BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

This Business is not BBB accredited

First Federal Savings Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (270) 765-2131 Fax: (270) 765-2135 View Additional Phone Numbers 2323 Ring Road, Elizabethtown, KY 42701 http://www.ffsbky.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Federal Savings Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on First Federal Savings Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1923 in KY Business incorporated: 01/07/2003 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. B. Keith Johnson, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Greg Schreacke, President Mr. Charles Chaney, Ex. Vice President Ms. Janele Poppe, Asst. Corp Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. B. Keith Johnson, Chief Executive Officer
Principal: Mr. Greg Schreacke, President
Business Category

BANKS MORTGAGES REAL ESTATE LOANS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS LOANS - FARM & RANCH LOANS

Alternate Business Names
First Financial Service Corporation of Elizabethtown

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11810 Interchange Drive

    Louisville, KY 40229 (502) 966-9886

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12629 Taylorsville Rd.

    Louisville, KY 40299

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2030 Hwy. 337 NW

    Corydon, IN 47112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20761 Cedar Grove Rd.

    Shepherdsville, KY 40165

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2101 N. Dixie Ave.

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2323 Ring Road

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-2131 (270) 351-4436

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    279 No. Bardstown Road

    Mount Washington, KY 40047 (502) 538-4238

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    301 Blankenbaker Pkwy.

    Louisville, KY 40243

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    315N. Third Street

    Bardstown, KY 40004 (502) 331-0304

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    325 W. Dixie

    Elizabethtown, KY 42701 (270) 765-2311

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3650 South Hurstbourne Pkwy.

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 493-4004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    395 No. Buckman

    Shepherdsville, KY 40165 (502) 543-2238

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 E. John Rowan Blvd.

    Louisville, KY 40229 (502) 348-6421

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4055 Flaherty Road

    Vine Grove, KY 40175 (270) 828-8181

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    416 E. Broadway

    Brandenburg, KY 40108 (270) 422-4523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    475 W. Lincoln Trail Blvd.

    Radcliff, KY 40160

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    50 Old Mill Rd.

    Brandenburg, KY 40108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6171 N. Wilson Rd.

    Radcliff, KY 40160

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6500 State Rd. 64

    Georgetown, IN 47122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7340 Main St.

    Lanesville, IN 47136

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8160 Beech St.

    Elizabeth, IN 47117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    925 Main Street

    Munfordville, KY 42765 (270) 524-7271

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P O Box 5006

    Elizabethtown, KY 42702 (270) 765-2131

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (270) 351-4436(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have banked with FF for over 20 years. Just recently I was charged $80 in excessive activity fee's for transferring money online. I was never told there would be a $10 charge for moving MY money online each time if you went over a certain amount of times. I called the bank up and asked them to wave the fee, that I was never told about it. They would only refund half. I was not satisfied with that, so i said I would be closing my account unless the full fee was waved. The lady I spoke with said oh well. They have just lost my business. First for taking money out without my knowledge for a fee I didnt know existed, and second for how rude they were to me. I guess my business there doesnt matter to them.

Desired Settlement: Full fee refunded

Business Response:

This email is in response to the complaint filed by complainant ID  #******* and submitted to our bank on January 7, 2014.  We are very sorry for the customer’s dissatisfaction with our service.  We have refunded all fees charged and we have contacted the customer to let her know.  We are in the process of reviewing our fee disclosures to ensure they are clear.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** ********

Chief Compliance Officer

First Federal Savings Bank of Elizabethtown

 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my morgage off 5/27. On 7/5 I called 800-******** because I didn't receive my paperwork stating the mortage was paid. ****** laughed and said don't worry we know you are paid, we won't chage you. I said I have repairs to my home I want to do and since I can't deal with the incompetance of First Federal Savings Bank I am going to remortage my home with someone else and I need documentaion that it is paid off. She said ******** Co. IN recorders office needed to get the original mortage from the orignial lender. I called the recorders office, they sent the paperwork back to First Federal Savings on 6/18 and Frist Federal bought out the original lender, the recorder office don't have anything to do with geting the paperwork from the lender. So i called back and talkeed to sopmeone in customer service, since ****** doesn;'t know what to do. The customer service person said they just received the paperwork from i the recorder office in the days mail and they will retreive the moragae papers from off site storage location and I would have them in 2 weeks. 3 weeks later (7/28) I called again and talked to ****** (ext ****), she said she would track down the problem and call me Mon. (7/30). On 8/3 I called ****** back since she didn't bother calling me and she tells me they gave my paperwork to some other business, but she wpould let me speak to ****** and she could explain it. Of course ****** is clueless, so I went back to ******. She assured me she would overnight the paperwork and I would have it Mon. I have finally received the paperwork as I am typing this letter to you

Desired Settlement: To let other costumers know they are a hard company to deal with.

Business Response:

August 10, 2012 

Re:  Complaint# ******* – ******* ***** *****

 

To whom it may concern: 

I am writing in regards to a recent complaint we received from your office concerning mortgage paperwork for a customer, Ms. ******* ***** *****. 

Our understanding is Ms. *****’s concern was that her paperwork was “off-site” and this could have caused the confidentiality of her information to be compromised.   We conducted an investigation and spoke with the customer service representatives (CSRs) identified in Ms. *****’s complaint.  We would like to assure Ms. ***** that it is an industry practice to, at times, maintain loan documents at a location other than the main office.   We worked to get Ms. *****’s paperwork to her as soon as we could and, at no time, was her account or personal information compromised.   We are extremely sorry for the confusion and the miscommunication that occurred during Ms. *****’s conversations with our bank employees.  

We strive to provide excellent customer service in all our interactions, and we regret Ms. ***** had an unsatisfactory experience.   We are using the information provided by Ms. ***** to determine what we may be able to do to reduce the time it takes to get documents to our customers and to evaluate how we can improve the customer experience in the future.  

If you have any questions in regards to this situation or if there is something we can do to restore Ms. *****’s confidence in us, please let us know. 

Sincerely,

******** ********

Chief Compliance Officer

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****


****** told me when they retrieved my paperwork from the off site storage location they gave it to another finacial organization, and that was why they could not send me the documents, the other organization had not sent back to First FederaL.  When I asked who they sent them to and why, ****** transfered me to ****** and said she would answer my questions.  When I asked ****** who they gave them to and why, she said she didn't know.  I was so shocked they sent them to someone else I didn't catch the name ****** gave me .  I know it had Federal and Organization in the name. 

I understand they store documents off site,I have no problem with that, I want to know who they gave them to and why after they were retieved to storage.  I feel that they should have been sent to me since I had paid the load off in May and I was still waiting for the documents in Aug.

Business Response:  August 24, 2012

Re:  Complaint# ******* – ******* ***** *****

To whom it may concern: 

I am writing in regards to a follow up complaint we received from your office concerning mortgage paperwork for a customer, Ms. ******* ***** *****.

In her letter, Ms. ***** stated “****** told me when they retrieved my paperwork from the off-site storage location they gave it to another financial organization”.  Ms. ***** asked to whom her mortgage documents were sent after they were retrieved from off-site.   

All mortgages and related notes of First Federal Savings Bank are maintained at the Federal Home Loan Bank in Cincinnati (referred to by staff as “off-site”).  First Federal’s practice is to obtain the mortgage release from the county recorder’s office and the original note and mortgage from the Federal Home Loan Bank (FHLB).  When both are received, First Federal forwards them to the customer.   

When First Federal received Ms. *****’s mortgage and note from FHLB and the release from the county recorder, the paperwork was forwarded to Ms. *****.   They were not forwarded to another organization.  We are very sorry for this miscommunication.   We are also sorry for the length of time it took Ms. ***** to receive her documents, and we are sorry for the frustration she experienced when she called to inquire about the status.   In addition, we have evaluated our entire process and we have implemented steps we hope will enable us to get mortgage documents to the customer more quickly in the future.  We appreciate the comments Ms. ***** has shared with us.  We will strive to become a better institution as a result of them. 

If you have further questions in regards to this matter or if there is something further we can do, please let us know.

Sincerely,

******** ********

Chief Compliance Officer

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****


I understand there is nothing they can do to change the poor treatment of me, but I think they are not coming clean with the BBB.  I was told they retreived the papers from storage and sent them else where, they were not waiting to receive them from storage.  I had to wait another week for them to get back from the other business before they were sent to me.  Maybe the employees of the baank misunderstood the notes in the log book, but I did not misunderstand anything!

Business Response:

Dear Sir/Madam,

This is in response to a complaint filed by Ms. ******* ***** ***** with the Better Business Bureau on June 7, 2013.   It is First Federal's understanding Ms. ***** has found that, while she paid off her mortgage in March 2012,  the UCC Financing Statement (UCC) related to the mortgage has not been released.  First Federal is very sorry Ms. ***** has encountered another instance that has not been handled satisfactorily as it relates to her mortgage.  We will be happy to explain the reason we overlooked releasing the mortgage but we understand Ms. ***** may not want to hear excuses.  She wants to have the UCC released.  The status of the release is as follows:  A request to terminate the UCC filing was sent to the Indiana Secretary of State's Office on June 14, 2013.  First Federal also received a request to release the UCC from First Harrison Bank where Ms. ***** is refinancing a loan.  First Federal sent First Harrison a letter on June 11, 2013 advising that the loan had been paid in full and that a UCC termination request would be filed. 

If we can provide Ms. ***** with additional information or if we can do more to correct this situation, we will be happy to do so.  Again, we are very sorry the experience with First Federal has not been pleasant. 

Sincerely,

******** ********, Chief Compliance Officer


 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****


I would like a letter from First Federal when the UCC has been completely released, since they can't complete a business transaction with out the BBB involved. I'm sure they have filed to have it released, but I'm not sure they can complete the trans action woith out the BBB overseeing the process.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Father got his Insurence check in the mail, He wasn't feeling good so he asked me to go to my bank an deposit the check. He signed it, and I went off to my bank. When I got there I told her I would like to cash it. She then told me i had to sign it, an put "Paid to the order of" above my name. After I done that she took the check an wrote my account number across the back of it under my name. She was counting the money out, and was about to put it through the drive through slot, when another woman approached her. She then asked me, Whose check it was, I told her he is my father. she told me before she can cash it, he has to come up with me, and bring his ID. I went home, an got him and his ID and returned to the bank. After she seen him, his ID, and the check she once again refused to cash it. Her last comments was to go to a liquor store. My dad went to a liquor store, an they refused to cash it because the bank has wrote all over it. This morning my mother an I got up an went back to my bank, and asked to deposit the check. They refused again, and told me to go back to the store with the top of the check. We apparently threw it away.. So we went to my dads bank, they refused to cash/deposit it because my bank already wrote all over it. They said that FFSBKY should deposit or cash it since they've already marked all over it. Now we are holding onto a 1000 dollar check like it's trash itself. Its now unable to be cashed or deposited. Which sucks because it will take atleast more than a week to get a replacement check, an this money was for bills. THANK YOU FFSBKY.

Desired Settlement: Since they ruined my dad's check from being able to be cashed or deposited anywhere else, they need to take responsibility for what they did, an deposit my dads check. Since NO other location "bank or liquor store" can!

Business Response:

BBB,

  The following email was sent to Ms. ******** on Friday, March 16th.  As of today, April 3rd, we have yet to get a response from the customer, instructing us on which course she would like us to take in order for her to access this money that her father is needing. We have also tried to contact the customer via telephone, but the phone numbers that are associated with her account are not correct phone numbers.

 

 

Dear Ms. ********,

 

I apologize for the issues that you experienced at our Shepherdsville location. At this point, there are a few options that we can do to help accommodate you with the situation. We would be happy to accept the check for deposit to your account, while placing a hold on the check. Once the check has been paid and we have received the funds, we can credit your account and remove the hold. We would also be happy to contact the insurance agent about the situation to help get a new check issued to your father.

 

Once again, I apologize for the situation and the issues you experienced. If you have questions or concerns, or would like to speak to me directly about the situation, please feel free to contact me at 1-800-******** **** *****

 

Have a wonderful day.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ** *****

District Manager

Senior Vice President

First Federal Savings Bank

P.O. Box 5006

Elizabethtown, Ky 42701

Ph. 1-800-******** **** ****

 

 

Thank you,

*****

 

***** ******

First Federal Savings Bank

Administrative Assistant to Senior Management

2323 Ring Road

Elizabethtown, KY  42701

270-******** *****

******************

 


 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1