Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Shooter's Supply

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 327-6827 Fax: (502) 327-6889 8007-8 Vine Crest Avenue , Louisville, KY 40222 http://www.shooterssupply.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

FIREARMS FOR HUNTING, COMPETITION, RECREATION AND PERSONAL DEFENSE.

MODERN AND SURPLUS AMMUNITION FOR RIFLES, PISTOLS, SHOTGUNS AND REVOLVERS
SCOPES, RED DOT SIGHTS AND NIGHT SIGHTS
MUZZLE LOADING SUPPLIES.
RELOADING SUPPLIES
CLASS III/NFA FIREARMS AND ACCESSORIES
SUPPRESSORS
GUN LEATHER INCLUDING HOLSTERS, BELTS AND PURSES
KNIVES


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Shooter's Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Shooter's Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shooter's Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 09, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1994 in KY Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Phone Number: 800-800-3855

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Buschmann, Sole Member/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Buschmann, Sole Member/Owner
Business Category

GUNS & GUNSMITHS SAFES & VAULTS GUNSIGHTS, SCOPES & MOUNTS SELF DEFENSE DEVICES TRAINING PROGRAMS POLICE EQUIPMENT AMMUNITION

Products & Services

Shooter's Supply sells the following brand(s): ADVANCED ARMAMENT, AIMPOINT, ALLIANT POWDER, BARRETT MANUFACTURING, BENELLI, BERETTA, CHRISTENSEN ARMS, DANIEL DEFENSE, DPMS, DS ARMS, EOTECH, FEDERAL AMMUNITION, GEMTECH, GLOCK, HODGDON POWDER, HORNADY AMMUNITION, LEUPOLD, LEWIS MACHINE AND TOOL, LIBERTY SAFES, LWRC, MAGNUM RESEARCH, MAGPUL, NIGHTFORCE, PATRIOT ORDNANCE, PTR, REMINGTON, SAKO, SAVAGE ARMS, SIG SAUER, SMITH & WESSON, SPRINGFIELD ARMORY, STAG ARMS, SUREFIRE, TACTICAL SOLUTIONS, WYNDHAM WEAPONRY, YANKEE HILL

Method(s) of Payment
CASH, CHECK, VISA, MASTERCARD, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS.  LAYAWAY IS ALSO AVAILABLE.
Refund and Exchange Policy

Firearms Return Policy:  Any firearms must be returned to the store unfired, new in the box, with all in container accessories within 24 hours of purchase. There will be a $25 processing charge and the customer will be given a store credit for the firearm. After 24 hours all firearms will be considered used and cannot be treated as a returnable item.

 Non Firearms Return Policy:  All sales are final, if you desire to return an item, please contact the company and bring the item back within 30 days in as new condition with packaging to exchange items for products of equal value or placing the value of your items in your store account for use on future purchases.

 Ammunition, Special Orders, Gift Certificates and NFA items cannot be returned. 

Alternate Business Names
Shooter's Supply and Law Enforcement Equipment Co., LLC

Additional Locations

  • 8007-8 Vine Crest Avenue

    Louisville, KY 40222 (502) 327-6827

  • 8007-8 Vinecrest Avenue

    Louisville, KY 40222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 15th, I purchased a brand new**** ******* *** pistol for my **** for just under $500. After arriving home, I took the pistol out of the box to inspect it and found that the rear site had fallen out of the gun. I contacted Shooter's Supply the following day and was told that I needed to bring the pistol back and let them inspect it. Because of severe bad weather, I wasn't available to take the pistol back to them until Tuesday (February 17th). I was told that day that they would have their in-house gunsmith look at the gun and that he would attempt to fix it and if he couldn't, it would have to be sent back to the manufacturer. At that time, I asked why they couldn't swap the pistol out with another one since it had never been shot and was told that "it doesn't work that way". I left the pistol with them and called the following day to find out if they could fix the pistol or if it was going to have to be sent out. I was informed by the salesman (which is the same one that I purchased the pistol from) that the pistol could not be repaired and had to be mailed out. Once again, I asked why they couldn't swap the pistol out with a new one since I had spent $500 in their store for a pistol that was defective. Once again, I was told "it doesn't work that way". I was also told by the salesman that the warranty would take care of the pistol. I'm confused at to why I needed to use the warranty for a pistol that had never been loaded with ammo, let alone shot. At this time, the salesman got irrate with me and told me that it would be handled and that I was just going to have to be patient.

Desired Settlement: At this time, I do not wish to do anymore business with this company and wish to have my money refunded. They sold me a defective firearm, admitted to it but will not exchange it for a new one. I'm out $500 for a pistol that I don't have in my possession, was mailed back to the manufacturer and nobody can give me a timeline as to when I'll get the pistol back. This is unacceptable business practice and I wish to have my money refunded.

Business Response: Dear *** *****,


      I appreciate your frustration and apologize for you not receiving better communication regarding the the issues with your pistol and any policies or procedures related to getting them resolved.  We carefully select our vendors and their products based not only on popularity in the marketplace, but also from the quality of their warranties and service agreements.  This can evolve over time, for example, if we observe either a decline in product quality increasing the volume of product returns or an extended period to resolve any repairs.  Because we understand the importance and urgency to get any issues resolved, we ask customers to bring their firearms in for us to examine and return.  This allows us to work directly with the factory and get resolution as quickly as possible. On a very limited basis we can even handle very minor issues, however we are not a warranty station for any manufacturer and would leave the responsibility of resolving any functional issues to the manufacturer.  We will support you with any warranty issue from day one and often receive manufacturer willingness to handle issues that may arise well after any warranties or service agreements have expired.

    To update you on the status of the pistol you returned for repair, Colt was contacted on February 17th to arrange return and repair.  We received a return shipping tag from them and shipped it to the factory.  We spoke with the company today (February 24th) and were told that they were receiving delivery and return delays due to the weather, but that repairs were generally taking 7 - 10 days, however we could check back daily for updated information.

    Again, I apologize that you did not receive better information regarding the process and would like to offer to replace the pistol from our existing inventory. This is not our normal procedure for a couple reasons.  First, when our customers purchase a new firearm, they are paying for a factory warranty that ensures any repairs are handled by the original manufacturer and covered for any product liability that may arise from their workmanship.  Secondly, as is often the case, there is no certainty we would have the item in inventory to provide such a replacement.  

   You are welcome to contact me directly (*****************************) or as a response through the Better Business Bureau's complaint process and we can set up the time most convenient for you to stop by and process the replacement.  To avoid any unanticipated delays, I do need to make sure I share that when picking up the replacement, we will need you to complete the ATF background check form.  Also, as part of that process, please be sure to have your current driver's license or other government issued photo identification with you.  Otherwise, the process will be quick and not take up very much of your time.

    I appreciate your purchase and look forward to working with you to satisfy your concerns.

Sincerely

*** *********
Owner
Shooter's Supply & Law Enforcement Equipment
8007-8 Vinecrest Avenue
Louisville, KY 40222
************


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

 


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Shooter's Supply
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)