Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hancock's Of Paducah

Phone: (270) 443-4410 Fax: (270) 442-3152 View Additional Phone Numbers 3841 Hinkleville Road, Paducah, KY 42001 http://www.hancocks-paducah.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hancock's Of Paducah meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hancock's Of Paducah include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Hancock's Of Paducah
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 1997 Business started: 10/01/1969 in KY Business incorporated 01/01/1969 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Blann Hancock, E Commerce Director Mr. Justin Hancock, Vice President Mr. W. R. Hancock, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Blann Hancock, E Commerce Director
Principal: Mr. Justin Hancock, Vice President
Principal: Mr. W. R. Hancock, President
Business Category

FABRIC SHOPS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hancock's Of Paducah has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3841 Hinkleville Road

    Paducah, KY 42001 (270) 443-4410 (800) 845-8723

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have make order for 12y of fabric and have paid for fabric and shipping. It was 87.88$ paid on January 07th. Thay have charged my on January 12th and January 16th for 67.92$ and 19.96$ without my knowledge. That makes total for 175.76$, that was not my ordering total. I make complain for it but I haven't got any answer for it. I hope they will return money on my credit cart.

Desired Settlement: They have to return 67.92$ and 19.96$ on my account.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ************
As we explained in prior communications which are attached, the charge is an authorization for $87.88.  An authorization is a reservation of funds made on behalf of our payment processor to your bank to verify funds are available.  This is a common practice in  e-commerce transactions.  As you stated, you were contacting your bank to verify this was an authorization.
Your package shipped in two parcels.  Parcel one on shipped 1/12 in the amount of $67.92.  Parcel two shipped 1/15 in the amount of $19.96.  This totals $87.88 for the order.  This is the only amount of money that has been deposited by Hancock's of Paducah.  
Please let us know what your bank finds with this transaction.  
We apologize for any confusion this may have caused.
Thank You,
***** *******
Hancock's of Paducah

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with a Representative and wanted to order through phone in first place to see what would be in stock to ship out. Representative did not want to do that and informs me the system representation of product in stock is accurate and wanted me to order it through there which I proceeded to. They were supposed to notify me of backorder before shipping anything. It is my right to make a decision to go through with the order or not. Order #: ******** ordered 05/16 When initially order. Only one item was informed to ship at a later date of 05 25 - ** ** ** *** *********** ****** ****** **** ******** *** and I was aware of this on site status I was then informed another item then was backorder item ** ** ** ***** *********** ****** ****** **** ******** ***** which I was not aware of. Spoke with ****** about this issue and he informs me that it will arrive soon and informs me I should have known and see that which I did not but I let it go because he state eveything else was shipping. I assumed they were shipping the other 3 items which he told me they would because there was a tracking number under status of order with FedEx. Now today 05/20. They emailed me again on this order and state another item was backordered and did not even give me a date and it is so odd ho now the tracking for that item has disappeared. ****** then now tells me their is no tracking even though clearly in order status there are tracking number. I do not like dealing with Dishonest people!! I also place another new order before being aware of all this during weekend on 05/19 and made sure I checked status before doing so. order ******** which also has more of the item now they have informed me was suddenly on backorder. I asked him to cancel this order too because I am tired of all these bad news and dishonesty and ****** tells me I cannot which I will because they have not fulfill their contract. My order placed is not as described. Their status has changed constantly and they take no responsibility. Really rude about it too accusing me of not doing my end. I place an order they authorize charge for the entire order even though they do not have majority of item. I have done more then my part. I feel that if people who are so arrogant stating they are big and their system is accurate and speaking with me as if I am being unreasonable needs to look at all that has transcend. I was shaking and in tears after I spoke with these people. It made me so angry to have people tell me that what I am seeing is bogus and I should know that. I cannot believe people can defend that sort of thing and arrogant to tell me that they will not cancel even though the new order will have issue too. He did not care . I do have the right to cancel if they cannot fulfill their part and that is just basic business. Why on earth anyone would even want to deal with each other again after this I have no idea. They know I will refuse the order if they ship short and I told them to notate my account of this before palcing any order. It is my right to go through with a problem order or not and decided not to especially after dealing with people whc has stressed me out accusing me of looking at bogus info and believing it. Incredible!! I have dealt with them in the past and it was not this sort of service. They sound desperate and very unethical! Understand that I trusted their system which they told me to and thought I was nits to question it and then all this happened. If you place an order and get like about 300% of what your order and get like nibbles off the order where now it looks like a skeleton then I am sure you would not be happy. It is just plain wrong. WHen you tell people too bad and they will have to live with it no matter what you do is just UNACCEPTABLE!

Desired Settlement: They just need to cancel all my order and we can just finished and close this relationship. It is very Hostile and I will not accept anything from them. I would rather get a root canal then deal with these people again. It is not right!

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Complaint ID#: *******
Company Name: ********* ** *******
Company Contact: ****** *******
Company Phone: **********
Company Email: ***************************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ******
Staff Member:

Response:

I have emailed Ms. **** *****. This customer has been a real trying case. She called last week and verbally abused two of our CSR's. I had spoken with her on Friday and thought I had cleared up the issue. She called today and a csr transferred her to me. She began to swear and I told her that I couldn't help her when she spoke in that way. She continued. I explained that our company could no longer help her. I have cancelled all of her pending orders. I have marked her customer record as an "unfavorable" customer. We will not be doing business with her in the future. **** *** ********* ******* **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******1, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

**** *****

 

This business. Continues to put charges on my credit card without my authorization. I agree we should not do business. These people need to respect that statement and stop putting charges on account. I had to call my credit card company today to close down the credit card account because these people are using it to charge  even though they already state they will discontinue to do business.

As you can see clearly these people do not understand that you cannot charge unauthorized charges!

Right now they have decided to ship things that they told me was cancelled and continued to charge things .

It is abuse. I find no reason to be polite to people who are vindictive like this.

I have disputed the charge and anything sent to me will be refused. A contract when altered is no longer valid!

 

Business Response:

I am forwarding on an email received from **** *****.  This email provides an example of the offensive and abusive language that **** ***** used when speaking to me and to my employees.  I tried on three separate occasions to assist **** *****.  On this instance, on a Friday, I had explained that we were temporarily out of a fabric, but would be restocking it.  Her delivery would be in a week to ten days.  She seemed to accept my explanation on Friday.  However, on Saturday, this automated email reached her.  She called the office an verbally abused ******* ******.  ******* found me on the sale floor (she was upset) and asked for my help.  I reminded **** ***** of the explanation I had given her the day before about some items being temporarily out of stock.  She proceeded to curse at me, call me a liar, and to tell me that she would ruin our company's reputation.  I told her I was sorry but we would not continue to deal with a customer who would not communicate in a respectful way.  I have cleared out any items left outstanding for **** *****.  I do not intend to do business with her. 

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a quilt batting from Hancocks. It is defective and they will not issue a refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund including shipping and remove my name and address and email address from their customer list.

Business Response:

On March 23rd I received notice that our customer ******* ****** had filed a complaint regarding the on-line purchase of a quilt batt.  I researched her order and found that the item was shipped in a timely manner.  I also could not find evidence of Ms. ****** contacting us regarding this purchase.  I will make contact with the customer and discover what the problem may be.  I will handle the issue internally with her from there.

Regards,

******



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have 4 emails that show I contacted the company.  I have requested the help of the BBB because if the company's failure to "handle it internally"   The company contacted me and offered a refund and a future credit but it has not been processed or received. I would like the BBB's help until the issue is completely resolved. 

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

Business Response: I have issued a full refund.  April 30, 2013.  

4/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 1 HOP K 12049 FQ Robert Kaufman Dessert Party 14.99 fat quarters 12 pcs The product they sent was totally different. It contained only 3 of the items from the Robert Kaufman Dessert Party the other 9 items that were sent were from an inferior group called Timeless Treasures. Totally different than what they had advertized. I assumed that I had gotten the correct order so washed the items before I realized what I had been sent. I contacted them and they said "too bad", no apology or anything. Not a good company!!>

Business Response: BBB, 

I have contacted ******* ******** and offered a full refund for the product in which she claims to be disappointed.
Regards,
******



****** *******
********************* **********************************'s of Paducah
3841 Hinkleville Road
Paducah, KY 42001
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

I have never been contacted by Hancocks in regards to my complaint about refunding my money. I would gladly accept the refund.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9496418, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********