BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Louisville Handyman, Inc.

Phone: (502) 292-2727 View Additional Phone Numbers 13000 Middletown Industrial Blvd. Suite B, Louisville, KY 40223 http://www.louhandyman.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Registered Remodeler with HBAL; Handyman Service; Bath Remodeling; Kitchen Remodeling; Basement Remodeling; Drywall repairs; Crown Molding; Custom Cabinets; Shelving; Doors and Windows; Pet Doors; Lighting and Fans; Plumbing Repairs; Decks; Ramps and Handrails; Pressure Washing; Gutter Cleaning; Tile Work; Flooring; Painting; Caulking; Move Furniture.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Louisville Handyman, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Louisville Handyman, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Louisville Handyman, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 22, 2002 Business started: 05/24/2002 in KY Business incorporated: 05/24/2002 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph G. French, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph G. French, Owner
Business Category

HANDYMAN SERVICES DOOR CLOSERS & CHECKS-REPAIRING DOORS-REPAIR DRYWALL CONTRACTORS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS PAINTING CONTRACTORS TILE-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS CABINET MAKERS CABINETS COUNTER TOPS DOOR CLOSERS & CHECKS DOOR FRAMES DOORS TILE-NON-CERAMIC-CONTRACTORS & DEALERS BATHS LIGHTING FIXTURES-REPAIRG & MAINT PRESSURE WASHING KITCHEN & BATH DESIGN BASEMENT - CONTRACTORS BASEMENT - FINISHING GUTTER CLEANING DOORS - INSTALLATION DECK CLEANING & SEALING DECKS REMODELING SERVICES KITCHEN & BATH-DESIGN & REMODELING HOME IMPROVEMENTS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES CLOSET DESIGN & REMODEL BATHROOM REMODELING BASEMENT - REMODELING

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Visa, Discover, AmX.    
Industry Tips
Home Improvement and Other Contractors

Additional Locations

  • 13000 Middletown Industrial Blvd. Suite B

    Louisville, KY 40223 (502) 292-2727

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 244-1501(Phone)
  • (502) 400-4286 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just want to spread the warning, if you're making home improvements in the new year, do NOT hire this company. They were difficult to work with, overcharged me, apologized over the phone for what they'd done and said the bill was paid off, then they have continued to send erroneous bills ever since. Now they've sent a letter implying they want to put a lien on the house. In our follow-up phone calls they have denied saying we were "even" (after I overpaid), and have argued with me about how long their handymen were at my house (I was there, I had them leave). FWIW, they job they did took about 15 min. They advised 2 hours, I paid upfront, and when I arrived 45 min into that time, they were sitting on my back porch smoking and having a break. At that point the handymen began complaining about their bosses to me, saying "You wouldn't believe what we have to put up with, they're so hard to deal with." Yes, they are. Repeat: do not hire Louisville Handyman. They're a huge pain, from their secretary who referred to me as "**** ****" and failed to return phone calls, forcing me to go out of my way to chase them down to receive the abuse that followed, to their multiple managers/owners who can't agree on how to resolve a customer complaint. Being told by one of the owners "I don't want you to feel ripped off, so don't expect any further billing from us," (probably because he already realized I'd been overcharged) was a promise not honored by the other owner, who said "The person you spoke to didn't have the right to make that statement." I've kept quiet about it because obviously any small business with this much lack of business acumen is doomed to failure, but since they are threatening to put a lien on my home now, I wanted to advise as many people as possible to NEVER WORK WITH LOUISVILLE HANDYMAN. They are not worth the trouble. I actually thought when they wrote me, it was to refund my money, they have given us so much hassle. Imagine my surprise to learn they wanted more for their 15 min of work + 30 min smoke break.

Desired Settlement: Write the bill off, since I already overpaid. Your people explained to me that the disposal of the doors amounted to piling them up with other garbage at your work place and definitely wasn't worth charging $150 for. You apologized profusely for what you did to begin with and said you would waive that fee and there would be no further bills because you "didn't want me to feel ripped off." Now stand by your apologies, and I'll let you keep the extra 15 min of two-man team billable time.

Business Response:

This email is in response to the recent BBB compliant # ******* filed by Mrs. ****.


Louisville Handyman has responded directly to Mrs. **** via email this morning as she contacted us directly.


Below is a copy of the email that was sent to Mrs ****.


We feel the BBB compliant filed by Mrs. **** is not accurate, nor valid. 


Please advise us of any next steps or recommendations to resolve this matter.



*** *******

*********

Louisville Handyman, Inc.

************

 

==================================================================================================

***** *** ******* ***** ********** ******* *** **** ***** **
*** *********************** ******** *** *** ********* ***** ******* **** *******



Mrs. ****:

 

We received your email and the BBB complaint against our company.  It is quite possible that there was some miscommunication on our part, as nobody is perfect, but there has been some miscommunication on your side as well.

 

Louisville Handyman was initially called out to remove and dispose of 3 sliding glass doors on a time and materials basis (T&M).  *****, our office manager, told you that the minimum charge for labor would be $160.00 (for the first hour) and then $125 per hour thereafter billed in ¼ hour increments, plus an extra charge of $150 to haul away and dispose of the 3 old doors. ***** informed you that the minimum would be $160 labor, plus $150 disposal fee or $310.00 total, but it could be more than that amount if it took us longer than the 1 hour minimum. You placed a deposit of $160 on your credit card on 10/10/13 when you booked the appointment with *****, which covered the first hour of labor and is Louisville Handyman’s normal practice for T&M jobs.

 

When our two Craftsmen arrived at your house as scheduled on 10/11/13 to remove the doors, no one was home to provide them with direction and a total of 5 doors were marked. Our Craftsmen called the office to make us aware of the situation. ****, our estimator, immediately called you to discuss which doors you wanted us to remove since 5 were marked, when you had only booked for us to remove 3. You confirmed with **** that there were now a total of 5 doors which were marked with tape and that you wanted all 5 doors removed and hauled away. **** informed you that there would likely be some extra cost due to the extra time that it would take to remove 5 doors versus 3 doors and the extra cost to dispose of 5 doors versus 3 doors. You told **** to proceed with removing all 5 doors and disposing of them.

 

I know that when you stopped by the house to check on things, you saw our Craftsmen taking a break on the back porch.  In your email, you allege that our Craftsmen were saying bad things about the company. This would be completely out of character for them I spoke with both of them and they say this allegation is simply not true.  What you saw when you arrived was our Craftsmen taking a quick break since they had just removed 5 extremely heavy glass doors, hand carried them from the back of the house to the front of the house, and loaded them onto our trailer.  The break was simply them resting for a minute before they started cleaning up and strapping down the doors to the trailer to be hauled away for disposal.  

 

You also state that the job only took about 15 minutes.  This too is inaccurate.  We were onsite from 1:27 PM to 2:48 PM (1.25 hours), according to the GPS that we have installed on our vehicles.  In addition to the 1.25 hours onsite, one craftsman had to pick up a trailer prior to coming to your house. 

 

Upon completion of the job we invoiced you based upon the time spent on site, as is the normal procedure for a T&M job, and sent your invoice for $435.00 on October 18, 2013. This invoice included $191.25 for labor (1.25 hours spent on site) and $243.75 for disposal fee for 5 doors versus 3 doors.

 

On October 29, Mr. **** called the office and he and I discussed matters.  Upon agreeing that there were some miscommunications and misperceptions, I agreed to reduce Louisville Handyman’s bill by $100.00 to resolve the matter.  We sent you an updated invoice on October 30, 2013 for $335.00.

 

Following that, we made several attempts to contact you about the balance due, all of which were ignored:

 

Nov 15:  Mailed the adjusted invoice to you again

Dec 2:  Mailed you a statement and letter

Dec 20:  Mailed a second letter

 

The bottom line is that we did everything we said we would do, and billed you per the rates that you were quoted.  At Mr. ****’s request, we reduced our bill by $100.  You currently have a balance due of $179.32, not counting additional finance charges and/or collection charges which will continue to be added. You should recognize that the updated invoice we sent on October 30 was for $335.00 which was only $25.00 more than the minimum charge you were quoted to remove 3 doors and dispose of them when we actually removed 5 doors and disposed of them.

 

All of the social media outlets available today (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) certainly make it easy to commit libel.  The fact that it is easy does not make it right, and certainly does not make it legal.  Be advised that making false accusations can have unintended, and serious consequences.  

 

Louisville Handyman works very hard to deliver a quality service and we expect to be paid for the services that we provide. We will be providing a follow-up response to the BBB for the compliant that you have filed and intend to pursue the outstanding balance and interest owed in small claims court if necessary.  It would be in the best interest of everyone at this point if you would simply pay your bill so we do not have to proceed with a lien.

 

 

*** *******

President

Louisville Handyman, Inc.

************ ********

************ ****** ************ ***** *******************

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

*** *******,

Mr. ****, though well-intentioned, was not authorized to speak on behalf of me and of affairs regarding the house of which I retain sole ownership of.

As certainly as you have chosen not stand behind your employee ****'s word, then you must understand that any agreement you made with Mr. **** is not an agreement with me.

Your authorized agent **** said there would be no further bill and that is what I am going by.  Your authorized agents *** and the other repairman said it was a 15 minute job and that is what I am going by.

There is no crime in telling the truth, which I shall continue to do.

I gave you the chance to make this right, and expressed my dissatisfaction with your poor handling.  I was being kind to you in the first, exercising my rights in the second.  I shall continue to exercise my rights, but this will be the last time I give you the kindness of my time.

You are instructed not to contact me again unless through the BBB, or via the US mail.

Regards,

****** ****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1