BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

The Big Lot

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-4444 Fax: (502) 499-4468 9 Swope Auto Center Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswope.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Big Lot meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Big Lot include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Big Lot
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Porro, Vice President & General Manager Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O. & President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Porro, Vice President & General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O. & President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
Sam Swope The Big Lot
Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4444

  • 9 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4444

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday August *** 2013, I filed an online credit application with a competing auto dealership, when one of the reps, ***** (tel #************) at Sam Swope who appears to have hacked or linked the other company web responses to his email called shortly after I had spoken with the rep from the original dealership to say that sometime there is a link between his email and the dealership website. That if I did not receive satisfaction at the original dealership that he would happy to assist ,also, that the other dealership was supposedly short staffed. I am having issues with the unethical behavior of this employee and as I understand it this individual is still an employee of Sam Swope.

Business Response:

From: **** ***** **** ********** ******* *******
Sam Swope Honda World 

 

RE: BBB Complaint #*******  

Dear Ms. *****/BBB,

  

I spoke with Ms. ****** the day after receiving her complaint, and she was very happy that we responded to her concern so quickly. After questioning our new associate, he explained he was still receiving internet leads through a program used by his previous employer where he had worked for several years. He admitted calling Ms. ****** with no hesitation once she posted a 

lead through this program since he was a new associate of Sam Swope Auto Group and wanted to develop new leads. I believe he meant no harm, and he promised never to do that again. He also apologized to his previous employer and asked to be removed from their internet lead generator.

  

I assured her that her personal and private information was secure with us, and we would not be contacting her in the future without her request. I provided her with all of my contact information, and told her we would love to earn her business. She was completely satisfied with all my input and explanations. 

 

Thank you for your assistance. 

 

Sincerely, 

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE BEEN CONTACTING SAM SWOPE FOR A MONTH DUE TO THEM NOT REPORTING TO TRANSUNION CREDIT BUREAU. I GOT THE RUN AROUND FOR THE FIRST TWO WEEKS. NOW THEY ARE TELLING ME IT IS MY RESPONSIBLITY TO GET ISSUE RESOLVED. MY CAR IS NOW PAID OFF. I WAS TOLD BY **** ******** "TO BE TOTALLY HONEST THIS MAY NOT HELP YOUR CREDIT ANYWAY". IT DOESN'T MATTER I PAID ON THE CAR AND PAID IT OFF EARLY SO I WANT IT TO REFLECT ON MY CREDIT. I DID CONTACT TRANS UNION AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS SUBCRIBERS RESPONSIBILITY TO CONTACT THEM. I AM IN HOME OWNERS PROGRAM AND HAVE BEEN WORKING ON MY CREDIT. BECAUSE I HAD NO VERIFICATION OF REVOLVING CREDIT I CAN NOT COMPLETE CLASS AND WAS PUT BACK UNTIL SEPTEMBER. THIS HAS BEEN A HUGE INCONVIENCE TO ME, I WORK FULL TIME AND I AM A SINGLE MOM. I KEEP HAVING TO TAKE TIME OFF OF MY DAY TO PLAY PHONE TAG AND CALL TRANS UNION WEEKLY. I HAVE MADE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS WITH AGENCY BY PHONE AND I HAVE MADE COMPLAINT ON THEIR WEBSITE. THIS HAS BEEN OVER A MONTH. PLEASE HELP!

Desired Settlement: I WOULD ALSO LIKE IN STORE CREDIT FOR OIL CHANGES AND MAINTENCE FOR MY TIME AND TROUBLE.

Business Response:

 

After researching Ms. ******** complaint, it seems we are unable to remedy the problem as a Trans Union subscriber.  However, we remain committed to assisting her with its resolution, as it is a reasonable expectation to have timely payments recorded properly.    

 

As it stands, Trans Union maintains specialized but separate service centers to address both sides of the reporting function.  As such, Sam Swope Auto Group does not have the authority to access Ms. ******** credit bureau records, outside of reporting her payment activity.  It seems the likely source of the problem is a dispute, which was filed by the complainant in June, 2010, via USPS mail.  Evidently, when an account is in a “disputed” status, Trans Union does not update reported activity, until the dispute is resolved.  In this instance, Ms. ******** credit history has been continually reported to Trans Union; however the account record does not reflect it, due to its current status.

 

It seems Trans Union will require Ms. ****** to contact them directly to resolve the details of this dispute.  I have provided her the phone number in an earlier correspondence, and also asked her to update me as progress is made, so we will also know it has been resolved.

 

We hope this information is of some assistance to her, as it is always our goal to provide premium customer service. I will continue to be available should there be anything more I can do.

 

 

As always, thank you for your assistance in this matter,

 

 

**** ********

Vice President

General Manager/General Acceptance, LLC

General Manager/Sam Swope Mitsubishi

*** *** ****

**********************

 

Consumer Response:

I am continuing to get the run around. they even provided me with a bogus  contact number. I have been keeping emailing documentation of this complaint. i am beginning to wonder if there is a time constraint with this issue or maybe they are hoping it will go away. They wont give me their contacts number or name. When i contact Trans Union they are telling me something totally different.

Regards,

*** ******


 

Business Response:

 

Please share my apology with Ms. ******, for the inconvenience caused by the erroneous phone number.    This was obviously a non-operating number supplied by Trans Union.  We have since provided her with an updated contact number, and asked to be advised of the resolution.  To date, there has been no further response. 

 

In the interim, efforts were also made to establish a conference call with all of the participants.  However, Trans Union was not agreeable to this, due to consumer privacy concerns.

 

I will continue to monitor Ms. ******’s progress and remain available should there be anything more I can do.  As I stated before, it is our goal to provide premium customer service.  I look forward to helping her resolve this concern.

 

 

As always, thank you for your assistance in this matter,

 

 

**** ********

Vice President

General Manager/General Acceptance, LLC

General Manager/Sam Swope Mitsubishi

*** *** ****

**********************

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received a sales promotion for two guarenteed free prizes and a voucher for $2,073.00 towards a used vehicle in the Sam Swope The Big Lot on Hurstbourne Parkway. On 9/11/2011, I called the required 800# to validate and authorize the voucher, and received authorization # “RC1682”, which was also emailed to me at ********************, as shown below: From: ************************** [mailto:**************************] Sent: Sunday, September 11, 2011 1:50 PM To: ******************** Subject: Your authorization number for the event at Sam Swope The Big Lot Thank you for calling to validate your offer for the event at Sam Swope The Big Lot. Your authorization number is RC1682 and your appointment is scheduled for Sun 09/11/2011 at 04:30 PM. Please bring your invitation, authorization number, and proof of identification with you to the event. Thank You, The Verification Center For confirmation of how this voucher worked, I asked the rep the following: 1. In order to use the $2,073 voucher, is there a minimum cost requirement? Such as it has to be a used car that’s $5,000 or more? a. He said no. 2. What if we find a car that’s only $2,000, would that cover the cost of the car? a. He said the voucher can be applied to the final total approved cost of the car. He told me be sure not to let the salesperson know I had a voucher to use until after we negotiated the price of the car with them. 3. Are we required to finance the vehicle or can we pay cash? a. He said we were not required to finance the vehicle. He asked if we had a car to trade in. I said no. He said if we did, we could use the coupon along with our trade in, but we needed to discuss the trade in first, and get the trade in value finalized, so we knew how much we had to work with, along with the voucher value, when negotiated the price of the used car we are interested in. 4. I asked the rep to confirm again what the rules were, and he said: a. The car can be any used car from the Sam Swope Big Lot i. Note, your voucher states quote “Valid towards the purchase of ANY used vehicle during this event!” b. Negotiate your best sales price with your sales associate c. Once you have agreed on a price, present your voucher to the sale associate, and both your trade-in, if you have one, and your $2,073 voucher will be applied to your used car purchase. i. Note, your voucher states quote “Make your best offer before presenting to sales associate.” We were looking to purchase a car for our son, with a max price range of $5,000, and no financing. However, we were open to purchasing a car for myself, and would consider financing, if we didn’t find something for our son. When we arrived, we met salesperson *******, who was very courteous. We explained we were looking for our son, whom was with us, and provided our desired price limit. We were open to see anything he had to offer, on and off the Big Lot, because we were not “sold” on having to the use voucher, if we found something on another lot that was reasonable. He did not at any point in time ask us straight forward whether we had a voucher to use toward the Big Lot sale; and as instructed by the rep, we didn’t volunteer that we did have one to potentially use. After looking over several lots, we were very interested in a 2001 Buick Regal in the GMC lot, which we were considering for myself. We were fully aware the voucher would not apply. We walked around the Big Lot, just to see if anything came close to the Regal, and stumbled upon a blue ‘99 Toyota Corolla. It had very bad external damage to the front driver’s side, which apparently impacted the latch of the hood as well, as it did not properly latch, but my husband felt he could fix it or have it replaced for minimum cost. The seals around all four doors was extremely warped; it was even pulled away from the frame on the back driver’s side along the top. The interior seats were not in good condition, and it had an idling issue when test driven. Looking the vehicle up on ***********, with the mileage it had on it, and the amenities, and the dealer value was listed at $2,637. I looked it up on Kelly Blue Book too, and IF it had been in excellent condition, which it CLEARLY WAS NO WERE NEAR EXCELLENT condition, it would be valued around $6,740. The sales manager wanted to say it was valued at $7,640, and only wanted to go as low at $5,640. My husband told the sales manager $5,000 was the most he would go, and last minute he agreed to the $5,000. We signed a paper for $5,000, along with a clean-up of the car, which we agreed they could keep the car for a couple of days to complete. We handed the salesperson our voucher, and he took it to show the sales manager. He returned with the sales manager who in a very unpleasant tone said he wouldn't accept the voucher toward the agreed $5,000 offer because we failed to present the voucher up front. My husband explained per the stated rules written on the voucher, and as confirmed by the authorization rep, we were to make our best offer on the car before presenting the voucher, which we did. Then the sales manager gave the excuse that he could only apply the voucher toward the retail value of $7,640. My husband said it was no where near valued at that price with the visible damage to it, and $5,000 was very reasonable. The sales manager got very ugly and rude and asked my husband if we were serious to think he would sell us a $7,640 car to us for $3,000? My husband again pointed out to him the fact the voucher states "valid towards the purchase of ANY used vehicle during this event" and also states "Make your best offer before presenting to sales associate." He said we were crazy if we thought we were going to by a Toyota from anyone for $3,000. My husband explained to him, why would we pay less than $400 difference for a 99 Toyota Corolla with not only major physical damage, but interior damage and seal damage, when there’s a 2001 Buick Regal in great condition and nearly 20,000 less miles on it in the other lot for only $6,000? We explained we followed the required rules of the voucher, which we did, and told him he had to honor it. He said again, we should have presented the voucher prior to negotiating the price, which the voucher states NOT to do. My husband said does this voucher not say it's good toward any used car on the Big Lot? Was this car not sitting on the Big Lot? The salesperson, *******, confirmed it was on the Big Lot. When we couldn't come up with anything else to say to that, he immediate changed his rules and said that because the Toyota was a trade in from the previous evening and not "one of the specially tagged cars that show the monthly financed cost, which were brought in specifically for this sale." It was pointed out that the voucher does not state it's only good toward specially tagged vehicles nor that the vehicle has to be financed. It just states a used in-stock car on the Hurstbourne location only of the The Big Lot, which this Toyota car fell under. The sales manager just responded back that we were welcome to go out on the lot and find any car that had a sales tag on it that was brought in specifically for the Big Lot sale, but he was not accept the voucher toward the $5,000 offer on the Toyota. My husband responded back "We've bought our last several vehicles from Sam Swope, and we've been a dedicated repeat customer for your business. You have just permanently our business over your failure to honor the written terms of your promotion YOU sent to us! We had plans to buy another vehicle for my wife soon, as well, and we will never come back here to purchase anything from your company ever again. The sales manager smirked at my husband and in a cocky tone repeated again, that there are plenty of cars out there on the lot to choose from that he's more than happy to apply our voucher to and turned around and walked off with our voucher and the paper we had signed with the $5,000 offer. I asked him as he was turning to walk away, "what about the two free prizes from our voucher?", and he wouldn't acknowledge me, so my husband told me to just come on, he clearly didn't want our business, and they had no intention of giving any prizes away anyway, they are just getting you into the door to sell you on something else. One of the salespersons who apparently was listening in raised his eyebrows and in an apologetic tone said "sorry about that" as we walked out the door.

Desired Settlement: Apology for the rude behavior of the sales manager Explanation as to why you're allowing this company to send out fraudulent marketing material they have no intention of honoring Sell us the Toyota Corolla for $2,900, with the thorough cleaning inside and out that was promised, which should have been honored to begin with Or sell us the '01 Buick Regal for $4,000, which would have been the price if we'd been able to use the voucher toward it, if the Corolla isn't available anymore!

Business Response: I have contacted Ms. ****** and have had numerous phone conversations offering to meet with her and her
husband to resolve the issues. Mrs. ****** has been very complimentary and appreciative of our prompt
response time and willingness to work with her.
My most recent conversation with Ms. ****** was on September 21, 2011 at which time I offered to meet
at their convenience to help locate an inexpensive vehicle for their son. She was going to get with her
husband and let me know when would be a good time to meet. As of September 27, 2011 I have not
received a response.
I will continue to try to set up a meeting with Mr. and Mrs. ****** and will advise you of our resolution
once I meet with them.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8735662.

I spoke with Mr. ******* on Sept. 28. My husband and I are working on finding an available date/time we are both available to meet Mr. *******, as we work opposite schedule times, so this week has been challenging. I will be contacting him within the next several days to set up an appointment. 

I have been very satisfied with the level of response received by Mr. *******, and his willingness to work with us. Once we are able to meet with him, to review the available options, I will be able to consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1