BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sam Swope Honda World?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sam Swope Honda World

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-5040 Fax: (502) 499-5049 1 Swope AutoCenter Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswopehondaworld.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Swope Honda World meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope Honda World include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Sam Swope Honda World
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960 in KY Business incorporated: 05/01/1960 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Porro, Vice President & General Manager Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O. & President Mr. Chuck Morelli, New Car Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Porro, Vice President & General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O. & President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 1 Swope AutoCenter Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5040

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5040

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spotted a vehicle I was interested in online. I submitted an application for pre-approval of credit. I was then contacted and told that they did not have the vehicle however my application would be forwarded to Honda World. I was contacted by a salesman named ****. I advised **** that I didn't want my credit to be run as I didn't want the inquiry if we couldn't reach an agreement on price. He agreed. I made an offer of $12000 on the vehicle as ***** **** **** showed the vehicle was worth between $9164 and $11537. The asking price was $13,900 on this 9 year old vehicle. **** had to speak to his manager. He came back and told me that the manager would not accept less than the advertised price of $13,900. I advised that I wasn't interested then and requested that he tear up the credit application as it was agreed they would not run my credit. **** then remarked that they went ahead and ran my credit anyway. I believe this is deceptive practices as the advertised agency with the car did not even have the car. Then, they ran my credit contrary to what was agreed upon as far as us reaching an agreement on sales price first.

Desired Settlement: I want them to contact the credit agencies that they ran my credit through and confirm that they made a credit inquiry in error so that the inquiry will be removed from my credit reports.

Business Response:

Our customer used our online credit inquiry service which is set in place to assist our customers before they visit the dealership. When we receive a credit application through our website, we run the credit inquiry prior to speaking with the customer, so that we are able to advise our customer immediately. Our website is clear that the customer is authorizing us to run the inquiry when he or she submits the application.

Our customer submitted an online application for pre-approval and unfortunately, when she informed us that she didn’t want us to run her credit, it was too late, and now that inquiry cannot be undone. The sales associate informed her that we had already run the credit inquiry, but had not and would not send it to a bank until we reached an agreement on the price. Upon receiving the BBB complaint, I called her and apologized and offered to send her a letter stating that we (Sam Swope Honda World) were the only inquiry, that we did not send her credit information to any other source, and that she did not purchase a vehicle from us. She appreciated that, and she should be receiving that letter any day.

We would have liked to have come to an agreement with her on the price of the vehicle. I further explained that our internet pricing is very competitive so that our customers don’t have to haggle. I apologized for her experience and invited her to contact me anytime she is interested in one of our vehicles. She appreciated the fact that I reached out to her with an apology and provided an explanation and a letter. I believe we have satisfied her at this time.

Your assistance with this is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

**** *****

 

 

8/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sam Swope Honda World processed and sealed a loan deal on a car that wasn't in my possession. When I went with my own bank to finance the car and presented a letter of credit for the vehicle, I was told that the other loan would have to be "cancelled" which two weeks later, it still has not been cancelled. Sam Swope has now been paid twice for the car and I have two loan payments when I should only have one.

Desired Settlement: Sam Swope Honda World needs to cancel the loan through ********** Bank and pay back the money they took from them.

Business Response: Please allow me to apologize for the miscommunication of our financial arrangements with our
customer. When she submitted her complaint, we had not yet received any funds from her bank
for the vehicle. We have now paid off our customer’s loan with ********** Bank and they have
returned the original contract to us, so she should not have any more problems going forward.
Our Business Manager, ***** **** has been in close contact with her throughout this process. I
personally tried to contact her on several occasions to let her know that her concerns were our
top priority, but I was unable to reach her.
Thank you for your assistance in resolving this matter.

Sincerely,
**** *****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *******


 

 

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 12, 2013 I took my car to Sam Swope Honda an issue I was having with my car starting. The car was taken to Sam Swope Honda to determine why the car wasn’t starting immediately. When I arrived at Sam Swope Honda, the technician in express was advised by me that my car need a battery, because the car is not starting immediately, (sluggish start). At that time he was advised the battery was purchased in 2008, which should still have about 40 months left on the 100 months battery (had it for 60 months). Never the less, he stated the battery was out of warranty; the cost to replace the battery would be $95.58. After a little hesitation as to the battery being the nature of the slow start, an inquiry regarding the life of battery was made. He stated “I’ll check the battery to determine if the battery is bad. “ It was determined by the technician based on the battery check system the battery was good (which was not the case). He took me to another technician (**** *****), for a diagnostic to determine why the car had a sluggish start. The other technician stated “it will be a quick diagnosis, “I’m almost sure I know what the problem is, the diagnostic will be $45.00. “ I received a call at 2:55 pm with the status of the diagnostic, which he stated “you have a bad starter. “ An inquiry about the price of the starter, which at time the technician stated it would cost $554.96 and the starter will not be there until 7:00 am the next day. The technician was advised that “I will not be able to purchase the starter now, however I might bring the car back on Friday to get the starter. “ At that time he stated “you will not be able to pick up your car today, because the technician is gone for the day”. He stated “when he gets in at 7:00 am February 13, 2013, he should be able to put your car back together.” This conversation occurred at 4:14 pm. He called me back around 4:20 stating if I need a car his manager would approve a car rental for a day, that way I could leave the car there for repairs, “would that help out ? “I stated no. At that time, he reconfirmed the car would be ready in the morning February 13, 2013 at 7:00 am. I received a call from (**** *****), who stated “the technician accidentally put the starter on and I thought he left last night or possibly he put it on this morning February 13, 2013.” Most importantly, this repair was never authorized. At that time I stated, “take if off, because I did not authorize the repair.” The technician (**** *****) inquired why should we take off the part (starter), just to have someone put it on in two days. He stated “you can finance the starter for $554.96,” I said no. He (****) stated that he did not want to remove a part and put it back on in two days (on Friday). I stated I need my car and did not authorize anyone to put a part on the car. Further, I inquired “why was the part taken off, when places like (********) can check the starter while it is on the car. He stuttered and stated “the part wasn’t taken off just the wires”. In response, I inquired “why did you advise that the part was taken off the day before to force me to buy the starter? “ He stated “you did authorize us to do the work, but stated the car would be returned to us on Friday.” In response, I reiterated, they were not authorized to put the starter on and stated I said might come back on Friday. This attempt to get me to keep a part I did not authorize went back and forth until I requested to speak with the service manager (***** *******). He stated fine, we will take the starter off, but you owe for labor, I stated I am not paying for a service I did not authorize. He stated well the diagnostic of the car will be $110, I stated you signed this form advising me that it will be $45 he stated I did, I said yes. He asked if he signed the document I said yes, then he stated the amount I will owe will be $45. I was advised at 9:30 am by (****) it will take 3 hours to take the new starter off and put the old starter February 13, 2013. He (****) stated “the car will be ready after 12:00 pm (noon) if it works.” In response I stated “I drove it there; it should not be a problem with me driving it home.” The technician (****) stated the starter was in just that bad of shape, it might not start. I called at 11:55 am regarding the progress of the car, advised it will be 3 hours, since they did not remove the starter as stated around 9:30 am by (***** *******) the service manager. Technician (**** *****) called and stated I will not be able to drive the car, since it is turning over and not engaging. He stated “there will not be a charge, since the car was not drivable. When I went to pick up my car, I had to have my car towed to an independent shop for service. At that time is when I realized they attempted to put a part (starter) on that I did not need for $554.96. The independent shop stated my starter was fine; the only problem with the car is the battery. I purchased a battery and the car is starting fine. After reviewing the paper work given to the tow truck driver, the amount for the starter showed less then the amount the technician quoted . In addition, someone else (a male) called to get a quote on the installation of a starter from that Honda was advised it will be less then $400 (parts and labor). Also, it was discovered by the other shop that the reason the car was not drivable was because a bolt was unscrewed from the engine alone with a disconnected wire. The independent shop stated the engine should not have been touched, since the starter is not in the engine. Further, when my car was serviced there (Sam Swope Honda) in the past, I continuously had problems with it. This car was purchased new from Sam Swope Honda. However, it always had ongoing issues that never seem to get resolved, until the concern was out of warranty. This is why I stopped having my car serviced there.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $60 tow fee.. The unauthorized repair resulted into further damaged ; car being towed.

Business Response:

 

I appreciate Ms. ***** for bringing her concerns to my attention. She is a valuable customer and her satisfaction is very important to me. I apologized to her, as I am sincerely sorry for the misunderstanding; and together we reached a resolution.

 

I would like to thank Ms. ***** for the opportunity to recover, and we look forward to meeting all of her future automotive needs.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[I want them to understand that the acceptance is based on a conditional status. Conditional status meaning, if it is determined that they caused damage to the engine; they will be responsible for the engine repairs. Acceptance to this offer, will not negate them from being responsible, if determined their actions caused further damage . ]

Regards,

* *****


 

 

Business Response: I have tried to contact this customer several times with no success. This is a valuable customer
and her satisfaction is very important to me. I wish we could have reached her again to try to
find out how to regain her trust. I really thought she was happy with us last time she left our
dealership. Please let me know if she reaches out to you again, or if she provides another method
for contacting her.
Thank you for your assistance.
Sincerely,
**** *****

10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 7, 2012 My husband and I signed an agreement contract with Sam Swope Honda World for the purchased of a new 2012 Honda Odyssey Vin # ***************** that was to be financed with ******** ***** ******* corp. Our credit reports are in outstanding shape with both of us having scores in the 750 range. We were unsure about adding the warranty to our loan and **** from finance told us we would have about 3 days or so in case wanted to add it on. My husband got quotes from various dealerships and we called **** to see if the dealership would match the competitors' price. After **** spoke to his general manager, they said yes it was ok. We live 1 hr away and we re arranged our scheduled only to get there and they not honor the agreement. We ask to speak to general mgr and he won't speak to us. We leave and decide its not worth the hassle when we can just get elsewhere. 2. Several weeks pass by and we get a call from **** (Finance guy) that the signatures on one of the papers didn't go thru and that we would have to sign a new one. When we received the letter we received a whole new sales contract. Both of our signatures on our copy are legible and appear just fine. In the new contract **** has now changed/increased our vehicle cash price. We call **** and tell him that we don't see the need to sign a new contract with a price increase. He goes on to explain that he increased the price because of a military rebate that is available to military personnel. In essence he's increased the price so that he/ they can pocket my rebate. We inform him that since we have a signed contract in place we will not be signing a new one. At this point my husband is currently on a field training exercise, and not able to return calls right away. In the meantime however **** has left threatening and harassing phone calls on my husband's voice mail. He stated that there's going to be lots of trouble for us and in another he said that he was going to send out a wrecker to have or vehicle towed. I have been in contact with ******** ***** Finance to try and resolve this issue, and they advised me not to sign the new contract and that since they have not received the paperwork from the dealership there was not much they could do. I am very disappointed at Sam Swope Honda World for not wanting to honor the agreement contract we have signed. Being that we always pay our bills on time and have excellent credit cannot understand why a dealership would act so unprofessional. With my husband being out training & having to deal with a special needs baby plus my 10 yr old, we truly do not have the time for this nonsense. Sam Swope Honda World we ask that you honor the contract already signed.

Desired Settlement: 1. Would like for Sam Swope Honda World to submit my signed sales contract agreement to ******** ***** Finance. OR 2 Will have my credit union finance my loan and sign a new contract PROVIDED THAT MY VEHICLE CASH PRICE (line 1) STAYS THE SAME OR 3. Give them back their vehicle and void the whole contract. We will also require that all documents be looked over by my attorney.

Business Response:

 

After many unsuccessful attempts to contact Ms. **** by telephone, I forwarded an apologetic email hoping to address her experience. I asked her to contact me to discuss her concerns. This clearly did not meet our Sam Swope Auto Group customer service standards. 

 

As she requested, her contract has been forwarded to ******** ***** Finance on September 11, 2012. It is important to understand an honest mistake occurred with regard to the military rebate, as the bottom line remained the same.

 

Once again, I offer my sincere apology. I would like to provide $200 Swope Bucks to be utilized for parts and services.  She is welcome to call me anytime.

 

I would like to thank her for the opportunity to recover, and look forward to meeting any and all of her future automotive needs.

 

Thanks as always for your help,

 

 

******* ** *****

Vice President/General Manager

Sam Swope

Honda World

************

*******************

 

6/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Ford Fiesta on January the first. I have had issues with the car, car dealer and the financing company. The first two attempts of trying to make a payment were complicated at the least. I was told by ** **** ******* that i did not have an account with them nor did my car. I was referred back to Sam Swope. Sam Swope told me that they would find out the account number for me. I needed the account number to pay the first note on the account. Sam Swope then told me I can make payment to them for the first note and they would transfer it to ** **** for me. I gave Same Swope the first installment via a debit card. I assumed things were taken care of and i waited for a payment book or account information thru the mail. I then called ** **** back and asked if they had recieved my payment and thus acctivating my account. I was, once again, referred back to Sam Swope. After updating the dealer of my situation he tells me that my first payment wasnt accepted. I then asked where my three hundred dollars was. He said it was in his possession and he would credit my debit card the said amount. He tells me once he refunds my card to write a check and send it to ** ****. That will then activate the account. I tell the dealer that i no longer want to use ** **** due to thier inability to proccess a loan within the three months it has taken. The Dealer then tells me i am allowed to use another bank because ** **** hasnt approved the loan yet. So I then ask if i am under contract if the warranty hasnt been approved. He tells me, no I am not. He asks me to give him a minute while he makes some calls. He calls me back and says he now has financing thru **** **** and i need to come sign new papers. I tell the dealer i intend to return the car and buy a car thru a different dealer and bank. He then tells me that ** **** has finallly recieved the first payment he sent out a few weeks ago. I call ** **** and they tell me that the first payment was recieved but they will not acitvate the account until a second installment is made. I then ask if i do not make the second payment what will my consequences be? ** **** Finance tells me that the car would go back but my credit would not be affected because the loan has not been approved and will not be until I make the second payment. I then call Sam Swope back and tell them i want to return the car and start over some where else. The dealer tells me that he has already made the second payment for me against my wishes. He told me it was his car and he can do so if he wishes. I then call ** **** back and tell them of what has happened. Sam Swope made the second payment to activate the account before I can return the car. They tell me they will not accept the payment and will not activate the account when they do recieve the second payment sent by Sam Swope. I had a trade in on the Fiesta at Sam Swope. The car was a 2007 Pt Cruiser. It had a loan thru ***** bank for 5,033.21. The value of the car was set at 3,500. Leaving a debt to Sam Swope of 1,533.21. I gave them a down payment of 2,000. The Ford Fiesta is not working at the moment. It has been sitting since last thursday, May 3. I informed Sam Swope and they told me to use the warranty if it was a covered part. When i inspected the Fiesta after test driving it I brought it to the salesman attention that the coolant was below the min. mark. He assured me it would be taken care of while i did paper work. I checked the coolant after leaving the lot and noticed it wasnt taken care of. So i purchased and filled the coolant myself. After driving the Fiesta for a few weeks i began to notice a rubbing noise when truning the wheels at slow speeds. After a closer look i realize the front tires are too big for the car. I took the car to a local **** *********** and was ready to pay for it myself. The mechanic told me to take the car back to the dealer. It was illegal for them to sell me a car with tires that exceed the ford guidelines. I contacted Sam Swope and was eventually told to bring the car back to them, a 60 mile trip for them to asses and change the tires. I did and they changed the tires but it was one of many problems concerning this car and Sam Swope. I know this sounds complicated and I am trying to give you the right infromation without being redundent or insuffecient. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I want the car returned and my credit score unaffected. I am aware I owe Sam Swope 1,533.21 as the pay off for the loan of the trade in was 5,033.21-subtract the value of the trade in, 3,500. Leaving a ballance of 1,533.21. Sam Swope can take that out of the 2,000 down payment I made on the Ford Fiesta.

Business Response:

I contacted Mr. ***** to address the concerns mentioned in his letter of May 8th.  After our discussion, it was apparent his experience was clearly below the Sam Swope Auto Group standard of customer service.  I appreciate his bringing this to my attention, as it gives us the opportunity to remedy the problem and improve the customer’s experience.

 

Our conversation proved to be productive, as we were able to address his stated concerns.  The vehicle’s battery was replaced, along with an offer to provide a rental car, should his vehicle require more extensive repair.  An apology was also extended for the frustrating experience our process created for him at the bank.  In addition, an internal review of our procedures has been amended to prevent any future repetition of this instance. Mr. ***** was gracious and thanked me for the consideration.  It was my pleasure!

 

Our goal is to always exceed customer expectations.  I hope Mr. ***** will consider us for any and all of his future automotive needs.

 

Thanks as always for your help,

 

 

******* ** *****

Vice President/General Manager

Sam Swope

Honda World

************

 

 

5/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We saw that Sam Swope Honda had an advertised Honda Element on the internet site with **** ******. My husband had several phone conversations with sales employee *** *******. Since we live in Knoxville, TN and the company is in Louisville, KY (a 3 1/2 hr trip one way) my husband asked *** about the asking price of the Element. *** replied to my husband that "he would work with us" on the asking price. When we arrived in Louisville, my daughter and husband test drove the vehicle and liked it. We noticed a few cosmetic defects on the vehicle (bumper faceplate was loose, crack under one of the tail lights, cracks in the seat ) etc. These defects were minor and we intended to buy the vehicle since we knew *** said he would "work with us" on price. In his office, we noticed *** was beginning to write up the sale. My husband asked about the price and reminded *** that he said he would "work with us". *** responded with "did I tell you that?" and my husband responded that yes, indeed he would work with us, that we were on a budget and only intended to spend a certain amount on the vehicle. When *** talked to his manager he did not take any money off of the vehicle but instead ADDED more money ($250.00 for doc fees) to the asking price and he told us this was the bottom line that he would accept. We were hoping to receive $100.00- $200.00 off the vehicle due to the cosmetic damages but instead we were told by *** and his manager that they don't take ANY money off of these vehicles. WHY WAS THIS NOT COMMUNICATED WITH US BEFORE WE DROVE TO LOUISVILLE? All *** would have had to have told us on the phone with my husband was that the price was FIRM and that there would be no negotiating. But because he lied and told us "he would work with us on price", we made the trip to Louisville and spent $75.00 on gas. This is extremely bad business practice to have a salesperson lie to you. When dealing with others, honesty is always the best policy, and unfortunately, we did not receive that from *** ******* at Sam Swope Honda. We couldn't help but notice that Sam Swope's motto is "No one walks away." Well, that day, we did walk away very disappointed with ***'s deception.

Desired Settlement: We seek no monetary settlement, but we would like this complaint addressed with *** and his manager. He needs to know that lying to customers (even though he claims he has no recollection of this) is horrible business practice. We certainly do not want this to happen to another customer again.

Business Response:

 

 

I contacted Mrs. ******* to address the concerns mentioned in her previous letter.  After our discussion, it was apparent her experience was clearly below the Sam Swope Auto Group standard of customer service.  I appreciate her bringing this to my attention, as it gives us the opportunity to remedy the problem and improve the customer’s experience.   

Ms. ******* and I had an honest conversation which I believe encouraged a positive result.

Although she did not request any compensation, we did offer $70.00 for the incurred gas expense and an apology for her time, which she graciously accepted. 

Our goal is to always exceed customer expectations.  It is our hope that Mr. & Mrs. ******* will consider us as they continue their search for another vehicle. 

Thanks,

******* ** *****

Vice President/General Manager

Sam Swope

Honda World

###-###-####

*******************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8994805, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

3/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2000 Honda Accord on 1/7/08 from this car dealership. My sales rep was ******* *********. I purchased the Honda Care GAP insurance that was offered for $675 for a term of 60 months. In Jan. of this year, I paid my loan off (approx. a year early). I have kept ALL my original paperwork for my car. On 3/9/12, I contacted the Honda Care GAP phone# listed on my contract/receipt to request a refund for time not used. I gave the person (*******) my VIN # and he informed me he had no record of this coverage for my name or VIN#. I found this unbelievable, so I called right back and spoke with another person (*******). She told me the same thing and recommended I call the dealership where I purchased my car.My first contact with Sam Swope regarding this matter was on 3/9/12. After many phone calls, I was told I needed to speak with ******* ******* at ext. **** because she handled GAP. I made numerous attempts to speak with her and finally was able to tell her my story. She couldn't find a record of my GAP coverage on her computer, but she assured me she would call back with some answers. A few days later, still no call from her, so I called each day after that and left messages with no response from her.On 3/15/12, I was able to find out that a lady named ****** ****** was filling in for ******* ******* who was out on leave. So, I told her my story. She checked her computer and told me she couldn't find a record of my GAP insurance either. She and ******* both reasoned that someone at Sam Swope didn't register my car with Honda Care GAP as they should. ****** assured me she would talk with her sales mgr. and call me back on 3/17/12, with some answers. That call never came. I have been leaving messages, but have received no response to date. I paid $675 for nothing. In the event I would have needed to file a claim, I would have been more upset to find out the coverage I thought I had for 4 yrs. wasn't there!My efforts to resolve this have failed..please help!

Desired Settlement: My original paperwork reflects my payment of $675 that was charged for this GAP coverage. As I have learned, through 4 different people, there is no record of my car EVER being covered. I have had pseudo coverage for the past 4 years, and if the need had arose, my claim would have been most definitely denied. I want my full refund of $675 considering the fact I paid for something I never officially received.If you need any paperwork to back up this complaint, please let me know. Thanks!

Business Response:

I reached out to Ms. ***** on Wednesday, March 28, 2012.   After discussing the situation with her  we have agreed to refund the premium of $675.00 for the GAP policy, and as a gesture of good will offered her an additional $500.00 in Swope Bucks.  She was  very understanding  as she accepted our apology and assured me of her continued business. 

I have given her all of my contact information and assured her she now has a friend in the car business.  Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to serving her automotive needs in the future. 

 

Thanks,

 

******* ** *****

Vice President/General Manager

Sam Swope Honda World

1 Swope AutoCenter Drive

Louisville, KY 40299

###-###-####

*******************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8974031, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 ****** *****

 


 

 

1/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my Honda CRV - (VIN - 5J6RE387XL002001) from SAM SWOPE HONDA in Louisville KY on 03/25/2008. During the sale, I was convinced by the Business Manager Mr. ***** ******** to buy a HONDA CARE EXTENDED WARRANTY PLAN -( Plan Code D70) for 7 years / 100,000 miles. I bought this for an additional $1295. I moved to NJ in 2009. After my factory warranty expired, When I went to ******** ***** in NJ to fix some noise in my car, I was told that my car doesn't have the HONDA CARE EXTENDED WARRANTY PLAN. I called up HONDA CARE customer support 4 times and even faxed them the documentation i have. They said they can't do anything about this. I ended up paying for the expenses incurred. I called up SAMSWOPE HONDA twice - Once in November 2011 & did it today again. I was transferred to the sales manager and i left a voice message. No body seems to care. I do have all the documentation and receipts for the Warranty. The reason i paid for extra $$ was to have a peace of mind with my vehicle. I paid for the extended warranty and also am paying for my repairs now. I feel that i have been cheated for the past 3 years. This is highly unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I need this issue fixed. I want my vehicle to registered to the plan and i need the coverage promised to me during the sale. I also want SAMSWOPE to pay for the vehicle repair expenses incurred (Those $$ i paid after my vehicle's factory warranty got expired.)

Business Response: I’m very happy to inform you that the opportunity we had at Sam Swope Honda World with
******* ********* has been resolved and he is completely satisfied with the resolution.
The resolution is that his extended service agreement has been properly imputed and he now has
full use of it moving forward. Also, as a good will gesture we have agreed to reimburse him the
$200.00 on the service agreement claim that wasn’t in effect at the time of usage.
As always it is our goal to exceed our customers’ expeditions and I am extremely sorry that we
didn’t do that for Mr. ********* the first time.
Sincerely,
******* ** *****Vice President/General Manager
Sam Swope Honda World
###-###-####
*******************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8878243, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *********

 


 

 

12/22/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (Purchase took place on 08/12/2011) The sales person stated that someone would meet us when it was time to get our tags and register our vehicle and they would pay. When going over the cost, my husband was informed they were estimating $600 for excise tax, etc. We received a check in the mail for under $200, when my husband went to the license branch he still owed $332.89, he went ahead and paid it and we thought that we'd go back to the dealer and they would pay us back. They refused stating we were not told they would pay the excise tax and it wasn't written down and have refused to reimburse us. When my husband was doing the paperwork they were questioning when his birthday was and stated since it was past they would take care of the fees at the license branch.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the $332.89 we were out extra that we were informed would be covered.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ****** 

I will be responding to the complaint from ****** ******.  I was out of the office when I received this complaint and left a message for Mrs. ****** that we would be in touch to discuss the issue. 

 

***** *******, New Car Manager and I reviewed the documents from the ******’s car deal and I requested that he reach out to Mr. or Mrs. ****** and try to resolve the matter.  Once Mr. ******* was able to discuss the matter with Mr. ******.  Mr. ****** stated that he was under the impression that he would owe no more money once he purchased the Element.  According to our documentation (enclosed) taxes were estimated.  Mr. ******* felt that our communication with the ******s could have been better so he decided to go ahead and refund them the $332.89 as requested in their complaint.    

 

Again thanks for your help in this matter. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8843878, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have received the refund check and appreciate the help I've received, you may close the case. Happy Holidays!

Regards,

****** ******