BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Fort Knox Federal Credit Union?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 942-0254 View Additional Phone Numbers 3939 South Dixie Highway, Radcliff, KY 40160 http://www.fortknoxfcu.org View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Knox Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Knox Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Fort Knox Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1950 in KY Business incorporated: 01/01/1950 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Bateman, Vice President of Marketing Mr. William Rissel, C.E.O. Mr. Ray Springsteen, Executive Vice President Mr. Dean Odle, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Bateman, Vice President of Marketing
Customer Contact: Mr. Dean Odle, Executive Vice President
Principal: Mr. William Rissel, C.E.O.
Principal: Mr. Ray Springsteen, Executive Vice President
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS BANKS


Additional Locations

  • 100 Kelly Drive

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 348-2010

  • 1109 North Dixie

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-8659

  • 1175 Pershing Drive

    Fort Knox, KY 40121

  • 121 Wal-Mart Drive

    Campbellsville, KY 42718 (270) 465-0872

  • 1452 Old State Road

    Brandenburg, KY 40108 (502) 942-0254

  • 1453 Elizabethtown Road

    Leitchfield, KY 42754 (270) 259-4029

  • 1600 Spearhead Division Ave.

    Fort Knox, KY 40121 (502) 942-0254

  • 1650 Ring Road

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-8659

  • 299 Lincoln Drive

    Hodgenville, KY 42748 (270) 358-0243

  • 3939 South Dixie Highway

    Radcliff, KY 40160 (502) 942-0254 (800) 285-5669

  • 713 W. Lincoln Trail Blvd.

    Radcliff, KY 40160 (502) 942-0254

  • 9915 Dixie Highway

    Valley Statn, KY 40272 (502) 935-0508

  • P O Box 900

    Radcliff, KY 40159

  • PX-Commissary Complex / ATM only

    Fort Knox, KY 40121

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 285-5669(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a account with Fort Knox Credit Union. My account has been SHUT DOWN or Closed at least twice within the last 60 days - I resolved the first issue, Yesterday I drove to the Leitchfield Branch to resolve the issue because my account was shut down Again - Second issue Resolved by me. And now - an ****** order for about $130 bucks was denied and it appears my account is now shut down AGAIN ... There is NO REASON to shut down my checking account - EVER - If I want it closed, I will let you know. Please REMOVE ANY AND ALL MONITORING PEOPLE OR PROGRAMS from my Checking Account and Allow & Restore my Account - AGAIN .. Enough is enough - I am sending this because I feel harassed - Not Protected. A hundred bucks - come on - you got to be kidding. Did I place that order? - YES - YES - YES - I did!!! Leave my checking account open & restore any and all purchases. This is actually costing me money. If I have to drive to that bank again to ask why my account is shut down, you are paying for gas & time. I do not appreciate this harassment at all.

Desired Settlement: Restore Checking & Debit card account. There is no need for the monitoring service to close my checking account down - PLEASE REMOVE this service from my Account. Please restore my Checking & Debit Cards & AUTHORIZE PAYMENT TO ****** so that I can send a $120 computer hard drive to my cousin in Washington. Simple order placed by me for $130 bucks (tax) - Purchaser *** ******** - *** **** ********** ** * ****** * ** * ***** . Shipping it directly to Washington. This order has been stalled about a week now. Stop shutting my checking account down. My phone # is ###-###-#### although, you will need to contact me via ***** * ********************* - Email will get PROMPT REPLY within five minutes - closely monitored email by *** * ******* ********. Please help to resolve the issue with my checking in which your protection service closes my account every single time I make a purchase.

Business Response:

RE: Better Business Bureau Complaint # *******

Dear Mr. ********,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on the service issues you encountered with your ATM card on February 21st. I understand how frustrating it can be when you have put a lot of time and effort into researching a product and preparing to make the purchase only to find that your transaction was not allowed to process even if the block was intended to protect your account. I apologize for any inconvenience or feelings of frustration or harassment this situation has caused you and we will work hard to find a better outcome for you while also protecting your account and the credit union.

On March 24th, immediately after receiving your statement from the Better Business Bureau, our ATM department tried twice to reach you by phone to explain why your transactions were not processing as you desired. We attempted to contact you again today unsuccessfully.

We can see from your transaction history, you were denied a purchase on March 19th for a transaction attempt on ****** for $130.43. This transaction was subsequently denied because the card was blocked earlier due to multiple $89.99 purchase attempts from a website called DRI AVAST SOFTWARE on March 15th. Our fraud detection service attempted to call you to verify these transactions on the 15th and again on the 16th with no success. You were then mailed a letter on the 17th notifying you of this activity since we had not heard from you. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and frustration as the intention was to protect your account from what appeared to be a suspicious activity from this blocked merchant. It appears from recent activity logs that you have been able to make purchases including the ****** purchase for $130.43. If you still do not want any monitoring on your account or you do not wish to have the opportunity to verify suspicious transactions, it would benefit both of us if we could make contact by phone to discuss the security settings on your card.

We appreciate your membership and hope to be in contact by phone soon.

** **** **** ****** **** *********

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union ###-###-#### x-****

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to you in regards to Fort Knox Credit Union withdrawing payments from my account without authorization. Since I began my banking with them I've had an account as well as a loan. I initially set up automatic withdrawal but every single month since the loan began the withdrawal has been inconsistent. Payment is deducted from my account on any random day they choose, never the date verbalized or stated on my loan forms. Payment has been withdrawn from my account over a week early in several instances. Due to the recurring problem I called the Credit Union and withdrew my authorization for their withdrawal. I have had some late payments but never any missed payments, the debt gets paid. Since I withdrew my authorization every single month they continue to collect money from my account whenever they please often times causing me to overdraw. I have called them on a monthly basis and expressed my concern and aggravation but nothing changes, they continue to take from my account inconsistently and without authorization. Today in my most recent experience I asked Wendy the person who took the call to help me what they were going to do about causing me to be negative and her response was "The next time you make a deposit, you won't be negative anymore." To make matters worse, when I call I'm on hold a minimum of 15 minutes before getting a person to talk to too and often times the holding period ends with them picking up the phone and ending the call. Im tired of repeated problems with them and will be switching banking firms as soon as the loan can be bought out from their bank but until then something needs to change.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be reimbursed for the payment amount and overdraft fees that they have forced me to incur do to their inconsistency and lack of permission to withdraw from my account.

Business Response:

Our investigation regarding the member’s complaint revealed the following:  

Mr. **** established a payment to deduct from his checking account on the 7th day of each month which is before the established due date of his loan.  Setting up an automatic loan payment in advance of the due date is quite common and members have the ability to reset this date or cancel the automatic payment according to their individual preference prior to the due date of the loan.   If the full payment amount is not available on the date the payment is set-up for automatic payment or the payment is past due, the credit union will deduct any funds available and apply it to the loan as authorized per the loan agreement.  If the loan payment is not paid in full by the 11th day past due the credit union will asses a late payment fee.  These deductions to pay the loan and/or fees may further result in overdraft fees depending on how many check card holds or checks the member has outstanding. 

 

As Mr. **** states, he has removed the automatic loan payment from his account and chosen to make manual payments on his loan.  If the loan payment is made in full by the due date established, no fees or deduction will be made on his account.

 

We deeply regret and apologize for any service related inconveniences the member experienced over the busy holiday.  We appreciate Mr. ****’s feedback and the opportunity to address his concerns.

**** ****

Senior Vice President

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

###-###-####  *****

 

 

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fort Knox Federal Credit Union has refused to send my last statement to my current address, send an atm card, or delete an unauthorized security code on my accout, as per my written request. I have faxed sufficient evidence to prove my identity and ownership of my account. The customer service reps have placed me on hold for an average of 30 minutes per call. I have also driven over 150 miles to an affilliate branch office to make a withdrawl and further prove my identity. Fort Knox Federal Credit Union has promised to return my calls, yet I have not received any calls. The customer service has deteriorated so badly that whenever I call and identify myself I am put on perpetual hold. I stay on hold until I hang up. I am always told that the branch manager (****) is with a client. My account transfers (electronic checks) are not being processed. Even though I have not forgotten my pin number, and there is more than enough funds in my account. My requested transfers between accounts has also not taken place. I fear that my account has been confiscated by the Fort Knox Federal Credit Union. I further fear that the electronic checks generated to pay my bills will not be processed due to a staff supervisor displaying passive-agressive behavior.

Desired Settlement: Fort Knox Federal Credit union must update my address, send the last statement. send an ATM card, and apologize for tormenting a member of their financial institution.

Business Response:

We received contact from the Ms. ******* inquiring about the statement she did not receive on 12/27/2013.  We were unable to verify her identity at the time due to the fact that the member did not know the code word she had set-up on the account in 2009. Since Ms. ******* did not know the code word, no account information could be released or transactions processed.  At this time, we informed Ms. ******* that she did not receive a statement because the account had a “bad address”.  Ms. ******* was simply asked to fax the Credit Union a request to change her address and remove the code word with a signature and copy of a valid ID.  This is our standard operating procedure for all members to ensure account security.

Ms. ******* became verbally abusive and was immediately transferred to a call center Assistant Manager.  Member continued to verbally abuse the Assistant Manager which led to temporarily revoking her call center phone privileges.  Ms. ******* placed 15 additional abusive calls to the call center between January 2nd and 11th.

On January 10th the call center received a fax from Ms. ******* however, the fax did not contain all the information originally requested such as her request to change the address or remove the code word.  Therefore, no account details we updated.

On January 11th, the Ms. ******* called the call center again and was immediately transferred to the call center Manager.  The Manager took additional steps to accommodate Ms. ******* and verify all information necessary to remove the code word, update the address, and restore conditional phone privileges for the member.  The Manager apologized for any inconveniences with regards to wait times and also confirmed and explained the account had in no way been “confiscated”.  Additionally, Manager ordered member a new check card and mailed Ms. *******  a copy of her statement.  To date, Ms. *******’s account is updated, her needs have been met, and her account is fully functioning.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

###-###-####  x6640

 

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They checked my credit report without my authorization and when I send formal or final notice in there address they didn't respond back so I am reporting there name to Better Business Bureau that 1st they checked consumer credit report without there permission and 2nd when customer send notice in there address they didn't respond back because they don't do good Business. As for me Fort Knox Credit Union is a Fraud and Bad Company.

Desired Settlement: Delete there name from my ******* Credit Report.

Business Response:

At no time did Fort Knox Federal Credit Union take actions charged by the complainant.

In researching the complaint, Fort Knox Federal Credit Union discovered the member actually did apply for an auto loan through Fort Knox Federal Credit Union indirectly. This was verified when speaking to the member on 8/2/2013 regarding their complaint.

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union took extra steps to satisfy the members complaint by requesting ******* remove the inquiry.

**** *******

Manager, Indirect Lending | Fort Knox Federal Credit Union |

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

7/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I updated my address with the Fort Knox Credit Union in 2012 after we moved. I have been getting regular checking account statements from then since then. Apparently they didn't update my address information on my Visa credit card account that I have through them though and because of that, I did not receive the first statement that they sent and I am now being asked to pay a late fee because of it. On the first statement that I received, it stated that it was the second notice and that I owed $21.79 due by July 11th. I paid the balance of this on July 5th through an online payment. That same day, I received another statement in the mail saying that I now owed an additional $21.63 for a late fee that was charged. I disagree with this because I paid the total due by July 11th as the first statement I received said, and if Fort Knox Credit Union had updated my address correctly in the first place, than I never would have gotten my bill late to begin with. I have called several times to try and explain this and the customer service representatives don't seem to understand the issue that I am presenting. When I spoke with the customer service representative last time, they said that I should have called when I didn't get a statement right away. First of all, I didn't even know that I owed anything on my account because I had a credit on my account since before I even moved and updated my address. It had been so long since I had used the credit card that I couldn't even remember how much my account credit was for. So when I made the purchase that I made to use up the credit that was on my account, I wasn't sure if I still had an account credit or a balance due. I assumed that I still had a credit on my account when I didn't receive a statement. I have never paid any of my bills late before this and I feel that this charge is completely unfair.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the $21.63 late fee that was charged, be removed from my account since I paid the bill that I received by July 11th as requested. I have never paid a bill late with Fort Knox Credit Union before and I have been a member with them for approx. 18 years. I am also asking that if there was anything reported negatively on my credit report, that it be corrected to reflect a mistake by Fort Knox Credit Union and not a fault of my own.

Business Response:

We contacted member and confirmed address related to the member’s Visa account in our systems is current and accurate.  We also confirmed receipt and posting of member’s payment for $21.79.  The late fee in question for $21.63 was calculated and assessed correctly to the account.  However, after reviewing our statement process and providing this member a detailed explanation of the  Duty to Notify provision in our membership agreement, we have refunded the fee as a courtesy for service related inconveniences.  Member was pleased with the outcome and our prompt follow-up.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9625755, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****

 

 

6/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This credit union has the motto "People Helping People." However, I don't believe they consider all applicants equally. I've applied for auto loans to refinance as I currently pay other organizations. However, application was automatically disapproved within minutes. I called to follow up and a representative said she had worked my application but management failed to approve. I followed up with a call to ask to talk to a manager. Received no reply. I served for 23 years on active duty and now am a civil service member. FKFCU offers poor customer service and provides misleading advertising on its homepage.

Desired Settlement: I would like to talk with a manager and receive full consideration. The answer that management will not approve and no contact regarding my request to talk with said management is very disappointing.

Business Response:

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union worked extensively with this member to find a way to help him qualify for a loan.    

An experienced member service representative worked directly with the member to figure out his financial situation and find ways to help him qualify.    A credit union manager, with more than 20 years experience at the organization, also worked directly with this member.

While the credit union would like to give a loan to all members, we have to make prudent financial decisions on each loan to ensure the likelihood of being paid back.     The member’s credit history did not allow him to qualify for a loan at this time.  Our member was contacted as desired and given a thorough explanation of our evaluation processes and decision.

Furthermore, Fort Knox Federal Credit Union concludes that the member interaction was handled correctly.

Please contact me if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Teller Member Services Coordinator
Fort Knox Federal Credit Union
800-******** *****

 

 

4/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchashed an item online, their fraud center called and told me the transaction was declined, but, days later they went ahead and let the charges go through without me knowing! And that made my account overdraw by over $300 total! I want them to reinstate the over draw fees, which , THEY caused!

Desired Settlement: I want all my over draft fees for the time period of this complaint put back in my account!

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ********

 

We received a copy of your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding the overdraft protection services you incurred on your account and the transaction that you state led to your overdrawn status. Our records indicate you have previously contacted the Fort Knox Federal Credit Union regarding this issue.  We have conducted additional research on your account and found the following:

 

You reported an online transaction with ************ for $201, which you state was initially rejected by ******** but later cleared through your account between the January 17 – 29, 2013 timeframe. Your account history does not show any transaction for $201 authorized or clearing your account.  Various other transactions, which you  performed or authorized without sufficient funds, caused your account to become overdrawn.   In sum, additional research reveals that overdraft protection was correctly applied to safeguard your account and not for the reason you stated in your complaints to BBB.

 

 

If you have any other questions, please contact me at **************

 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

(502********* *****

(800)******** *****

3/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened an account with Fort Knox Federal Credit Union located in Leitchfield Ky on 07 Aug. 2012. At first I thought I had made a good choice in credit unions but soon found out that I was wrong. I explained that I had just moved to the area, that I was in the process of buying a home and getting a local address and phone number. I would in turn provide this information to them as soon as possible. I DID give them my sisters contact information in case they needed to get hold of me. At the end of the month of Sept. 2012 I made two deposits to Fort Knox Credit Union from my checking account with **** located in Tx. I made the mistake of depositing the checks (12 hours to early) to early and accept that. But when I realized that this was going to be a problem I went into the local branch on 6 Oct. 2012 and explained that I needed to make sure the checks were re-routed for deposit, also asked if this had been done yet. The lady at the counter told me it had not so I asked to speak with someone who could help me. I was told to contact **** and see if they could help. This made no sense to me and I explained that the money is there, showed a print out of that account and then asked to speak to a manager. I had a seat as instructed and waited, and waited, and waited and then was told that there was no need to speak with her and that I needed to again talk to ****. I was NOT allowed to speak to the manger to fix the problem or even explain it. So I asked the lady at the counter who I needed to contact in Fort Knox Credit Union to discuss this with and was told that she could not help me with that either. I left the credit union contact **** and was told that yes they had sent the checks to **** for payment and had missed being paid by 12 hours due to the time my pay was automatic deposit, but if Fort Knox would send them back threw for the second time they would be paid. **** told me to wait a day and see if that would happen, so I did just that. Now to the root of my complaint I called the collection department for Fort Knox Credit union and was unable to reach anyone but left contact information for them. They did not call me back. A couple days later I did in fact contact them and talked to ***** (spelling?) and explained this story to her. I made it a point to ask why the checks were not sent back to **** for payment and she said that the credit union had just put in a new system and maybe it wasn't done. I understood that but then I asked that the checks be sent back and she became annoyed and asked why should they have to be ran again. I asked her what was the policy of the credit union and she said an attempted would be made to deposit any funds that came in as NSF a second time before going to collection. I then asked how many times she had tried to collect these funds for my deposits and she responded she didn't know. So she asked her supervisor if she could re-summit my checks for payment and permission was granted. By the time Fort Knox Credit Union submitted my checks for payment it was 19 days later! During this whole time I was being charged fees for overdraft and Courtesy Pays at a price of $27.00 each resulting in hundreds of dollars. None of these fees have been refunded and when asked about doing that I was told no. Why is in within days of me noticing the mistake and trying to fix it would it take a credit union 19 days to even try to do anything? The only reason I can think of is for excessive fees to be charged to customers. I was so upset that I went to close the account on 3 Dec. and Audry had told me just minutes before my arrival at the Lietchfield branch I owed $580.79 in late fees and charges but when I got to the branch another fee was added and I paid $609.79 to give the account a zero balance. I waited a few weeks to make sure all items had been cleared, went to close the account and now find a new negtive balance of $ over 221.00 dollars and guess what more unpaid fees and for two checks with the same check number. But the kicker is I had burned all the checks form this account weeks ago, when I asked them to explain what the checks were for again the lady at the counter in Leitchfield told me she couldn't because there should never be more than one check with the same check number. I had her cut up the debit card they had issued me and got a print out of my account. I can not make heads or tails out of this print out and it does not cover who any checks were written to.

Desired Settlement: I want to meet with the VP of Fort Knox Credit Union or someone who will talk to me and not at me and have them explain why and how this has happen. I want these fees adjusted and I promise there will be enough of them to cover anything they may say I owe them

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *******

 

We received a copy of your complaint filed thru the Better Business Bureau regarding Courtesy Pay fees you incurred on your account. The detail of the complaint states fees were incurred because you prematurely deposited two **** checks at the end of September. We have conducted the necessary research on your account and found the following:

 

You opened your account on August 7, 2012 and made multiple deposits through the month and your balance at the end of August was $ 6241.35.

 

In September, there was one deposit at the end of the month, September 20th for $45.15. There were 12 withdrawals processed for a total of $6284.00 leaving a balance of $2.50 at the end of September 2012. There were no deposits processed at the end of the month as you explain in your complaint.

 

On October 4th, a deposit for $800 was processed after which multiple check card transactions and drafts were processed bringing the account balance to $1.56. At this point, multiple check card transactions were processed resulting in Courtesy Pay fees and then your **** check was returned for non sufficient funds, first on October 31st and a second check on November 1st. More fees were incurred because there were drafts presented for payment and the check card was continuously being used. At the end of October, your balance was negative ($891. 33) and ($580.79) at the end of November.

 

You deposited $609.79 on December 4th to cover the negative balance but several items cleared with Courtesy Pay and your balance is now at ($221.91).  This amount reflects payment of two drafts both #1024, one for $35 and then other for $128.91. These items were both paid to ******** Stores, $35 for a return fee. Copies of these items will be mailed to the address on file.

 

Since you attempted to visit the Leitchfield branch to discuss your account but were not able to actually speak to our Account Representative, we will extend a good will refund for the last two fees incurred a total of $58.00. We apologize for the miscommunication at the time of your visit and will address this experience with the Branch Manager.

 

In the future, please check available balances before authorizing ACH debits and writing checks on your account.  Please consider using methods available to monitor your account, such as our automated phone service or online banking. These are also good avenues for researching a problem on your account.

 

We hope this correspondence satisfies the experience, which led to your complaint.

 

If you have any other questions, please contact me at (502)********

 

Regards,

                               

 

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

************ *****

 

1/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish to complain about a visa account held with For Knox Federal Credit Union **** *** ***, Radcliff, KY 40159-0900 Phone ###-###-#### On 11/4/2012 an automatic payment which I have set up out of my “share” savings account was denied by my credit union for insufficient funds although my balance has been maintained at a level of $9000 or more. Due to the non-payment the card passed its low credit limit of $2500 causing me to be stranded in my semi with no way to purchase fuel for one day . I have contacted this institution many times over many days since this incident only to be forwarded to their visa managers voicemail. After seven attempts over many days and many extended times on hold the only option I had was to have the employees who answer the phone send internal emails to the visa manager and leave messages on the visa manager voicemail. I have still had no response. {see ******* phone records attachment} Also during this time automatic bill payments have not been made damaging my credit rating. Until this time I had not missed any payments for over 20 years on ANY accounts. Also there have been “returned check” charges of $25 dollars and interest charges of $10.61 due to this nonpayment. In addition to this there are now unauthorized charges for items now on my account I have not made. I have had the card stopped through Visa at this time but according to the Visa support personnel my credit union is responsible for correcting these issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like these charges reversed and if possible my good credit standing restored, the employee retrained or disciplined, and at this time I am DEMANDING an apology for being ignored on this issue.

Business Response:

This is in response to your complaint to the BBB as referenced above.

Our investigation your complaint revealed the following:  The automatic payment for October 2012 failed because the account number contained an extra digit.  Consequently, the payment was returned as an invalid account.  This return resulted in a $25 insufficient funds fee and the accrual of interest.

The many calls you made to resolve this situation were not acted upon.  When your problem last surfaced to the Manager, Member Resource Branch, she corrected it and returned your call within 30 minutes.  During the return call, she apologized for FKFCU’s failure to take prompt corrective action.  The interest accrual was not discussed at this time, but has since been reversed.  No derogatory information was reported to any credit bureau about your account.  One alleged fraudulent charge for $6.99 has been reversed and a new credit card was issued to preclude any further unauthorized charges.

We conclude that your complaint has been corrected. Further, we have reviewed our processes to ensure Visas calls are handled promptly. Lastly, *** *****, FKFCU’s Compliance Officer called you on December 13, 2012, to further apologize for the FKFCU’s tardy response to your Visa payment problem.

If you should have any further questions about this matter, please contact me.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

###-###-####  ***** 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9320487, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** ******

 

 

10/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, FKCU collected overdraft fee of $27 for a check card used on Sat the 29th of Sept. The military sends out it's electronic draft deposits on the friday (Sept 28th) before the end of the month. They did not process it until Monday after my check card use was processed. They claim that it is done electronically and they are unable to do anything about it because my card was used before the draft deposit was processed. Well, there is the unethical collection practice! They know this happens to more customers than just me, I am positive I am not the only one who has complained about this. They should reverse all overdraft collection fees that occur because of this. They are not doing that by claiming it is out of their control. They are in control of my money and all of the other customers, therefore they can refund all of the overdraft fees that occurs because their processing system does not work properly for the customer.

Desired Settlement: 1) I want my $27 back. 2) I want them to update their processing system so that all Military direct deposits are processed before the weekend begins when it is the weekend of a draft deposit. 3) I want them to do the same thing for non military draft deposits. 4) no one should have to wait for their money because the bank or CU does not update their system. When customers are paid at the end of the month, that means their money is available for them to use at the end of the month. If it happens to end before the bank opens on Monday then it should be there before Monday for the customer to use.

Business Response:

We received a copy of your complaint filed thru the Better Business Bureau regarding the posting of your VA benefits and an overdraft service charge incurred on 01October 2012.We have conducted the necessary research on your account and found the following:

The Department of Veterans Affairs submits their pay electronically each month. Posting dates vary but follow a specific schedule. Please find a copy of the 2012 Treasury - Disbursed Recurring Benefit Payment Schedule attached. The benefits are posted to your account on the effective days as scheduled. October’s’ benefit was posted on 01 October as scheduled. If the first of the month falls on a weekend, the settlement date is adjusted to the preceding business day. For 2012, the exception months are: January, April, July, September, December, and again for January 2013.

Since there seemed to be a misunderstanding, which led to Courtesy Pay fee, we will credit your account with a goodwill refund for the $27 fee you incurred.

We apologize for any miscommunication and inconvenience you experienced. We hope this correspondence satisfies the experience that led to your complaint.

If you have any other questions, please contact me at ###-###-####.

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

###-###-####  *****###-###-####  x6640

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9243758, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ********

 


Please note that I am partially satisfied with the banks response, because they refunded my $27 with a gracious note and an attachment of the chart that shows when Federal deposits are made.

I am not satisfied because they still need to resolve this issue for all of the other customers they have by posting this chart on their Web site in a easy to find location.    I  want the BBB to follow up with proof that they are having a reduction in overdraft fees due to other customers having this problem.   I WOULD REALLY BE HAPPY TO SEE THAT A REFUND BE MADE TO ALL OF THE CUSTOMERS THAT HAVE HAD AN OVERDRAFT FEE DUE TO THIS PROBLEM( I realize that it is unrealistic, though I wanted to say it anyway).         I am also not satisfied with the customer service department they have.     They need to take special classes on how to better understand the customer on the other end of the phone or the computer.    They need stress relief classes.   They need to be better compensated for the hard work they are trying to do.        I still feel that the Owners of the bank know that there are too many overdraft fees due to problems like this one, and that they know they are making a profit from it, and that they know that the customers lives are being made worse by it.     The Owners need to show that they really care by better educating their customers on how to avoid overdraft fees.    Since a very high majority of their customers are Enlisted Military, they could work closely with the Local Commander of FT Knox to get this information out.   They bank knows the Military Rank of their members,  there is no reason why they can't do something to help them out.        The civilian members need this information too.  They work hard for the few dollars they are getting paid and do not deserve to loose it to miss understanding. 

Thank you, very much for you help in this matter,    It is because of the BBB that I seek out companies that are BBB members to do my business with.      ******   

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 10 Apr 2012 I went to the Pershing branch on Fort Knox to talk to the bank. I was having some trouble making some payments and requested some help. I asked that all automatic payments be stopped until I could get my account current. They immediately cut off all credit, not help but exactly the opposite. Was told I had 30 days to get it current. I was able to get the account to a positive amount within 20 days. Since then I have called them a dozen times about my account not working like it should. I'm trying to make a payment to a creditor I've had for ten years. Have not had this problem before now. Now **** is charging me chargeback fee's because the account transfer will not go through. When I call the bank everyone I speak to says there is nothing wrong with my account. This is costing me money and my patience. Unethical business practices for sure.

Desired Settlement: Merely fix my account so I can pay my bills out of my checking account. Should be so simple. If I didn't know better I would say someone at the crdit union has a grudge against me and deliberately making my life **** by denying a service I have been using for almost 7 years. I don't get it???

Business Response:

 

June 21, 2012

 

******* **********

**** ******* **** ********* ** *****

 

 

RE: Louisville KY BBB complaint   ********

 

Dear Mr. ***********

 

We received a copy of your complaint filed through the Better Business Bureau regarding your account and inability to complete loan payments with ****. We have conducted the necessary research on your account and found the following:

 

As stated in your complaint, you visited the Pershing Office and placed a Stop Payment on all debit transactions. The stop was placed on all *** debits not credits.  Courtesy Pay or “credit” transactions were stopped because you were over 10 days overdrawn on your account and our Collections Department shut the card down. This is the normal procedure.

 

When you contacted the Credit Union about your account, several emails were exchanged. In an email dated 4 June you were notified the problem stemmed from the Stop  Payment you placed on the account in April, you were sent a rescission form on 4 June. The Stop Payment was removed on the11th of June.   There should no longer be any reason for your transactions to be rejected.

 

We apologize for the miscommunication and inconvenience you experienced. We hope this correspondence satisfies the experience that led to your complaint.

 

If you have any other questions, please contact me at **************

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

************* *****

************* *****

4/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently charged 4 overdraft fees. Two were my fault but the order the transactions were made was manipulated on the other two. The account became overdrawn around 7:30pm on 4/10/2012. I had two previous pending transactions that were not processed until after that. One was actually done on 4/9/2012 around noon for $6.35, the other was made around 7:15 AM on 4/10/2012 for $3.87. When I called the bank and asked why the smaller ones were held until after the account was overdrawn, I was told it depends on when the business runs their credit card batch. This would mean that ********** waited over 24 hours to batch their machines which I find extremely hard to believe.

Desired Settlement: I want the overdraft charge of $27 for the other small transaction refunded.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. **********

As discussed today, we will refund the two fees that you asked about.  

Incoming debit transactions are posted as they are received at the credit union.   Typically transactions reach the credit union between 12 hours and 36 hours after the member actually uses their debit card.    The merchants drive the timing of these transactions.  

During our call we talked about other products with the credit union that can be used to provide protection.   Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to help in this area.

Thank you for being a member of the credit union.

Sincerely,

*** ***********, Senior Vice President
Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

 

3/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I have a purchased a truck through Fort Knox Federal Credit Union. I moved to Owensboro last year in Jan. 2011 and sent in my change of address. I have received statements from them all year long. In December 2011, I received a statement and a form to skip a payment. I sent in my payment for that month and the skip a payment. I didn't hear anything from them. I assumed that it had been processed. I haven't received any letters from them since then. My wife gets paid next week and she was getting the payment ready to mailed in and mentioned that she hadn't received the statement. On Feb. 22, 2012 around 11 at night there was a man beating down our door and screaming. My wife was afraid to open the door because she didn't know what heck was going on with this man. He finally went down and while looking at the window he was talking to our neighbors. She opened the window and asked him what he wanted. He said he was here to get the truck. She asked why and said that the payment was late. She said it couldn't be. She skipped the payment and sent the payment in for December. So he took the truck. She gave them key and he said we had 14 days. I called repo place and they said it was going up for sale tomorrow on Feb. 24th. I called the Fort Knox Credit place and talked to Wendy in collections. She asked if we still wanted the truck. Well yea, I only owe 3 payments. I asked why she didn't send us anything in the mail and she claims she sent to our old address and there is any knowledge of the new address. I have a statement in my hand from Fort Knox Credit Union with my new address. She claims that she received the skip a payment but it was not processed. She was the one that mailed the form to our new address. She has lied to us and this was done out of spite. She had our address and had been sending statements to our new address all year long. Now she claims that she doesn't have it which is a lie. Now we have to pay $375 for repo person and $100 something for storage bill which is crap. She lied and if she would have let us know that she didn't process the skip a payment this could of all been prevented. She stopped sending anything to us at this address.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to give me my truck back and they pay the repo and storage out of their pocket. This would have never happened if she had sent the mail to our new address and let us know that she hadn't accepted the skip a payment. This would never happened if she would have just let us know. This is not our fault. We did everything on our part. We gave them our new address as soon as we moved. We sent the form into skip a payment. We have proof that they had our new address. We have statements showing that they have our new address. I think it this is just wrong and come and take my vehicle becuase she messed up. We even offered to set up a payment for the 29th and her response that she has 2300 customers and there is no way that she would remember to process it. We used to have the truck set up on automatic payments and she wouldn't process them and then we would get a letter in the mail stating that we were late. I took it off of automatice withdrawal. I would just like to get my money back for the repo and storage and be done with these people because they are cheats and they don't know what they are doing and it is a bank. I would like my credit reports to be fixed because I know they messed that up as well.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint ID-8931155.

The Fort Knox Federal Credit Union agrees that there may have been some miscommunication in reference to the December Skip a pay and the mailing address. However,  when our  Member made the payment of $625.00 on 12/20/2011 the loan was still due for 12/02/2011 and would not have qualified for the Skip a Pay due to the loan being in default. Even if the Skip a Pay was granted the loan due date would have been advanced to 1/05/2012 and since there has not been a payment since 12/20/2011 the loan was in default and repossession process was started on February 22, 2012. The Members are aware of the loan due dates and they are ultimately responsible for follow up of any request and payments to be made by the loan due dates.   

****** ** *******Assistant Collection ManagerFort Knox Federal Credit UnionP.O. Box 900Radcliff, KY 40159-0900Office: ###-###-####, Ext. ****Toll Free: ###-###-####Fax: ###-###-####E-mail: *************************Fort Knox Federal Credit UnionP.O. Box 900Radcliff, KY 40159-0900Office: ###-###-####, Ext. 6255Toll Free: ###-###-####Fax: ###-###-####E-mail:

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8931155, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear s

First of all I have letters from ***** that are sent to my new address.  I can fax them and show you a letter sent to me dated back in June.  For some reason, when I talked to ***** the other day she stated that she has never had our new address in Owensboro.  That is a lie. 

Second of all - I have received statement after statement every month and sometimes two telling me that my payment was due.  For some reason, I didn't receive a statement in January and February.

Third, ***** sent me the skip a long payment in December.  If she knew that I wouldn't going to be approved for it then why on earth would she send it to me.  If she knew it was going to be rejected then why bother sending to me.

Fourth, ***** had been sending statements to our new address for over a year, it seems a little strange that with payments due that she suddenly loses our address.  It suddenly seems strange that she quit sending us statements in the mail for January and February and claims she lost our address or didn't have adddress.

Fifth, this could all have been avoided if your incompetent workers would lie, continue to send the statements to the right address, and admit that she messed up on her part.  If your incompetent worker had continued to do her job and send the statements and papers to our address this could have been avoided. 

You all cost us an almost $600 dollars because your incompetent worker doesn't know how to work a computer.  She can't even remember to process a payment.  It is our responsibility but it is also your responsibility to make sure workers do their job.  It is very strange that 3 months before the truck is payed that she loses our address.  I have papers proving that she had our new address.  Why don't you all take responsibility for your worker and her screw up. 

It is kind of strange that 2 hours after I pay the truck off that you all decided to respond to the complaint.  It is kind of strange after you all charge $200 more dollars than what we were told on Friday.  It is kind of strange how you all do business and wait 3 months before I have the truck payed to be dirty.

Thanks,

******* **********


Regards,

******* **********

 


 

 

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **********:

We have reviewed your account at the credit union.

In the letter to the Better Business Bureau it is stated that you moved to Owensboro in January 2011.     This appears to be at the root of your complaint.     Since you moved, your Better Business Bureau letter explains that the credit union was not able to contact you.   If this was the case then you would never have known that your vehicle loan payment was overdue.

In our review we find a much different scenario.    Our review shows the following:

Ø  We received a voice mail from you on December 19, 2011 providing the credit union with your old address to contact you.    In the voice mail you also leave us your cell phone number.  This is the same cell phone number we had on file.   We used this information to attempt to contact you in January 2012 and February 2012.

Ø  Skip a payment notice – We do not have any record of you ever sending in a skip a payment notice.  

Ø  The credit union had been in contact with you many times in 2011 due to lack of on time payments.   In January 2012 we had not received a payment by the due date.   We attempted to contact you several times during the month.  You did not respond.  We even sent a representative to your home at your old address on January 31, 2012.  Our representative spoke with your neighbors on this day.   They confirmed that you were still living at the old address.

Ø  Delinquent account – Your loan account at the credit union had not been up to date in 12 months.

Ø  Reason to Repossess Vehicle -- No payment on the vehicle loan had been made in 45 days when we decided to repossess in February 2012.

The experience we had with consistent delinquent payments, the lack of response we received from you in January 2012 and February 2012 and the fact that we had gone 45 days without a payment all resulted in the repossession.    You agree to these terms when you sign the loan documents.   Due to this we will not offer a refund.

Sincerely,

*** ***************** **** *********

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8931155, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your incompetent worker admitted on the phone that she had received the payment around December 20, 2011 that she received the skip a payment form and she rejected. I guess it okay for your workers to lie about that.  I expect that.

I have records showing that you all had my correct address and letters from ***** from all year long.  I expect you to lie about that even though I have the records.

I would really like to hear this voice mail that I left on December 19th 2011.  I don't remember calling because I didn't have a reason to call.  Believe me, if it was me that left the voice mail, I would know because I have an eastern accent. 

Like I said before, this could have all been prevented if your worker hadn't choose to quit sending us the statements to the correct address.  I would suggest looking into the background of your workers to see if something illegal is taking place there.  It really seems weird that she claims she lost our address 3 mths before the truck was paid and the statements stop coming in the mail. 

You may not refund my money but you all were in the wrong. We may have been late but we always paid the bill.  I don't think that we would just quit paying on it especially when it was paid off in 3 months.  You worker caused this mess.
Business like you run over people and get away with it. 

Regards,

******* **********