Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Springfield State Bank

Phone: (859) 336-3939 Fax: (859) 336-5920 125 E. Main Street, Springfield, KY 40069

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Springfield State Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Springfield State Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Springfield State Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 2008 Business started: 01/06/1910 in KY Business incorporated 01/06/1911 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions
1025 Capitol Center Drive, Suite 200, Frankfort KY 40601
Phone Number: (502) 573-3390
Fax Number: 502-573-0086

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robbie Polin, President & CEO Mrs. Christy Carpenter, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robbie Polin, President & CEO
Business Category


Additional Locations

  • 125 E. Main Street

    Springfield, KY 40069 (859) 336-3939


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 18, **** I went to Springfield State Bank in Springfield, KY 40069 to set up Savings Accounts for my 2 ********* ******* **** ********* and ********** ********* from the Estate of ******** *******. When I got t***e I did not know I had to have the WILL and had to have one faxed t***e while giving the necessary information from the Estate. The Will states the ***** are not to get the money until age 21. On November 6, **** I went to the Bank to question why I had not received a statement on *******'s Account and was told the money had been transfered in August ****. I asked how did that happen and was told the money went to *** at age 18. They said according to their records the money went to *** at age 18. I said that was not how it was supposed to be set up according to the WILL. They started looking and stated they could not find a copy of the WILL. If they never had a copy then how did they set up the Accounts with my listed as the Custodian. Up until July **** I was still getting statements in the mail on *******'s Account and *** turned 18 on ******* *** **** so with that being said the statements should have started going to *** address instead of coming to me as the custodian. The day the Accounts were set up I rememeber them looking at the WILL and telling me I would have to sign in order for the Accounts to go in their names. On November 6, **** **** ***** told me they could not discuss the Account with me since the ******* was over 18, I had the lawyer that handled the Estate fax over anot*** copy of the WILL and .Mrs. ***** called when they received it. Mrs. ***** asked me if ******** ******* had helped with the Accounts and I said no. I found it disturbing *** (**** *****) kept looking at *** computer screen the entire time. I feel like they are hiding something. I went back on November 7th only to find they still would not answer my questions. **** ***** went to get ****** ***** but said he was busy so ***** **** came instead. At that point both seemed agitated that I was still asking "WHY" and "HOW" this had happened and w***e did the first WILL go? Because of this screw up or the fact they are covering for someone I have closed out my youngest ********* Account and moved it to anot*** bank. I just can't understand how something like this can happen to such an important document in a bank. How can someone just do what they want and ignore the wi***s concerning a WILL? My grandmot*** had banked at Springfield State Bank *** entire life and *** died at age ** and they act like *** WILL and wi***s meant nothing

Desired Settlement: To see the entire Account #******* belonging to ******* **** ********* with ***** ********* as Custodian. I want to see the transfer with signatures, the bank employ that handled the transaction, and video footage of all parties involved. That includes who was with ******* the day this took place and all employees that was involved. I will not be satisfied with anything less that what is stated.

Business Response:

See attachment.

Given bank privacy rules it is difficult to respond to this matter in detail. Bank records reflect that the complaining party opening up a custodial account for his ******** pursuant to the UTMA which was transferred by the ******** several months after reaching the age of 18, which is the age that custodial accounts are terminated by law. The only transfers out of the account were made by the complaining party before the account was closed by the emancipated minor. The initial transfers to the two accounts were from the proceeds of multiple Certificates of Deposit which were payable on death to the two minor *****. T***efore, the certificate proceeds passed outside of the estate and were not subject to the provisions in the decedant's will.