This business is not BBB accredited.

Sam Swope Cadillac

Phone: (502) 499-5010 Fax: (502) 499-5009 6 Swope AutoCenter Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswopecadillac.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sam Swope Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 18, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1960 in KY Business incorporated 01/01/1960 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Settles, Vice President & General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Settles, Vice President & General Manager
Related Businesses
Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6 Swope AutoCenter Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2013 Cadillac ATS approximately a month ago. We negotiated a price, tax, title out the door. Signed the paperwork and drove the vehicle home. About a week ago they sent us the information to transfer the title to our name. We proceeded to transfer the title at the local title office and they paid the taxes $400 short. We called Sam Swope Cadillac to explain to them they paid the taxes short and needed to pay the full agreed upon amount and they have refused. They claim it is their mistake but not making it right. This is nothing nut fraud! They explained the deal was for the vehicle, taxes, title and all fees. Now they are refusing to pay the taxes. The vehicle title will not be transferred until payment is made.

Desired Settlement: Them to send us a check for the taxes owed to transfer the title.

Business Response: Thank you for sharing and I am sorry that we have not been able to exceed your expectations. As I explained on the phone two days ago we collected 5.5% Ohio State sales tax at time of delivery. The county that you reside in has
an additional 1.25% tax that was not collected at the time of purchase. You as the buyer would have paid the county tax at time of delivery or at time of registration, either way this is the buyer's tax responsibility. I have attached the Tax Agreement form that you signed stating that you understood that any additional taxes or licensing fees are you responsibility. All the paperwork that I have reviewed shows that this deal was negotiated on sale price, plus tax, license and fee's. I have also interviewed the sales associate and manager that handled the transaction, . Both stated the deal was negotiated over the phone on price and dealer fee, the out the door figure was not mentioned over the phone. As I told you on the phone that if you have any type of paperwork stating anything different I would review and consider. I would also like to apologize that you were given the impression that by not collecting this county tax that we made additional profit. All state taxes and state fee's that were collected were sent to the state of Ohio on your behalf for registration. We strive to exceed our customers’ expectations, and our success depends on that. For the last 63 years Sam Swope Auto Group has stood on the principles that put our customers first, and I firmly believe we would not have the success we have today without those principles. If I can be of any assistance moving forward please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-####. **** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]
The agreement was taxes, title and fees (Out the door)! Mr ******* was not part of the negotiations, was never in the room and has no first hand knowledge of the events. They knew I would be at least a month before finding out of their shady business practices! We would not have purchased the vehicle if we knew of the additional $500 in taxes. They knew we had a bottom line and this is the way they manipulated the system to line their pockets with profit. I have purchased over 15 vehicles in numerous states and this has never happened at a reputable dealer!
Regards,

******** ****

8/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my esclade for check engine repairs ,after diagnostic test repair bill was supposed to be $1327 a month ago but as of today my vehicle is still not repaired and they are asking six thousand dollars in repairs or more .

Desired Settlement: how can a dealership with the most efficient equipment keep adding repair bill every day and not knowing the right problem. i would like to get the repair done in a reasonable amount of money

Business Response:

***** **** ******* **** ********** ******* ******* *** ***** ******** *** *** ********* * ************ *** *********

Thank you for informing us of our customer’s experience and I regret to have found it in the junk email folder so late. The good news is that we had already resolved the issues at hand and today this good customer of ours seems to be satisfied with the way everything has turned out.

Here is a summary of what had happened without getting too deep into all the mechanical terms. Our customer called on June 9th stating his Check Engine Light alerted him for service. We provided the original estimate of $1,301.26 to fix three items that were needed according to our diagnosis. The valves and valve springs had to be checked out by a machine shop which found a carbon issue with a cylinder and a valve needing repairs. We contacted General Motors Technical Assistance for other mechanical advice which led to another call to our customer to inform him of even more necessary engine work.At that point our customer wanted an appraisal for the vehicle to consider trading for another vehicle. We provided a value that reflected the expenses to repair it, and included trade assistance from General Motors. Our customer declined, so the final estimate of all the repairs was over $8,500. As a good-will gesture we discounted the total bill to an agreed upon amount of $6,000. We provided a courtesy Cadillac loaner vehicle for the time his vehicle was in our service department. Upon completion, we drove the vehicle approximately 150 miles over a three day period to insure Check Engine Light did not return.

On July 23rd he picked-up his Escalade, paid by check and seemed to be satisfied with everything. It was not until the 27th that I found this complaint in my junk email and immediately contacted our customer to confirm his satisfaction. He stated that he was satisfied and would dismiss this BBB complaint.

Thank you for your assistance, and let me know if you need anything else.

Best Regards,

 

**** *******