BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 03, 1995 Business started: 10/01/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dick Swope, President & C.E.O Mr. John Winkler, Vice President/General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, President & C.E.O
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 6770 Dixie Highway

    Louisville, KY 40258 (502) 493-3400

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (502) 995-4691 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in Indiana and bought the vehicle from Kentucky. They way that Sam Swope handles the sales of their vehicle is ridiculous. First off, they HAD TO include the sales tax to the sales receipt instead of letting us pay at the DMV like we requested. We had to call the office to get them to work on the processing of the vehicle after 2 weeks (Indiana only has 30 days on title transfers instead of the 60 days in Kentucky) The lady arrived with the paperwork at the DMV with a different amount than what we paid on the title. We had the receipt to show proof of the transaction and the amount of the taxes paid. They added in service/title transfer fee into the price of the vehicle. We had already paid those fees/taxes at the dealership. So we ended up having to paying the taxes again at the DMV. She said there was nothing she could do, it was already wrote on the paperwork and that was it. They also charge an outrageous price for the transfer fee. We have bought 2 vehicles from Kentucky in the last 3 months. The other facility let us pay sales tax at the DMV and they charged $250.00 for the transfer fee and sent us the paperwork in the mail. It was simple and convenient. Sam Swope insisted on collecting the taxes, we had to call them to get the paperwork done in time, they charge $500.00 for transfer fee, finally we had to schedule a time for them to meet us with the paperwork which they ended us messing up in the end costing us more money.

Desired Settlement: For people to know that after they make a sale. there at extra/excessive charges, and the customers opinion doesn't matter.

Business Response:

RE: BBB Complaint # *******

Dear Ms. *****,

Thank you for assisting us in maintaining the highest level of customer satisfaction. I realize that our customer did not specifically request anything to resolve this issue, but we are very interested in retaining his loyalty, so I talked to him to find out how we could resolve it to his satisfaction.
Although in this case our tax calculation was in accordance with the state tax code and we are confident that our fees are competitively and fairly priced against other dealerships in our market, I was unable to convince our customer of that. 

Therefore, in the interest of customer satisfaction, we offered and he happily accepted a refund for the disputed amount.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Sincerely,
**** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initially contacted Sam Swope for a second opinion quote on a specific repair to my vehicle, involving the replacement of a single specific part (in this case, a brake line), knowing that the dealer service has access to a program that has comprehensive instructions that tell them how much to charge based on the time, etc. . . I was given a quote of $184, based on the information I gave. Because this quote was significantly less than what I was quoted from another mechanic, I proceeded to set up an appointment. They told me that there was a diagnostic fee of $90, which would come out of the repair total. Knowing for certain that the part I asked about in the quote was indeed the part needing replacement, I went ahead and scheduled an appointment for the next day. The next day, I received a phone call from ****, the sales clerk for maintenance. He informed me that, due to the fact that thy were unaware of certain complications they would "have" to endure in order to change this brake line, there was no way I would get out of there for under $1000. Of course, I realized this was completely unacceptable, especially considering the aforementioned quote. He then reminded me that, either way, I would have to pay the diagnostic fee of $90. I told him I would be willing to pay for the $184 worth of work he said he would do in the beginning. "Not going to happen," he replied. He agreed that we were talking about replacing the same exact part that was quoted over the phone, but that the only thing different was the price. Of course, they now had me in a corner. Either pay the ridiculous repair price or pay the diagnostic fee to get my car back. I absolutely would have never brought the vehicle there in the first place had he not quoted me the $184 in the initial phone call. Since they gave me a quote which they absolutely would not honor (as a result of their error), they should not have charged me the diagnostic fee. In the end, it only cost $150 to have the line changed somewhere else.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $90 back.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to resolve this customer satisfaction issue favorably. Although in this instance we took every precaution to inform our customer of our diagnostic fees before he authorized the work, we like to give our customers the benefit of the doubt when these situations occur. We happily issued him the requested refund. As this was the outcome he had requested in his complaint, the refund should resolve it to everyone's satisfaction.

Please let me know if you have any questions; and thank you for your assistance.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *** *******

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A week ago I came into the GMC dealership on dixie hwy to purchase a used Chevy/GMC truck. ***** ****** was the salesman that approached me and assisted in finding the right vehicle for my needs. I gave him my price range and a description of the type of vehicle I was interested in. This was a friday afternoon. I also filled out a credit application. He seemed to believe that he could put me in a new GMC truck and stay within my price range. I was told that I would recive a call from him on Saturday and this never happened. I ended up calling him on monday and was told that he was busy and never looked for a truck or ran my credit app which initially told me that he was a poor salesman and respresented terrible customer service for Sam Swope. I went on to discuss out options and he told me the finance manager would contact me to go over what options I had on a new vehicle. I never received a call from the finance manager and had to contact him and he knew nothing about what I was looking for. He went on to tell me that it was impossible to put me in a new truck because of the negative equity ($1800) in my trade-in. The next day I called ***** and never got a response and then Thursday he finally called me back and told me he had a used avalanche that he could definetely get within my price range and told me to meet him Fri at 4:30 at the dealership. I come in friday, test drive the truck, but before doing that I asked him where they were on the price and he told me they were right where I wanted to be so I went on to test drive the truck and really liked it. While I was waiting on the numbers an elderly couple came in the store complaining about a promise ***** ****** had made to them about a trade-in and failed to follow through with, This turned into 2 managers and ***** ****** arguing with this couple in the middle of the showroom that turned into yelling and made me feel extremely uncomfortable. I couldnt believe how unprofessional the whole staff was being in front of customers. The manager finally came over to tell me that there was no way they could put me in that vehicle for the payment I wanted and was over 200 dollars higher on the payment that I wanted. I dont understand how in the world ***** ****** could say he was right where I needed to be and then not even come close. Keep in mind that ***** is still argung with the couple in the middle of the showroom. I have been to several dealerships and bought several vehicles and this was by far the worst customer service I have ever had in my life. ***** never came back over to talk to me about other options on vehicles so I just left. I will take my business somewhere else and anybody that mentions buying a vehicle I will make sure they steer clear of Sam Swope. Very disappointed in the way I was lied too, ignored, and the way they talked to the elderly couple. it was an embarrassment of the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like for everyone to know how poor the customer service is there before they waste there time like I did.

Business Response:

I apologized to Mr. ***** for his experience in our showroom. Unfortunately a loud and intolerable customer was in our showroom with Mr. *****. He has accepted my apology and my offer to assist him in locating a truck that suits his needs.

 

Please let me know if you need any further assistance on this matter.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

**** *******

General Manager         

Sam Swope Buick GMC

502-499-5061

*********************

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Saturn Vue Hybrid (which I purchased at that dealer) into the dealer to have the air conditioner fixed. It does not work and I told them the same day I picked it up that the temperature blowing out of the vent was 84 degrees. They charged me $190 and refused to give me a refund and that that if I wanted it fixed and it would cost more.

Desired Settlement: Since I have to make two trips to Louisville already ( 90 miles round trip) and that I was not given the chance to talk to management when I asked, I feel that they should fix my car as promised at no additional cost and deliver it back to me. Sam Swope has a well deserved, excellent reputation for outstanding service. What I can't understand in this case is that why they would not take care of a customer who has purchased 4 brand new cars from them since 1995. It just does not make any sense.

Business Response:

 

August 17, 2012

 

Mr. ******** *****

Better Business Bureau, Inc.

844 South Fourth Street

Louisville, KY 40203-2186

 

Re: ***** ** ***** * *** ********* ********

 

Dear Ms. ******

 

I contacted Mr* ***** to address his concerns mentioned in the BBB complaint. After our discussion, it was apparent his experience was clearly below the Sam Swope Auto Group standard of customer service.  I appreciate him bringing this to my attention, as it gives us the opportunity to remedy the problem and improve the “customer” experience.  

 

Mr* *****’s air conditioning system has now been addressed, and is currently blowing “cold” air. He has expressed his satisfaction and will be picking up the vehicle next week.  I apologize for the inconvenience he experienced, but hope we have been able to demonstrate the value of his business. 

 

It is my hope that we have many opportunities to meet any and all of his future automotive needs.  

 

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

Service Manager

Sam Swope Buick/GMC/Dixie

*** *** **** ******************

*

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from this dealership on oct 14th because the previous car I had was suffering from dangerous malfunctions. After taking the car home at 9p I found a letter from a loan agency funding loans towards my financial aid for college. The letter stated that I did not receive the total expected amount for my loan for the remainder of the year. After reading the letter I realized that I would have to pay more money out of pocket for college than I have expected. I called the dealership the next day at 9a as soon as they opened to tell them that I could not afford the car at this time and explained the situation I have encountered, and wished to return the car. The sales person who sold me the car (******) told me that I could not return the car after just ahving it over night for 12hrs, but I could exchange it for a car of equal or greater value. I was shocked because I bought several cars from Sam Swope before and I always had the option to return a car for full refund within 2-3 days. Thinking that the contract was already bound and each sam swope dealer had their own rules, I didn't take any further action to return the car because I trusted her word thinking that she was an honest business woman. To make a lond story short, my mother has a friend that works at a different sam swope dealership informed her that this dealership was dishonest to me because I legally have the right to return any car for full refund for atleast 24hrs after signing a contract. After being informed of this info, I asked for advice from my lawyer and he also explained that I had a legal right to return the car. Dispite of me explaining to them that I could not afford the car, they deceived me and robbed me of my right to get a full refund.

Business Response:

We have reached out to Ms. **** to insure her satisfaction with the vehicle she purchased from us.    At this time, she has told us that she is happy with the vehicle.   (It appears that she got some bad information from a competing dealer about returning the vehicle to us immediately after her purchase). 

 

We have provided Ms. **** with one year of free oil and filter changes (a total of 4) and tire rotations (a total of 2) as a goodwill gesture.   As she did not have a requested resolution to her complaint, we would hope that our response will satisfy the Better Business Bureau, and you will be able to close the complaint at this time.  We do value our business relationship with Ms. *****

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

President/CEO

Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

10 Swope AutoCenter Drive

Louisville, KY 40299

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/6/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I seen this 06 Chevy on the rack from Dixie Hwy, and the price was clearly marked for $8740. So i ask the salesman to make sure i could get approved for a loan, which he did and i was approved. but after 2 hours of playing the saleman game, he finally appraises my truck and tells me im looking at $381 a mth payment. Which is when he tells me the truck is $17000. I then tell him what it was marked on the windshield, so we walked out and he sees it and says well somethings not right, let me check. So when we walk in he tells his floor manager and i seen the service guy walk around front towards the truck and scrape it off. He then tells me they made a mistake, well thats not my problem and they wasted 2 and half hours of my time. I see it as false advertisement and think i should of got the truck for that price, in a perfect world right.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THE TRUCK FOR $8740

Business Response:

August 23, 2011

 

Better Business Bureau, Inc

844 South Fourth Street

Louisville, KY 40203

 

Re:  ********* ******** ***** ******

 

I spoke with Mr. ****** yesterday morning and explained again that our lot attendant had put the wrong figures on the windshield of the car.  I offered to work personally with him if he still interested in the vehicle but that the $8740 figure was a mistake and I would try to work a great deal based on the real price of the car.  He politely declined and seemed resigned to the fact that the price on the windshield was simply an error we have since corrected.  He seemed appreciative that we did call and I again apologized for any inconvenience he endured.

 

We do value Mr. ******** business and appreciate his feedback on how we can make our customer service better.

 

Sincerely,

**** *******

General Manager

Sam Swope Buick GMC

6770 Dixie Highway

Louisville, KY 40258

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/2/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1