BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hancock's Of Paducah meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hancock's Of Paducah include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Hancock's Of Paducah
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 04, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1969 Business incorporated: 01/01/1969 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Justin Hancock, Vice President Mr. W. R. Hancock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Justin Hancock, Vice President
Principal: Mr. W. R. Hancock, President
Business Category

FABRIC SHOPS


Additional Locations

  • 3841 Hinkleville Road

    Paducah, KY 42001 (270) 443-4410 (800) 845-8723

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 845-8723(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with a Representative and wanted to order through phone in first place to see what would be in stock to ship out. Representative did not want to do that and informs me the system representation of product in stock is accurate and wanted me to order it through there which I proceeded to. They were supposed to notify me of backorder before shipping anything. It is my right to make a decision to go through with the order or not. Order #: ******** ordered 05/16 When initially order. Only one item was informed to ship at a later date of 05 25 - ** ** ** *** *********** ****** ****** **** ******** *** and I was aware of this on site status I was then informed another item then was backorder item ** ** ** ***** *********** ****** ****** **** ******** ***** which I was not aware of. Spoke with ****** about this issue and he informs me that it will arrive soon and informs me I should have known and see that which I did not but I let it go because he state eveything else was shipping. I assumed they were shipping the other 3 items which he told me they would because there was a tracking number under status of order with FedEx. Now today 05/20. They emailed me again on this order and state another item was backordered and did not even give me a date and it is so odd ho now the tracking for that item has disappeared. ****** then now tells me their is no tracking even though clearly in order status there are tracking number. I do not like dealing with Dishonest people!! I also place another new order before being aware of all this during weekend on 05/19 and made sure I checked status before doing so. order ******** which also has more of the item now they have informed me was suddenly on backorder. I asked him to cancel this order too because I am tired of all these bad news and dishonesty and ****** tells me I cannot which I will because they have not fulfill their contract. My order placed is not as described. Their status has changed constantly and they take no responsibility. Really rude about it too accusing me of not doing my end. I place an order they authorize charge for the entire order even though they do not have majority of item. I have done more then my part. I feel that if people who are so arrogant stating they are big and their system is accurate and speaking with me as if I am being unreasonable needs to look at all that has transcend. I was shaking and in tears after I spoke with these people. It made me so angry to have people tell me that what I am seeing is bogus and I should know that. I cannot believe people can defend that sort of thing and arrogant to tell me that they will not cancel even though the new order will have issue too. He did not care . I do have the right to cancel if they cannot fulfill their part and that is just basic business. Why on earth anyone would even want to deal with each other again after this I have no idea. They know I will refuse the order if they ship short and I told them to notate my account of this before palcing any order. It is my right to go through with a problem order or not and decided not to especially after dealing with people whc has stressed me out accusing me of looking at bogus info and believing it. Incredible!! I have dealt with them in the past and it was not this sort of service. They sound desperate and very unethical! Understand that I trusted their system which they told me to and thought I was nits to question it and then all this happened. If you place an order and get like about 300% of what your order and get like nibbles off the order where now it looks like a skeleton then I am sure you would not be happy. It is just plain wrong. WHen you tell people too bad and they will have to live with it no matter what you do is just UNACCEPTABLE!

Desired Settlement: They just need to cancel all my order and we can just finished and close this relationship. It is very Hostile and I will not accept anything from them. I would rather get a root canal then deal with these people again. It is not right!

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: ********* ** *******
Company Contact: ****** *******
Company Phone: **********
Company Email: ***************************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ******
Staff Member:

Response:

I have emailed Ms. **** *****. This customer has been a real trying case. She called last week and verbally abused two of our CSR's. I had spoken with her on Friday and thought I had cleared up the issue. She called today and a csr transferred her to me. She began to swear and I told her that I couldn't help her when she spoke in that way. She continued. I explained that our company could no longer help her. I have cancelled all of her pending orders. I have marked her customer record as an "unfavorable" customer. We will not be doing business with her in the future. **** *** ********* ******* **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******1, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

**** *****

 

This business. Continues to put charges on my credit card without my authorization. I agree we should not do business. These people need to respect that statement and stop putting charges on account. I had to call my credit card company today to close down the credit card account because these people are using it to charge  even though they already state they will discontinue to do business.

As you can see clearly these people do not understand that you cannot charge unauthorized charges!

Right now they have decided to ship things that they told me was cancelled and continued to charge things .

It is abuse. I find no reason to be polite to people who are vindictive like this.

I have disputed the charge and anything sent to me will be refused. A contract when altered is no longer valid!

 

Business Response:

I am forwarding on an email received from **** *****.  This email provides an example of the offensive and abusive language that **** ***** used when speaking to me and to my employees.  I tried on three separate occasions to assist **** *****.  On this instance, on a Friday, I had explained that we were temporarily out of a fabric, but would be restocking it.  Her delivery would be in a week to ten days.  She seemed to accept my explanation on Friday.  However, on Saturday, this automated email reached her.  She called the office an verbally abused ******* ******.  ******* found me on the sale floor (she was upset) and asked for my help.  I reminded **** ***** of the explanation I had given her the day before about some items being temporarily out of stock.  She proceeded to curse at me, call me a liar, and to tell me that she would ruin our company's reputation.  I told her I was sorry but we would not continue to deal with a customer who would not communicate in a respectful way.  I have cleared out any items left outstanding for **** *****.  I do not intend to do business with her. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a quilt batting from Hancocks. It is defective and they will not issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund including shipping and remove my name and address and email address from their customer list.

Business Response:

On March 23rd I received notice that our customer ******* ****** had filed a complaint regarding the on-line purchase of a quilt batt.  I researched her order and found that the item was shipped in a timely manner.  I also could not find evidence of Ms. ****** contacting us regarding this purchase.  I will make contact with the customer and discover what the problem may be.  I will handle the issue internally with her from there.

Regards,

******



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have 4 emails that show I contacted the company.  I have requested the help of the BBB because if the company's failure to "handle it internally"   The company contacted me and offered a refund and a future credit but it has not been processed or received. I would like the BBB's help until the issue is completely resolved. 

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

Business Response: I have issued a full refund.  April 30, 2013.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 1 HOP K 12049 FQ Robert Kaufman Dessert Party 14.99 fat quarters 12 pcs The product they sent was totally different. It contained only 3 of the items from the Robert Kaufman Dessert Party the other 9 items that were sent were from an inferior group called Timeless Treasures. Totally different than what they had advertized. I assumed that I had gotten the correct order so washed the items before I realized what I had been sent. I contacted them and they said "too bad", no apology or anything. Not a good company!!>

Business Response: BBB, 

I have contacted ******* ******** and offered a full refund for the product in which she claims to be disappointed.
Regards,
******



****** *******
********************* **********************************'s of Paducah
3841 Hinkleville Road
Paducah, KY 42001
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

I have never been contacted by Hancocks in regards to my complaint about refunding my money. I would gladly accept the refund.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9496418, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to ask about why I was charged twice as much for an in store purchased when the price on the web is quite a bit lower. My husband was traveling through Paducah and offered to go by their store on his way back to Alabama. While he was in the store he gave the clerk the item codes an placed an order for the amount of fabric needed. He told her that I was online looking at the fabric to make sure it was the right product number and said how much it was priced per yard. He then paid for the purchase and left. The reciept did not show the amount per yard just the total sales amount due. He paid for it and left. When he got home I was shocked at the amount charged. So I called the store about the amount. The customer representative rudely said it was not her fault he didn't ask about the in store price against their web price. She said it was not her place to inform us either that there was a difference and there was nothing else that could be done and i had no basis to complain. I have been in the store before and have never seen anything posted in reference to a difference in web and in store sale prices.

Desired Settlement: An apology from the company would be appreciated and at least a partial refund would be nice since I was unjustly belittled buy the blunt and sarcastic way in which my questions were addressed. If this is the type of people they choose to employ and have represent their company I'm not sure I will ever patronize their store again whether it is online or in the store. I do not feel they appreciated my business so why should I give them any more.

Business Response: In response to ****** ********** complaint, we offer specials on our web site for fabrics.  These fabrics have been featured in our catalog and on our retail sales floor at full price. The sales offer is for a web site order.  Our policy has been that the web sale fabrics are offered at that given price for internet sales only.  This is a policy of our business.  We follow this policy to regulate the inventory for our on-line sales.  I regret that Mrs. ******** feels that communications between herself and our staff were rude.  I believe we were informing her of the policy.  


****** ******* *********************
***************************
Hancock's of Paducah
3841 Hinkleville Road
Paducah, KY 42001
************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered five cuts of fabric in January on their website (order # I0514650). One shipped in January and the other four are backordered. Correspondence from Hancocks promises the remaining items will be shipped late March. It is now March 28 and no fabric received.

Desired Settlement: I want the fabric ordered in January shipped immediately or a FULL REFUND for the order, to include the fabric and shipping charge.

Business Response:

This customer has been refunded for the fabric she did receive.  We told her when she ordered the fabric that it would be delivered in March.  Of course she never mentioned that.  Her refund has been processed.  Since she chose to pursue a course of action via the BBB we have removed her from any future marketing efforts.
Regards,
******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8975236, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The reference to shipping the remaining fabric in March only came after I inquired after the balance of the order in February.  The original order, placed on their internet site, was in January.  At no time was there an indication that the shipment would be made in March or that the fabric I had selected was back ordered until after the order had been placed.  The vendor is being disingenuous in their timeline of events.

I have received a refund for the fabric and the shipping on March 29.  Regardless of their protestations, my complaint has been satisfied.

 

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.