Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter)

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-4600 Fax: (502) 499-4612 7 Swope AutoCenter Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswopebuick.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960 in KY Business incorporated 05/01/1960 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Patti Swope, President/CEO Mr. Frank Moody, Vice President/General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Patti Swope, President/CEO
Related Businesses
Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4600

  • 7 Swope AutoCenter Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 Saturn Aura on December 12, 2014 from Sam Swope. When I purchased the car it appeared to be a good deal and I bought it. The salesman failed to make some repairs and told me he had ta*** care of the problems. When I drove the car the repairs had not been done. I immediately called his manager and it took several calls to him before he called me back. I was able to return the car and have the repairs ta*** care of at no charge and I was grateful for that. I have now had the car for about 5 months and have had some problems with it. The car was completely dead in one day in March, I had it jumped and it started and there has been no problem since. I had the battery checked and they cleaned it off and said it was strong. On April 25I began to hear wining from the car, and it continued. I took the car,had it checked and some power steering fluid was added. It appeared to be okay. On April 29 the wining started again, got more power steering fluid added and it became really hard to steer. On April 30 I called service at Sam Swope dealership and was told I could not get the car ta*** care of until May 13, 2015. I work fulltime, and depend on a car. I asked to speak with the service manager, left 2 messages and he never called me back. I then had to car towed on May 1, 2015 to another car repair shop. I picked up the car on May 4 and a power steering hose had been put into the car. They told me it would be okay, but several days later the same wining and hard to steer problem happened again, they added power steering fluid, but that did not help. I had to return the car on May 13 and hope to have it back on May 14, with a power steering pump added which is an additional cost. I bought this car with the understanding it was in good working order and I did not think I would have major expenses within a 5 month period. If the dealership had checked out the car and found it in working order I suspect they would have seen a problem. I totally feel I was sold a lemon for the beginning and they pulled a fast on an older low income woman. A manager from used car sales called me on May 13 and told me they had gotten my first complaint. He had forwarded it on to the GM, who called me today. The GM was rude, condescending and could care less about my car. He made that very clear. He refused to help me on this matter and accepted no responsibility at all. I also sent a letter to ***** Swope and have yet to hear an answer. Since I have had this problem many friends have come forward with horror stories about how Sam Swope treats their customers. They think they are big and can rip people off daily and they do and get by with it. I do not have any money for car repairs, I purchased this nice car thinking it would last me a long time. I keep my cars a long time because I take care of them. This car is a complete lemon and I need help. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I would like to trade this lemon for a car of equal value that would not cost me one more cent. This car needs to be sold for parts and they can do that if they were decent people.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ********

 


 

 There is absolutely no truth in the statement Mr. ***** made. It is all a lie. Mr. ***** was very rude, condescending in his verbal response to me. When I purchased the car the dishonest salesman told me the things would be repaired at no charge to me since there was a warranty for 30 days, not 60 days. No mention of a 60 day warranty ever. Nothing was ever mentioned about bringing the car in and trading it for another. The bottom line is I found all people at Sam Swope I dealt with dishonest, except the finance man and especially **** *****. I would never make another purchase from them and I will tell everyone I know what happened. This company is a very dishonest company, sadly and touts "no body walks away". The sales force laugh out loud about that. I sent a letter to ***** Swope who did not bother to respond, sadly.

Thank you, ****** ********

 

12/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A GMC Sierra 1500 was advertised on the internet for$36000. Went to the lot with the ad and drove the truck on Saturday, November 1, 2014. There was an issue with the truck and they repaired it the following Monday. They contacted me that the truck was fixed. I drove back to Louisville on Monday evening and decided to buy the truck. When we sat down to do paperwork I was informed that the truck was $54000 due to an internet pricing mistake. The next day the internet price was changed to $58000. On Wednesday the price was changed on the internet to $47000. When I called and asked for the price Angie stated that the truck was $47000 and with discounts and add ons to the truck the total price was $55000. I have both the $36000 and $47000 advertised price printed. Both ads contain the VIN number and stock number of the truck. I have left several messages for ***** ***** but have not received a call back.

Desired Settlement: I would like to purchase the truck for the original advertised price of $36000.

Business Response: We contacted our customer immediately when we received this complaint and I understood her frustration. She is correct about the pricing discrepancies that were on our website. We have outsourced a company to assist us with our Internet websites and they automatically post prices for our vehicles in accordance with our pricing policy. The price would have been accurate if there were not a $14,000 lift kit on the truck that raises the truck several inches higher off the ground. They evidently did not see that or recognize it. Additionally, prices change with incentives that we receive from the manufacturer.

We know from experience that patent clerical errors like this one can happen, and in order to fully disclose this possibility to our customers, we offer a declaration at the bottom of each inventory page that states the following, “Vehicle data on this website is compiled from publicly available sources believed by the publisher to be reliable. Vehicle data is subject to change without notice. The publisher assumes no responsibility for errors and/or omissions as to… price or warranties.”

Due to a strong incentive at this current time, we can offer this vehicle (worth $55,000 with no discounts) to her for $42,500. This deal expires on December 1, 2014, or once the vehicle sells. This is less than one of the advertised prices she printed.

I have made her this offer and apologized for the many prices she has seen for this vehicle. I would love to sell her this vehicle at the low price I can offer her for this limited time. She has my contact information and is welcome to contact me at any time. Thank you for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a On on Monday later that day the check engine light came on and then I called them Tuesday and ask could they do a diagnostic on the vehicle so I took it in today and they did the diagnostics and bass just had me a sheet of paper tell me I have a transmission problem

Desired Settlement: I wish they can either fix the problem or give me my money back because this really puts me in a bind with me having a loan out on his car

Business Response:

Thank you for notifying us of our customer's dissatisfaction with our service to him. We have contacted him, and a resolution has been reached that is a win-win for all of us. He has indicated that he is satisfied with the outcome, which will require us to participate financially in his repairs. In addition, he is currently in a loaner vehicle that we have provided while we make those repairs. I have apologized to our customer for his experience.

We are happy to be able to continue our business relationship with him. Thank you again for your assistance with this matter.

Sincerely,

***** *****

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As first time car buyers, we were not treated respectfully when one of the sales representatives (***** *****), failed to cover his bases before letting us drive off the lot in a 2009 Nissan cube. He told us that we were approved for a loan so we came in and signed all the paper work, handed over the down payment including a trade in, and were then told that everything went through and the car was ours. The next day we were told that we had to bring in proof of address for my fiancee who also happened to be the co-signer for my car. We were told that a piece of mail would suffice. The bank did not accept that as proof of address. The following day both me and my fiancee were harassed at work, being told that we had to fix this immediately or we would have to return the car. Both me and my fiancee tried to explain that it would have to wait until we could get free from work. They told us that until we got it straightened out we could simply drop the car back by the dealership. This did not sound very smart to me and my fiancee considering that they held the title to my old car, a down payment on top of that , and now they were going to have possession of the car they just sold us. We decided to let them know that we had no problem bringing the car back as long as they were willing to return the money that we had put down. We considered this to be fair, especially since it was not our fault that ***** had not done his job in clearing everything with the bank before telling us that we were approved and let us drive off with the car. We were then told that our requests were not going to be met because "that's not how they do business." We had been to the dealer ship a few more times trying to straighten this out. I felt very offended walking in there because nobody would speak to me or shake my hand when my name was the one on the car. I felt that this had to be due to the fact that I was a woman or that I was a younger person. The employees there seemed only to address my fiancee. After struggling to get some sort of resolve to the situation, we decided that we needed to consider other options. I spoke to ***** and told him that I just wanted to give up and return the car. He then attempted to threaten me saying that " my credit would be screwed and I would never receive a car loan anywhere else." He also added that I should consider my "unborn child"(he knew that I was pregnant and looking for a "baby friendly car") before cancelling this deal. That just completely crossed the line for me. First of all, I do not think its right to try and intimidate somebody just because they are young and vulnerable, and it was definitely insensitive to try and manipulate the fact that I am pregnant. Besides which, I may be a pregnant woman in my 20's but I am not an idiot. I will never ever deal with Sam Swope or its affiliates as long as I live in Louisville.

Desired Settlement: For this to go on public record for anyone who is considering buying from Sam Swope dealers.

Business Response:

I Wish I could apologize personally for any remarks Ms. ***** felt were inappropriate. I have personally counseled our sales associate regarding his posture with customers. I have called Ms. ***** several times and left messages. I am also truly sorry we were unable to gain approval with any lenders as we certainly hoped for and expected a favorable response.

If Ms. ***** would give me an opportunity to speak with her, I would love to have a discussion with her regarding her experience and what she can expect from us in the future. She can reach me at 502--*********

Please accept my apology for delaying this response and let me know if you need any further assistance on this matter. Thank you for all of your provisions for our customers and this company.


Sincerely,


***** *****