Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Your Community Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (812) 981-7750 Fax: (812) 949-6812 View Additional Phone Numbers 101 W. Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150 http://www.yourcommunitybank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Your Community Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Your Community Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Your Community Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1934 in KY Business incorporated 01/07/2003 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
30 SOUTH MERIDIAN STREET, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/dfi
Phone Number: 800-382-4880

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Cecil, President & CEO Mr. Todd Frossard, Executive Vice President Mr. James D. Rickard, President & CEO of Community Bank Shares Mr. Joseph Bauer, SVP, Business Services Mr. Michael Bauer, EVP, CCO Mr. Brian Brinkworth, SVP, Manager, Business Services Mr. Scott Carr, SVP, Audit & Risk Management, Compliance Officer, CRA Officer Mr. Paul Chrisco, EVP Mr. J. Robert McIlvoy, SVP, Retail Banking Ms. M. Diane Murphy, SVP, Community Relations Officer Mr. Carl Page, SVP, Human Resources Director; Assistant Corporate Secretary Ms. Vicki Rough, SVP & Manager, Private Banking Mr. Philip Ryan, SVP, Manager, Kentucky Business Services Ms. Le Anne Scott, SVP, Manager, Clark County Business Services Mr. Robert Sullivan, SVP, Business Services Mr. Bill Wright, EVP, CFO, Director of Planning
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Carr, SVP, Audit & Risk Management, Compliance Officer, CRA Officer
Principal: Mr. James Cecil, President & CEO
Principal: Mr. Todd Frossard, Executive Vice President
Principal: Mr. James D. Rickard, President & CEO of Community Bank Shares
Business Category

BANKS

Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

IN JANUARY 2015 YOUR COMMUNITY BANK ACQUIRED FIRST FEDERAL SAVINGS BANK


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Your Community Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 101 W. Spring Street

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 981-7750 (866) 944-2004

  • 102 Heritage Square

    Sellersburg, IN 47172 (812) 246-8321

  • 106A W. John Rowan Blvd.

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 348-9278

  • 11810 Interchange Drive

    Louisville, KY 40229 (502) 966-9886

  • 119 E Stephen Foster Avenue

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 348-7150

  • 12629 Taylorsville Rd.

    Louisville, KY 40299

  • 13205 Magisterial Drive

    Louisville, KY 40223 (502) 489-3600

  • 201 W. Court Avenue

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 285-1111

  • 2030 Hwy. 337 NW

    Corydon, IN 47112

  • 20761 Cedar Grove Rd.

    Shepherdsville, KY 40165

  • 2101 N. Dixie Ave.

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701

  • 2323 Ring Road

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-2131 (270) 351-4436

  • 2626 Charlestown Road

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 949-6850

  • 279 No. Bardstown Road

    Mount Washington, KY 40047 (502) 538-4238

  • 2910 Grantline Road

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 948-8945

  • 2917 E. 10th Street

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 258-2060

  • 301 Blankenbaker Pkwy.

    Louisville, KY 40243

  • 315  N. Third Street

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 331-0304

  • 325 W. Dixie

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-2311

  • 3650 South Hurstbourne Pkwy.

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 493-4004

  • 395 No. Buckman

    Shepherdsville, KY 40165 (502) 543-2238

  • 401 E. John Rowan Blvd.

    Louisville, KY 40229 (502) 348-6421

  • 401 E. Spring Street

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 981-7303

  • 4055 Flaherty Road

    Vine Grove, KY 40175 (270) 828-8181

  • 416 E. Broadway

    Brandenburg, KY 40108 (270) 422-4523

  • 4328 Charlestown Road

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 949-6800

  • 4510 Shelbyville Road

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 895-1713

  • 471 W Main Street

    Louisville, KY 40202 (502) 569-4266

  • 475 W. Lincoln Trail Blvd.

    Radcliff, KY 40160

  • 480 New Albany Plaza

    New Albany, IN 47150 (812) 949-6852

  • 50 Old Mill Rd.

    Brandenburg, KY 40108

  • 5112 Highway 62

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 285-4050

  • 6171 N. Wilson Rd.

    Radcliff, KY 40160

  • 6500 State Rd. 64

    Georgetown, IN 47122

  • 701 Highlander Point

    Floyds Knobs, IN 47119 (812) 923-7901

  • 7340 Main St.

    Lanesville, IN 47136

  • 8160 Beech St.

    Elizabeth, IN 47117

  • 901 E. Lewis & Clark Parkway

    Clarksville, IN 47129 (812) 280-9607

  • 925 Main Street

    Munfordville, KY 42765 (270) 524-7271

  • P O Box 5006

    Elizabethtown, KY 42702 (270) 765-2131

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company hold a Note(mortgage) on a piece of commercial property. Company held that mortgage in excess of 10 years. Mortgage was subject to renewal every 5 years. Mortgage was placed in service in December of 2003. Each time the mortgage matured Dec 08 & Dec 2013), the Company attached exorbitant and egregious late fees ($9999.99) unnecessarily and erroneously. The late fees were arbitrary and had no basis as the payment associated with the mortgage was direct draft (ach) and therefore could not be construed as late. Company personnel was derelict and lethargic when pressed to remove such foolish charges. Such actions were owned by two separate Loan Officers. ****** ***** and ***** ***** over different periods. The last loan officer assigned to the account proclaimed all charges had been removed as evidenced by an email in writing only to find out no such actions to remove the $9999.99 in late fees had been done via a phone inquiry by me. Bank personnel blatantly lied as to his purported actions of removing such egregious late fees. In addition, Company personnel failed to timely refinance the property causing me economic harm. Bank was asked last January 28th, 2014 to refinance the loan from 6.75% to 4.75% only to finally approve such loan in January 2015. Again, the Bank was lethargic and slow at best while undertaking a simple refinance or in this instance, a loan modification. Bank is unwilling and unwavering to make any interest credit on the loan even though it has and its company personnel acknowledged horrific customer service. The bank has grown its earnings by $4,680 (2% X $234,000 Principle Balance Outstanding) at the expense of the customer by failing to reduce the principle instead on a timely basis. Company's posturing and cavalier attitude towards this situation is quite disturbing. I would not wish anyone to make dealings with this Bank in the future as you are setting yourself up for fail by doing so. As a 39 year customer of this bank, I'm putting you under the bus by closing my account in the near future. This bank needs multiple lessons in customer service if they are to even remotely survive. I have all the documentation available upon request necessary to support my claim(s).

Desired Settlement: Company needs to credit the outstanding principle on the loan in the amount of $2,500 as an amenable resolve.

Business Response:

***** ***** **** ***** ******* ***** *** **** **** ** ******** ********** ** *** ********* *********

Good afternoon. I have received a copy of the above referenced complaint filed by Mr* **** ******* ***** against First Federal Savings Bank and subsequently Your Community Bank as the acquirer of***** ******* ******* **** as of January 1, 2015. I have prepared and mailed a written response to Mr. ***** today, March 16, 2016. Due to the confidential nature of the complaint and the associated response a formal written response to include with the complaint filed by Mr. ***** would not be appropriate.

Please let me know what information would be necessary to ensure your organization \has proof that a response has been provided to Mr. *****?

Thanks

*****



1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have banked with FF for over 20 years. Just recently I was charged $80 in excessive activity fee's for transferring money online. I was never told there would be a $10 charge for moving MY money online each time if you went over a certain amount of times. I called the bank up and asked them to wave the fee, that I was never told about it. They would only refund half. I was not satisfied with that, so i said I would be closing my account unless the full fee was waved. The lady I spoke with said oh well. They have just lost my business. First for taking money out without my knowledge for a fee I didnt know existed, and second for how rude they were to me. I guess my business there doesnt matter to them.

Desired Settlement: Full fee refunded

Business Response:

This email is in response to the complaint filed by complainant ID  #******* and submitted to our bank on January 7, 2014.  We are very sorry for the customer’s dissatisfaction with our service.  We have refunded all fees charged and we have contacted the customer to let her know.  We are in the process of reviewing our fee disclosures to ensure they are clear.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** ********

Chief Compliance Officer

First Federal Savings Bank of Elizabethtown

 
 

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my morgage off 5/27. On 7/5 I called 800-******** because I didn't receive my paperwork stating the mortage was paid. ****** laughed and said don't worry we know you are paid, we won't chage you. I said I have repairs to my home I want to do and since I can't deal with the incompetance of First Federal Savings Bank I am going to remortage my home with someone else and I need documentaion that it is paid off. She said ******** Co. IN recorders office needed to get the original mortage from the orignial lender. I called the recorders office, they sent the paperwork back to First Federal Savings on 6/18 and Frist Federal bought out the original lender, the recorder office don't have anything to do with geting the paperwork from the lender. So i called back and talkeed to sopmeone in customer service, since ****** doesn;'t know what to do. The customer service person said they just received the paperwork from i the recorder office in the days mail and they will retreive the moragae papers from off site storage location and I would have them in 2 weeks. 3 weeks later (7/28) I called again and talked to ****** (ext ****), she said she would track down the problem and call me Mon. (7/30). On 8/3 I called ****** back since she didn't bother calling me and she tells me they gave my paperwork to some other business, but she wpould let me speak to ****** and she could explain it. Of course ****** is clueless, so I went back to ******. She assured me she would overnight the paperwork and I would have it Mon. I have finally received the paperwork as I am typing this letter to you

Desired Settlement: To let other costumers know they are a hard company to deal with.

Business Response:

August 10, 2012 

Re:  Complaint# ******* – ******* ***** *****

 

To whom it may concern: 

I am writing in regards to a recent complaint we received from your office concerning mortgage paperwork for a customer, Ms. ******* ***** *****. 

Our understanding is Ms. *****’s concern was that her paperwork was “off-site” and this could have caused the confidentiality of her information to be compromised.   We conducted an investigation and spoke with the customer service representatives (CSRs) identified in Ms. *****’s complaint.  We would like to assure Ms. ***** that it is an industry practice to, at times, maintain loan documents at a location other than the main office.   We worked to get Ms. *****’s paperwork to her as soon as we could and, at no time, was her account or personal information compromised.   We are extremely sorry for the confusion and the miscommunication that occurred during Ms. *****’s conversations with our bank employees.  

We strive to provide excellent customer service in all our interactions, and we regret Ms. ***** had an unsatisfactory experience.   We are using the information provided by Ms. ***** to determine what we may be able to do to reduce the time it takes to get documents to our customers and to evaluate how we can improve the customer experience in the future.  

If you have any questions in regards to this situation or if there is something we can do to restore Ms. *****’s confidence in us, please let us know. 

Sincerely,

******** ********

Chief Compliance Officer

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****


****** told me when they retrieved my paperwork from the off site storage location they gave it to another finacial organization, and that was why they could not send me the documents, the other organization had not sent back to First FederaL.  When I asked who they sent them to and why, ****** transfered me to ****** and said she would answer my questions.  When I asked ****** who they gave them to and why, she said she didn't know.  I was so shocked they sent them to someone else I didn't catch the name ****** gave me .  I know it had Federal and Organization in the name. 

I understand they store documents off site,I have no problem with that, I want to know who they gave them to and why after they were retieved to storage.  I feel that they should have been sent to me since I had paid the load off in May and I was still waiting for the documents in Aug.

Business Response:  August 24, 2012

Re:  Complaint# ******* – ******* ***** *****

To whom it may concern: 

I am writing in regards to a follow up complaint we received from your office concerning mortgage paperwork for a customer, Ms. ******* ***** *****.

In her letter, Ms. ***** stated “****** told me when they retrieved my paperwork from the off-site storage location they gave it to another financial organization”.  Ms. ***** asked to whom her mortgage documents were sent after they were retrieved from off-site.   

All mortgages and related notes of First Federal Savings Bank are maintained at the Federal Home Loan Bank in Cincinnati (referred to by staff as “off-site”).  First Federal’s practice is to obtain the mortgage release from the county recorder’s office and the original note and mortgage from the Federal Home Loan Bank (FHLB).  When both are received, First Federal forwards them to the customer.   

When First Federal received Ms. *****’s mortgage and note from FHLB and the release from the county recorder, the paperwork was forwarded to Ms. *****.   They were not forwarded to another organization.  We are very sorry for this miscommunication.   We are also sorry for the length of time it took Ms. ***** to receive her documents, and we are sorry for the frustration she experienced when she called to inquire about the status.   In addition, we have evaluated our entire process and we have implemented steps we hope will enable us to get mortgage documents to the customer more quickly in the future.  We appreciate the comments Ms. ***** has shared with us.  We will strive to become a better institution as a result of them. 

If you have further questions in regards to this matter or if there is something further we can do, please let us know.

Sincerely,

******** ********

Chief Compliance Officer

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****


I understand there is nothing they can do to change the poor treatment of me, but I think they are not coming clean with the BBB.  I was told they retreived the papers from storage and sent them else where, they were not waiting to receive them from storage.  I had to wait another week for them to get back from the other business before they were sent to me.  Maybe the employees of the baank misunderstood the notes in the log book, but I did not misunderstand anything!

Business Response:

Dear Sir/Madam,

This is in response to a complaint filed by Ms. ******* ***** ***** with the Better Business Bureau on June 7, 2013.   It is First Federal's understanding Ms. ***** has found that, while she paid off her mortgage in March 2012,  the UCC Financing Statement (UCC) related to the mortgage has not been released.  First Federal is very sorry Ms. ***** has encountered another instance that has not been handled satisfactorily as it relates to her mortgage.  We will be happy to explain the reason we overlooked releasing the mortgage but we understand Ms. ***** may not want to hear excuses.  She wants to have the UCC released.  The status of the release is as follows:  A request to terminate the UCC filing was sent to the Indiana Secretary of State's Office on June 14, 2013.  First Federal also received a request to release the UCC from First Harrison Bank where Ms. ***** is refinancing a loan.  First Federal sent First Harrison a letter on June 11, 2013 advising that the loan had been paid in full and that a UCC termination request would be filed. 

If we can provide Ms. ***** with additional information or if we can do more to correct this situation, we will be happy to do so.  Again, we are very sorry the experience with First Federal has not been pleasant. 

Sincerely,

******** ********, Chief Compliance Officer


 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****


I would like a letter from First Federal when the UCC has been completely released, since they can't complete a business transaction with out the BBB involved. I'm sure they have filed to have it released, but I'm not sure they can complete the trans action woith out the BBB overseeing the process.