This business is not BBB accredited.

Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway)

Phone: (502) 493-3400 View Additional Phone Numbers 6770 Dixie Highway, Louisville, KY 40258 ! There is an alert on Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway) !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 1995 Business started: 10/01/1994
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dick Swope, President & C.E.O Mr. John Winkler, Vice President/General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, President & C.E.O
Business Category


Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Out of Business


Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations


    6770 Dixie Highway

    Louisville, KY 40258 (502) 493-3400


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our car in the end of May ****/beginning of June for repair. It is a Buick Century (2002) and is beige/sand colored. It was not running, had 270,000 miles, and has an Oregon front plate. No one calls back when we are told we should hear back. Today, I spoke to ***** (************). He said that it would have to wait until Monday (9/22). We have been hearing this for months. When we call, we are told someone will get back to us in a couple days. I verified that they have the correct phone number. I know that our phones have a different area code, but they have that noted. The dealership closed, and we were told the car was moved.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know where our car is and if it is running. In my opinion, someone should be able to tell me something about the car. I expected that someone would tell me what the issue is so that a decision could be made on the car. I want to know whether the car was stolen, junked, repaired, or not repaired. I don't know whether to report the car as stolen or whether I need to continue to cover the car on our insurance. It should not take this long to get an answer.

Business Response:

*** *** ********* * ********

**** *** *********

Thank you for reporting this complaint to us as we have been trying to reach this customer over the past several weeks. We had made several attempts to contact her prior to receiving the complaint to no avail. We were finally able to reach her late last week, and we informed her that the keys to her vehicle are at the Chrysler store on ***** *******. She understands that she owes us nothing and she is free to pick up the vehicle at her leisure.

Her vehicle was one of many vehicles that our Buick GMC store on ***** ******* was servicing when the store closed. In this particular case, our customer declined the repairs after diagnostics, so her vehicle was never transported to the *********** location since there was nothing more to do to the vehicle unless notified and advised by the customer.


I regret that we have not been successful in reaching her sooner, and I am sorry she had this experience. I certainly hope she will give us the opportunity to serve her in the future and show her the red carpet, VIP experience that she truly deserves. Thank you for assisting us with this valuable customer.


Yours truly,

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



****** *******  


I am confused by ***** *****'s response.  I have a few corrections.

I have been told in September that several attempts were made to contact us.  I know that **** **** had no issues contacting us,.  When he left, we had issues.  The phone numbers are correct, and I suspect that someone did not notice that the area code was not 502.  Second, the address is correct.  If calling was an issue, I would have thought someone would have sent us a postcard or letter.  The address is correct.

I was not contact; however, my husband was.  

***** states that "she understand that she owes us nothing."  My husband paid $179.62 as well as paid for a new oil cap.  I might be misunderstanding what he said.

As for "our customer declined the repairs after diagnostics," I have to chime in that the diagnosis said the starter was the issue.  We knew it was not the issue.  On the payment, it said the issue ended up being "starter relay overheated and broken."  My co-worker had a similar incident with Sam Swope Honda.  She was told that her heater had to be rebuilt and then her air conditioner.  It turned out that her issue was the relay also.  When I filed the complaint, I did not know the condition of the car because everyone seemed to be completely unfamiliar with the situation..  If it was just a relay, why did it take 27 days to repair since the car was in on 6/3 and was complete on 6/30?



****** *******

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shoddy wiring repair. Non factory parts, rigged together. 550$ for this. Repair. The cost of a whole new harness. Workmanship lasted 2.5 miles. Upon return tried to charge 600$ plus 65. Tow. Put lights left on killed battery on the invoice. We never said that. This is outright robbery.

Desired Settlement: Since she's in the exact state we checked her in. A full refund plus tow refund and tow back to the house so we can fond a shop that knows what they're doing.

Business Response:

See attachment for formal response.

*** *** ********* * ********

**** *** *********

Thank you for alerting us about our customer who is unhappy with our Service Department repair work. I would like nothing more than to be able to correct any remaining issues with her vehicle. Upon receipt of the complaint, we immediately contacted her to get the vehicle back in and evaluate what could be done to resolve her wiring troubles.

She has not been able to make any of her appointments so far, but we look forward to the opportunity to demonstrate how important her loyalty is to us. We hope our customer returns with her vehicle so we can come to a resolution and restore our relationship for the long term.

Thank you again for assisting us with this matter.


*** ********

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in Indiana and bought the vehicle from Kentucky. They way that Sam Swope handles the sales of their vehicle is ridiculous. First off, they HAD TO include the sales tax to the sales receipt instead of letting us pay at the DMV like we requested. We had to call the office to get them to work on the processing of the vehicle after 2 weeks (Indiana only has 30 days on title transfers instead of the 60 days in Kentucky) The lady arrived with the paperwork at the DMV with a different amount than what we paid on the title. We had the receipt to show proof of the transaction and the amount of the taxes paid. They added in service/title transfer fee into the price of the vehicle. We had already paid those fees/taxes at the dealership. So we ended up having to paying the taxes again at the DMV. She said there was nothing she could do, it was already wrote on the paperwork and that was it. They also charge an outrageous price for the transfer fee. We have bought 2 vehicles from Kentucky in the last 3 months. The other facility let us pay sales tax at the DMV and they charged $250.00 for the transfer fee and sent us the paperwork in the mail. It was simple and convenient. Sam Swope insisted on collecting the taxes, we had to call them to get the paperwork done in time, they charge $500.00 for transfer fee, finally we had to schedule a time for them to meet us with the paperwork which they ended us messing up in the end costing us more money.

Desired Settlement: For people to know that after they make a sale. there at extra/excessive charges, and the customers opinion doesn't matter.

Business Response:

RE: BBB Complaint # *******

Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for assisting us in maintaining the highest level of customer satisfaction. I realize that our customer did not specifically request anything to resolve this issue, but we are very interested in retaining his loyalty, so I talked to him to find out how we could resolve it to his satisfaction.
Although in this case our tax calculation was in accordance with the state tax code and we are confident that our fees are competitively and fairly priced against other dealerships in our market, I was unable to convince our customer of that. 

Therefore, in the interest of customer satisfaction, we offered and he happily accepted a refund for the disputed amount.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

**** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


***** *******




9/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially contacted Sam Swope for a second opinion quote on a specific repair to my vehicle, involving the replacement of a single specific part (in this case, a brake line), knowing that the dealer service has access to a program that has comprehensive instructions that tell them how much to charge based on the time, etc. . . I was given a quote of $184, based on the information I gave. Because this quote was significantly less than what I was quoted from another mechanic, I proceeded to set up an appointment. They told me that there was a diagnostic fee of $90, which would come out of the repair total. Knowing for certain that the part I asked about in the quote was indeed the part needing replacement, I went ahead and scheduled an appointment for the next day. The next day, I received a phone call from ****, the sales clerk for maintenance. He informed me that, due to the fact that thy were unaware of certain complications they would "have" to endure in order to change this brake line, there was no way I would get out of there for under $1000. Of course, I realized this was completely unacceptable, especially considering the aforementioned quote. He then reminded me that, either way, I would have to pay the diagnostic fee of $90. I told him I would be willing to pay for the $184 worth of work he said he would do in the beginning. "Not going to happen," he replied. He agreed that we were talking about replacing the same exact part that was quoted over the phone, but that the only thing different was the price. Of course, they now had me in a corner. Either pay the ridiculous repair price or pay the diagnostic fee to get my car back. I absolutely would have never brought the vehicle there in the first place had he not quoted me the $184 in the initial phone call. Since they gave me a quote which they absolutely would not honor (as a result of their error), they should not have charged me the diagnostic fee. In the end, it only cost $150 to have the line changed somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $90 back.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to resolve this customer satisfaction issue favorably. Although in this instance we took every precaution to inform our customer of our diagnostic fees before he authorized the work, we like to give our customers the benefit of the doubt when these situations occur. We happily issued him the requested refund. As this was the outcome he had requested in his complaint, the refund should resolve it to everyone's satisfaction.

Please let me know if you have any questions; and thank you for your assistance.


**** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I consider this complaint resolved.


***** *** *******




8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable