BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 582-2571 1040 East Main Street, Louisville, KY 40206 http://www.syb.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1904
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David P. Heintzman, President & CEO Mr. Neil Lancaster, Director of Sales, Service, and Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David P. Heintzman, President & CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Neil Lancaster, Director of Sales, Service, and Marketing
Business Category

BANKS MORTGAGES


Additional Locations

  • 1040 East Main Street

    Louisville, KY 40206

  • 1048 E. Main Street

    Louisville, KY 40206

  • 11800 Shelbyville Rd

    Louisville, KY 40243

  • 1901 Blankenbaker Pkwy.

    Louisville, KY 40299

  • 214 S. Fifth St

    Louisville, KY 40202

  • 227 E. SR 131

    Clarksville, IN 47129

  • 2440 Bardstown Road

    Louisville, KY 40218

  • 2811 S. Hurstbourne Parkway

    Louisville, KY 40223

  • 4016 Poplar Level Rd.

    Louisville, KY 40213

  • 4537 Outer Loop

    Louisville, KY 40219

  • 4800 Brownsboro Road

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 582-2571

  • 4825 South Third

    Louisville, KY 40214

  • 5300 Dixie Hwy.

    Louisville, KY 40216

  • 9400 Brownsboro Rd

    Louisville, KY 40241

  • P O Box 32890

    Louisville, KY 40232

  • Rudy Lane

    Louisville, KY 40207

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a customer of SYB for ten years my account was closed without communication after an investigation of unauthorized usage from unknown person/persons. I reported the incident in June 2013, this was the seventh time my account had been compromised by unknown persons. The other times were handled a big better due to the fact that they were online purchases out of state, which they were able to determine that I was here in KY during the time and the purchases were random. In June my debit card began to be declined. I contacted SYB immediately as I knew that I had ample amount of funds available. That is when I was informed of said unknown charges that were not made by me. They indicated that I would need to come into a location and file a dispute/disputes, which I did the following day. At that time they explained the process to me. The communication was great initially, only to suddenly go down hill. They began to avoid returning my phone calls, give me the run around, tell me that someone would call me back, etc. No one called me back. In fact, I made several trips into two different locations, only to be told that no one was available at that time to address my concerns. Finally in September I went to the St. Matthews location thinking a new face/faces would be of help, only to be told that my account was CLOSED without my knowledge back in JULY! Keeping in mind I was told that the account would remain open until the investigation was complete. The individual at the St. Matthews location indicated that since my account had been closed, again without my knowledge, that I had lost all of my perk rewards points which totaled over 200,000 that I had accumulated over ten years. He also stated that my account had been turned over to *********** which is a NIGHTMARE to someone who had NEVER had any issues with banking or credit. In fact, my credit score prior to this situation was 860. Not only did they not communicate with me, they made me feel at fault for said violation of my account and unauthorized charges by telling me, "you should not use your card at restaurants and bars. Also, you shouldn't make online purchases." Funny, isn't that part of having a debit card, for convenience? Also, entertaining fact, the first two times my account was compromised it was due to ** **** being hacked and ******, which were both purchases I had made in person. Their company systems had been compromised. The third time was due to paying at the pump at a Shell gas station that had been compromised. So based on that, I suppose I should have not used my debit card for anything. Since all of this occurred, not only did I lose my account that I had for ten years, along with my Perk reward points that I was unable to cash in, I also have had to deal with EXTREME inconvenience of not having direct deposit, cashing my payroll checks at the local kroger for a fee and using cash all of the time. Meaning no more paying at the pump for gas, no more online bill pay, internet shopping...and the worst, not being able to open a new account ANYWHERE because SYB reported me to ***********!!! While my account was 'being investigated' with lack of communication they also failed to inform me that my direct deposits being made by my employer ****** *********** were being put into my account only to go towards the money that was taken from me by an unauthorized individual. When I asked what to do about my direct deposit, they told me to leave it as is. I lost out on four paychecks until I took it upon myself to cancel the direct deposit (Thank goodness)! I was also charged five dollars per day because my account was in the negative, although it was not my fault. They also informed me that there were no notes on my account after July. That was concerning and alarming, as if they had something to hide and making me seem incompetent. NOT OKAY! Since June I have dealt with this terrible nightmare with no resolution.

Desired Settlement: I want my account resolved with SYB, funds replaced. If funds cannot be replaced, I am willing to suck up the fact that a tremendous amount of money is and will forever be gone as long as they FULLY RESOLVE the ********** issue allowing me to go back to normal way of living and giving me desired and deserved credit back. I have worked hard to maintain excellent credit my entire life, I want it back! I would like a phone call from the highest superior indicating what will be done to resolve this matter. ASAP.

Business Response:

In researching Ms. *****’s complaint, here is what we have found thus far:

 

Ø  On Friday, June 28th @ 4:44 pm, we have an internal e-mail generated from a service associate at our Highlands branch to our Bankcard Services Department.  Ms. ***** had called in to dispute a debit card transaction.  The transaction occurred at ****** on May 31st, 2013, and was in the amount of $168.89.  On the form, ********* typed the following information, “****** will come to the branch to look over other activity on her account a sign a dispute from.  She might dispute other charges once she sees her activity.”  At this point, this is the only transaction for which we have a POS (point of sale) dispute.

 

Ø  On July 23rd, 2013, a letter was mailed to Ms. ***** at **** ********* *** *** *********** *** *****, stating we had completed our investigation of the POS dispute on the ****** transaction.  The letter states “You advised us that you have chosen to withdraw your disputed transaction claim filed on June28, 2013, since you did authorize the transaction in the amount of $168.89.  We consider this matter to be resolved and we are closing your claim.”

 

Ø  On July 25th, Ms. *****’s checking account was charged off for $649.27 and placed for collection.  Because of the amount charged off, the account was reported to **** *******.  Again, a letter was mailed out to Ms. ***** from our DDA Collections Department.

 

Ø  On Wednesday, January 8th and again on Thursday, January 9th, ***** *******, one of our Retail Division Managers spoke to Ms. ***** on the phone.  During this conversation, Ms. ***** shared some of the same information included in her complaint.  From this conversation, ***** ordered copies of Ms. *****’ May, June and July 2013 statements, which were mailed to Ms. ***** on January 10th.  ***** instructed Ms. ***** to go through these statements in detail and let us know of any debit card transactions she’s disputing so that they can be investigated.  ***** again talked to Ms. ***** on Thursday, January 16th, to see if Ms. ***** had received her statements yet.  She had not received her mail yet and was going to check her mail that night and again today.  She indicated, due to her schedule, she wouldn’t be able to review these statements until Friday night at the earliest.  She thanked ***** for following up and said she’d call ***** and let him know which transactions she’s disputing.

 

Ø  The ball is in Ms. *****’ court now.  We need her to go through the three bank statements and highlight any debit card/POS transactions she is disputing.  Once that information is returned to you, our Compliance department will investigate all highlighted transactions.  If we find that some or all of the charges are fraudulent, we will work with Ms. ***** to get this situation rectified.  If we find that Ms. ***** executed or authorized someone else to perform these transactions, there is nothing more we can do.

 

We will re-open our investigation immediately upon receipt of Ms. *****’s May, June & July 2013 bank statements that highlight all disputed debit card/POS transactions.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken out 2 loans with stockyard bank for a building expansion and equipment. They lumped the 2 loans into 1 checking acct. However, when they disbursed the loan money according to my building draws and equipment invoices, they have mislabeled the disbursments in favor of the smaller equipment loan. They now have claimed as of 3 weeks ago that 1 loan is overdrawn and have been charging fees ever since. They also refused twice to pay 2 checks that they had the invoices. Because of this, my credit card account was frozen for 3 weeks and incurred interest and fees due to non-payment. I have shown them evidence several times that I am within limits on my loans, but they refuse to cooperate. I feel I am being ignored and bullied for more fees. I have ask them to resolve this and waive the fees and pay my cc interest but I have received no reply.

Desired Settlement: See above plus a letter of apology to my CC company

Business Response:

Our customer’s lending officer visited with him on April 26 to discuss his concerns.  The lending officer explained which expenses have been approved and disbursed to date and what funds remain.  The overdraft in the loan disbursement account resulted from checks written by our customer to pay expenses for which invoices had not yet been received and approved by the bank. 

As a courtesy, we have agreed to waive all our customer’s overdraft fees that were charged to his Stock Yards Bank checking account as a result of those payments.  The lending officer explained to our customer the criterion for disbursing the remainder of his construction loan funds.  Once all invoices have been received and a final inspection performed, the remainder of the funds can be disbursed. 

 

Consumer Response:


This response contains lies. The bank had all my invoices but now claims I needed an inspection even on work that I performed. This is contrary to what I was told all along. My builder had met with us and can confirm that I was only ask to turn in invoices for reimbursement. Due to this conflict, my credit card was cancelled due to the bank's not honoring the checks multiple times. This in turned snowballed due to other companies not being able to charge my CC. I'm sure this has damaged my credit as well.

 

Business Response:

During the meeting between customer and loan officer on April 26, 2012, it was agreed that customer would submit a request for balance of loan proceeds and supporting invoices.  It was also discussed at this meeting that a final inspection would need to be made prior to disbursing these funds.  Then on May 2, 2012, customer submitted a signed request and a listing of change orders presented by contractor.  On May 4th, customer faxed a duplicate copy of the initial invoice submitted by sign company for the down payment on signage.  However, this invoice had been funded on February 10, 2012..

 

The Bank’s Construction Lending Administrator faxed a request to Customer on May 11, 2012, requesting the final invoice for the balance due on the signage, invoices or paid receipts for landscaping material customer had purchased and completed personally, and confirmation of total expense for cabinets.  In this faxed request, Administrator stated that once we have this documentation, the Bank anticipates being able to fund without any further inspections.  This fax was confirmed to have been sent May 11, 2012 at 5:03 pm.  On May 18, 2012, the final disbursement was made without incurring the cost of another inspection and Customer was informed of the deposit into account on May 21, 2012.

 

Customer also stated that they were unaware of needing an inspection on anything other than presenting invoices for reimbursement.  On December 28, 2010 customer signed acceptance of Commitment Letter which outlined the Bank’s requirements prior to disbursements.  In addition, at closing of the Loan on December 2, 2011, customer signed an “Agreement For the Disbursement of Loan Proceeds.”  This agreement outlined the requirements for disbursement which included:

·         A signed request by customer

·         A progress and compliance report

·         A certificate from Bank’s Inspector certifying that construction of improvements included in progress report have been performed in accordance with plans and all materials have been incorporated into the improvements.  Also, the certification was to be accompanied by photographs.

·         A title update performed and title update letter or policy endorsement issued.

 

Finally, the Bank was unable to honor checks presented for payment on two separate dates because there were not sufficient funds in the account to cover these checks.  However, the Bank can confirm that the we have not made any derogatory reports to any of the credit bureaus.  The Bank’s most recent credit report on Customer is dated November 2, 2011, therefore, we are unable to confirm if any other institutions or companies have made any derogatory reports on Customer’s credit since that date.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1