Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 582-2571 1040 East Main Street, Louisville, KY 40206 http://www.syb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stock Yards Bank and Trust Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1904
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions
1025 Capitol Center Drive, Suite 200, Frankfort KY 40601
http://www.kfi.ky.gov/
Phone Number: (502) 573-3390
Fax Number: 502-573-0086

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David P. Heintzman, Chairman & CEO Mr. Neil Lancaster, Director of Sales, Service, and Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David P. Heintzman, Chairman & CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Neil Lancaster, Director of Sales, Service, and Marketing
Business Category

BANKS MORTGAGES


Additional Locations

  • 1040 East Main Street

    Louisville, KY 40206

  • 1048 E. Main Street

    Louisville, KY 40206

  • 11800 Shelbyville Rd

    Louisville, KY 40243

  • 1901 Blankenbaker Pkwy.

    Louisville, KY 40299

  • 214 S. Fifth St

    Louisville, KY 40202

  • 227 E. SR 131

    Clarksville, IN 47129

  • 2440 Bardstown Road

    Louisville, KY 40218

  • 2811 S. Hurstbourne Parkway

    Louisville, KY 40223

  • 4016 Poplar Level Rd.

    Louisville, KY 40213

  • 4537 Outer Loop

    Louisville, KY 40219

  • 4800 Brownsboro Road

    Louisville, KY 40207 (502) 582-2571

  • 4825 South Third

    Louisville, KY 40214

  • 5300 Dixie Hwy.

    Louisville, KY 40216

  • 9400 Brownsboro Rd

    Louisville, KY 40241

  • P O Box 32890

    Louisville, KY 40232

  • Rudy Lane

    Louisville, KY 40207

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 30, 20**. We closed out account with Stockyards, signed documents and they refunded us the remains 22.00 in the account. After that time, they continued to allow charges and old payments that were scheduled to go through the account with out our permission. At no time did they put us on notice that it would take 24 hours to close an account, they never told us there were any issues closing the account and continued to allow payments and charges to go through the account. We believe they acted in bad faith and have put undo hardship on us because we have now made duplicate bill payments that can not be recovered until next month. On top of that, they refuse to remove the 35.00 overdraft fee that they billed for charges they allowed to go through after we closed the account.

Desired Settlement: I wish stockyards to remove any fees from my account because of there mistake and wish in the future they make a better practice of communication with there customers regarding how much time it takes to close an account.

Business Response:

In this particular situation, the bank was unable to close Mr. & Mrs. ***’s account on January 30, 20**, the day Mr. *** came into our ***** ***** branch to close the account due to an outstanding item attempting to clear the account the evening of January 30th.   When Mr. *** requested to close the account, he was asked if there were any outstanding items on the account that could be presented for payment.  His reply was ‘no’.  This is important because the language in our Terms & Conditions clearly states: “When you close your account, you are responsible for leaving enough money in the account to cover any outstanding items to be paid from the account.”

 

The balance in the account as of the account closure request was $22.81.  This amount was given to Mr. *** on January 30th to get the balance to zero and close the account.  Had no other presentments hit the account, the account would have closed that day and none of the other events listed in the complaint would have occurred.

 

On the morning of February 2nd, the online bill payment that was presented the night of January 30th cleared the account, creating a negative account balance.  With the balance no longer at $0.00, our system would not allow the account to close.  Five subsequent transactions, including four ACH transactions from ******, posted to the account.  We were unable to prevent these items from posting to the account (we couldn’t close the account completely due to the pending items and subsequent negative balance). 

 

Had we known about the six items that were still outstanding at the time the account closure was requested, we would have advised the customer to deposit additional funds in the account to cover all payments and wait until all six items cleared to close the account.  All NSF fees incurred have now been refunded to the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ***

 


 

 Although I appreciate the reimbursement of fees to my account for the banks mistakes, I would like it be known that no such conversation took place between the bank and Mr *** about possibilities that the account might not close because of pending charges.  The ****** charges were made with a ****** debit card that was still liked to the account that was a mistake on ******* part.  A simple phone call letting us know about the problems with the account closing would have solved everything. We could have allowed the account to stay open and transfer funds if needed.  They're lack of communication caused this entire issue.  There unwillingness to work with me once "I" discovered the problem is the real issue and one I wish to be noted.  The way the handle the situation, and me as a customer, was in complete bad faith.   

1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a customer of SYB for ten years my account was closed without communication after an investigation of unauthorized usage from unknown person/persons. I reported the incident in June 2013, this was the seventh time my account had been compromised by unknown persons. The other times were handled a big better due to the fact that they were online purchases out of state, which they were able to determine that I was here in KY during the time and the purchases were random. In June my debit card began to be declined. I contacted SYB immediately as I knew that I had ample amount of funds available. That is when I was informed of said unknown charges that were not made by me. They indicated that I would need to come into a location and file a dispute/disputes, which I did the following day. At that time they explained the process to me. The communication was great initially, only to suddenly go down hill. They began to avoid returning my phone calls, give me the run around, tell me that someone would call me back, etc. No one called me back. In fact, I made several trips into two different locations, only to be told that no one was available at that time to address my concerns. Finally in September I went to the St. Matthews location thinking a new face/faces would be of help, only to be told that my account was CLOSED without my knowledge back in JULY! Keeping in mind I was told that the account would remain open until the investigation was complete. The individual at the St. Matthews location indicated that since my account had been closed, again without my knowledge, that I had lost all of my perk rewards points which totaled over 200,000 that I had accumulated over ten years. He also stated that my account had been turned over to *********** which is a NIGHTMARE to someone who had NEVER had any issues with banking or credit. In fact, my credit score prior to this situation was 860. Not only did they not communicate with me, they made me feel at fault for said violation of my account and unauthorized charges by telling me, "you should not use your card at restaurants and bars. Also, you shouldn't make online purchases." Funny, isn't that part of having a debit card, for convenience? Also, entertaining fact, the first two times my account was compromised it was due to ** **** being hacked and ******, which were both purchases I had made in person. Their company systems had been compromised. The third time was due to paying at the pump at a Shell gas station that had been compromised. So based on that, I suppose I should have not used my debit card for anything. Since all of this occurred, not only did I lose my account that I had for ten years, along with my Perk reward points that I was unable to cash in, I also have had to deal with EXTREME inconvenience of not having direct deposit, cashing my payroll checks at the local kroger for a fee and using cash all of the time. Meaning no more paying at the pump for gas, no more online bill pay, internet shopping...and the worst, not being able to open a new account ANYWHERE because SYB reported me to ***********!!! While my account was 'being investigated' with lack of communication they also failed to inform me that my direct deposits being made by my employer ****** *********** were being put into my account only to go towards the money that was taken from me by an unauthorized individual. When I asked what to do about my direct deposit, they told me to leave it as is. I lost out on four paychecks until I took it upon myself to cancel the direct deposit (Thank goodness)! I was also charged five dollars per day because my account was in the negative, although it was not my fault. They also informed me that there were no notes on my account after July. That was concerning and alarming, as if they had something to hide and making me seem incompetent. NOT OKAY! Since June I have dealt with this terrible nightmare with no resolution.

Desired Settlement: I want my account resolved with SYB, funds replaced. If funds cannot be replaced, I am willing to suck up the fact that a tremendous amount of money is and will forever be gone as long as they FULLY RESOLVE the ********** issue allowing me to go back to normal way of living and giving me desired and deserved credit back. I have worked hard to maintain excellent credit my entire life, I want it back! I would like a phone call from the highest superior indicating what will be done to resolve this matter. ASAP.

Business Response:

In researching Ms. *****’s complaint, here is what we have found thus far:

 

Ø  On Friday, June 28th @ 4:44 pm, we have an internal e-mail generated from a service associate at our Highlands branch to our Bankcard Services Department.  Ms. ***** had called in to dispute a debit card transaction.  The transaction occurred at ****** on May 31st, 2013, and was in the amount of $168.89.  On the form, ********* typed the following information, “****** will come to the branch to look over other activity on her account a sign a dispute from.  She might dispute other charges once she sees her activity.”  At this point, this is the only transaction for which we have a POS (point of sale) dispute.

 

Ø  On July 23rd, 2013, a letter was mailed to Ms. ***** at **** ********* *** *** *********** *** *****, stating we had completed our investigation of the POS dispute on the ****** transaction.  The letter states “You advised us that you have chosen to withdraw your disputed transaction claim filed on June28, 2013, since you did authorize the transaction in the amount of $168.89.  We consider this matter to be resolved and we are closing your claim.”

 

Ø  On July 25th, Ms. *****’s checking account was charged off for $649.27 and placed for collection.  Because of the amount charged off, the account was reported to **** *******.  Again, a letter was mailed out to Ms. ***** from our DDA Collections Department.

 

Ø  On Wednesday, January 8th and again on Thursday, January 9th, ***** *******, one of our Retail Division Managers spoke to Ms. ***** on the phone.  During this conversation, Ms. ***** shared some of the same information included in her complaint.  From this conversation, ***** ordered copies of Ms. *****’ May, June and July 2013 statements, which were mailed to Ms. ***** on January 10th.  ***** instructed Ms. ***** to go through these statements in detail and let us know of any debit card transactions she’s disputing so that they can be investigated.  ***** again talked to Ms. ***** on Thursday, January 16th, to see if Ms. ***** had received her statements yet.  She had not received her mail yet and was going to check her mail that night and again today.  She indicated, due to her schedule, she wouldn’t be able to review these statements until Friday night at the earliest.  She thanked ***** for following up and said she’d call ***** and let him know which transactions she’s disputing.

 

Ø  The ball is in Ms. *****’ court now.  We need her to go through the three bank statements and highlight any debit card/POS transactions she is disputing.  Once that information is returned to you, our Compliance department will investigate all highlighted transactions.  If we find that some or all of the charges are fraudulent, we will work with Ms. ***** to get this situation rectified.  If we find that Ms. ***** executed or authorized someone else to perform these transactions, there is nothing more we can do.

 

We will re-open our investigation immediately upon receipt of Ms. *****’s May, June & July 2013 bank statements that highlight all disputed debit card/POS transactions.