BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Chemco Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 772-5780 Fax: (502) 772-5784 4200 Bells Ln, Louisville, KY 40211 http://www.chemcofcu.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chemco Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chemco Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chemco Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 24, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1967 in KY Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated: 01/01/1967 in KY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sharon Y. Board, President Mr. Steve Parsons, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Y. Board, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Parsons, Branch Manager
Business Category

CREDIT UNIONS


Additional Locations

  • 1008 Templin Avenue

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 348-8130

  • 4200 Bells Ln

    Louisville, KY 40211 (502) 772-5780

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Chemco FCU called me at work at 1 pm on Wednesday 1/29/14 stating that they were going to have to cancel my Debit Card due to the security breach at ******. I explained that I had just received a new 2014 card and that I wasn't concerned; and I would like to leave my card opened since I live 1.5 hours from the nearest Chemco branch. *****n *****, CEO, relayed through Customer Service Rep, *******, that that was NOT an option; so they cancelled my card. This left me only one business days to redirect my automatic payroll and trust deposits (which come on 30th of every month). I used Chemco's on line bill pay for ALL of my household bills. Chemco's haphazard handling of this debit card left me very few options to respond to my financial needs. I had to cancel and reschedule several bills, but some were already "processing" and I couldn't stop them. My payroll deposit was thankfully redirected on 1/31/14 and 2/14/14 to one of my other accounts. I sent Chemco a check for $1120 to cover the processing bill pays. Because my only option was US Mail, the check arrive on 2/5 as some of the checks were processing. They have charged me numerous reversable FEES. None of this wouldn't have happened if they hadn't cancelled my debit card on short notice....I could have easily moved money electronically from Chemco to Indiana Members Credit union. I have had email communication with *****n *****, CEO; email and phone conversations with ***** *******, Branch Manager; I've also sent Mr. ******* a letter; and spoken to ****** in Customer Service at Chemco Bardstown. No response or correction has occured at this time. Four business days have elapsed and no resolution has taken place.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that Chemco REFUND all OD fees between 2/1/14 and 2/20/14 which amunt to approximately $150 or more. I am also asking that they correct any payments that are on hold at this time. I am asking that they send me a replacement Debit Card at once. It's been 4 weeks since they cancelled my card, and I was promised a replacement in 3 weeks (which is outside reasonable and customary time to replace my card. My account was in EXCELLENT standing prior to 1/29/14. Over $7,000 a month in deposits were passing through their Credit Union prior to these issues. I want RESOLUTION ASAP, Thanks

Business Response:

CHEMCO Federal Credit Union

www.chemcofcu.com

April 21, 2014

BBB

RE: Complaint ID: *******

**** *** ********

This letter is response to the complaint number above. This begin in January 2014 when we had the ****** Breach on our debit cards. It is Chemco Federal Credit Unions policy to replace all compromised debit or credit cards. We replaced over 120 cards due to this breech. When Ms. ******* was contacted that her card had been compromised and we would be replacing the card she informed us we could not close her card and was very rude and hostile to the member service representative. She informed her that if we closed the card she would close her account. We informed her that this was to benefit her and protect the credit union from fraud. She did not care so she took all of her money out and stopped her direct deposit to Chemco Federal.

What she failed to do was to keep money in her account to cover what she had outstanding in her checking account. She went overdrawn on Jan 29, 2014 and did not make a deposit to cover the overdrawn account until February 5, 2014. She went overdrawn again on Feb. 5, 2014 and did not cover these drafts until February 13, 2014. Ms. ******* was charged for the overdrafts and this is what she is harassing Chemco Federal to return her charges.

She has wrote everyone about this trying to make us give her the overdraft charges back. Chemco Federal has an A+ rating with the BBB and we always strive to keep this, but with this situation and the rudeness and mistreatment of staff we feel we are in the right and theses charges will remain.

Canceling her debit card had nothing to do with her overdraft checking. She caused this and should be charged. She has harassed everyone in both of my offices and made threats to me and staff.

If you need any other information from me please call or email and I would be glad to provide.


Sincerely Yours,  


****** *. *****,

CEO


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1