BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sam Swope BMW?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sam Swope BMW

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-5080 Fax: (502) 499-5059 3 Swope AutoCenter Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswopebmw.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Swope BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Sam Swope BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960 in KY Business incorporated: 05/01/1960 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. J.R. Hage, Vice President/General Manager Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J.R. Hage, Vice President/General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O.
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Additional Information

This dealership is part of the Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5080

  • 3 Swope AutoCenter Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5080

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Sam Swope BMW to inquire about the purchase of a car I viewed online. My mom was nice enough to view the car for me in person because I was traveling. I negotiated a price with **** ********* over the phone which was actually the listed price of 30,500 plus taxes and fees and he promised he would include rubber floor mats. I advised him I had financing secured through **** bank, he asked for that BMW financing be able to compete for the loan, I asked if there were aditional fees or pre-payment penalties and was told their were none. I was quo*** a rate of 3.14% via text message which I have included in the supporting documents. The documents were UPS’ed to a hotel I was staying at in North Carolina. I received the documents and the interest rates were not as quo*** the rate was 3.19% and there were additional fees and a pre-payment associated with the loan. I advised **** under the terms of the loan it was no longer competitive with the loan agreement I had with **** and told him I would sign the purchase agreement but not the loan documents and I would send me the **** electronic check that he needed to process the loan. I advised him that I was going to make a down payment of $15,000 and sent me the instructions for the transfer via email. I transmit*** the funds to the dealership via wire transfer the transfer was completed on 10/14/2014, the transfer confirmation and ****** acknowledgment the fund were received is included. My mom took delivery of the car for me that weekend on 10/18/2014. Over the next week I checked my online **** to see if the loan of the balance of the purchase price plus fees and taxes totaling $18,418 had been finalized. On 10/23/2014 I contacted **** to see when the final loan amount would be posted. I then contacted **** via email to ask if the **** e-check had been submit*** for the balance of the funds owed. I was advised on 10/24/2014 that the check was faxed over to ****. I noticed that my online account was reflecting a loan with a principal amount of $33,418, I contacted **** again on 10/25/14 to ask why the amount of the loan did not reflect the fact I had made a $15,000 down payment.I was advised shortly after that the situation was being looked into by *** ******. I had contacted **** a few days later and they indicated that the dealership had not reached out. Although, I was again traveling for work I reached out a couple more times as shown in the emails to see when the issue would be resolved. BMW North America emailed me a survey about the car buying experience and I gave them a summary of events as listed here, I was then contacted by **** who indicated his General Sales Manager, ****** ******* wanted to speak with me about the issues. I spoke to ****** gave him a summary of the events and have attempted to send him the records of the conversations and documentation. He has not acknowledged receipt of any of the items I have sent. I spoke to him briefly on the phone over a week ago he said he was trying to resolve the issue with **** he was having trouble getting them to allow him to send back the overpayment. He told me he would call me by the end of the day which I believe was 11/07/2014. I have not received any phone calls or email communications from the dealership. The primary issue is that the dealership is still retaining $15,000 that should have been returned. I have spoken to **** bank and they have indicated that the additional funds would have to be paid back to me, I would then have have to make that payment to **** and because the loan was finalized at $33,418 I would have to refinance the balance after I made the payment to correct the amount of the monthly payments. They can’t guarantee the same rate because the refinancing will be contingent on a new credit score pull however, they did indicate they would make notes on the account in hopes of mitigating any changes.

Desired Settlement: The dealership must refund the overpayment of $15,000 and negotiate a set amount to release the dealership from any liability or be held responsible for any additional costs incurred during refinancing because they did not accurately reflect the down payment and collected funds greater then owed.

Business Response: We do not generally have any issues with long distance transactions such as these, but in this case we have to admit to making a couple mistakes. I contacted our customer as soon as it was brought to my attention and I did everything I could to make up for all of his trouble. I believe he is happy with our settlement.

Everything he stated is accurate. The rate we quoted him changed from 3.14 to 3.19 due to a prepaid finance charge that most banks have (similar to mortgages), and federal law will not allow the bank to put that fee into the amount financed, so it is reflected in the rate. The actual rate we quoted him is shown on the contract, but the prepaid finance charge changed the rate in the federal disclosure box. He was quick to catch that in the documents we sent him, so he decided to use **** to finance his loan. I believe our bigger mistake was on the buyer’s order where we did not reflect the $15,000 down payment which caused all of the headaches he explained thereafter.

To resolve this, we wired his $15,000 back to his bank and he is going to refinance with **** with the $15,000 down. We have agreed to pay any charges he incurs and any additional interest. We will also set up a complimentary vehicle detail cleaning for his new BMW and we can set that up with his local dealer.

Thank you for everything you have done to assist us with this matter.

Best Regards,

**** ****

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to speak of my terrible experience with Sam Swope BMW. I have dealt with an unprofessional sales staff, the dealership sold me a vehicle that needed an oil change within a few hundred miles, unresponsive management, 56 days later I have yet to receive the necessary documentation to register my vehicle, and my bank has not received the title. I purchased my vehicle on 8/31/13. At the sale **** ******** processed my paperwork and told me I did not need to pay the excise tax to them, but to my local BMV. 30 days after the sale I start receiving notifications from my bank that they haven’t received their title. 10/2-10/3 I made multiple phone calls, emails, and text messages trying to get this resolved. 10/3 ****** ******* tells me I now do need to pay the excise tax to them, give them my SS#, and do a VIN Inspection report. I tried for another week to ask them a question on this, and finally on 10/10 I received a response. I did everything they asked for, they cashed my excise tax check on 10/18, and I still do not have the documents I need to get my registration done, and to give the title to my bank. My temporary registration is about to expire on 10/30, and I will be unable to legally drive my vehicle. My bank is also about to start charging me large fees until they get their title. I have done everything the dealer has asked for, and they have not completed their end of the agreement. I can forward all of the emails showing that I have done everything in my power to get this issue resolved in the last 56 days.

Desired Settlement: All I wanted is the necessary documents to complete my vehicle registration and get the title to my bank. The dealership should pick up any fees incurred if/when my bank charges me due to their delay in processing the paperwork. Now, I think at the very least I should receive a monetary refund for my time. I paid for a rental car to come to Kentucky, gas, got a hotel room, had to get an oil change within a few days of purchasing the vehicle, and have spent hours and hours contacting the dealership, and driving around town getting the VIN inspection report that nobody in Indiana (the BMV, the local Toyota dealer, and two local Police Departments) thought was my responsibility to get.

Business Response:

Upon receiving our customer’s complaint regarding an inordinate delay in processing the proper titling and registration paperwork on his recent vehicle purchase, we researched the issues and found that there were numerous causes for the delay. Some of the delay was probably avoidable on our end, and some of it was out of our control. However, the bottom line is that we agree the paperwork took too long.

After completing all the necessary documents we contacted ********** ******* ***********, and they confirmed that they now have everything needed to complete our customer’s titling and registration documents.

Subsequently, we contacted our customer to advise him of our findings and assured him that everything was complete. We also offered him $500 to compensate him for his time and out-of- pocket expenses.

Our customer stated that he was grateful for our promptness in responding to the complaint and accepted our offer. As always, thank you for your assistance in resolving this complaint.

Sincerely,

**** ****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  

Regards,

*********** ******

 


 

 

10/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this establishment in March 2013. In September 2013 I was reviewing my credit report as part of the annual free credit report program and found that *** had submitted for and received approval for me to have an unauthorized credit card that I was not aware of and did not ask for. I never received a card for this account and no transactions show on the record. We were advised by *** Credit Card services that this is a common problem and that some dealerships are applying for credit cards for customers without their knowledge or consent.

Desired Settlement: I want this unethical practice to stop.

Business Response:

I met with our customer who is highly regarded in the military, and I feel privileged to have received insight from this particular individual, and especially on this topic which is within the realm of his expertise.

He lost trust in our company, as he felt that the form he signed (see attachment) did not disclose that it is an application for a Visa credit card, but only for a *** card. I agree with him and I will bring it to the manufacturer’s attention so they can modify it, as this form came directly from them.

I apologized and offered to personally assist him if he ever needs anything in the future including when his wife’s *** lease ends next May. I look forward to serving them for years to come, and I appreciate your assistance. Please let me know if you need any additional information.

Sincerely,

**** ****

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  After meeting with Mr ****, he was very aware and interested in how this issue occurred, prior to our meeting he had completed his own investigation as to "how" this could have been possible. As a result, I feel that no malicious intent was involved in this error, this may have been a 1 in 80 chance of miscommunication. As there was no ill effect to my finances or credit report, and the diligence of Mr **** to bring awareness of this matter to his staff, I feel that this incident has been concluded. I would like to thank all agencies involved in bringing light to our displeasure. If you have further questions regarding this matter please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.
 

Regards,

***** *********


 

 

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable