Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kentucky Neighborhood Bank

Phone: (270) 737-6000 Fax: (270) 769-3512 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 North Dixie Avenue, Elizabethtown, KY 42701 http://www.bankknb.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kentucky Neighborhood Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kentucky Neighborhood Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kentucky Neighborhood Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2000 Business started: 10/15/1997 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions
1025 Capitol Center Drive, Suite 200, Frankfort KY 40601
http://www.kfi.ky.gov/
Phone Number: (502) 573-3390
Fax Number: 502-573-0086

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald J. Pence, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald J. Pence, President
Business Category

BANKS

Alternate Business Names
KNB

Additional Locations

  • 1000 North Dixie Avenue

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 737-6000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: KNB, or better known as Kentucky Neighborhood Bank, allowed fraudulent charges to be made to my account. With having this happen to me before with my **** account I confidently called my bank to despute the charges late last year. Due to a change of address, and KNB not being my primary bank (simply for cash deposits only due to **** being too much of a hassle when it comes to cash) I was not notified of these fraudulent charges for quite some time after they were already processed, and the overdraft fees, and late fees already started to add up. The first call to KNB I made already let me know that this process was going to be absolutely ridiculous. The lady whom picked up my call proceeded to tell me that I would need to call the company the charges came from to dispute this. In awe of their awe of their concern to the fraudulent charges made to what was suppose to be a secure account, I then contacted the company the charges had came from. Immediately they realized my card was wrongfully charged, and within 15 minutes of being on the phone I was promised a refund for the $400 they wrongfully charged my card, and within 10-15 business days I would see it reflected on my account. 15 business days later I called KNB to check to make sure I was refunded, and I was back in good standing. I was told that day that my account was still overdrawn, not from the company who fraudulently charged me, but from KNB's overdraft fees, and late charges. In the same breath, she told me there shouldn't be a problem getting these removed due to none of this being my fault, but she would have to have a manager due it, due to her not having access. I was confident after this phone call that this had been taken care of. A month, or two (not sure) I received a letter in the mail stating my account was going into collections due to an unpaid balance. Immediately I called KNB to see what was going on. I was then told, due to me not contacting them back, and not answering 2 phone calls THAT I NEVER RECIEVED (phone records can be provided) that I would not be able to have these charges taken off. I "waited too long". When I asked them if they were seriously telling me that because I never RECIEVED the call that was suppose why made to me, I now owe them $380 in overdraft fees .. I was told yes. Of course I was not taking this, and eventually they told me that if I pay the $174 and change, they would take off $200 but once again, due to not contacting them when it was in my belief, taken care of, I still owe them something. It has been a month since I was told this, and I have called back since, and they still will not help me. They let my account be wrongfully charged without my authorization, made me take care of it myself with the company that fraudulently charged me, and now will not remove the charges they placed on my account when these fraudulent charges processed. The $200 they claimed they would take off, won't be until I pay them in full for the rest. It has already effected my credit score, that is scotch clean!! I have never owed anybody in my life, nor have I ever been bullied into paying something that was not my place to pay. I now owe, $380, or $174 and change after they remove $200 for what? Because I was fraudulently charged, and now KNB is fraudulently charging me.

Desired Settlement: I would like KNB to remove all of the charges they charged me after they allowed someone to fraudulantly charge my account, and then cancel out my account completely.

Business Response:

Response:

Below is a copy of the letter we mailed to **** ******* on February 11, 2015 at the address provided on the complaint form. February 10, 2015 Reference: Response to Better Business Bureau Complaint/#********/**** ******* Dear Ms. *******, We received a copy of the complaint that you filed with the Better Business Bureau on 2/9/2015. The customer service provided by Kentucky Neighborhood Bank is of the utmost importance to us, therefore we would like to respond to your complaint. Our records indicate that your first call to the bank was in October of 2014. The charge that overdrew your account was on August 22, 2014 and was a $380.00 debit card transaction from **** *******. There is no way for the bank to know if this transaction was unauthorized unless you inform us of this. When you contacted us in October, you informed us that you had already spoken to **** ******* and they were going to refund the charge to the account so you didn’t need to dispute the charge with us. The reason for your call was to request the fees accessed to the account as a result of the overdraft be refunded. At that time, our employee informed you that all refunds have to be approved by management and she would need to get with her supervisor and you would receive a call back to discuss the matter further. The employee explained the situation to the supervisor and multiple attempts were made to contact you so we could resolve this matter. We were unable to get in contact with you after several calls so we assumed you were no longer interested in needing to speak with someone at the bank. The next time we heard from you was on December 4, 2014 and this was to inform us that you never received a call back from October. We informed you that it had been noted that multiple attempts were made to contact you and you never returned our calls. It was at this time we agreed to refund a portion of the fees as a courtesy to help get the situation resolved. You gave no indication that you were not going to pay the balance. The third time you contacted us was on February 6, 2015 and you claimed that everything should have been taken care of and you had no idea that the issue was still unresolved. We informed you that all of the previous conversations with you were noted on the system to include the details of each conversation. It was at this point that we told you we were still willing to refund a portion of the fees but you would be required to pay the remaining balance all at one time and then the account could be closed. The bank still believes that we did everything that we could to assist you in getting this situation resolved and that we responded appropriately each time you made contact with us. We believe that you received plenty of notice to get this matter resolved. You received bank statements in September, October, & November that would have shown the debit you are claiming was unauthorized and your overdrawn balance. You also received an Insufficient Funds Notice on 8/25/2014. Our records also indicate that you received a notice on 10/22/2014 stating that your account was overdrawn and asked that you contact us. Another notice was sent 11/5/2014, advising you that your account had been closed. The bank followed normal procedures and we feel that you were given ample time and warnings to resolve this matter. However, because you feel there was confusion with the incident we will agree to your request that all fees be refunded and the account be closed so the situation can be resolved.

Sincerely, Kentucky Neighborhood Bank

Sent on: 2/11/2015 2:12:38 PM

Sent by: 75.146.10.153

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******

 


 

 %


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kentucky Neighborhood Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)