Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota of Louisville, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 935-1433 Fax: (502) 937-7757 6514 Dixie Highway, Louisville, KY 40258 http://www.toyotaoflouisville.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Louisville, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Louisville, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Louisville, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1978 Business started: 12/01/1956 in KY Business started locally: 12/07/1956 Business incorporated 12/07/1956 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission
105 Sea Hero Road, Suite 1, Frankfort KY 40601
Phone Number: (502) 573-1000
Fax Number: 502-573-1003

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Fante, Vice President General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Fante, Vice President General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Toyota of Louisville, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6514 Dixie Highway

    Louisville, KY 40258 (502) 935-1433

  • P O Box 58100

    Louisville, KY 40258

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My father *** ***** ************ was buying me a car so I wanted a Toyota camry. I picked out my car and my *** bought it in March 2011. He bought the extended warranty for 100,000 miles. When he bought it there was 43,060 miles on it and my *** bought it certified used. I was told the oil had just been changed and to change it every 5,000 miles. All this was done and on 3/21/2013 my oil can light came on while I was driving through ********. I pulled over to a ******** where they checked my oil and it was three quarts low. It was time to change my oil so they put three quarts in it and I took it to Toyota of Louisville on 3/22/2013 where they found no oil leaks and the mileage was 93,370. ***** ****** said that they would do oil checks at every 1,000 miles. I brought it back in after 1000 miles and it was .25 low so they filled it up, .50the next 1000 and it was filled up. this was all normal according to them. that same day on 3/22/2013 my power steering pump was leaking and that was to be looked at on when I came in on my first 1000 miles. My *** told me to not get my oil changed at 5000 anymore to do it at 3000. that's what I have done and have tried to do but at 2700 miles I need three quarts of oil. My thing is all this should have been taken care of because I had the warranty on the car until 100,000. My thing is my car still does the same thing and its pretty bad that the customer service there wouldn't even fix the problems I have with my car. the problems still exist and its pretty sad with having a Toyota with such problems and that had a warranty and they didn't get fixed. it now has 140,000 miles on it and the oil problem is still the same as it was. the leak is still there in the power steering pump and when it gets paid off in March 2016 I will have to get another car because something needs to be done to the motor because oil is going somewhere and its not leaking. I wont be buying a Toyota and it wont be coming from Toyota Of Louisville. I NEED A DEALER THAT WILL FIX PROBLEM!!!

Desired Settlement: I want all invoices brought up on the computer as I have a copy of them to and let the owners of Toyota read them and see where I came in and had complaints with my car when I had a warranty. Everything should have been taken care of and documented in the system for the warranty company when it comes to such big issues as oil!!! Also the power steering pump was also covered on my warranty and that wasn't fixed.

Business Response:

On 03/21/2013 an oil consumption test was started per toyota guidelines and the vehicle was inspected twice at one thousand mile intervals and did not exhibit excessive oil usage per toyota specifications and did not qualifly for any warranty repairs.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****

For one thing any oil problem should be reported to the warranty company if there is no leak. In this case there was no leak so where did 3 quarts of oil go that had to be put in? Even with getting the oil changed every 3000 miles the it still needed oil to be added. The power steering leaking was on that same day of 3/22/2013 also! I guess I should have stayed with Chevy because I have never had the customer service problem that I had with Toyota of Louisville. I just figured this car would be a great car but for a car to mysteriously lose oil and nobody knows where it was going. Yes you say it was normal per Toyota standards well I have never had a car lose oil before.

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed for a vehicle on 9/15/14 and as a result of the increase in insurance payment I called the salesman to let him know that I could not continue with the deal. I never took possession of the car. I was informed on 9/16/14 that the dealership rescinded the contract and there was no deal. On 9/19/14 I was notified that my checking account balance fell below $25. After logging into my checking account a check in the amount of $1500 was submitted to my account causing my balance to fall below $0. I immediately called and left a message for the salesman, in addition I sent a text message asking him to return my call Immediately. After no response from the salesman I call ** the dealership and spoke to the finance manager who informed me that he was unaware that there was "no deal". He said he would research and have the salesman return my call. Please note: when I told the finance manager of the increase in insurance he agreed that the increased was significantly high and it would be better to catch the bus.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the dealer and salesman apologize in addition I would like the refund of a car I never took possession of and ask that they reimburse me for overdraft fees that occurred as a result of the check that should not have been deposited.

Business Response: I talked to Ms. ****** today and have agreed to give her the $35.00 overdraft fee back today, and apologized for the miss communication regarding the check. Ms. ****** accepted my apology and i told her  keep me informed if any other charges occured.

 
Kind regards,
 
****** *****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

 


 

 

 

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 10, ****, I signed a lease agreement for a **** ****** Highlander with ****** of **********. Before signing the lease agreement, I told ***** *********, that my father was an employee of ****** and we received a discount. He asked me if he worked in Georgetown and I told him no, he worked in Lebanon, KY. He said that we would qualify for a discount and that I just needed to send him the documentation from my father’s work after we purchased the car. We decided to purchase the car and signed the lease agreement and took the car home on 4/10/**. ***** called me several times asking for the copy of the discount in the following days. My father finally emailed it to me and I sent to it to *****. This was the same discount that we had used in 2009 when we purchased the same vehicle at the same dealership and did not have any issues. A few days later, *****, a sales manager, and *** ***** began to call me on my cell phone and at work leaving voicemails daily. I was finally able to give ***** a call back and he stated that he had received the discount paper work but there was a problem. He said that my father didn’t work in Georgetown and that he had given me the wrong discount. He said that he needed me to come back in within the next day or so to sign a new contract that would increase my payments by $42 per month. I told him that it would be a few days and I would get back with him. I went home and looked at the lease agreement which stated that we had agreed on the sales price. I contacted another ****** dealership owned by Sam Swope and told them about what they were trying to do. They stated that they could not do that once the contract had been signed and that it was up to them to correct the mistake that they had made. My wife had then contacted ***** and said that we were not signing a new contract to pay more money than what we had agreed upon. He became very angry and said that we either had to bring the vehicle back or sign a new contract. She then called and asked to speak to the sales manager. The receptionist was reluctant to let us speak to anyone until we called several times. Eventually someone came on the phone and said that they were *** *****. This person sounded just like ***** and was very rude. He said that we would have to bring in the vehicle or sign a new contract. We then contacted corporate ****** and spoke with a customer service rep. She contacted ****** of ********** and spoke with *** *****. He denied speaking with us that day. I believe it was actually *****. Eventually we found out who the General Manager was and spoke with him. He said that he would have to look at everything and that he was not aware of the situation and would call back the next day. The next day, he called back and was very rude and said that we had to bring the vehicle back today. He was told that we were not bringing it back and he asked what our excuse was and said that it had to be back by Monday and hung up. They have made several excuses saying that ****** Financial denied the application, which it was approved before we leased the car. They are also refusing to turn the contract in to ****** so we can get our title and license plate. Our temporary tag was lost in a car wash and they are refusing to give us a new one until we sign a new contract. My first payment is due on May 10, **** and we have not received any information on where to send the payment. They told us there was no payment because they were not submitting the contract. My complaint is that they are trying to covering up a mistake they made by threatening my wife and I, being demanding and rude, refusing to give us a temporary tag, refusing to submit the contract as agreed upon, and trying to convince me to sign a new contract and void a previously agreed upon contract in order to cover up the mistake that they made.

Desired Settlement: For ****** of ********** to honor the original agreed upon contract, to submit my contract for processing so I can obtain title and license plate, and provide me with a temporary tag.

Business Response:

Good afternoon thanks for taking my call yesterday in regards to Mr. *******, I finally spoke to him for the first time yesterday. Mr. ******* leased a **** Highlander April **th and said his Dad worked for ****** and was eligible for the ****** employee purchase program, we did the deal and waited until April 29th for the Team Member discount form. Mr. *******’s dad works at TG Kentucky which is not included in the TMMK program, TG Kentucky employees  are offered a special price by four dealerships in the area and that is the form we received. We beat the price of any offered plan and we called and told them the difference in the price. Mrs. ******* was upset and when I spoke to her on May 9th but I thought she understood the mistake. I talked to Mr. ******* yesterday and we both realized that this was not intentional and I would go ahead and process the paperwork. Ms. ******* came in last night and I showed her the form that was sent in,  she had no idea that it said what it did. I am sorry for any problem this has caused you.

 

Kindest regards,

 

****** *********** of **********

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

 

 

5/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the sales man *** ***** said he had us approved and we drove all the way down there to sign papers and pickup the suv and then they had proplems with it.so he tried to push us into another vechicle.we didnt want it and they told us they would contact us when it was ready.they never did.i contacted another salesman and they said it was fixed and ready to sale.this has been almost a week and they still havnt told us its fixed.i dont think thats a very good sales practice.ive already told a couple people not to go there .because of my experice.they had me put insuranceon the suv and everything.so now im out that money plus my gas money to get down there.

Desired Settlement: to repay me for my gas and for putting insurance on the suv.that i have to pay.

Business Response:

I have left a message for Mr. ******* we have no problem with giving him gas money back as well as a few days of insurance. The vehicle he was trying to purchase, it has a airbag light that is on as well as a drivability problem. We are not going to retail that vehicle it will be wholesaled we have been unable to fix the vehicle.

 

****** *****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9491006, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 **** *******

 


that sounds fine to me.the gas and insurance cost me probley around 50.00.thats for both.