Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 942-0254 View Additional Phone Numbers 3939 South Dixie Highway, Radcliff, KY 40160 http://www.fortknoxfcu.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fort Knox Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fort Knox Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Fort Knox Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1950 in KY Business incorporated 01/01/1950 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Bateman, Vice President of Marketing Mr. Dave Krause, Sr. VP Retail Operations Mr. Raymond H. Springsteen, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Bateman, Vice President of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Dave Krause, Sr. VP Retail Operations
Principal: Mr. Raymond H. Springsteen, C.E.O.
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS BANKS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 Kelly Drive

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 348-2010

  • 1109 North Dixie

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-8659

  • 1175 Pershing Drive

    Fort Knox, KY 40121

  • 121 Wal-Mart Drive

    Campbellsville, KY 42718 (270) 465-0872

  • 1452 Old State Road

    Brandenburg, KY 40108 (502) 942-0254

  • 1453 Elizabethtown Road

    Leitchfield, KY 42754 (270) 259-4029

  • 1600 Spearhead Division Ave.

    Fort Knox, KY 40121 (502) 942-0254

  • 1650 Ring Road

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-8659

  • 299 Lincoln Drive

    Hodgenville, KY 42748 (270) 358-0243

  • 3939 South Dixie Highway

    Radcliff, KY 40160 (502) 942-0254 (800) 285-5669

  • 713 W. Lincoln Trail Blvd.

    Radcliff, KY 40160 (502) 942-0254

  • 9915 Dixie Highway

    Valley Statn, KY 40272 (502) 935-0508

  • P O Box 900

    Radcliff, KY 40159

  • PX-Commissary Complex / ATM only

    Fort Knox, KY 40121

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a savings and checking with Fort Knox federal Credit Union. I also have a credit card and I last week paid off my car loan. I I'm overseas for the last 3 years. I my car payment was always taking from my checking account around the end of the month auto pay from my checking. I have been making extra payments to pay the car off in advance. I look at my statement for this month and noticed they have not been taking the payments out. I called the credit union and asked why they told me I have been delinquent since last April 2015 and I have been charged 30.00 every month since April 2015. I ask them why because they take it out my account with them. He could not answer my question. I have always maintained a good amount of money in my accounts. I ask why I was not notified he said" They should have sent my something notifying me about the charges. I never received anything stating I was delinquent. I paid this car off a year early as of last week. So how was I delinquent and not notified.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my 300.00 plus dollars credited back to my account for the late fees that I was not notified for a whole year about, and charged on a false delinquency that I was not sent a letter or a email about. I transferred extra as much as 1500.00 to my auto loan to pay it off early at least every other month. I have always maintained a good balance of money at least 5000.00 to 14000.00 in my accounts.

Business Response:

See attachment 

First, we sincerely apologize for any difficulties in properly crediting payments to your loan account. We have researched your payment history and agree that your payments were not timely applied to your account and the Credit Union will refund the $360 in question. The credit bureaus will also be contacted to correct any derogatory information reported on your account.

Second, we discovered during our research that your account had a requested "No Mail’ contact; therefore, you would not have received our normal mailed reminder notice sent five days after ? . payment due date. We would be happy to remove the current "No Mail' request upon your forwarding your current mailing address. Or would another means of communication be more convenient?

Again, our apologies and please let us know if Fort Knox Federal can be of any further service to you. Our continuing mission is to improve the financial quality of our members' lives.

Thank you.


3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fort Knox Federal Credit continues to decline my Debit Card transactions even after I have spoken with members services representatives (who have confirmed my account is in good standing and funds were available) on 12/21/15 and 1/11/16 and again today (1/25/16). I asked to speak directly with the ATM supervisor today and she refused to speak with me. I was able to speak with another Supervisor *** x **** and informed her that I was filing a complaint with the BBB.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

Again, we apologize for any  inconvenience you may have experienced with your debit card.  After what we believe to be our most recent conversation with you this week, you had received your replacement debit card; the retail use restrictions on your card had been removed; and, you were pleased with this resolution.  If this is not the case, please feel free to contact the ATM Checkcard Coordinator at ************ and we will be happy to work through to a definitive solution.  We take Member feedback, and your security, very seriously and will continue to delivery products and services that meet your needs.  Again, thank you for being a Member of Fort Knox Federal Credit Union. Best regards, ***** ******


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* *****




 

3/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a second chance checking account around September 2014. I didn't get any of my account information from the person who opened my account, other than the fact that my account would be reviewed after 6 months and if no negative balances occurred during that time the $9.00 monthly charge would stop. I assumed I would receive terms and conditions as well as specific account information in the mail but I never received anything. It is over a year later and I am still being charged the monthly fee. I have called numerous times since March 2015 and have not gotten this situation resolved, and am still being charged $9.00 per month for this account.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $9.00 per month I have been charged since my 6 month second chance checking account period has been up. In addition to the refund I would also like the monthly fee to be stopped as I was told it would be after the 6 month timeframe.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******, Thank you for your note and bringing this matter to our attention. After receiving your letter from the BBB we have contacted you numerous times and discussed the current checking account product you are actively using with our credit union. Based on the terms and conditions of the account, this product does carry a $9 fee, which can be lowered if you have direct deposit with our institution. We have explained in detail why the fee exists, and the steps that would need to be taken to eliminate it. We thank you for being a Member and your continued business.

Sincerely, **** ****** SVP Retail Operations Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Sent on: 1/25/2016 1:30:15 PM

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

No one has contacted me regarding my account nor told me the stipulations that they have mentioned. I was told that phone calls are recorded and would like to know when these calls were made and receive a copy if possible. Even when I called in numerous times no one ever mentioned I would have to set up direct deposit to have the $9 fee waived. I was always told after 6 months of no negative balance the account would be reviewed and the few would then be waived. I have never received any documentation associated with my account either. Please send information regarding this type of account to my home address. I would also like to know if the regular savings account carries this type of stipulation because I will be closing the checking portion of the account. Thank you. 

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Hello Ms. ******,

We are diligently working to resolve your questions concerning your account; however, after mailing to you the original account documentation that was provided at account opening (and mailed to the address on file) and after discussing your account with you by phone on 6/1/15, 8/10/15, 9/24/15, 9/27/15, 10/1/15, 10/09/15, and 11/2/15, we believe we have provided a clear explanation of our fee structure, account policies and application of the terms of your account.

Additionally, all applicable fees were disclosed at the time of account opening and were accepted by you as indicated by your signed signature card on file.  Per our policy of a positive balance for at least six months before converting the account, we could not determine that your account remained positive for this length of time since being opened.

We believe there is significant value in this account.  Our competitors routinely charge significantly more, sometimes double our fee for a similar account.

Your Fort Knox Federal savings account can remain open without a fee as long as you keep the required $5 share balance.

Thank you for your membership, and business.

Regards,
**** ******
SVP Retail Operations
Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was not provided with any hard copies of account disclosures at the time my account was reopened, but I did receive your package today. Unfortunately it is just a generic new account packet and does not specify in writing the terms of the second chance checking account. You are correct that I have called in multiple times trying to get this issue resolved and continue to do so because I was told when I reopened the account that if it stayed positive for a period of 6 months of opening, the $9 monthly fee would be waived. I have my monthly statements to document it's positive status if needed, which you should also be able to see on your end. Please let me know what information, if any, that you need to get this matter resolved. If there is a particular manager that I need to meet with or speak to, I would be glad to come in and do so. 

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

As you requested, we would like to meet with you to discuss your account. Our Main Office is located at 3939 S Dixie Blvd. Radcliff, KY 40160. The Branch Manager, **** *****, is familiar with your concerns and will be happy to meet with you. You can contact him to schedule an appointment at your convenience. His contact number is ###-###-####.

Thank you,

**** ******

SVP, Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

10/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014 Ft. Knox Credit Union reported I made a late payment to the Credit Bureau. At first the staff in the office denied reporting the event. Eventually staff were able to see where a report was issued that a late payment was made on behalf, however their records indicated I had no times of late payment on my account. I was given a letter & a copy of payment history to fax to the Credit Bureau. I have had several open disputes with the credit bureau regarding this matter, but each time Ft. Knox Credit Union denies there was a mistake & reports there was a late payment made. I visited the Louisville, KY branch for the second time after finding out the issue was not resolved. The branch manager ***** ******* was extremely rude & treated me like it was my fault an error was made. During this time in 2014 I was actively seeking to purchase a home. This negatively impacted my ability to buy a home and pushed my closing back 2 months (due to my lowered credit score causing me not to qualify for a loan). I still continue to deal with this one year and two months later.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit report corrected and a written letter of apology from Ft. Knox Credit Union.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve your issue with Fort Knox Federal Credit Union.  Per our records, this issue was reported correctly to the bureau’s, but apparently not corrected on their system.  We have submitted a correction again, and this issue should be resolved per your request.  Please contact us at ************ if you have further questions.

Regards,

SVP Retail Operations

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union”

**** ******

SVP Retail Operations 

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to resolve a credit reporting issue with my Fort Knox Federal Credit Union ******** **** account since March 2015. I have contacted Fort Knox FCU several times about the reporting of my **** account with all 3 credit bureaus and I have not been able to get this resolved. My **** account is reporting on******** ******** *** ********** credit reports as a line of credit/installment loan account and not a credit card account. In fact, on all three credit reports my **** account is reporting as an installment loan and not a revolving credit account. I contacted the **** account department at Fort Knox FCU and they looked into the matter but it still is reporting incorrectly. I really would like to have the account report as it has in the past as a revolving account. I believe the matter really started when I paid the account to zero balance in early March 2015 and all the problems started from that time going forward. I am hoping that Fort Knox FCU can resolve this matter for me. All three credit reporting agencies state that Fort Knox is verifying that the account is a line of credit/installment and not a revolving credit card. The FCRA states that all credit accounts should report correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Fort Knox FCU **** account to report correctly as it has for over the past 4 years.

Business Response:

Response:

Mr. *******, Thank you for your feedback, and bringing your concerns to our attention. We strive to address concerns in a timely manner, and report correct status of products to all bureaus. We have corrected your **** Credit Card reporting status to all bureaus, and this should reflect very soon on all three companies credit bureaus. We unfortunately do not have any control on the timeliness of the bureaus to update the status of the revolving credit, but we have taken all necessary steps to have your information updated and reporting accurately. We thank you so much for your business, and your Membership in the credit union. Please contact us with any questions or concerns.

Regards, **** ****** *** ****** ********** Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******

 


 

 I am very happy and satisfied with the outcome from Fort Knox Credit Union and very happy to be a member.  I have seen the updates on the credit bureaus already.

Thank you so much,

****** ** ******* ***

4/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The marketing on their web site at fortknoxfcu.org suggests that one can get a credit limit up to $25,000.00. I went ahead and applied and two days later I am told by a loan officer named ****** that the maximum credit limit they give to ANYONE is $2,500.00. My FICO credit score is 810 and I have an excellent Debt-to-Income ratio. However after hearing that I was misled and a credit limit of $2,500 was the MAXIMUM, I told ****** to disregard my application. I later found out that they did a hard credit pull from all three credit bureaus, not just one! Many banks only pull from one bureau at at time for a credit card.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting them to remove the hard credit pulls from ALL THREE bureaus as I would NEVER have applied for a credit card with them if I would have known the offer for new customers is only a $2,500.00 credit limit. I have absolutely no use for a worthless product like that.

Business Response:

***** ***** **** ***** ******** ***** *** **** ***** ** *** **** ** ******* **** ************ ***** **** ******** ******** ** ********* * ******** * ******** *****

 

********* *** ******** * ******** ***** *****

Response from Fort Knox Federal Credit Union:

Our website is available for members, and potential members, to submit applications for various types of loans including visa cards with limits up to $25,000, as per our site.  Loan requests submitted through this online channel are underwritten in accordance with our internal loan guidelines.  These guidelines are in place to help us control and manage our risk and exposure as a financial institution.  Our underwriting process includes evaluation of many factors including, but not limited to, credit history, income, employment status, history with our organization, and other factors.   Our standard underwriting process was followed in the evaluation of Mr. ******* credit application and FKFCU did make inquiries into Mr. ******* credit history.  FKFCU requested and obtained credit files from ******* and **********.  After evaluation of Mr. ******* application it was determined we would be able to offer him an initial credit line.  Mr. ***** advised use he was not interested in establishing this credit line at this time, and his application was withdrawn.

On 3/4/20** one of our managers had a telephone conversation with Mr. *****, and he has indicated he is satisfied with our actions pertaining to his complaint.

**** ******

SVP Retail Operations | Fort Knox Federal Credit Union | 3939 S. Dixie Blvd. Radcliff, KY 40160 | ****** ************ ***** ****** ************ * **** ************

 %

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** *****

 


 

Mr. ****** fails to acknowledge in his response the focus of my original complaint and the main topic of my telephone conversation with Mr. ***********.  I am satisfied PROVISIONALLY -- with the understanding that the credit inquiries incurred by FKFCU are redacted from my credit reports with ******* and **********.    
To reiterate, if it is FKFCU’s policy to have a maximum allowable credit limit of $2,500.00 for new potential members AND which is not based on any other internal guidelines of credit worthiness such as credit history and income etc, then this policy should be fully disclosed to the prospective consumer so that they may make an informed decision prior to applying.  I have since been approved with my local ******* Federal Credit Union for a a credit limit in the amount of $20,000 and also a business credit card from ***** in the amount of $35,000.  Given my recent tract record with creditors, I know that the issue is not with my credit worthiness but with FKFCU’s unwillingness to grow and expand their potential profits.  It is obviously FKFCU’s prerogative should they wish to operate their business extremely conservatively and at the sacrifice of potential revenue.  HOWEVER, it is also the responsibility of FKFCU to fully disclose these important facts.  Which I maintain is the reason of my initial complaint  -- the marketed credit limit on FKFCU's web site of $25,000 for credit worthy individuals is very deceptive, misleading and quite simply false advertising.   If FKFCU would have disclosed that new prospective credit worthy individuals would only be eligible for a maximum of a $2,500 credit limit, I never would have applied, never would have wasted my time, and never would have had these negative credit inquiry “dings” on multiple credit bureau reports.  I truly feel that for the benefit of future prospective customers and for FKFCU’s own benefit as well, they should modify their web site to include this crucial piece of information.   
 
Mr. *********** has informed me that a letter was sent to both credit bureau’s on March 6, 20** requesting the inquiries be removed.  At the time of this writing, the inquiries have yet to be removed.  Therefore, I do not believe my complaint has been resolved nor can it be closed until the inquiries have been completely excised.
Thank you,
******** *****
%3

Business Response: We believe our original response is sufficient and should satisfy Mr. ******* complaint. FKFCU has taken all steps that we advised Mr. ***** we would take during our telephone conversations with him. We are limited in our ability to verify final results of our actions, given the final updates are the responsibility of a third-party.

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a account with Fort Knox Credit Union. My account has been SHUT DOWN or Closed at least twice within the last 60 days - I resolved the first issue, Yesterday I drove to the Leitchfield Branch to resolve the issue because my account was shut down Again - Second issue Resolved by me. And now - an ****** order for about $130 bucks was denied and it appears my account is now shut down AGAIN ... There is NO REASON to shut down my checking account - EVER - If I want it closed, I will let you know. Please REMOVE ANY AND ALL MONITORING PEOPLE OR PROGRAMS from my Checking Account and Allow & Restore my Account - AGAIN .. Enough is enough - I am sending this because I feel harassed - Not Protected. A hundred bucks - come on - you got to be kidding. Did I place that order? - YES - YES - YES - I did!!! Leave my checking account open & restore any and all purchases. This is actually costing me money. If I have to drive to that bank again to ask why my account is shut down, you are paying for gas & time. I do not appreciate this harassment at all.

Desired Settlement: Restore Checking & Debit card account. There is no need for the monitoring service to close my checking account down - PLEASE REMOVE this service from my Account. Please restore my Checking & Debit Cards & AUTHORIZE PAYMENT TO ****** so that I can send a $120 computer hard drive to my cousin in Washington. Simple order placed by me for $130 bucks (tax) - Purchaser *** ******** - *** **** ********** ** * ****** * ** * ***** . Shipping it directly to Washington. This order has been stalled about a week now. Stop shutting my checking account down. My phone # is ###-###-#### although, you will need to contact me via ***** * ********************* - Email will get PROMPT REPLY within five minutes - closely monitored email by *** * ******* ********. Please help to resolve the issue with my checking in which your protection service closes my account every single time I make a purchase.

Business Response:

RE: Better Business Bureau Complaint # *******

Dear Mr. ********,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on the service issues you encountered with your ATM card on February 21st. I understand how frustrating it can be when you have put a lot of time and effort into researching a product and preparing to make the purchase only to find that your transaction was not allowed to process even if the block was intended to protect your account. I apologize for any inconvenience or feelings of frustration or harassment this situation has caused you and we will work hard to find a better outcome for you while also protecting your account and the credit union.

On March 24th, immediately after receiving your statement from the Better Business Bureau, our ATM department tried twice to reach you by phone to explain why your transactions were not processing as you desired. We attempted to contact you again today unsuccessfully.

We can see from your transaction history, you were denied a purchase on March 19th for a transaction attempt on ****** for $130.43. This transaction was subsequently denied because the card was blocked earlier due to multiple $89.99 purchase attempts from a website called DRI AVAST SOFTWARE on March 15th. Our fraud detection service attempted to call you to verify these transactions on the 15th and again on the 16th with no success. You were then mailed a letter on the 17th notifying you of this activity since we had not heard from you. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and frustration as the intention was to protect your account from what appeared to be a suspicious activity from this blocked merchant. It appears from recent activity logs that you have been able to make purchases including the ****** purchase for $130.43. If you still do not want any monitoring on your account or you do not wish to have the opportunity to verify suspicious transactions, it would benefit both of us if we could make contact by phone to discuss the security settings on your card.

We appreciate your membership and hope to be in contact by phone soon.

** **** **** ****** **** *********

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union ###-###-#### x-****

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to you in regards to Fort Knox Credit Union withdrawing payments from my account without authorization. Since I began my banking with them I've had an account as well as a loan. I initially set up automatic withdrawal but every single month since the loan began the withdrawal has been inconsistent. Payment is deducted from my account on any random day they choose, never the date verbalized or stated on my loan forms. Payment has been withdrawn from my account over a week early in several instances. Due to the recurring problem I called the Credit Union and withdrew my authorization for their withdrawal. I have had some late payments but never any missed payments, the debt gets paid. Since I withdrew my authorization every single month they continue to collect money from my account whenever they please often times causing me to overdraw. I have called them on a monthly basis and expressed my concern and aggravation but nothing changes, they continue to take from my account inconsistently and without authorization. Today in my most recent experience I asked Wendy the person who took the call to help me what they were going to do about causing me to be negative and her response was "The next time you make a deposit, you won't be negative anymore." To make matters worse, when I call I'm on hold a minimum of 15 minutes before getting a person to talk to too and often times the holding period ends with them picking up the phone and ending the call. Im tired of repeated problems with them and will be switching banking firms as soon as the loan can be bought out from their bank but until then something needs to change.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should be reimbursed for the payment amount and overdraft fees that they have forced me to incur do to their inconsistency and lack of permission to withdraw from my account.

Business Response:

Our investigation regarding the member’s complaint revealed the following:  

Mr. **** established a payment to deduct from his checking account on the 7th day of each month which is before the established due date of his loan.  Setting up an automatic loan payment in advance of the due date is quite common and members have the ability to reset this date or cancel the automatic payment according to their individual preference prior to the due date of the loan.   If the full payment amount is not available on the date the payment is set-up for automatic payment or the payment is past due, the credit union will deduct any funds available and apply it to the loan as authorized per the loan agreement.  If the loan payment is not paid in full by the 11th day past due the credit union will asses a late payment fee.  These deductions to pay the loan and/or fees may further result in overdraft fees depending on how many check card holds or checks the member has outstanding. 

 

As Mr. **** states, he has removed the automatic loan payment from his account and chosen to make manual payments on his loan.  If the loan payment is made in full by the due date established, no fees or deduction will be made on his account.

 

We deeply regret and apologize for any service related inconveniences the member experienced over the busy holiday.  We appreciate Mr. ****’s feedback and the opportunity to address his concerns.

**** ****

Senior Vice President

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

###-###-####  *****

 

 

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fort Knox Federal Credit Union has refused to send my last statement to my current address, send an atm card, or delete an unauthorized security code on my accout, as per my written request. I have faxed sufficient evidence to prove my identity and ownership of my account. The customer service reps have placed me on hold for an average of 30 minutes per call. I have also driven over 150 miles to an affilliate branch office to make a withdrawl and further prove my identity. Fort Knox Federal Credit Union has promised to return my calls, yet I have not received any calls. The customer service has deteriorated so badly that whenever I call and identify myself I am put on perpetual hold. I stay on hold until I hang up. I am always told that the branch manager (****) is with a client. My account transfers (electronic checks) are not being processed. Even though I have not forgotten my pin number, and there is more than enough funds in my account. My requested transfers between accounts has also not taken place. I fear that my account has been confiscated by the Fort Knox Federal Credit Union. I further fear that the electronic checks generated to pay my bills will not be processed due to a staff supervisor displaying passive-agressive behavior.

Desired Settlement: Fort Knox Federal Credit union must update my address, send the last statement. send an ATM card, and apologize for tormenting a member of their financial institution.

Business Response:

We received contact from the Ms. ******* inquiring about the statement she did not receive on 12/27/2013.  We were unable to verify her identity at the time due to the fact that the member did not know the code word she had set-up on the account in 2009. Since Ms. ******* did not know the code word, no account information could be released or transactions processed.  At this time, we informed Ms. ******* that she did not receive a statement because the account had a “bad address”.  Ms. ******* was simply asked to fax the Credit Union a request to change her address and remove the code word with a signature and copy of a valid ID.  This is our standard operating procedure for all members to ensure account security.

Ms. ******* became verbally abusive and was immediately transferred to a call center Assistant Manager.  Member continued to verbally abuse the Assistant Manager which led to temporarily revoking her call center phone privileges.  Ms. ******* placed 15 additional abusive calls to the call center between January 2nd and 11th.

On January 10th the call center received a fax from Ms. ******* however, the fax did not contain all the information originally requested such as her request to change the address or remove the code word.  Therefore, no account details we updated.

On January 11th, the Ms. ******* called the call center again and was immediately transferred to the call center Manager.  The Manager took additional steps to accommodate Ms. ******* and verify all information necessary to remove the code word, update the address, and restore conditional phone privileges for the member.  The Manager apologized for any inconveniences with regards to wait times and also confirmed and explained the account had in no way been “confiscated”.  Additionally, Manager ordered member a new check card and mailed Ms. *******  a copy of her statement.  To date, Ms. *******’s account is updated, her needs have been met, and her account is fully functioning.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Teller Member Services Coordinator

Fort Knox Federal Credit Union

###-###-####  x6640

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Fort Knox Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart