Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Payment Alliance International, Inc.

Phone: (502) 212-4000 Fax: (502) 212-4004 6060 Dutchmans Lane, Suite#320, Louisville, KY 40205 http://www.paymentallianceintl.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Payment Alliance International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Payment Alliance International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Payment Alliance International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 2004 Business started: 12/13/2005 in KY Business incorporated 12/13/2005 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John J. Leehy III, C.E.O. Ms. Cathy Phillips, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John J. Leehy III, C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Ms. Cathy Phillips, Complaint Handler
Business Category

CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE BANK EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES CREDIT CARDS & PLANS-EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES AUTOMATED TELLER MACHINES

Additional Information

CONSUMER ALERT

If you have received a letter which claims to be from Payment Alliance International (P.A.I.) notifying you that you have won a monetary amount, be advised that the letter and the enclosed check are not from Payment Alliance International. P.A.I. has no connection in any way with any prizes, contest, or awarding of money and is in no way responsible for what has been identified as a scam. The letter's enclosed check is COUNTERFEIT and is part of a scam believed to be operating out of Nigeria. Do not cash or deposit this check. Also, DO NOT WIRE MONEY to anyone no matter what the claims may be for a prize.

Please do not call P.A.I. in regards to this scam.  Instead contact your local FBI Field Office and/or US Postal Inspection Service and report the scam attempt.

Bruce Gadansky
Vice President/Operations BBB of Louisville


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Payment Alliance International, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6060 Dutchmans Lane, Suite#320

    Louisville, KY 40205 (502) 212-4000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had nothing but problems this year trying to use the credit card processing company for our small business. We have tried to resolve the issues and spent countless hours trying to get these worked out. The quarterly security scans that are required online are the major issue. If I don't do them they charge me a $20 fee monthly for non-compliance. When I try to do them, the login username and passwords don't work and I get locked out. They do not have 24/7 service to help and I do not have time during the week to deal with these issues while working a full-time job. This has gone on for almost a year and I cannot continue to put up with this.

Desired Settlement: I want to be released from the contract and held exempt from any penalties with this company. They have not performed better, easier or less expensive than my former company as was stated in the sales pitch.

Business Response:

June 8, 2016

 

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

844 S. 4th Street

Louisville, KY 40203

 

        RE: Better Business Bureau Complaint (ID ********)

 

To whom it may concern:

We have worked with the merchant, ******** ****** in the complaint to resolve the issue(s) with their login information for the compliance website and also to address the issues with the terminal that caused the merchant to call into our Tech Support line.

The merchant signed a 3 year contract in April 2016, however due to the fact the merchant expressed their unhappiness with our service and requested to close their account; we will honor the request to close out the account without an early termination penalty/fee. We are issuing a return label to allow the merchant to return the equipment that our company supplied as part of the agreement. If the equipment is returned as requested there will be no additional fees assessed to the merchant and Payment Alliance International will consider this matter closed.

Sincerely,

Payment Alliance International

 

 

 

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for this service, which is a credit card processing service. I was promised no bills or payments until January of **15. Every month they draft my account, even though they agreed not to. I have contacted their sales person, **** ********, and she agreed that they were not supposed to be charging me, but still they continue. Today I received a notice that they had debited my bank account for $21.95, and again, I have not used the service and it is against our agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want the money refunded and my service with the company cancelled immediately.

Business Response:

********* ** ********

 

A refund was submitted October 7, **** to this customer for $21.95. We also sent an Account Closure Form to the customer which they must sign and return in order for the account to be closed.

10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PAI provides processing services to ATMs. This one instance PAI debited a transaction but failed to provide cash. This amounts to an unauthorized charge on my debit card.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the charged amount including any fees.

Business Response:

********* ** ********

This is in response to the complaint (ID ********) dated 10/6/**** regarding an ATM withdrawal attempted on 10/4/***** The complaint states the consumer tried to withdraw $100.00 but the ATM did not dispense money. Their account was however debited $101.75. I called and spoke with the consumer on 10/7/**** and advised them they needed to file a Regulation E Dispute with the financial institution listed on the back of the card used to attempt the withdrawal.  The consumer stated they had already filed the dispute on 10/4/***** I advised them since they had filed the Regulation E Dispute they had followed the proper procedure to initiate the dispute research process.  The consumer also confirmed their Financial Institution had submitted the dispute through the network to Payment Alliance International’s dispute department.  Once received our Disputes department will provide their findings within the timeframe set forth through the Regulation E guidelines.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This business has the ability to resolve this issue immediately. The information to successfully resolve this matter to it's logical conclusion is stored on their software and hardware, in particular the ATM system they own and operate, which malfunctioned initiating the original complaint. While my Bank has provided federally required documentation regarding my claim of an unauthorized transaction, PAI insists it will take no immediate action on my claim of $101.75, when it is well within their ability to do so and resolve this matter. Furthermore their customer service representatives directed my call to a department that does not exist, the "Dispute Department", and deceptively told me they spoke to the "Dispute Department" and my claim had not yet reached them. This issue has not been resolved, PAI has taken no action to help, except to respond to BBB instead of resolving this routine issue. 

Regards,

 

**** *********  


 

 

3/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company is refusing to reverse ATM charges for an under payment of a withdraw

Desired Settlement: Refund of all moneys owed and forced to remove an ATM that does not meet state and federal regulations

Business Response:

Payment Alliance International, Inc. received a notice of complaint about our business filed on behalf of a cardholder who used one of our ATMs, Mr. ****** *****.  Payment Alliance is never the custodian of any funds for any cardholder utilizing an ATM in our processing network.  Therefore, there are limitations as to our ability to provide immediate refunds in any claim against an ATM processing through our network.

Mr. ***** had contacted Payment Alliance about his claim, when Payment Alliance advised him on 02/17/14 and 02/20/14 to contact his financial institution in order to file a claim.  Federal law provides for error resolution which begins with a cardholder contacting his or her financial institution directly by calling the number on the back of their card.  It is the practice for our representatives to explain this process and the time frame involved.  This gives the cardholder an opportunity to contact his or her financial institution, which will investigate the claim and grant provisional credit while doing so, as it may take days for the investigation to be completed. 

Nonetheless, our own investigation shows that at the time of the transaction, the terminal recognized that it had not dispensed the funds as requested and therefore a partial-reversal was performed automatically. 

Upon receiving the notice of complaint, we contacted Mr. ***** to obtain additional information in order to verify that he did receive his funds reversed to him.  As of 2/21/14, Mr. ***** confirmed he had received his funds back to his account.  In addition, Payment Alliance has refunded to Mr. ***** his surcharge fee for the ATM transaction, by correspondence and check today.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused for Mr. *****. 

Respectfully,

 

******** ******

Payment Alliance International

200 Briarwood West Drive

Jackson, MS  39206

Office:  ###-###-#### ext .2163

Fax: ************ 

 

8/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/15/11 the general manager faxed the SAQ form to 18667230935 to avoid a non compliance fee. Payment Alliance International continued to take money from our account totaling 353.60 as of 7/31/13. We filled out the paper work they requested and have the proof of the fax sent and received so they need to refund the penalty fees.

Desired Settlement: Refund 353.60 to ******** **** *******

Business Response:

The manager in customer service reached out to the merchant and spoke with ***** and ****** regarding the concern with being billed for the account not PCI compliant even though they had faxed paper work in to have the situation resolved on 12/15/11. Payment Alliance International had no record of receiving the fax but merchant was able to provide documentation showing it was sent successfully so $214.20 was refunded to the merchant for fees incurred during the timeframe they were out of compliance because of the missed self-assessment questionnaire. 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *****

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Payment Alliance International, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart