BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

This Business is not BBB accredited

Parts Unlimited, Inc.

Phone: (502) 425-3766 Fax: (502) 425-7910 View Additional Phone Numbers 2801 Interior Way, La Grange, KY 40031 http://www.pui.cc

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

ACCORDING TO INFORMATION PROVIDED TO THE BBB THIS COMPANY WAS SOLD IN JUNE 2014

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Parts Unlimited, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parts Unlimited, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 23, 2004 Business started: 07/01/1977 in KY Business under new ownership as of: 08/05/2013 Business incorporated: 07/01/1977 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mitch Williams, President & CEO Mr. Ben Bowman, Supply Chain Manager Mr. Jim Pennekamp, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Pennekamp, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Mitch Williams, President & CEO
Business Category

AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS AUTO SERVICE - SPECIALTY PARTS AUTO SERVICE - MAINTENANCE/OTHER AUTO SEAT COVERS, TOPS & UPHOLSTERY AUTO RESTORATION AUTO PERFORM, RACE & SPORT EQUIPMENT AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO MANUFACTURERS EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES AUTO DETAILING AUTO CUSTOMIZING

Alternate Business Names
PUI Interiors
Business Management

ACCORDING TO INFORMATION PROVIDED TO THE BBB, THIS COMPANY WAS SOLD IN AUGUST 2013 AND CAME UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AT THAT TIME


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2801 Interior Way

    La Grange, KY 40031 (502) 425-3766 (800) 342-0610

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 342-0610(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: it all started by ordering window felts through ******** ********, for my 67 wagon. ******* goes to Parts unlimited, or PUI. it took awhile to get to the point to which i was ready to try them, for the car was in a restore process. once it came time, well, they were wrong. the clips were all in the wrong places. So, i decide to send them back to *******, but, with my original window felts. Here is where it starts going downhill. because he goes back to PUI. Now then, PUI ships out my originals. and we wait. and we wait. and we wait. turns out to be almost 4 months. and in that time, nobody could answer why they were not getting made. call after call was made to PUI, and we got everything from they were lost, to a new CEO. nobody knew who was doing what with what. it was total chaos. but when the word finally came that they were being made, 3 1/2 months into it, i simply requested to ******* that i wanted my originals back as well. he said PUI said ok. so when they finally came, guess what? NO ORIGINALS!!!! So thus goes ******* again, calling and calling. PUI keeps saying "oh they are on their way" i wish i could tell you how many times i was told they are on the way. next week they will be there. oh, next week. no, next week. finally ******* gives up! now its my turn. and the lies come to me now because now im calling PUI. to make a long story short, i was told so many times by the sales guy at PUI that i would get my originals back, and they never came, that PUI stopped returning my calls. but as far as im concerned, those originals are my property. if they dont make a habit of returning originals, then some how that needs to be conveyed to the customer. they had no right to keep my originals without asking. no right what so ever. to just assume they could let restoration services keep them is totally wrong. and if im not mistaken, PUI aquired restoration services. and wouldnt it be advantagious to keep my originals, since after all, it took those to get new ones made. but thats a theory only. one day out of frustration, i called and explained my situation to the operator, and she said 'well, the president of PUI is here' of course i said put her through. i vented for half an hour about how her staff gave me the run around and couldnt be honest with me, the customer at all. she even told me she had a classic car, and she too, kept all the original parts. she went on to say how dissapointed she is that i had to go through this, and that it is horrible how i had to get through to the president to get the truth. that my originals were lost or sold. It was a tuesday, and she, the president of PUI, said i will call you by friday with some ways i think maybe we could compensate, or make it up to you. that was close to a month and a half ago, ive called twice and left message, yet no return call. it seems to me this is how everyone at PUI must conduct business. i havent heard from her yet, and im still left with being taken advantage of in so many wreckless ways by PUI, that not even the president can keep her word to a customer. i still have no original window felts, or any compensation as promised by the president of PUI.

Business Response:

PUI is a manufacturer and wholesale distributor of many automotive parts including windowfelts. PUI is not a retail distributor and sells exclusively to an established DEALER base. ********* Chevelles is one of those dealers.

On ***** *** 2012 PUI shipped a set of 67 Chevelle 4 door wagon windowfelts to our dealer, ********* Chevelles. On ***** *** 2012 the parts were shipped from ********* to Mr. *******. Speaking with Mr. ******* of *******’s Chevelles, we cannot  pinpoint  the date of   Mr. *******’s initial call to ******* to express dissatisfication.  PUI does know that ******* dealt with Mr. ******* off and on and Mr. ******* stated to me that Mr. *******’s car was an oddity and had had parts that were not original to the 1967 Chevelle  4 door wagon. Conversations between Mr. ******* and the account manager and the product development personnel at PUI led PUI to ask Mr. ******* to request the original windowfelts from Mr. ******* in order to “create” a matching set to “keep the customer happy”. During this time period, Mr. ******* had started calling PUI directly and talking with any account manager that answered the phone. It is policy that the dealer and any end user (as Mr. ******* is an end user) are advised that any patterns that come in for replication are actually destroyed during our reverse engineering process. Mr. ******* states he advised Mr . ******* of this and all account managers who spoke with him agree that they also advised Mr. ******* that the “originals” would be destroyed during the process.

The statement in the complaint saying “ the clips were all in the wrong places” basically tells PUI that we were not replacing a set to a 1967 Chevelle 4 door wagon.  This is an established part with PUI and having sold it for eight+ years without issues would tell PUI that the description of what we were selling was  indeed  a 1967 Chevelle 4 door wagon kit. Advising Mr. ******* to request the originals to make the customer a “special “ set shows our actions to be those of attempting to “help” and satisfy the customer.

Mr. ******* believes he shipped the “originals” to PUI as soon as he received them from Mr. *******. PUI sent the originals out for reproduction on ******13. The new “special “ set was shipped directly to Mr. ******* on 03/12/13. 2 months turn around on a new part is nothing out of the ordinary, in fact, it is actually a very fast prototype time. Mr. ******* called PUI to advise how well the “special” set fit. This “special” set did not allow us to create a new part number to begin selling. It was just a “special” set to fit Mr. *******’s car. We have not , nor will we in the future have any financial gain from patterning such an odd set of windowfelts.

Mr. ******* began calling Mr. ******* sometime after the 14th of March, 2013. Mr. ******* advised that the originals were destroyed and he could not help him. Mr. ******* continued to call Mr. ******* so frequently that Mr. ******* advised him not to call back in some very terse terms. Mr. ******* began calling PUI and stating we had “stolen his personal property” to the account managers. We listened , but there was nothing to say that made Mr. ******* happy. He was belligerent and screaming in the phone. PUI did attempt to see if any pieces of the “originals “ existed with the patterning company . This is the area where PUI began advising Mr. ******* during his rages that we would “look” for the originals .  PUI knew there would be nothing to return to Mr. *******, but we were never able to get that through to him and we are not discourteous to an end user on the phone.

My first contact with Mr. ******* was on March 18th, 2013. I spoke with him on the phone and he raged at me as to “stealing his personal property”. I am the last possible area of solution within PUI. I reiterated the policy of not returning the “originals” after patterning. I advised they were primarily destroyed during the reverse engineering process. He made verbal complaints about sunvisors being too thin and things of all nature that I listened to. I did tell him about my personal car and the fact that I had any original parts that had been replaced on the car, but I am lucky that I still had an original interior and windowfelts (those parts that are destroyed during patterning). I stated all I had had replaced on my car were the rubber belts and filters, etc …in the engine. I , at no time stated that his “originals” may have been sold.  We did end that conversation with me offering him a complete set of seat covers and other parts that would have been 10 to 12 times the value of the “special” set we had made for him.  Nothing was acceptable and the conversation ended. On ***** ****, 2013 as I was leaving for the day around 5PM, the receptionist handed me a note that stated Mr. ******* had called just a few minutes prior advising he was calling back to discuss the parts he and I had discussed on March 18th.  I did not return his call the next day and I have not had any messages from him since that day.

PUI is a company of high integrity and we support our dealers in all means to satisfy their customer base. There is an occasional customer you cannot satisfy. In the 18 years I have been with PUI I would estimate that number to be below double digits. I offered all I could possibly think of to Mr. ******* on the 18th of March and have nothing else to offer.

****** ********

President, PUI

05/31/13

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

nobody raged. frustration was expressed for sure however. ****** as a president has turned everything her way. im the one that offered the seat covers. she offered door panels , after i brought up seat covers is when the conversation came to an end. and again with ****** saying she would think of an offer and call back. to which she lied. i think shes a little dilusional on the facts. and of course a president dosent want her behavior exposed, so of course her recall on the situation will be different.

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1