BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Avada Audiology & Hearing Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Avada Audiology & Hearing Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Avada Audiology & Hearing Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1977 Business started: 08/01/1975 in KY Business incorporated: 03/24/2000 in KY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Board of Licensing-Hearing Aid
P O Box 456, Frankfort KY 40602
Phone Number: (502) 564-3296

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Barlow, C.E.O. Ms. Kim Capps, Executive Admin.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Barlow, C.E.O.
Business Category

HEARING AIDS & ASSISTIVE DEVICES

Service Area
According to Avada Hearing Care Centers in December 2010; Avada Hearing Care Centers have nearly 300 locations nationwide to serve you. To find the Avada closest to you visit us on the web: http://www.avada.com/avada-locations-by-state.html.
Alternate Business Names
Avada Audiology Avada Audiology and Hearing Care Avada Hearing Care Avada Hearing Care Center Avada Hearing Center
Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hearing Aid Purchasers

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Avada Audiology & Hearing Care

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 253-9802(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchaced hearingaids and from my first follow up visit I told ****** **** that there was problems.I couldn't wear them when I work because the wind noise was terrible,she changed ear pieces said that would fix it,it didn't when you increased the volume the only increase you got was loader back ground noise,tv or radio would have to be turned manually.then ***** came and told me she had removed all tinnyness,iwent back on 3-28-14 same complaints ***** said I will take out tinnyness after being told she had done this the last visit.the will always adjust them or make it look like they are doing something but I have never seen any results.after being treated this way I have no confidence in avada or trust them.this has gone on long enough and I want my money refunded,cut all ties with avada.this has been going on a year and a half,$6780.00 is to mush to waste.i have requested a refund many times****** told me she couldn't because her boss to hard to get ahold of. she gave me the name ***** on 3-28-2014,i called on 3-28-2014 at 9:30 am ,***** still has not retuned my call,today is 4-1-2014.i have two friends that wear devices,i tried both all day on each with no problems,when they put mine on they said they coundnt stand the aggravation and noise.i am a business owner myself,if I treated customers this way I wouldn't have a business. Product_Or_Service: hearing aids Account_Number: $6780.00

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund return my money,i want no more dealings with avada

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


Mr. ***** ****** purchased *** **** hearing instruments for the right and left ears on November 12, 2012 by ****** ***** in our ***** office location.  Mr. ****** had been a long standing patient of ours since December, 2009 when he purchased his first set of hearing instruments from ****** ****** ***** office of Avada Audiology and Hearing Care. 

Our records indicate that he was fit on November 20, 2012 with a follow-up visit on December 15, 2012.  He was seen or scheduled for follow up visits as follows:

11/12/12 Sold instruments

11/20/12 Fit instruments

12/5/12 Follow up after new fitting

3/8/13 Reprogrammed and serviced

4/4/13 He cancelled Lace Aural Rehabilitation Session

6/28/13 No showed for Service Appointment

9/9/13 PCC, ******** ****** sent him a postcard to remind him to reschedule his service appointment

9/13/13 Mr. ****** called in to reschedule his service appointment

9/25/13 Service appointment indicating he was unhappy and ***** ******* Hearing Instrument Specialist reprogrammed the instruments and worked with Mr. ******.   Mr. ****** requested to be placed on the no call list.

12/5/13 Came in to pick up batteries on his battery plan

1/3/14 Contacted by postcard to schedule Service appointment

3/26/14 No showed for service appointment

3/27/14 Mr. ****** called to reschedule his missed appointment

3/28/14 Service appointment. Mr. ****** was very upset with the instruments sounding tinny and having feedback.  Instruments were sent to manufacturer however the manufacturer found nothing wrong with the hearing instruments.  At this appointment, Mr. ****** was rude enough to ***** ******* Hearing Instrument Specialist that ******** ******, patient care specialist stepped in to calm Mr. ****** down to let him know ***** was attempting to assist him.

4/4/14  I asked Mr. ****** to be seen with ****** ***** and myself in our *********** office.  He refused and indicated he would not be back to any Avada office. 

4/4/14 ******** ****** contacted Mr. ****** to let him know his hearing instruments were back from the manufacturer from service and that he could pick the instruments up at his convenience. 

Our records indicate that he was provided a sixty day trial period which began on November 20, 2012.  Attached is a copy of the contract, medical clearance and delivery receipt all which is in compliance with the Ohio Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitter licensing rules and laws. Unfortunately, the window of time given to return the instruments has passed. We encourage Mr. ****** to pick up his hearing instruments and continue with service and adjustments as needed. At Avada, our mission is to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction.


***** **********

Director of Operations

Avada of Ohio

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** ****** ******

 


 

 

 statement is not true,i requested   a refund on 12/5/12 with ****** ,she was full of panic at my request she changed ear plugs at that time, didn't fix problem of wind noise which she assured me it would.on 3/8/13 after another complaint about wind noise,tinnyness, and squeeling she reprogramed nothing changed ****** knew my dissatisfaction, it was always try this for a month,after repeatedly expressing my problems with them.on9/25/13  my first appointment with ***** I requested a refund she said the person that would make that decision was hard to get ahold of, but she would take all the tinnyness out of units,nothing changed, ***** expressed to me that ****** had not programed them the way she would and indicated they weren't right,on 3/28/14 I saw ***** again, explained that I couldn't even wear them it so bad,she then told me she was going to take the tinnyness out,when I said you have already done she looked puzzled and made another excuse, at that point she was off her game,i put the units on went to the restroom flushed the toilett still tinny returned to her office,she said she wanted to send them for testing,i requested her bosses number ,at first she acted like she didn't know who to call,asked ********, they gave me ****** name and number she assured me she would do everything she could to get my refund,,i immediately called *****,****** answered the phone I told her to have ***** call me, she wanted me come see her,i told that the problems stated with her and I didn't trust her,i told her my plans to contact BBB, she said please don't, offered me an upgrade on the units,i refused told I wanted nothing to do with avada  on 4/4/13 ***** finally called me,i said I couldnt believe it took her a week,she made up a lame excuse why it took her so long, and when ******** called  that day, she told me a total different story why it took so long to call. on 11/12/12 I only had unit for one ear. their records are not true.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

It is Avada Audiology and Hearing Care’s continued intent for our consumers to be as satisfied with the sound quality and performance as possible with their hearing instruments.  We strive as a company to serve our patients to the best of our abilities.  The satisfaction and success with hearing instruments is an experience that occurs with both the clinician and the patient. In addition, success of a hearing instrument fitting is subjective as we work with an impaired auditory system that often cannot be improved to “normal” status but enhances the patients hearing.   In this situation, there is a disconnect between the patient and Avada. 

This patient’s perception is that these instruments are not providing the sound quality that he desires.  There is no reason why these quality hearing instruments should not be able to provide benefit to the patient.  His complaints are subjective and we have worked with him when he has been able to make appointments in our office.  To satisfy him, the instruments were sent to the manufacturer who verified that there are no defects with the hearing instruments themselves.  A copy of that manufacturers report is attached. Mr. ****** came to the office to pick up his hearing instruments as well as batteries on April 14, 2014.

We are more than happy to continue to offer assistance to help Mr. ******.  I have personally extended an invitation to him to work directly with Mr. ****** to resolve his concerns.  I am a university trained audiologist with thirty-six years of experience.  We stand willing, ready and able to help this patient with his hearing healthcare needs.

Sincerely,


***** ********** ** *****
Audiologist/General Manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** ****** ******

 


 

 

to my knowledge they have not addressed one issue that I have with units or why I have had these issues . everytime  you go in they give you batterys,I think they should stay focused on real issues, not the free batterys they hand out.i would like to deal with someone other than **************,mainly for her lack of customer service and respect that it took her 1 week to return my call,if I had not filed with the BBB I never would have heard from her, check the time table.i don't know what secret she has to fix these units that 2 of her leading hearing specialists. after all the programming,removing tinnyness twice,squelling and wind noise and numerous requests for a refund, ***** still wants to offer customer service and me be satisfied with avada saying we fixed the problem and show you to the door.i have had that for almost 18 months,they have had numerous attemps to fix the problems but the problems are still here.if ***** has so many years of service why was she not called in to fix it long ago.on 9-25-2013 I told ***** ****** that I was unhappy, that I needed to talk to her boss about a refund and was told they were too hard to get ahold of.i would like to deal with someone other than ***** *********,she has proved to me what my satisfaction means to her in her long delay to address it. I dont trust or believe her. I am a business man myself and I believe everyone has the right to be made whole. it was not my idea to send units back to the factory it was julies.please BBB let me be whole again.thank you, ***** ** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to obtain batteries. Batteries fail sometimes within a few minutes.I made visits to Wautoma office, technician checked hearing aids and reported they are fine. Gave me a free card of batteries, I swear they areduds The date on card is 2017. Initially, technician assured me they weregood for 1 week. Later he changed the story to mean 8 hours. I never got8 hours out of a battery. In the meantime, I moved to Marshfield WI to benear medical facilities due to age. I wrote to ***** ******* requestingbatteries. I never heard from him. Another person sent me a note to makean appointment in another city, Wisconsin Rapids. I called that number andspoke with a secretary. I am to make an appointment there. At my age, I find it too risky driving on winter roads to a unfamiliar city, looking fortheir office. I sent ***** coupons for batteries, instead they send me more coupons. A vicious intimidating circle. To make matters redundant, I cannot fit the paper inside the aids to enhance my hearing. The short wires from the unit to the aid cause the aids to slip out. Now I need togo to a medical clinic for an ear irritation When I remove my reading glasses, they pull the ear piece out of my ear. I paid $6,090.00 in fullat the signing of the contract which was on April 23, 2013. At this rate,they will run out the contract and leave me hanging with a white elephant.I find this an example of senior abuse with financial exploitation. I need help. My next step is with the Federal agencies. I could send the product in the mail, but this has more risks.

Desired Settlement: Provide service according to the warranty, or refund. The secretary with whom I spoke said perhaps the aids need to be checked. They were checkedby ***** ******* when I complained about battery life earlier.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *********,

We are very sorry to hear about your issue with batteries for your instruments.  We are more than happy to replace those batteries!  We will mail you 4 packages at once.  Please note that we normally do not mail batteries but are making an exception in your case.

We do agree that you need to have your instruments looked at for service.  And we understand that since you have moved you may be reluctant to drive to Wisconsin Rapids for service.  An option is to mail them, and if you mail your hearing aids using a parcel delivery company, or even the United States Postal Service, you can get them insured so as to minimize the risk.  You could mail them to our Appleton office and Jason ******* will examine them and send them back to you.  We always insure any hearing aids we mail.

Our address at the Appleton office is:

Avada Audiology & Hearing Care
1440 S Oneida Street - Suite N
Appleton WI 54915

Please call us at ###-###-#### to let us know when you mail them.

We will do everything we can to help you hear your very best with your instruments. It is our mission to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. 

Sincerely,

*** ********, Regional Director
Avada of Wisconsin & Illinois

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a previous visitor to Avada, mainly to check the improvemnents in technology: Clarity. I have spoken to ***** several times. Very helpful lady with several years of experience at both locations.(They have relocated to 95th and Cicero)This year I responded to Sales letter, stating that if you came in, the office would clean, replace the rubber on my old hearing aid and give tests to find out what my hearing capability was, along with cleaning of the ear drumbsThe man who administered the tests did a fine job UNTILL it became evident that there would not be a purchase of the product...yet!The product was GREAT. I wanted to take time to see what kind of a loan I could get on my own.(I was told there was financing: over 14%, I told him my credit was better than that.The figure for the product was 5,700. I told him that was not in my budget. He went down to 4,000. He was insistant on knowing "why" not?I told him I needed time to look into my finances first.JUST AS SOON AS THOSE WORDS WERE SPOKEN, HIS WHOLE ATTITUDE CHANGED.HE DISMISSED ME WTH HIS BODY AND HIS EXPRESSION. HE JUST EXCUSED ME, GOT UP AND WAITED FOR ME TO LEAVE.None of the advertised work on my hearing aid was done, nor my ears cleaned.A few days later, I called ***** to see if she would be willing to hear a complaint and she did.She was not surprised. She told me he was a "manager" and there had been other complaints of the same type. I left the office with a feeling of dismay and rejectionHis only interest was a SALE and nothing else.If HE is a manager/owner? Your business is in deep trouble. This memo is constructive in nature, hope you will take it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want what was advertised in the letter.AND Not by this man's services.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern:

The situation regarding Ms. **********, as explained by Avada Clinician **** ******, is that there appears to have been some serious misunderstandings in his communication with Ms. **********.

She is on Illinois Public Aid. As a Hearing Instrument Specialist, and not an Audiologist, the Avada clinician is not allowed to service a patient on Public Aid. In addition, Avada does not accept that insurance. The clinician explained to Ms. ********** that she would have to pay out of pocket for new aids with Avada.  She asked how much the recommendation he was talking about was and he told her $5700. When he was told that was too much, he discussed another option for $4000. However, the main emphasis was for her to use the Public Insurance she has. He told her that she would have great benefits using her Public Aid at the Chicago Hospital. He referred her to the hospital for help.

Her ears were clear. The aid she was wearing was 12 years old. Her aid was cleaned but programming could not be done because he did not have the software for that type of aid. Additionally, the Avada ad said nothing about cleaning the ears, as by matter of policy at Avada of Wisconsin or Illinois none of our Hearing Instrument Specialists in that region do any cleaning of ears. It seems the clinician provided his best recommendations for this patient.

I apologize for any misunderstandings, as at Avada, our mission is to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. 

Sincerely,

*** ********

Regional Director

Avada of Wisconsin & Illinois 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* - **********


 

I understand the response

Please understand: ALL I WANTED WAS WHAT THEY ADVERTISED IN THE LETTER I SENT YOU

Replace 0ld tubng or wax guards

cleaining of case, battery contacts and sound tubes

Video otoscopic inspecion of ear and hearing instruments

Free moisture control Kit Free battery life indicator, free pack of fresh batteries and more....

I was NOT on Public Aid at the time I went to him. I am on a SPend Down and am now covered for the first three months in 2014

That letter to me was why I came there in the first place.

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 6, 2013 my grandmother went in for a free hearing test to check her hearing they check her hearing and advised her that she needed hearing aids. My grandmother is 86 years old ***** ****** in the Branch Office in Kinston fill out purchase agreement on January 23, 2013 this is prior to performing the test on my grandmother to get her to purchase these expensive hearing aids. My grandmother didn't let any of the family know about what she had done until after she picked them up on March 2, 2013. My grandmother went back to the Avada with the hearing aids within the 60 day period and was told that she couldn't return them and the lady told her if you didn't want them why did you make a payment the reason why she did was to keep her GOOD credit rating . PLEASE HELP MY GRANDMOTHER SHE IS A SENIOR CITIZEN and was taken advantage of by these people in this company. Also later I found out that they had increased the amount of social security she receives just to get her approved for CARE CREDIT . My grandmother had excellent credit until she refused to pay for these hearing aids because they are linked to GE MONEY BANK they have destroyed her GOOD credit standings.

Desired Settlement: Take the hearing aids back she will be willing to pay the 3% restocking fee , restore her good credit rating and OPEN her account back with GE MONEY BANK and stop the harassing phone calls.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

The hearing instrument was delivered on 2-16-13.  The patient did not ask for a refund until sometime in May, 2013.  I wrote to her son and explained the purchase was outside of the return period.  Our office made an appointment to visit with the patient and her attorney.  They did not show.  I wrote to her son:

May 24, 2013

***** ** *****

** ****** ****
******** ** **********

Dear Mr. ******

I am in receipt of your correspondence regarding the hearing aid purchase of ******* ******.  Mrs. ****** purchased the hearing instruments on February 4th, 2013. 

Unfortunately, due to the age of the instruments, we are unable to return for a refund.  Our 60-day 100% money back guarantee gave her ample time to return the aids for full credit.

We will be glad to continue to service the aids Mrs. ****** purchased, because at Avada our mission is to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, technology, ethics and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction.

Regards,

**** ** ******
 Regional Director

Avada of NC

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** signed the agreement papers on Nov. 10,2011. ******** **** paid $500.00 on Dec.17,2011. The balance was put on care credit. On Nov.16,2011 *** was admitted to the hospital with double phnemonia. Due to his oxygen level being so low for so long,he has never fully recovered. He did not know our house when we came home. Very very confused. He was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer,both lungs,and bone. I had called the office and talked to **** ********* about returning the hearing aids. He asked me what I didn;t understand about a signed contract? I let it go. Was telling the visiting nurse and she told me to get in contact with you. The hearing aids have not been used since the first week of Dec. 2011. Atotal waste of money we could use for other things. He said they could come to the house and help him with them. He would not wear them. They made his ears very itchy and he has absolutely no concerns for them. Do they understand someone with memory problems? He has actually had no use from them. My name is ***** ****** and I do have power of attorney. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I could not find the correct complaint above. Thought someone would understand the situation and have a little sympathy. The way we used to be.

Business Response:

At ***** we allow a patient to return the instruments for a full refund if returned within 30 days. We do not refund after 30 days. The patient did not attempt to return them until the 30 day return privilege expired.

We are sorry for the hardship the couple is experiencing. We will gladly continue with service visits that are designed to encourage the use of the instruments. The wearing of these instruments are in the best interest of the patient.

However, as a company, we must hold to the contracts on the instruments sold to all of our patients, and with this particular case being outside of the return period there is nothing we can do in the way of a return. The purchase includes cleaning, servicing and adjusting the instruments for the life of the instruments. We will honor that and will be glad to make a home visit if the health of the patient is preventing him from comfortably making the trip to the office.

 

At ***** it is our mission to serve the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available.

 

Sincerely,

******* ****** Regional Director

***** of PA

 

 

Thank you,

***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have insurance through the Union I belong to. I had to pay half the end of august to place the order. I received the aids the next week and had to pay the remaining half. I wanted the necessary info to file a claim with the union. The girl said they had to do it. A month went by with no check for $1500.00. I inquired and she said she was still typing it and it would go to an agency that would file the claim. Another month and I called the union. They said the paper work said to issue the check to Avada which was sent out October 23rd. I called her again and she said she didnt have the check yet, 2 weeks after it was mailed. She said she would cash the check and issue a new check to me. The union will put a trace on the check after 30 days which is Friday. Is she shopping with my money???

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

Avada of WI Manager ****** ***** spoke with Mr. ***** on 11-20-12 to explain that ******* received the check on 11-8-12.  ******* notified Avada on 11-13-12 that it had been deposited, and on 11-16-12 the refund check was issued. She thanked Mr. ***** for his patience and apologized for the delay that sometimes comes with insurance. She asked him if he had any other questions or concerns, and he said no and thanked her.  Mrs. ***** advised that considering the holiday delays he should receive it early this week.

At Avada Hearing Care Centers we are committed to serving the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. We certainly hope that Mr. ***** will conclude we have honored our mission in regard to this situation.

Thank you,

*** ********, Regional Director

Avada of Wisconsin

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a pair of hearing aids from this company. with in 4 days i took them back say i was not happy with them at all. the only thing they told me was to try it for a week. i did. i went back after a week and stated i still didn't like them. they said it was most likely to loud and they would adjust it. they adjusted it and gave me an appointment for 2 months later. i am still not happy with them.

Desired Settlement: i would like to return these hearing aids. i haven't like them from the begainning. i have told them that with in 4 days of getting them. now i don't even wear them becasue i don't like them.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** was seen at Avada on August 2nd.  His hearing was tested and his hearing loss was about 60dB in both ears.  The Sound field results were unaided was only 60%.  He purchased on this date and the instruments were delivered on August 7th.  With the new aids, the Sound field evaluation showed an improvement to 92%.  The patient returned for a one-week check and we made some minor tuning modifications.  Although he was hearing much better, he complained about spending money.  Mr. ****** was seen for a follow-up appointment for August 28th, where he was doing great but was still complaining of the cost.  We counseled him.  Due to the severity of his hearing impairment, his wife strongly urged him to keep them. She appreciated the amount of benefit the devices were providing.  She said that everyone in his church complained that his hearing was so bad.  One of his friends, Mr. ******* ******* was grateful that we could help him hear so much better.  

He is now outside of his 30-day return return privilege and we are unable to make a refund.  We will call him to arrange for another fine-tuning appointment if he feels it is necessary.  We have him scheduled for his next appointment on November 29, 2012. 

At Avada, our mission is to provide the hearing impaired with the highest degree of integrity, professionalism, ethics, technology and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction. We plan to continue to gladly serve Mr. ****** with that mission in mind.

Best regards,

**** ******, Regional Director

Avada of North Carolina

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9195538, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

 


 i did complain about not liking these hearing aids the first revisit. i told them i did not like them and i that i did not want them.  they said give it some time and they would readjust them for volume.  i went back two weeks later. again i stated i did not want them and that they bother my ears. i was  told to give them more time that i would get used to them. They gave me an appointment for 2 months later.  Now the hearing aids sit unused in the box they came in.  Now they are saying i can not get a refund due to it being over 30 days.  I  told them i did not want them after one week. I feel like they were just putting me off until the 30 day mark past so they could say no refunds after 30 days.  Now it looks like i am out 5500 dollars for something i will never use. If i had not told them i did not want them after the 30 day mark i can understand not getting a refund but when i stated to them i did not want them with in 8 days of getting them. i feel like i am being done wrong. 

Business Response:

Mr. ****** said that he didn’t like wearing his new hearing devices, but he also said that he was able to hear better with them when he wore them. He stated that every time he came in.  His wife also indicated she wanted him to keep them. No one can ever get use to wearing hearing instruments if they are in a drawer.  Since they were not turned in within the 30-day return window, regardless if he had an appointment or not, we are not able to make a refund. We are anxious to see him again to offer fine tuning so he can enjoy his investment.

Best regards,

**** ******, Regional Director

Avada of North Carolina

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9195538, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

 


i tried to return it from the first visit but i kept being put off. i tried to return it on the second visit also. but again i was put off. i even filed a complaint here with the better business bureau before the 30 days was up.  

Business Response:

Although Mr. ****** expressed his consideration of returning the devices during his 30-day trial, he decided to keep them to try them longer, especially since his wife was encouraged with the level of improvement she saw with his hearing.  He did not leave the devices with us during his trial period.  He is now outside of his 30-day return privilege and we are unable to make a refund. We have him scheduled for his next appointment on November 29th, 2012.

Best regards,

**** ******, Regional Director

Avada of North Carolina

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9195538, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ******

 


i have never been treated so badly from a business in my life. we had a contract stating i would not say anything bad about the company or about the product and i would get all my money expect $725.00 restocking fee.  They only agreed to that after i told them i was going to get a lawyer. i signed the contract and i was to receive my money in 15 days. It has been well over 15 days and i have not received anything.  Now that the 15 day time has past and i have not received my refund as stated in the contract. I contacted my credit card company that i used to pay for the product to see if the refund when there.  I was informed it had not be sent there.  They asked me why i was asking. I told them the whole story.  The credit card company said they would try to get my full amount back.  If i do not receive my refund in the next couple of days i will contact a lawyer about getting my money back. Right now i do have the product or the money i paid for the product. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had previously been informed by my ENT that I would need hearing aids. The options avaialbe in his office where kind of expensive so I looked around. I saw in the ********* ******(my local info paper), an ad for a hearing aid product with testing and discounted price on product. I made an appointment, within a couple of days I had it scheduled. I went with my other results from my ENT's office so I could compare. I also did some more testing in this Avada office. After completing this, my husband joined in for the explanation of products available. There were 4-5 different products and prices available. I also tested a pair to see if it was something that I wouldn't mind. The difference was great. My husband and I were told that sometimes the products only differ by $20 or so a month in payments. The two we looked at, one was $178/month, the second was $192/month. We opted for the $192/mo. It took 2-3 weeks to come in, but once they were in I made an appointment to pick them up. Once I got there the technician put one in and I tried the other. He then adjusted for my hearing. After that he asked for my ss# for the credit app. I didn't think anything of it because my understanding was that my payments were going to be $192/mo for 36 months at afixed rate of 14.9%. The next day I received a phone call stating that the care credit was not going to cover the entire cost. Did I have anyone to cosign? I gave the woman my husband's info to see if that would help. A short time later I received a phone call saying that with my husband would only cover another $1000. Which left a balance of about $4000. I can't afford this at this time , so my option is to return them but I will be charged a fee of $200 for what they call a preparation fee. I am very upset. I don't understand why the credit app was not done first? I feel like I was duped into accepting something under false pretenses. I would have obviously had to wait to aquire the necessary funds or not get them at all. ******************* ******** *************** ********** *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to be able to return these with no fees charged. Also, I think they should explain the process better to prospective clients, so they don't feel duped as I did. As it is I told my father about this ad and the same thing has happened to him.

Business Response:

Conciliation Dept. Representative:

We understand that Mrs. ****** was disappointed that her credit was not approved for the instruments she looked forward to receiving. As a courtesy to Mrs. ****** we waived the $200 prep fee when she returned the instruments on 12/1/2011. Mrs. ****** has expressed her interest in purchasing the aids still, therefore, we are going to try again to get approval for a loan through another finance company when she comes in for an appointment on 12/8/2011. As of now, the record reflects a canceled sale.

At AVADA Hearing Care Centers we are committed to serving the hearing impaired with the highest degree of professionalism, technology, ethics and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

**** **********Regional Director

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8829145, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* * ******

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/5/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought hearings aids fromthe local place near me with lifetime service the two places near me closed and the only one left is ounhour plus away i want some way to return these so i can find a place local i am 70 and that drive is a bit much

Desired Settlement: i would like to get some refund so i can find a local site

Business Response:

Conciliation Dept. Representative:

 

Due to national economic trends, we were forced to close our Myrtle Beach offices about one year ago.  For the last year, we have hosted monthly service centers at a convenient location in Myrtle Beach.  We notified all the Avada patients concerning this temporary location.  Our license to operate in SC has expired.  As such, we have asked our patients requiring service to go to another office just across the NC/SC border at ******* ********* ***** in Shallotte, NC, 28459.  The phone number to the Shallotte office is ###-###-####. From North Myrtle Beach, this is only 22 miles.  We will continue to honor all warranties and provide consistent service at this location.  Or, if the patient prefers, they may ship their hearing instrument to us for prompt, courteous service.

 

At Avada Hearing Care Centers we are committed to serving the hearing impaired with the highest degree of professionalism, technology, ethics and service available to ensure the highest patient satisfaction.

 

 

 

Kind Regards,

Mark Walser

Regional Director

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8832296, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *******

 


i tried for months to reach the myrtle beach office to no avail  no responses to messages

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1