada of Ohio

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** ****** ******

 


 

 

 statement is not true,i requested   a refund on 12/5/12 with ****** ,she was full of panic at my request she changed ear plugs at that time, didn't fix problem of wind noise which she assured me it would.on 3/8/13 after another complaint about wind noise,tinnyness, and squeeling she reprogramed nothing changed ****** knew my dissatisfaction, it was always try this for a month,after repeatedly expressing my problems with them.on9/25/13  my first appointment with ***** I requested a refund she said the person that would make that decision was hard to get ahold of, but she would take all the tinnyness out of units,nothing changed, ***** expressed to me that ****** had not programed them the way she would and indicated they weren't right,on 3/28/14 I saw ***** again, explained that I couldn't even wear them it so bad,she then told me she was going to take the tinnyness out,when I said you have already done she looked puzzled and made another excuse, at that point she was off her game,i put the units on went to the restroom flushed the toilett still tinny returned to her office,she said she wanted to send them for testing,i requested her bosses number ,at first she acted like she didn't know who to call,asked ********, they gave me ****** name and number she assured me she would do everything she could to get my refund,,i immediately called *****,****** answered the phone I told her to have ***** call me, she wanted me come see her,i told that the problems stated with her and I didn't trust her,i told her my plans to contact BBB, she said please don't, offered me an upgrade on the units,i refused told I wanted nothing to do with avada  on 4/4/13 ***** finally called me,i said I couldnt believe it took her a week,she made up a lame excuse why it took her so long, and when ******** called  that day, she told me a total different story why it took so long to call. on 11/12/12 I only had unit for one ear. their records are not true.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

It is Avada Audiology and Hearing Care’s continued intent for our consumers to be as satisfied with the sound quality and performance as possible with their hearing instruments.  We strive as a company to serve our patients to the best of our abilities.  The satisfaction and success with hearing instruments is an experience that occurs with both the clinician and the patient. In addition, success of a hearing instrument fitting is subjective as we work with an impaired auditory system that often cannot be improved to “normal” status but enhances the patients hearing.   In this situation, there is a disconnect between the patient and Avada. 

This patient’s perception is that these instruments are not providing the sound quality that he desires.  There is no reason why these quality hearing instruments should not be able to provide benefit to the patient.  His complaints are subjective and we have worked with him when he has been able to make appointments in our office.  To satisfy him, the instruments were sent to the manufacturer who verified that there are no defects with the hearing instruments themselves.  A copy of that manufacturers report is attached. Mr. ****** came to the office to pick up his hearing instruments as well as batteries on April 14, 2014.

We are more than happy to continue to offer assistance to help Mr. ******.  I have personally extended an invitation to him to work directly with Mr. ****** to resolve his concerns.  I am a university trained audiologist with thirty-six years of experience.  We stand willing, ready and able to help this patient with his hearing healthcare needs.

Sincerely,


***** ********** ** *****
Audiologist/General Manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** ****** ******

 


 

 

to my knowledge they have not addressed one issue that I have with units or why I have had these issues . everytime  you go in they give you batterys,I think they should stay focused on real issues, not the free batterys they hand out.i would like to deal with someone other than **************,mainly for her lack of customer service and respect that it took her 1 week to return my call,if I had not filed with the BBB I never would have heard from her, check the time table.i don't know what secret she has to fix these units that 2 of her leading hearing specialists. after all the programming,removing tinnyness twice,squelling and wind noise and numerous requests for a refund, ***** still wants to offer customer service and me be satisfied with avada saying we fixed the problem and show you to the door.i have had that for almost 18 months,they have had numerous attemps to fix the problems but the problems are still here.if ***** has so many years of service why was she not called in to fix it long ago.on 9-25-2013 I told ***** ****** that I was unhappy, that I needed to talk to her boss about a refund and was told they were too hard to get ahold of.i would like to deal with someone other than ***** *********,she has proved to me what my satisfaction means to her in her long delay to address it. I dont trust or believe her. I am a business man myself and I believe everyone has the right to be made whole. it was not my idea to send units back to the factory it was julies.please BBB let me be whole again.thank you, ***** ** ******

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to obtain batteries. Batteries fail sometimes within a few minutes.I made visits to Wautoma office, technician checked hearing aids and reported they are fine. Gave me a free card of batteries, I swear they areduds The date on card is 2017. Initially, technician assured me they weregood for 1 week. Later he changed the story to mean 8 hours. I never got8 hours out of a battery. In the meantime, I moved to Marshfield WI to benear medical facilities due to age. I wrote to ***** ******* requestingbatteries. I never heard from him. Another person sent me a note to makean appointment in another city, Wisconsin Rapids. I called that number andspoke with a secretary. I am to make an appointment there. At my age, I find it too risky driving on winter roads to a unfamiliar city, looking fortheir office. I sent ***** coupons for batteries, instead they send me more coupons. A vicious intimidating circle. To make matters redundant, I cannot fit the paper inside the aids to enhance my hearing. The short wires from the unit to the aid cause the aids to slip out. Now I need togo to a medical clinic for an ear irritation When I remove my reading glasses, they pull the ear piece out of my ear. I paid $6,090.00 in fullat the signing of the contract which was on April 23, 2013. At this rate,they will run out the contract and leave me hanging with a white elephant.I find this an example of senior abuse with financial exploitation. I need help. My next step is with the Federal agencies. I could send the product in the mail, but this has more risks.

Desired Settlement: Provide service according to the warranty, or refund. The secretary with whom I spoke said perhaps the aids need to be checked. They were checkedby ***** ******* when I complained about battery life earlier.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *********,

We are very sorry to hear about your issue with batteries for your instruments.  We are more than happy to replace those batteries!  We will mail you 4 packages at once.  Please note that we normally do not mail batteries but are making an exception in your case.

We do agree that you need to have your instruments looked at for service.  And we understand that since you have moved you may be reluctant to drive to Wisconsin Rapids for service.  An option is to mail them, and if you mail your hearing aids using a parcel delivery company, or even the United States Postal Service, you can get them insured so as to minimize the risk.  You could mail them to our Appleton office and Jason ******* will examine them and send them back to you.  We always insure any hearing aids we mail.

Our address at the Appleton office is:

Avada Audiology & Hearing Care
1440 S Oneida Street - Suite N
Appleton WI 54915

Please call us at ###-###-#### to let us know when you mail them.

We will do everything we can to help you hear your very best with your instruments. It is our mission to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. 

Sincerely,

*** ********, Regional Director
Avada of Wisconsin & Illinois

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *********


 

 

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a previous visitor to Avada, mainly to check the improvemnents in technology: Clarity. I have spoken to ***** several times. Very helpful lady with several years of experience at both locations.(They have relocated to 95th and Cicero)This year I responded to Sales letter, stating that if you came in, the office would clean, replace the rubber on my old hearing aid and give tests to find out what my hearing capability was, along with cleaning of the ear drumbsThe man who administered the tests did a fine job UNTILL it became evident that there would not be a purchase of the product...yet!The product was GREAT. I wanted to take time to see what kind of a loan I could get on my own.(I was told there was financing: over 14%, I told him my credit was better than that.The figure for the product was 5,700. I told him that was not in my budget. He went down to 4,000. He was insistant on knowing "why" not?I told him I needed time to look into my finances first.JUST AS SOON AS THOSE WORDS WERE SPOKEN, HIS WHOLE ATTITUDE CHANGED.HE DISMISSED ME WTH HIS BODY AND HIS EXPRESSION. HE JUST EXCUSED ME, GOT UP AND WAITED FOR ME TO LEAVE.None of the advertised work on my hearing aid was done, nor my ears cleaned.A few days later, I called ***** to see if she would be willing to hear a complaint and she did.She was not surprised. She told me he was a "manager" and there had been other complaints of the same type. I left the office with a feeling of dismay and rejectionHis only interest was a SALE and nothing else.If HE is a manager/owner? Your business is in deep trouble. This memo is constructive in nature, hope you will take it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want what was advertised in the letter.AND Not by this man's services.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

The situation regarding Ms. **********, as explained by Avada Clinician **** ******, is that there appears to have been some serious misunderstandings in his communication with Ms. **********.

She is on Illinois Public Aid. As a Hearing Instrument Specialist, and not an Audiologist, the Avada clinician is not allowed to service a patient on Public Aid. In addition, Avada does not accept that insurance. The clinician explained to Ms. ********** that she would have to pay out of pocket for new aids with Avada.  She asked how much the recommendation he was talking about was and he told her $5700. When he was told that was too much, he discussed another option for $4000. However, the main emphasis was for her to use the Public Insurance she has. He told her that she would have great benefits using her Public Aid at the Chicago Hospital. He referred her to the hospital for help.

Her ears were clear. The aid she was wearing was 12 years old. Her aid was cleaned but programming could not be done because he did not have the software for that type of aid. Additionally, the Avada ad said nothing about cleaning the ears, as by matter of policy at Avada of Wisconsin or Illinois none of our Hearing Instrument Specialists in that region do any cleaning of ears. It seems the clinician provided his best recommendations for this patient.

I apologize for any misunderstandings, as at Avada, our mission is to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. 

Sincerely,

*** ********

Regional Director

Avada of Wisconsin & Illinois 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* - **********


 

I understand the response

Please understand: ALL I WANTED WAS WHAT THEY ADVERTISED IN THE LETTER I SENT YOU

Replace 0ld tubng or wax guards

cleaining of case, battery contacts and sound tubes

Video otoscopic inspecion of ear and hearing instruments

Free moisture control Kit Free battery life indicator, free pack of fresh batteries and more....

I was NOT on Public Aid at the time I went to him. I am on a SPend Down and am now covered for the first three months in 2014

That letter to me was why I came there in the first place.

 

10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 6, 2013 my grandmother went in for a free hearing test to check her hearing they check her hearing and advised her that she needed hearing aids. My grandmother is 86 years old ***** ****** in the Branch Office in Kinston fill out purchase agreement on January 23, 2013 this is prior to performing the test on my grandmother to get her to purchase these expensive hearing aids. My grandmother didn't let any of the family know about what she had done until after she picked them up on March 2, 2013. My grandmother went back to the Avada with the hearing aids within the 60 day period and was told that she couldn't return them and the lady told her if you didn't want them why did you make a payment the reason why she did was to keep her GOOD credit rating . PLEASE HELP MY GRANDMOTHER SHE IS A SENIOR CITIZEN and was taken advantage of by these people in this company. Also later I found out that they had increased the amount of social security she receives just to get her approved for CARE CREDIT . My grandmother had excellent credit until she refused to pay for these hearing aids because they are linked to GE MONEY BANK they have destroyed her GOOD credit standings.

Desired Settlement: Take the hearing aids back she will be willing to pay the 3% restocking fee , restore her good credit rating and OPEN her account back with GE MONEY BANK and stop the harassing phone calls.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

The hearing instrument was delivered on 2-16-13.  The patient did not ask for a refund until sometime in May, 2013.  I wrote to her son and explained the purchase was outside of the return period.  Our office made an appointment to visit with the patient and her attorney.  They did not show.  I wrote to her son:

May 24, 2013

***** ** *****

** ****** ****
******** ** **********

Dear Mr. ******

I am in receipt of your correspondence regarding the hearing aid purchase of ******* ******.  Mrs. ****** purchased the hearing instruments on February 4th, 2013. 

Unfortunately, due to the age of the instruments, we are unable to return for a refund.  Our 60-day 100% money back guarantee gave her ample time to return the aids for full credit.

We will be glad to continue to service the aids Mrs. ****** purchased, because at Avada our mission is to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, technology, ethics and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction.

Regards,

**** ** ******
 Regional Director

Avada of NC

 

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** signed the agreement papers on Nov. 10,2011. ******** **** paid $500.00 on Dec.17,2011. The balance was put on care credit. On Nov.16,2011 *** was admitted to the hospital with double phnemonia. Due to his oxygen level being so low for so long,he has never fully recovered. He did not know our house when we came home. Very very confused. He was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer,both lungs,and bone. I had called the office and talked to **** ********* about returning the hearing aids. He asked me what I didn;t understand about a signed contract? I let it go. Was telling the visiting nurse and she told me to get in contact with you. The hearing aids have not been used since the first week of Dec. 2011. Atotal waste of money we could use for other things. He said they could come to the house and help him with them. He would not wear them. They made his ears very itchy and he has absolutely no concerns for them. Do they understand someone with memory problems? He has actually had no use from them. My name is ***** ****** and I do have power of attorney. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I could not find the correct complaint above. Thought someone would understand the situation and have a little sympathy. The way we used to be.

Business Response:

At ***** we allow a patient to return the instruments for a full refund if returned within 30 days. We do not refund after 30 days. The patient did not attempt to return them until the 30 day return privilege expired.

We are sorry for the hardship the couple is experiencing. We will gladly continue with service visits that are designed to encourage the use of the instruments. The wearing of these instruments are in the best interest of the patient.

However, as a company, we must hold to the contracts on the instruments sold to all of our patients, and with this particular case being outside of the return period there is nothing we can do in the way of a return. The purchase includes cleaning, servicing and adjusting the instruments for the life of the instruments. We will honor that and will be glad to make a home visit if the health of the patient is preventing him from comfortably making the trip to the office.

 

At ***** it is our mission to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available.

 

Sincerely,

******* ****** Regional Director

***** of PA

 

 

Thank you,

***

12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have insurance through the Union I belong to. I had to pay half the end of august to place the order. I received the aids the next week and had to pay the remaining half. I wanted the necessary info to file a claim with the union. The girl said they had to do it. A month went by with no check for $1500.00. I inquired and she said she was still typing it and it would go to an agency that would file the claim. Another month and I called the union. They said the paper work said to issue the check to Avada which was sent out October 23rd. I called her again and she said she didnt have the check yet, 2 weeks after it was mailed. She said she would cash the check and issue a new check to me. The union will put a trace on the check after 30 days which is Friday. Is she shopping with my money???

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

Avada of WI Manager ****** ***** spoke with Mr. ***** on 11-20-12 to explain that ******* received the check on 11-8-12.  ******* notified Avada on 11-13-12 that it had been deposited, and on 11-16-12 the refund check was issued. She thanked Mr. ***** for his patience and apologized for the delay that sometimes comes with insurance. She asked him if he had any other questions or concerns, and he said no and thanked her.  Mrs. ***** advised that considering the holiday delays he should receive it early this week.

At Avada Hearing Care Centers we are committed to serving the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. We certainly hope that Mr. ***** will conclude we have honored our mission in regard to this situation.

Thank you,

*** ********, Regional Director

Avada of Wisconsin