Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter)?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter)

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-4600 Fax: (502) 499-4612 7 Swope AutoCenter Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswopebuick.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960 in KY Business incorporated: 05/01/1960 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patti Swope, President/CEO Mr. Frank Moody, Vice President/General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patti Swope, President/CEO
Related Businesses
Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4600

  • 7 Swope AutoCenter Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4600

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A GMC Sierra 1500 was advertised on the internet for$36000. Went to the lot with the ad and drove the truck on Saturday, November 1, 2014. There was an issue with the truck and they repaired it the following Monday. They contacted me that the truck was fixed. I drove back to Louisville on Monday evening and decided to buy the truck. When we sat down to do paperwork I was informed that the truck was $54000 due to an internet pricing mistake. The next day the internet price was changed to $58000. On Wednesday the price was changed on the internet to $47000. When I called and asked for the price Angie stated that the truck was $47000 and with discounts and add ons to the truck the total price was $55000. I have both the $36000 and $47000 advertised price printed. Both ads contain the VIN number and stock number of the truck. I have left several messages for ***** ***** but have not received a call back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to purchase the truck for the original advertised price of $36000.

Business Response: We contacted our customer immediately when we received this complaint and I understood her frustration. She is correct about the pricing discrepancies that were on our website. We have outsourced a company to assist us with our Internet websites and they automatically post prices for our vehicles in accordance with our pricing policy. The price would have been accurate if there were not a $14,000 lift kit on the truck that raises the truck several inches higher off the ground. They evidently did not see that or recognize it. Additionally, prices change with incentives that we receive from the manufacturer.

We know from experience that patent clerical errors like this one can happen, and in order to fully disclose this possibility to our customers, we offer a declaration at the bottom of each inventory page that states the following, “Vehicle data on this website is compiled from publicly available sources believed by the publisher to be reliable. Vehicle data is subject to change without notice. The publisher assumes no responsibility for errors and/or omissions as to… price or warranties.”

Due to a strong incentive at this current time, we can offer this vehicle (worth $55,000 with no discounts) to her for $42,500. This deal expires on December 1, 2014, or once the vehicle sells. This is less than one of the advertised prices she printed.

I have made her this offer and apologized for the many prices she has seen for this vehicle. I would love to sell her this vehicle at the low price I can offer her for this limited time. She has my contact information and is welcome to contact me at any time. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a On on Monday later that day the check engine light came on and then I called them Tuesday and ask could they do a diagnostic on the vehicle so I took it in today and they did the diagnostics and bass just had me a sheet of paper tell me I have a transmission problem

Desired Settlement: I wish they can either fix the problem or give me my money back because this really puts me in a bind with me having a loan out on his car

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our customer's dissatisfaction with our service to him. We have contacted him, and a resolution has been reached that is a win-win for all of us. He has indicated that he is satisfied with the outcome, which will require us to participate financially in his repairs. In addition, he is currently in a loaner vehicle that we have provided while we make those repairs. I have apologized to our customer for his experience.

We are happy to be able to continue our business relationship with him. Thank you again for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As first time car buyers, we were not treated respectfully when one of the sales representatives (***** *****), failed to cover his bases before letting us drive off the lot in a 2009 Nissan cube. He told us that we were approved for a loan so we came in and signed all the paper work, handed over the down payment including a trade in, and were then told that everything went through and the car was ours. The next day we were told that we had to bring in proof of address for my fiancee who also happened to be the co-signer for my car. We were told that a piece of mail would suffice. The bank did not accept that as proof of address. The following day both me and my fiancee were harassed at work, being told that we had to fix this immediately or we would have to return the car. Both me and my fiancee tried to explain that it would have to wait until we could get free from work. They told us that until we got it straightened out we could simply drop the car back by the dealership. This did not sound very smart to me and my fiancee considering that they held the title to my old car, a down payment on top of that , and now they were going to have possession of the car they just sold us. We decided to let them know that we had no problem bringing the car back as long as they were willing to return the money that we had put down. We considered this to be fair, especially since it was not our fault that ***** had not done his job in clearing everything with the bank before telling us that we were approved and let us drive off with the car. We were then told that our requests were not going to be met because "that's not how they do business." We had been to the dealer ship a few more times trying to straighten this out. I felt very offended walking in there because nobody would speak to me or shake my hand when my name was the one on the car. I felt that this had to be due to the fact that I was a woman or that I was a younger person. The employees there seemed only to address my fiancee. After struggling to get some sort of resolve to the situation, we decided that we needed to consider other options. I spoke to ***** and told him that I just wanted to give up and return the car. He then attempted to threaten me saying that " my credit would be screwed and I would never receive a car loan anywhere else." He also added that I should consider my "unborn child"(he knew that I was pregnant and looking for a "baby friendly car") before cancelling this deal. That just completely crossed the line for me. First of all, I do not think its right to try and intimidate somebody just because they are young and vulnerable, and it was definitely insensitive to try and manipulate the fact that I am pregnant. Besides which, I may be a pregnant woman in my 20's but I am not an idiot. I will never ever deal with Sam Swope or its affiliates as long as I live in Louisville.

Desired Settlement: For this to go on public record for anyone who is considering buying from Sam Swope dealers.

Business Response:

I Wish I could apologize personally for any remarks Ms. ***** felt were inappropriate. I have personally counseled our sales associate regarding his posture with customers. I have called Ms. ***** several times and left messages. I am also truly sorry we were unable to gain approval with any lenders as we certainly hoped for and expected a favorable response.

If Ms. ***** would give me an opportunity to speak with her, I would love to have a discussion with her regarding her experience and what she can expect from us in the future. She can reach me at 502--*********

Please accept my apology for delaying this response and let me know if you need any further assistance on this matter. Thank you for all of your provisions for our customers and this company.


Sincerely,


***** *****